DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-13, and 15-20 are under examination.
Claims 2 and 14 are canceled.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed March 16th, 2026 is acknowledged and the previous rejection is withdrawn.
Withdrawn Double Patenting
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed March 16th, 2026 is acknowledged and the previous rejection(s) are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2016/0248123 A1), hereinafter Barnett, and further in view of Krucinski et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0144759 (A1)), hereinafter Krucinski.
Regarding claim 1, Barnett discloses a battery pack, comprising a housing (i.e., at least battery pack housing ref. 100 as disclosed in [0109] and shown in at least Figs. 2-3, also see Abstract, [0004], [0008]-[0009], [0011]-[0014], [0018], [0022]-[0023], [0025], [0032], [0036], etc.), and a battery cell or battery cell assembly (i.e., at least battery cell ref. 130, etc., as disclosed in [0110] and shown in at least Figs. 3-6) and a circuit board (i.e., at least ref. 120 as disclosed in [0110] and shown in at least Figs. 5A-D and 6, etc.),
wherein the battery cell or battery cell assembly and the circuit board are disposed in the housing (i.e., at least battery pack ref. 50 consists of battery cell assembly ref. 150 housed in a battery pack housing ref. 100, etc., as disclosed in [0109], such that Fig. 2 shows the battery pack ref. 50 in an assembled state, and Figs. 3-4 are exploded views showing the battery pack housing ref. 100 separated from the battery cell assembly ref. 150, etc., whereby said circuit board ref. 120 is disposed adjacent to the battery cell ref. 130, etc., as disclosed in [0110], etc.), and
further comprising: a first electrical connector (i.e., at least tab(s) ref. 121a(b) as disclosed in [0111] and shown in at least Figs. 3-6), wherein the first electrical connector connects a first one of a positive or negative electrode of the battery cell or battery cell assembly to the circuit board (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0110] whereby the circuit board has a pair of tabs ref. 121a and 121b, etc., such that the first (positive) tab ref. 121a is electrically connected to the positive electrode of the cell ref. 130, and the second (negative) tab ref. 121b is electrically connected to the negative electrode of the cell ref. 130 as disclosed in at least [0111] and shown in at least Figs. 3-6);
a second electrical connector (i.e., at least tab(s) ref. 121a(b) as disclosed in [0111] and shown in at least Figs. 3-6), wherein the second electrical connector connects a second one of the positive or negative electrodes of the battery cell or battery cell assembly to the circuit board (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0110] whereby the circuit board has a pair of tabs ref. 121a and 121b, etc., such that the first (positive) tab ref. 121a is electrically connected to the positive electrode of the cell ref. 130, and the second (negative) tab ref. 121b is electrically connected to the negative electrode of the cell ref. 130 as disclosed in at least [0111] and shown in at least Figs. 3-6);
and a third electrical connector, wherein the third electrical connector is disposed on the circuit board and the third electrical connector is adapted to be electrically connected to an external electrical device, to supply power from the battery cell to the external electrical device through the third electrical connector (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0111] and shown in Figs. 3-6 the circuit board further has a pair of electrical connectors refs. 123a, 123b, etc., such that these connectors ref. 123 connect with the selected battery powered device ref. 20 in order to provide electrical power to the device ref. 20, etc., also see [0112], [0125]).
a fourth electrical connector, wherein the fourth electrical connector is disposed on the circuit board and the fourth electrical connector is adapted to be electrically connected to an external power supply to charge the battery cell through the fourth electrical connector (i.e., at least as disclosed in [011] whereby as shown in Figs. 3-6 the circuit board further has a third electrical connector ref. 124 at the other end, etc., such that as disclosed in [0113] the third electrical connector ref. 124 is configured to receive power for charging the battery cell ref. 130, etc., also see [0126], [0128], [0134], [0141]),
wherein the third electrical connector and the fourth electrical connector are on a same side of the battery pack (i.e., at least as shown in Fig. 5A), lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said side and/or third/fourth electrical connector(s).
Since Barnett discloses the third electrical connector(s) as discussed above (i.e., electrical connectors refs. 123a, 123b, etc.), the skilled a would appreciate that this at least a socket terminal so that as disclosed in [0111] that these connectors ref. 123 connect with the selected battery powered device ref. 20 in order to provide electrical power to the device ref. 20, etc.
As to the limitation “in press fit with a pin terminal of the external device”, the examiner asserts that an external device and its features are not part of the battery pack product, and therefore does not give patentable weight to the product as claimed.
As to the limitation “in press fit with a pin terminal of the external device”, since Barnett teaches said socket terminal, etc., as discussed above, properties and/or functions such as in press fit with a pin terminal of the external device, are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
However, Barnett is silent as to the third electrical connector and the fourth electrical connector are stacked on a same side of the battery pack. Furthermore, Barnett is silent as to the socket terminal comprises an annular contact portion, wherein the annular contact portion is adapted to be conductively connected to the pin terminal, the pin terminal is inserted into the socket terminal, and an annular contact surface of the annular contact portion annularly wraps the pin terminal.
Krucinski teaches a self-cleaning electrical connector having pins with insulated ends (Title). Krucinski further teaches a third electrical connector and the fourth electrical connector are stacked on a same side (i.e., at least as shown in Fig. 4 and taught in [0027] whereby each of the sockets ref. 56 extends entirely through the body ref. 54 between openings ref. 58, etc., such that said sockets are at least stacked as shown in at least Figs. 4-9, and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0030]-[0032]).
Krucinski further teaches in [0030] turning now to the cross section of the connector ref. 34 shown in Fig. 6, it can be seen that the sockets ref. 56 extend through the body ref. 54 between opposed openings ref. 58, and the sleeve ref. 60, and also the remaining portions of the sockets ref. 56 have a uniform internal diameter ref. D, which is selected to mate with the pins ref. 42 such that an electrical connection can be made between the conductive portion ref. 70 of each pin ref. 42 with the corresponding sleeve ref. 60 of the socket ref. 56 into which the pin ref. 42 is inserted, and to maximize and area of electrical conduction, the sleeve ref. 60 extends peripherally around the socket ref. 56, etc., which at least provides the socket terminal comprises an annular contact portion, wherein the annular contact portion is adapted to be conductively connected to the pin terminal, the pin terminal is inserted into the socket terminal, and an annular contact surface of the annular contact portion annularly wraps the pin terminal (also see Figs. 4-9), and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Krucinksi further teaches in [0023] the connectors ref. 34 and ref. 38 are advantageously compact to enable or facilitate manual and/or automatic coupling for charging the battery ref. 18, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Barnett with the teachings of Krucinksi, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third/fourth electrical connector(s), and third/fourth electrical connectors on a same side of the battery pack, etc., as disclosed by Barnett further includes a third electrical connector and the fourth electrical connector are stacked on a same side, and the socket terminal comprises an annular contact portion, wherein the annular contact portion is adapted to be conductively connected to the pin terminal, the pin terminal is inserted into the socket terminal, and an annular contact surface of the annular contact portion annularly wraps the pin terminal as taught by Krucinski so as to enable or facilitate manual and/or automatic coupling for charging the battery, etc.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since Barnett discloses third/fourth electrical connectors on a same side of the battery pack, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate stacking said third/fourth electrical connector, such that there are finite number of arrangements, such as the stacking arrangement as taught by Krucinski so as to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitation “the annular contact portion is adapted to be conductively connected to the pin terminal, the pin terminal is inserted into the socket terminal, and an annular contact surface of the annular contact portion annularly wraps the pin terminal”, since Krucinski teaches socket terminal comprises an annular contact portion that is at least conductive, etc., as discussed above, properties and/or functions such as annular contact portion is adapted to be conductively connected to the pin terminal, the pin terminal is inserted into the socket terminal, and an annular contact surface of the annular contact portion annularly wraps the pin terminal, are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Furthermore, the examiner asserts that an external device including its features (e.g., pin terminals, etc.) is not part of the battery pack product, and therefore does not give patentable weight to the product as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Since Barnett discloses in [0110]-[0111] the circuit board has a pair of tabs ref. 121a and 121b, etc., such that the first (positive) tab ref. 121a is electrically connected to the positive electrode of the cell ref. 130, and the second (negative) tab ref. 121b is electrically connected to the negative electrode of the cell ref. 130 as disclosed in at least [0111] and shown in at least Figs. 3-6, such that these tabs refs. 121a-b are connected to the board ref. 120 as are the electrical connectors ref. 123, etc., so that electrical connectors ref. 123 serve as positive and negative electrodes of the board ref. 120, this at least provides third electrical connector comprises a conductive connection portion, wherein the conductive connection portion is fixed to the circuit board, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that electrical connectors ref. 123(a-b) as discussed above are at least conductively fixed to the circuit board so as to serve as positive and negative electrodes of the board (i.e., circuit board), and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
However, Barnett is silent as to the third electrical connector comprises a barrel connection portion. Furthermore, Barnett is silent as to the barrel connection portion is electrically connected to the pin terminal. Furthermore, Barnett is silent as to the conductive connection portion is conductively connected to the barrel connection portion, and the barrel connection portion has a hole depth of at least 4 mm.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Krucinski further teaches the third electrical connector comprises a barrel connection portion (i.e., at least as shown in Figs. 5-8).
Krucinski further teaches the barrel connection portion is electrically connected to the pin terminal (i.e., at least as taught in [0030] whereby turning now to the cross section of the connector ref. 34 shown in Fig. 6, it can be seen that the sockets ref. 56 extend through the body ref. 54 between opposed openings ref. 58, and the sleeve ref. 60, and also the remaining portions of the sockets ref. 56 have a uniform internal diameter ref. D, which is selected to mate with the pins ref. 42 such that an electrical connection can be made between the conductive portion ref. 70 of each pin ref. 42 with the corresponding sleeve ref. 60 of the socket ref. 56 into which the pin ref. 42 is inserted, and to maximize and area of electrical conduction, the sleeve ref. 60 extends peripherally around the socket ref. 56, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see Figs. 5-8).
Krucinski further teaches in [0024] Fig. 4 is an outline view of a receptacle having sockets for receiving the electrical pins of the plug shown in Fig. 3, which can be included as the electrical connector ref. 34, etc. Krucinski further teaches in [0031] the arrangement of placing the electrical connections between the sleeves ref. 60 and the conductive portions ref. 70 of the pins ref. 42 deep into the sockets ref. 56, a closer arrangement of pins ref. 42 and corresponding sockets ref. 56 on the connectors ref. 34 and ref. 38 can be achieved, etc., whereby the insulated lengths at the root and tip of the pins can be in the order of 20 mm, and the conductive lengths can be in the order of 30 mm, etc., which at least provides a range of lengths that are within the claimed range of the barrel connection portion has a hole depth of at least 4 mm such that as taught in [0005] an electrical connection between the first and second electrical conductors is established when the pin is fully disposed within the socket such that the core is electrically connected with the sleeve, etc., thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.) (also see Figs. 3-4, 9-10).
Krucinksi further teaches in [0023] the connectors ref. 34 and ref. 38 are advantageously compact to enable or facilitate manual and/or automatic coupling for charging the battery ref. 18, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Barnett with the teachings of Krucinksi, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third/fourth electrical connector(s), and third/fourth electrical connectors on a same side of the battery pack, etc., as disclosed by Barnett further includes the third electrical connector comprises a barrel connection portion, the barrel connection portion is electrically connected to the pin terminal, the conductive connection portion is conductively connected to the barrel connection portion, and the barrel connection portion has a hole depth of at least 4 mm, etc., as taught by Krucinski so as to enable or facilitate manual and/or automatic coupling for charging the battery, etc.
Regarding claim 8, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Barnett further discloses the third electrical connector is disposed on the circuit board and the third electrical connector is adapted to be electrically connected to an external electrical device to supply power from the battery cell to the external electrical device through the third electrical connector (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0111] and shown in Figs. 3-6 the circuit board further has a pair of electrical connectors refs. 123a, 123b, etc., such that these connectors ref. 123 connect with the selected battery powered device ref. 20 in order to provide electrical power to the device ref. 20, etc., also see [0112], [0125]), wherein the third electrical connector comprises an open port, wherein the open port faces an outside of the housing and the open port is in communication with the housing (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0125] the top surface ref. 105 of the top housing ref. 101 includes a pair of openings ref. 106 through which connectors ref. 123 can be accessed, etc., such that said tulip connectors as disclosed in [0111] and shown in at least Figs. 3-6 comprise an open port SO as to be accessed via said openings refs. 106, etc., such that said open port(s) ref. 106 at least faces an outside of the housing SO as to be in communication with said housing), and lacking any further structural distinction thereof. Since Barnett discloses the open port as discussed above, and further discloses in [0112] the circuit board ref. 120 has cut-outs to accommodate the electrical connectors ref. 123 as shown in at least Figs. 3-6 and Annotated Fig. 5A, this at least provides a closed end, whereby the closed end is away from the open port (i.e., ref. 106 as discussed above), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said tulip connector at least has a closed port thereof so as to back against a cut-out of said circuit board, and lacking any further structural distinction thereof (also see [0044]-[0045]),
Since Barnett discloses the open port(s) ref. 106 as discussed above, and Barnett further discloses in [0111] and shown in Figs. 3-6 the circuit board further has a pair of electrical connectors refs. 123a, 123b, etc., such that these connectors ref. 123 connect with the selected battery powered device ref. 20 in order to provide electrical power to the device ref. 20, etc., also see [0112], [0125], this at least provides the open port is suitable for a terminal insertion by the external electrical device, lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Furthermore, since Barnett discloses in [0110]-[011] the circuit board has a pair of tabs ref. 121a and 121b, etc., such that the first (positive) tab ref. 121a is electrically connected to the positive electrode of the cell ref. 130, and the second (negative) tab ref. 121b is electrically connected to the negative electrode of the cell ref. 130 as disclosed in at least [0111] and shown in at least Figs. 3-6, such that these tabs refs. 121a-b are connected to the board ref. 120 as are the electrical connectors ref. 123, etc., SO that electrical connectors ref. 123 serve as positive and negative electrodes of the board ref. 120, this at least provides the closed end extends to be conductively fixed to the circuit board, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said closed ends of said electrical connectors ref. 123(a-b) as discussed above are at least conductively fixed to the circuit board SO as to serve as positive and negative electrodes of the board (i.e., circuit board), and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Annotated Figure 5A (Barnett)
Regarding claim 20, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. However, Barnett is silent as to the third electrical connector and the fourth electrical connector are stacked at a height of 8 mm to 10 mm.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski disclose the battery pack including third and fourth electrical connectors as discussed above in claim 14. Lim teaches an integrated connector receptacle device (Title). Krucinski further teaches in [0025] in reference to these figures, the exemplary embodiment for the connector ref. 38 (Fig. 3) includes a connector body ref. 40, from which a plurality of pins ref. 42 extend over a length, ref. L, and the plurality of pins ref. 42 may include pins of different diameters, for example, larger pins ref. 44 that carry electrical power to charge the vehicle, or smaller pins ref. 46, which carry digital or analog signals containing information exchanged between controllers associated with the EV 4 and the floor unit ref. 8, etc., whereby as taught in [0026] importantly, it can be seen that the pins are relatively in close proximity to one another, whereby this feature enables the relative crowding of the pins ref. 42, and enables use of a compact connector, which can be useful when establishing a mated electrical connection between the connector ref. 38 and the mating connector ref. 34, etc., (also see [0026]-[0036]). Krucinski further teaches in [0031] in one embodiment, for example, a distance between adjacent pins can be short, in the order of 10 mm, etc., which at least provides a range that overlaps the claimed range of a third electrical connector and the fourth electrical connector are stacked at a height of 8 mm to 10 mm, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that the pins and corresponding sockets are at least at the same height so as to establish a mated electrical connection as discussed above, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski further with the teachings of Krucinski, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third/fourth electrical connector(s), body, circuit board, conductive terminal, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski further includes the distance and stack height as taught by Lim so as to enable use of a compact connector, which can be useful when establishing a mated electrical connection between the connector and the mating connector, etc.
Furthermore, since Barnett and Krucinski disclose the stacked third/fourth electrical connector(s), changes in size/shape would be a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04, IV., B.) so as to establish a mated electrical connection between the connector and the mating connector, etc.
Claims 3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett and Krucinski as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Matthews et al. (U.S. Patent US 5,591,039), hereinafter Matthews.
Regarding claim 3, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. However, Barnett is silent as to the annular contact portion protrudes toward a center of the socket terminal and the annular contact portion is adapted to deform, and the pin terminal is pressed into the annular contact portion by an external force and the pin terminal deforms the annular contact portion.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Matthew teaches a socket contact with arc arresting member (Title). Matthew further teaches in C3:L22-39 a socket contact ref. 21 of the present invention is for use with an electrical connector ref. 22 having a housing, etc. Matthews further teaches in C4:L34-49 socket contact ref. 21 includes a receptacle section or hood ref. 84 adapted to receive pin ref. 31, whereby receptacle section or hood ref. 84 is generally tubular in shape, with a central bore ref. 85 extending therethrough, and is axially centered on a longitudinal axis ref. 86, whereby hood ref. 84 is made of suitable conductive material such as copper or brass and has an outer surface ref. 87, etc.
Matthews further teaches an annular contact portion protrudes toward a center of the socket terminal (i.e., at least conductive strip ref. 121 has a central contact portion ref. 126, etc., whereby conductive strip contact portion ref. 126 is formed from a plurality of space apart cross members ref. 127, etc., as disclosed in C5:L34-51, also See Annotated Fig. 7).
Matthews further teaches in C7:L24-31 when pin contact ref. 27 is fully engaged with socket contact ref. 21, pin ref. 31 being disposed in the hood ref. 84, raised cross members or contacts ref. 127 forming part of crown band ref. 121 engage pin outer surface ref. 41, which at least provides the annular contact portion is adapted to deform, such that as shown in at least Figs. 7-8 when the pin is inserted that said annular contact portion(s) are displaced in a vertical direction so as to engage said pin.
Matthews further teaches C7:L55-67 a new and improved socket contact for use with a pin contact has been provided which restricts damaging arcing to a conductive contact element mounted in the socket contact, whereby the socket contact ref. 55 has an arc arresting member with an opening smaller than ref. 60 the diameter of the contact pin for ensuring an electrical connection before the pin contact enters the socket contact, and the opening is expandable to permit entry of the contact pin when forcibly inserted into the socket contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski with the teachings of Matthews, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third electrical connector(s), annular contact portion, socket terminal, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski further includes the annular contact portion protrudes toward a center of the socket terminal and the annular contact portion is adapted to deform as taught by Matthews so as to improved socket contact for use with a pin contact has been provided which restricts damaging arcing to a conductive contact element mounted in the socket contact, whereby the socket contact has an arc arresting member with an opening smaller than the diameter of the contact pin for ensuring an electrical connection before the pin contact enters the socket contact, and the opening is expandable to permit entry of the contact pin when forcibly inserted into the socket contact.
Although Matthews broadly teaches an electrical socket for mating with a pin contact, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the teachings of Matthews are at least relevant and applicable to other electrical systems such as battery packs, etc., so as to provide socket contacts for use in electrical connectors as disclosed in C1:L1-12 of Matthews, and which is at least commensurate in scope with the electrical connectors as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski.
As to the limitation “the pin terminal is pressed into the annular contact portion by an external force and the pin terminal deforms the annular contact portion.”, since the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Matthews teaches socket terminal comprises an annular contact portion adapted to deform, etc., as discussed above, properties and/or functions such as the pin terminal is pressed into the annular contact portion by an external force and the pin terminal deforms the annular contact portion, are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Furthermore, the examiner asserts that an external device including its features (e.g., pin terminals, etc.) is not part of the battery pack product, and therefore does not give patentable weight to the product as claimed.
Annotated Figure 7 (Matthews)
Regarding claim 6, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 5. However, Barnett is silent as to the barrel connection portion comprises a conductive barrel and an expansion core located in the conductive barrel, and the expansion core is adapted to deform under an action of an external force.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claim 5. Matthews teaches a socket contact with arc arresting member (Title). Matthews further teaches in C3:L22-39 a socket contact ref. 21 of the present invention is for use with an electrical connector ref. 22 having a housing, etc. Matthews further teaches in C4:L34-49 socket contact ref. 21 includes a receptacle section or hood ref. 84 adapted to receive pin ref. 31, whereby receptacle section or hood ref. 84 is generally tubular in shape, with a central bore ref. 85 extending therethrough, and is axially centered on a longitudinal axis ref. 86, whereby hood ref. 84 is made of suitable conductive material such as copper or brass and has an outer surface ref. 87, etc., which at least provide a barrel connection portion comprises a conductive barrel, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Matthews further teaches an expansion core located in the conductive barrel (i.e., at least conductive strip ref. 121 has a central contact portion ref. 126, etc., whereby conductive strip contact portion ref. 126 is formed from a plurality of space apart cross members ref. 127, etc., as disclosed in C5:L34-51, also See Annotated Fig. 7 above in claim 3).
Matthews further teaches in C7:L24-31 when pin contact ref. 27 is fully engaged with socket contact ref. 21, pin ref. 31 being disposed in the hood ref. 84, raised cross members or contacts ref. 127 forming part of crown band ref. 121 engage pin outer surface ref. 41, which at least provides the expansion core is adapted to deform under an action of an external force, such that as shown in at least Figs. 7-8 when the pin is inserted that said annular contact portion(s) are displaced in a vertical direction so as to engage said pin.
Matthews further teaches C7:L55-67 a new and improved socket contact for use with a pin contact has been provided which restricts damaging arcing to a conductive contact element mounted in the socket contact, whereby the socket contact ref. 55 has an arc arresting member with an opening smaller than ref. 60 the diameter of the contact pin for ensuring an electrical connection before the pin contact enters the socket contact, and the opening is expandable to permit entry of the contact pin when forcibly inserted into the socket contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski with the teachings of Matthews, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third electrical connector(s), annular contact portion, socket terminal, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski further includes barrel connection portion comprises a conductive barrel and an expansion core located in the conductive barrel, and the expansion core is adapted to deform under an action of an external force as taught by Matthews so as to improved socket contact for use with a pin contact has been provided which restricts damaging arcing to a conductive contact element mounted in the socket contact, whereby the socket contact has an arc arresting member with an opening smaller than the diameter of the contact pin for ensuring an electrical connection before the pin contact enters the socket contact, and the opening is expandable to permit entry of the contact pin when forcibly inserted into the socket contact.
Although Matthews broadly teaches an electrical socket for mating with a pin contact, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the teachings of Matthews are at least relevant and applicable to other electrical systems such as battery packs, etc., so as to provide socket contacts for use in electrical connectors as disclosed in C1:L1-12 of Matthews, and which is at least commensurate in scope with the electrical connectors as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski.
Regarding claim 7, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 6. However, Barnett is silent as to the expansion core comprises a plurality of conductive elastic sheets, the plurality of conductive elastic sheets is arranged in an annular array at intervals and the plurality of conductive elastic sheets protrude toward a center of the annular array, the pin terminal is pressed into the center of the annular array under the action of an-the external force, and the protruding portions are squeezed open and the protruding portions elastically wrap the pin terminal.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Matthews disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claim 6. Matthews teaches the expansion core as discussed above in claim 6. Matthew further teaches in C3:L22-39 a socket contact ref. 21 of the present invention is for use with an electrical connector ref. 22 having a housing, etc. Matthews further teaches in C4:L34-49 socket contact ref. 21 includes a receptacle section or hood ref. 84 adapted to receive pin ref. 31, whereby receptacle section or hood ref. 84 is generally tubular in shape, with a central bore ref. 85 extending therethrough, and is axially centered on a longitudinal axis ref. 86, whereby hood ref. 84 is made of suitable conductive material such as copper or brass and has an outer surface ref. 87, etc.
Matthews further teaches a plurality of conductive elastic sheets, the plurality of conductive elastic sheets is arranged in an annular array at intervals and the plurality of conductive elastic sheets protrude toward a center of the annular array (i.e., at least conductive strip ref. 121 has a central contact portion ref. 126, etc., whereby conductive strip contact portion ref. 126 is formed from a plurality of spaced apart cross members ref. 127, etc., as disclosed in C5:L34-51, also See Annotated Fig. 7 above in claim 3), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that the plurality of spaced apart cross members ref. 127 as shown in at least Fig. 7 are at least elastic so that conductive strip ref. 121 (refs. 126-127, etc.) are generally dimensioned to spring fit therein, and so as to provide that as shown in at least Figs. 7-8 when the pin is inserted that said annular contact portion(s) are displaced in a vertical direction so as to engage said pin, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, since Matthews teaches a plurality of conductive sheets, the plurality of conductive sheets is arranged in an annular array at intervals and the plurality of conductive sheets protrude toward a center of the annular array (i.e., also see Fig. 1, 3, 6, 6A, 7), this at least provides a product that is identical and/or substantially identical to the product as claimed, such that properties and/or functions such as elastic are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I., II.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Matthews further teaches in C7:L24-31 when pin contact ref. 27 is fully engaged with socket contact ref. 21, pin ref. 31 being disposed in the hood ref. 84, raised cross members or contacts ref. 127 forming part of crown band ref. 121 engage pin outer surface ref. 41, which at least provides the pin terminal is pressed into the center of the annular array under the action of an-the external force, and the protruding portions are squeezed open and the protruding portions elastically wrap the pin terminal, such that as shown in at least Figs. 7-8 when the pin is inserted that said protruding portions are squeezed open and the protruding portions elastically wrap the pin terminal so as to be displaced in a vertical direction and so as to engage said pin.
Matthews further teaches C7:L55-67 a new and improved socket contact for use with a pin contact has been provided which restricts damaging arcing to a conductive contact element mounted in the socket contact, whereby the socket contact ref. 55 has an arc arresting member with an opening smaller than ref. 60 the diameter of the contact pin for ensuring an electrical connection before the pin contact enters the socket contact, and the opening is expandable to permit entry of the contact pin when forcibly inserted into the socket contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski with the teachings of Matthews, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third electrical connector(s), annular contact portion, socket terminal, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski further includes the expansion core comprises a plurality of conductive elastic sheets, the plurality of conductive elastic sheets is arranged in an annular array at intervals and the plurality of conductive elastic sheets protrude toward a center of the annular array, the pin terminal is pressed into the center of the annular array under the action of an-the external force, and the protruding portions are squeezed open and the protruding portions elastically wrap the pin terminal as taught by Matthews so as to improved socket contact for use with a pin contact has been provided which restricts damaging arcing to a conductive contact element mounted in the socket contact, whereby the socket contact has an arc arresting member with an opening smaller than the diameter of the contact pin for ensuring an electrical connection before the pin contact enters the socket contact, and the opening is expandable to permit entry of the contact pin when forcibly inserted into the socket contact.
Although Matthews broadly teaches an electrical socket for mating with a pin contact, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the teachings of Matthews are at least relevant and applicable to other electrical systems such as battery packs, etc., so as to provide socket contacts for use in electrical connectors as disclosed in C1:L1-12 of Matthews, and which is at least commensurate in scope with the electrical connectors as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski.
As to the limitation “the pin terminal is pressed into the center of the annular array under the action of an-the external force, and the protruding portions are squeezed open and the protruding portions elastically wrap the pin terminal”, since the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Matthews teaches socket terminal comprises an expansion core comprising a plurality of conductive elastic sheets, the plurality of conductive elastic sheets arranged in an annular array at intervals, etc., as discussed above, properties and/or functions such as the pin terminal is pressed into the center of the annular array under the action of an-the external force, and the protruding portions are squeezed open and the protruding portions elastically wrap the pin terminal, are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Furthermore, the examiner asserts that an external device including its features (e.g., pin terminals, etc.) is not part of the battery pack product, and therefore does not give patentable weight to the product as claimed.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett and Krucinski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Steeves et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2013/0065428 A1), hereinafter Steeves.
Regarding claim 4, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. However, Barnett is silent as to a plugging pressure F between the pin terminal and the socket terminal satisfies 8N≤F≤12N.
Steeves teaches an electronic device and method of detecting a proper cable connection (Title). Steeves further teaches in [0011] the socket is sized and shaped to receive the plug. Steeves further teaches in [0013] when a plug is fully and correctly inserted into a socket such that the electrical or optical connections between the plug and the socket are properly established, that may be referred to as a "proper cable connection." Steeves further teaches in [0026] when the plug ref. 112 is inserted into the socket ref. 114, air in the socket ref. 114 is displaced, whereby some of the air may escape from the socket ref. 114 by leaking around the pin ref. 110 and escaping the socket ref. 114 near the proximal end ref. 116, such that insertion of the plug ref. 112 into the socket ref. 114 generally does cause, however, an increase in air pressure within the socket ref. 114, and such that the more quickly the plug ref. 112 is inserted, the more abrupt the change in air pressure may be and perhaps the higher the magnitude of the change, etc. Steeves further teaches in [0027] in one embodiment, the pressure sensor ref. 102 may be calibrated to detect whether the pressure exerted by the insertion of a jack or object into the connector is above a pressure threshold, etc., such that the threshold may be set to be in the range of (for example) 4 to 15 Newtons, which at least provides range that overlaps the claimed range of a plugging pressure F between the pin terminal and the socket terminal satisfies 8N≤F≤12N, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett and Krucinski as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Heichal et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2010/0112843 A1), hereinafter Heichal.
Regarding claim 9, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 8. Barnett further discloses the electrical connector comprises a body (i.e., at least electrical connector(s) refs. 123a-b comprise a body so that these connectors ref. 123 connect with the selected battery powered device ref. 20 in order to provide electrical power to the device ref. 20, etc., also see [0112], [0125]), lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said body.
However, Barnett is silent as to the third electrical connector comprises a body and a conductive terminal, wherein the conductive terminal is integrally connected to the body and the conductive terminal is opposite to the open port, and the conductive terminal is at least partially wrapped and sealed by the body.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claim 8. Heichal teaches a system for electrically connecting batteries to electric vehicles. Heichal further teaches in [0154] an electrical connection system ref. 2400. Heichal further teaches said electrical connection system comprises a body and a conductive terminal (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 24A, also see Fig. 9 with regards to power connectors refs. 906 (908), which are at least conductive terminals), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said conductive terminal and/or body (also see [0155]-[0175]).
Heichal further teaches wherein the conductive terminal is connected to the body and the conductive terminal is opposite to the open port (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 24A, also Fig. 9).
Furthermore, since Heichal teaches in [0154] data connectors ref. 910 of Fig. 9 (which include the cables and connection interfaces) are described in detail with relation to Figs. 24A-27 and are thus referred to by new names and numbers, etc., whereby as taught in [0160] Fig. 24A also shows the sealing mechanism ref. 2472 surrounding a portion of the battery-side coupling portion ref. 2456, whereby the sealing mechanism ref. 2472 is designed to prevent ingress of environmental contaminants to the area between the coupling portions that contains the power ref. 2416, 2466 and data interfaces refs. 2418, 2468, etc., this at least provides the conductive terminal is at least partially wrapped and sealed by the body, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said partially wrapped and/or sealed.
Although Heichal does not explicitly state that the conductive terminal is integrally connected to the body, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since Heichal discloses the conductive terminal is connected to the body, that making said conductive terminal integral with the body is a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04, V., B., C., In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski with the teachings of Heichal, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third electrical connector(s), body, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski further includes a body and a conductive terminal, wherein the conductive terminal is integrally connected to the body and the conductive terminal is opposite to the open port, and the conductive terminal is at least partially wrapped and sealed by the body as taught by Heichal so as to prevent ingress of environmental contaminants, etc.
Annotated Figure 24A (Heichal)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kifune et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0287291 A1), hereinafter Kifune.
Regarding claim 10, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 9. However, Barnett is silent as to the conductive terminal is integrally molded with the body.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal disclose the battery pack including the conductive terminal as discussed above in claim 9. Kifune teaches a connector (Title). Kifune further teaches in [0045] connector ref. 10 of the embodiment according to the present invention is a waterproofed connector, so-called waterproof connector, and is used for electronic device ref. 200 (see Fig. 25), etc., whereby as taught in [0046] connector ref. 10 in Figs. 1 to 4 is an electronic part, and includes a plurality of contacts ref. 20, housing ref. 40, shell ref. 50, elastic sealing material ref. 70, outer mold ref. 80, and gasket ref. 90, etc., whereby as taught in [0047] outer mold ref. 80 is disposed integrally to surround the outer periphery of the rear portion of housing ref. 40. Furthermore, Kifune teaches in [0054] bottom housing ref. 41 is formed from a polyamide-based resin, for example, nylon (registered trademark), whereby bottom housing ref. 41 and the lower row of contacts ref. 20 are formed integrally using insert molding, etc., which at least provides the conductive terminal (e.g., contacts that are conductive as taught in [0046]) is integrally molded with the body (i.e., at least housing ref. 41 (40, also see Fig. 4, Fig. 5, Fig. 7, and Figs. 10-12, [0055]-[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal with the teachings of Kifune, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third electrical connector(s), body, conductive terminal, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal further includes the conductive terminal is integrally molded with the body as taught by Kifune so as to provide a waterproofed connector, etc.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal and Kifune as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Cisar et al. (U.S. Patent US 5,736,271), hereinafter Cisar, and further in view of Matthews et al. (U.S. Patent US 5,591,039), hereinafter Matthews.
Regarding claim 11, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 9. However, Barnett is silent as to the conductive terminal comprises a conductive connection portion and a barrel connection portion, wherein the conductive connection portion is fixed to the circuit board, the barrel connection portion is electrically connected to a pin terminal, the barrel connection portion comprises a conductive barrel and an expansion core located in the conductive barrel, and the expansion core is adapted to deform under an action of an external force.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal and Kifune disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claim 9. Cisar teaches in C6:L22-51 the pin and socket assembly which provides electrical coupling between the battery pack ref. 100 and a circuitry mounted on a printed circuit board ref. 208 in a portable electronic device the battery pack is inserted into comprises the pair of hollow socket shaped connectors refs. 184, 190, whereby the sockets ref. 184, 190 are hollow and include respective elongated body portions ref. 186, 192 and enlarged end portions refs. 188, 194, etc., such that the hollow interior regions of the sockets refs. 184, 190 receive a spaced apart pair of electrical terminal pins refs. 200, 202 of the portable electronic device ref. 210 the battery pack ref. 100 will be inserted in, etc., whereby the socket body portion ref. 186 (192) is soldered to the board ref. 150 and makes positive electrical contact with the conductive material ref. 198 (199), the conductive traces (shown in dashed line to Fig. 2) on the IC board connected to the conductive material ref. 198 (199) and the battery cell end plate ref. 126 (132) connected to the conductive traces, etc., and further discloses in C7:L1-8 the hollow interior regions of the sockets refs. 184, 190 are sized to snugly receive the electrical terminal pins ref. 200, 202, the pins and sockets having a slight interference fit, etc., which at least provides a conductive connection portion and a barrel connection portion, wherein the conductive connection portion is fixed to the circuit board, the barrel connection portion is electrically connected to a pin terminal, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate conductive connection portion(s) and/or barrel connection portion(s) are broad in scope and said conductive material ref. 198 (199) and/or conductive traces at least provide said conductive connection portion(s) under broadest reasonable interpretation and lacking any further distinction thereof as claimed (also see Abstract, C3:L9-16, C3:L45-59, C4:L1-11, C5:L50-63, Figs. 1-7).
Cisar further teaches in C7:L20-27 the pin and socket assembly connection formed by the terminal pins refs. 200, 202 and respective sockets refs. 184, 190 form a reliably electrical coupling which can withstand accidental bumping or jarring of the electronic device housing ref. 206.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal and Kifune further with the teachings of Cisar, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third electrical connector(s), etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal and Kifune further includes a barrel connection portion, the barrel connection portion is electrically connected to the pin terminal, and the conductive connection portion is conductively connected to the barrel connection portion as taught by Cisar so as to form a reliable electrical coupling which can withstand accidental bumping or jarring of the electronic device housing.
However, as discussed above, the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal and Kifune and Cisar are silent as to the barrel connection portion comprises a conductive barrel and an expansion core located in the conductive barrel, and the expansion core is adapted to deform under an action of an external force
Matthews teaches a socket contact with arc arresting member (Title). Matthews further teaches in C3:L22-39 a socket contact ref. 21 of the present invention is for use with an electrical connector ref. 22 having a housing, etc. Matthews further teaches in C4:L34-49 socket contact ref. 21 includes a receptacle section or hood ref. 84 adapted to receive pin ref. 31, whereby receptacle section or hood ref. 84 is generally tubular in shape, with a central bore ref. 85 extending therethrough, and is axially centered on a longitudinal axis ref. 86, whereby hood ref. 84 is made of suitable conductive material such as copper or brass and has an outer surface ref. 87, etc., which at least provide a barrel connection portion comprises a conductive barrel, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Matthews further teaches an expansion core located in the conductive barrel (i.e., at least conductive strip ref. 121 has a central contact portion ref. 126, etc., whereby conductive strip contact portion ref. 126 is formed from a plurality of space apart cross members ref. 127, etc., as disclosed in C5:L34-51, also See Annotated Fig. 7 above in claim 3).
Matthews further teaches in C7:L24-31 when pin contact ref. 27 is fully engaged with socket contact ref. 21, pin ref. 31 being disposed in the hood ref. 84, raised cross members or contacts ref. 127 forming part of crown band ref. 121 engage pin outer surface ref. 41, which at least provides the expansion core is adapted to deform under an action of an external force, such that as shown in at least Figs. 7-8 when the pin is inserted that said annular contact portion(s) are displaced in a vertical direction so as to engage said pin.
Matthews further teaches C7:L55-67 a new and improved socket contact for use with a pin contact has been provided which restricts damaging arcing to a conductive contact element mounted in the socket contact, whereby the socket contact ref. 55 has an arc arresting member with an opening smaller than ref. 60 the diameter of the contact pin for ensuring an electrical connection before the pin contact enters the socket contact, and the opening is expandable to permit entry of the contact pin when forcibly inserted into the socket contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal and Kifune and Cisar the teachings of Matthews, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third electrical connector(s), annular contact portion, socket terminal, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal and Kifune and Cisar further includes barrel connection portion comprises a conductive barrel and an expansion core located in the conductive barrel, and the expansion core is adapted to deform under an action of an external force as taught by Matthews so as to improved socket contact for use with a pin contact has been provided which restricts damaging arcing to a conductive contact element mounted in the socket contact, whereby the socket contact has an arc arresting member with an opening smaller than the diameter of the contact pin for ensuring an electrical connection before the pin contact enters the socket contact, and the opening is expandable to permit entry of the contact pin when forcibly inserted into the socket contact.
Although Matthews broadly teaches an electrical socket for mating with a pin contact, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the teachings of Matthews are at least relevant and applicable to other electrical systems such as battery packs, etc., so as to provide socket contacts for use in electrical connectors as disclosed in C1:L1-12 of Matthews, and which is at least commensurate in scope with the electrical connectors as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal and Kifune and Cisar.
Regarding claim 12, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in 11. However, Barnett is silent as to the expansion core comprises a plurality of conductive elastic sheets, the plurality of conductive elastic sheets is arranged in an annular array at intervals and the plurality of conductive elastic sheets protrude toward a center of the annular array, the pin terminal is pressed into the center of the annular array under the action of the external force, and the protruding portions are squeezed open and the protruding portions elastically wrap the pin terminal.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal and Kifune and Cisar and Matthews disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claim 11. Matthews teaches the expansion core as discussed above in claim 11. Matthew further teaches in C3:L22-39 a socket contact ref. 21 of the present invention is for use with an electrical connector ref. 22 having a housing, etc. Matthews further teaches in C4:L34-49 socket contact ref. 21 includes a receptacle section or hood ref. 84 adapted to receive pin ref. 31, whereby receptacle section or hood ref. 84 is generally tubular in shape, with a central bore ref. 85 extending therethrough, and is axially centered on a longitudinal axis ref. 86, whereby hood ref. 84 is made of suitable conductive material such as copper or brass and has an outer surface ref. 87, etc.
Matthews further teaches a plurality of conductive elastic sheets, the plurality of conductive elastic sheets is arranged in an annular array at intervals and the plurality of conductive elastic sheets protrude toward a center of the annular array (i.e., at least conductive strip ref. 121 has a central contact portion ref. 126, etc., whereby conductive strip contact portion ref. 126 is formed from a plurality of spaced apart cross members ref. 127, etc., as disclosed in C5:L34-51, also See Annotated Fig. 7 above in claim 3), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that the plurality of spaced apart cross members ref. 127 as shown in at least Fig. 7 are at least elastic so that conductive strip ref. 121 (refs. 126-127, etc.) are generally dimensioned to spring fit therein, and so as to provide that as shown in at least Figs. 7-8 when the pin is inserted that said annular contact portion(s) are displaced in a vertical direction so as to engage said pin, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, since Matthews teaches a plurality of conductive sheets, the plurality of conductive sheets is arranged in an annular array at intervals and the plurality of conductive sheets protrude toward a center of the annular array (i.e., also see Fig. 1, 3, 6, 6A, 7), this at least provides a product that is identical and/or substantially identical to the product as claimed, such that properties and/or functions such as elastic are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I., II.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Matthews further teaches in C7:L24-31 when pin contact ref. 27 is fully engaged with socket contact ref. 21, pin ref. 31 being disposed in the hood ref. 84, raised cross members or contacts ref. 127 forming part of crown band ref. 121 engage pin outer surface ref. 41, which at least provides the pin terminal is pressed into the center of the annular array under the action of an-the external force, and the protruding portions are squeezed open and the protruding portions elastically wrap the pin terminal, such that as shown in at least Figs. 7-8 when the pin is inserted that said protruding portions are squeezed open and the protruding portions elastically wrap the pin terminal so as to be displaced in a vertical direction and so as to engage said pin.
Matthews further teaches C7:L55-67 a new and improved socket contact for use with a pin contact has been provided which restricts damaging arcing to a conductive contact element mounted in the socket contact, whereby the socket contact ref. 55 has an arc arresting member with an opening smaller than ref. 60 the diameter of the contact pin for ensuring an electrical connection before the pin contact enters the socket contact, and the opening is expandable to permit entry of the contact pin when forcibly inserted into the socket contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal and Kifune and Cisar and Matthews further with the teachings of Matthews, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third electrical connector(s), annular contact portion, socket terminal, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal and Kifune and Cisar and Matthews further includes the expansion core comprises a plurality of conductive elastic sheets, the plurality of conductive elastic sheets is arranged in an annular array at intervals and the plurality of conductive elastic sheets protrude toward a center of the annular array, the pin terminal is pressed into the center of the annular array under the action of the external force, and the protruding portions are squeezed open and the protruding portions elastically wrap the pin terminal as taught by Matthews so as to improved socket contact for use with a pin contact has been provided which restricts damaging arcing to a conductive contact element mounted in the socket contact, whereby the socket contact has an arc arresting member with an opening smaller than the diameter of the contact pin for ensuring an electrical connection before the pin contact enters the socket contact, and the opening is expandable to permit entry of the contact pin when forcibly inserted into the socket contact.
Although Matthews broadly teaches an electrical socket for mating with a pin contact, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the teachings of Matthews are at least relevant and applicable to other electrical systems such as battery packs, etc., so as to provide socket contacts for use in electrical connectors as disclosed in C1:L1-12 of Matthews, and which is at least commensurate in scope with the electrical connectors as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Heichal and Kifune and Cisar.
As to the limitation “the pin terminal is pressed into the center of the annular array under the action of an-the external force, and the protruding portions are squeezed open and the protruding portions elastically wrap the pin terminal”, since the combined teachings of Barnett and Heichal and Kifune and Cisar and Matthews teaches socket terminal comprises an expansion core comprising a plurality of conductive elastic sheets, the plurality of conductive elastic sheets arranged in an annular array at intervals, etc., as discussed above, properties and/or functions such as the pin terminal is pressed into the center of the annular array under the action of an-the external force, and the protruding portions are squeezed open and the protruding portions elastically wrap the pin terminal, are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Furthermore, the examiner asserts that an external device including its features (e.g., pin terminals, etc.) is not part of the battery pack product, and therefore does not give patentable weight to the product as claimed.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett and Krucinski as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of DeKuester et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0065573 A1), hereinafter DeKuester.
Regarding claim 13, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 8. However, Barnett is silent as to wherein a sealing gasket is sandwiched between the third electrical connector and the housing, and the sealing gasket is adapted to seal a mounting gap between the open port and the housing.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claim 8. DeKuester teaches a battery module connector barrel (Title). DeKuester further teaches in [0044] a connector barrel ref. 60 (e.g., comprising electrically insulative material, such as nylon or plastic) may be disposed through an opening ref. 62 within a wall ref. 64 of the housing ref. 30, whereby the opening ref. 62 may be a passageway between the interior of the housing ref. 30 and the exterior of the housing ref. 30, and specifically, the connector barrel ref. 60 may be configured to receive a low voltage signal connector ref. 66 from the control module ref. 24 disposed within the interior of the electronics compartment ref. 52 (e.g., within the housing ref. 30), etc., and further teaches in [0052] the flexible teeth ref. 100 form a gasket seal surface against the inner diameter ref.94 of the opening ref.62 in the wall ref.64, thereby sealing the opening ref.62 and blocking ingress/egress of liquids and/or gas through the opening ref. 62, such that it should be noted that the flexible teeth ref.100 may be coupled with the body portion ref.68 of the connector barrel ref.60 several different ways, etc., which at least provides a sealing gasket is sandwiched between an electrical connector and the housing, and the sealing gasket is adapted to seal a mounting gap between the open port and the housing so as to block ingress/egress of liquids and/or gas through the opening (i.e., at least as shown in Figs. 5-6, also see Figs. 8-10, also see [0053], [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinksi with the teachings of DeKuester, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third electrical connector(s), open port, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski further includes a sealing gasket is sandwiched between an electrical connector and the housing, and the sealing gasket is adapted to seal a mounting gap between the open port and the housing as taught by DeKuester so as to block ingress/egress of liquids and/or gas through the opening.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett and Krucinski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0159266 A1), hereinafter Yu.
Regarding claim 15, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Barnett further discloses in [0044] one or more cut-outs to accommodate an electrical connector (also see [0045]-[0046]). Barnett further discloses in [0112] the circuit board ref. 120 has cut-outs to accommodate the electrical connectors ref. 123, whereby because the electrical connectors ref. 123 are received in the cut-outs, the connectors ref. 123 do not extend beyond an end ref. 131 of the circuit board ref. 120 (see Fig. 5B), etc.
Therefore, although the examiner relied upon electrical connectors ref. 123 so as to provide said third electrical connectors above in the rejection of claim 14, since Barnett broadly discloses one or more cut-outs to accommodate an electrical connector, and further discloses said electrical connector(s) do not extend beyond an end of the circuit board in at least one or more embodiments, that this at least provides a limited number of arrangements, such that without undue experimentation, the skilled artisan would appreciate that in one or more embodiments said circuit board comprises a mounting notch corresponding to electrical connector(s), such as a first, second, third, fourth, etc., electrical connector(s), such that said the electrical connector is mounted correspondingly in the mounting notch and the electrical connector has one end surface (also see Fig. 5A-D, Fig. 6, Fig. 28 with regards to said electrical connectors and notch), wherein the one end surface is at least partially flush with the circuit board, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
However, Barnett is silent as to the third electrical connector is stacked on the one end surface.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski disclose the battery pack including the third and fourth electrical connectors are stacked on a same side of the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Yu teaches [0024] and Figs. 11-13 an electrical connector assembly ref. 900 including an electrical connector ref. 700 mounted upon the printed circuit board ref. 800, etc., which at least provides a third electrical connector is stacked on the one end surface, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Yu further teaches in [0024] a pair of mounting legs ref. 726 for mounting to the printed circuit board ref. 800, and a pair of mounting ears ref. 728 located in front of the corresponding mounting legs ref. 726 in the front-to-back direction and beside the mating cavity ref. 724 and in front of the printed circuit board ref. 800 for securing with a fastener, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski further with the teachings of Yu, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third/fourth electrical connector(s), etc., as disclosed by Barnett further includes electrical connector is stacked on the one end surface as taught by Yu so as to provide a pair of mounting legs for mounting to the printed circuit board, and a pair of mounting ears located in front of the corresponding mounting legs in the front-to-back direction and beside the mating cavity and in front of the printed circuit board for securing with a fastener, etc.
Regarding claim 16, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 15. Barnett further discloses a third electrical connector, wherein the third electrical connector is disposed on the circuit board and the third electrical connector is adapted to be electrically connected to an external electrical device to supply power from the battery cell to the external electrical device through the third electrical connector (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0111] and shown in Figs. 3-6 the circuit board further has a pair of electrical connectors refs. 123a, 123b, etc., such that these connectors ref. 123 connect with the selected battery powered device ref. 20 in order to provide electrical power to the device ref. 20, etc., also see [0112], [0125]),
wherein the third electrical connector comprises an open port, wherein the open port faces an outside of the housing and the open port is in communication with the housing (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0125] the top surface ref. 105 of the top housing ref. 101 includes a pair of openings ref. 106 through which connectors ref. 123 can be accessed, etc., such that said tulip connectors as disclosed in [0111] and shown in at least Figs. 3-6 comprise an open port so as to be accessed via said openings refs. 106, etc., such that said open port(s) ref. 106 at least faces an outside of the housing so as to be in communication with said housing), and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Since Barnett discloses the open port as discussed above, and further discloses in [0112] the circuit board ref. 120 has cut-outs to accommodate the electrical connectors ref. 123 as shown in at least Figs. 3-6 and Annotated Fig. 5A, this at least provides a closed end, whereby the closed end is away from the open port (i.e., ref. 106 as discussed above), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said tulip connector at least has a closed port thereof so as to back against a cut-out of said circuit board, and lacking any further structural distinction thereof (also see [0044]-[0045]),
Since Barnett discloses the open port(s) ref. 106 as discussed above, and Barnett further discloses in [0111] and shown in Figs. 3-6 the circuit board further has a pair of electrical connectors refs. 123a, 123b, etc., such that these connectors ref. 123 connect with the selected battery powered device ref. 20 in order to provide electrical power to the device ref. 20, etc., also see [0112], [0125], this at least provides the open port is suitable for a terminal insertion by the external electrical device, lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Furthermore, since Barnett discloses in [0110]-[0111] the circuit board has a pair of tabs ref. 121a and 121b, etc., such that the first (positive) tab ref. 121a is electrically connected to the positive electrode of the cell ref. 130, and the second (negative) tab ref. 121b is electrically connected to the negative electrode of the cell ref. 130 as disclosed in at least [0111] and shown in at least Figs. 3-6, such that these tabs refs. 121a-b are connected to the board ref. 120 as are the electrical connectors ref. 123, etc., so that electrical connectors ref. 123 serve as positive and negative electrodes of the board ref. 120, this at least provides the closed end extends to be conductively fixed to the circuit board, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said closed ends of said electrical connectors ref. 123(a-b) as discussed above are at least conductively fixed to the circuit board so as to serve as positive and negative electrodes of the board (i.e., circuit board), and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett and Krucinski and Yu as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Heichal et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2010/0112843 A1), hereinafter Heichal.
Regarding claim 17, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 16. Barnett further discloses the electrical connector comprises a body (i.e., at least electrical connector(s) refs. 123a-b comprise a body so that these connectors ref. 123 connect with the selected battery powered device ref. 20 in order to provide electrical power to the device ref. 20, etc., also see [0112], [0125]), lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said body.
Furthermore, since Barnett discloses in [0110]-[0111] the circuit board has a pair of tabs ref. 121a and 121b, etc., such that the first (positive) tab ref. 121a is electrically connected to the positive electrode of the cell ref. 130, and the second (negative) tab ref. 121b is electrically connected to the negative electrode of the cell ref. 130 as disclosed in at least [0111] and shown in at least Figs. 3-6, such that these tabs refs. 121a-b are connected to the board ref. 120 as are the electrical connectors ref. 123, etc., so that electrical connectors ref. 123 serve as positive and negative electrodes of the board ref. 120, this at least provides the closed end extends to be conductively fixed to the circuit board, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said closed ends of said electrical connectors ref. 123(a-b) as discussed above are at least conductively fixed to the circuit board so as to serve as positive and negative electrodes of the board (i.e., circuit board), and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
However, Barnett is silent as to the third electrical connector comprises a body and a conductive terminal integrally connected to the body, the conductive terminal has an open end and a closed end, the open end is sealed and wrapped by the body, and the closed end at least partially extends through the body to be conductively fixed to the circuit board.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claim 16. Heichal teaches a system for electrically connecting batteries to electric vehicles. Heichal further teaches in [0154] an electrical connection system ref. 2400. Heichal further teaches said electrical connection system comprises a body and a conductive terminal (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 24A above in claim 9, also see Fig. 9 with regards to power connectors refs. 906 (908), which are at least conductive terminals), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said conductive terminal and/or body (also see [0155]-[0175]).
Heichal further teaches wherein the conductive terminal is connected to the body and the conductive terminal is opposite to the open port (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 24A above in claim 9, also Fig. 9).
Furthermore, since Heichal teaches in [0154] data connectors ref. 910 of Fig. 9 (which include the cables and connection interfaces) are described in detail with relation to Figs. 24A-27 and are thus referred to by new names and numbers, etc., whereby as taught in [0160] Fig. 24A also shows the sealing mechanism ref. 2472 surrounding a portion of the battery-side coupling portion ref. 2456, whereby the sealing mechanism ref. 2472 is designed to prevent ingress of environmental contaminants to the area between the coupling portions that contains the power ref. 2416, 2466 and data interfaces refs. 2418, 2468, etc., this at least provides the conductive terminal is at least partially wrapped and sealed by the body, such that the open end is at least sealed and wrapped by the body, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said partially wrapped and/or sealed.
Heichal further teaches the conductive terminal has an open end and a closed end, the open end is sealed and wrapped by the body, and the closed end at least partially extends through the body (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 9), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said conductive terminal and/or body is broad in scope and is at least embodied by Heichal so as to prevent ingress of environmental contaminants to the area between the coupling portions that contains the power and data interfaces, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu with the teachings of Heichal, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third electrical connector(s), body, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu further includes an electrical connector comprises a body and a conductive terminal connected to the body, the conductive terminal has an open end and a closed end, the open end is sealed and wrapped by the body, and the closed end at least partially extends through the body as taught by Heichal so as to prevent ingress of environmental contaminants, etc.
As to the limitation, the closed end at least partially extends through the body to be conductively fixed to the circuit board, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since Barnett and Krucinski and Yu discloses electrical connections to a circuit board, etc., and Heichal teaches the closed end partially extends through the body, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu and Heichal so as to provide that said closed end at least partially extends through the body to be conductively fixed to the circuit board so as to serve as positive and negative electrodes of the board (i.e., circuit board), and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Furthermore, although the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu and Heichal does not explicitly state that the conductive terminal is integrally connected to the body, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu and Heichal discloses the conductive terminal is connected to the body, that making said conductive terminal integral with the body is a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04, V., B., C., In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965)).
Annotated Figure 9 (Heichal)
Regarding claim 19, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 17. However, Barnett is silent as to the body is respectively provided with lugs on two sides in a width direction of the circuit board, the lugs and the circuit board are correspondingly provided with connection holes for connection members to pass through, and each of the connection members correspondingly pass through each of the connection holes to fix the body and the circuit board.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu and Heichal disclose the battery pack including the closed end of the conductive terminal, circuit board, etc., as discussed above in claim 17. Yu teaches an electrical connector having metallic outer cover equipped with transversely linked mounting ears and sealing element secured upon front end region (Title). Yu further teaches in [0017] referring to Figs. 1-10 an electrical connector ref. 100 for mounting to a printed circuit board comprises a metallic outer cover ref. 1 having a receiving space ref. 10, etc. Yu further teaches in [0024] Figs. 11-13 show an electrical connector assembly ref. 900 including an electrical connector ref. 700 mounted upon the printed circuit board ref. 800 wherein the electrical connector ref. 700 includes a metallic outer cover ref. 720, etc., such that the metallic outer cover ref. 720 includes elliptic tubular main portion ref. 722 forming therein a mating cavity ref. 724 in which a tongue portion ref. 712 of the contact module ref. 710 forwardly extends, a pair of mounting legs ref. 726 for mounting to the printed circuit board 800, and a pair of mounting ears ref. 728 located in front of the corresponding mounting legs ref. 726 in the front-to-back direction and beside the mating cavity ref. 724 and in front of the printed circuit board ref. 800 for securing with a fastener, and each mounting ear ref. 728 is linked, via a connecting portion ref. 729, to the elliptic tubular main portion ref. 722 in the transverse direction perpendicular to the front-to-back direction so as to provide a reliable support for the mating cavity ref. 724 during mating, and notably, the mounting ear ref. 728 and the corresponding connecting portion ref. 729 commonly form a side arm (not labeled) as illustrated in the first embodiment, which at least provides the body is respectively provided with lugs on two sides in a width direction of the circuit board, the lugs and the circuit board are correspondingly provided with connection holes for connection members to pass through, and each of the connection members correspondingly pass through each of the connection holes to fix the body and the circuit board, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu and Heichal with the teachings of Yu, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third electrical connector(s), body, circuit board, conductive terminal, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu and Heichal further includes a body is respectively provided with lugs on two sides in a width direction of the circuit board, the lugs and the circuit board are correspondingly provided with connection holes for connection members to pass through, and each of the connection members correspondingly pass through each of the connection holes to fix the body and the circuit board as taught by Yu so as to secure with a fastener so that each mounting ear is linked, etc.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett and Krucinski and Yu and Heichal as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Kwag et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2009/0317703 A1), hereinafter Kwag.
Regarding claim 18, Barnett discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 17. However, Barnett is silent as to the closed end of the conductive terminal is welded and fixed to the circuit board in a circular arc of 90 degrees.
The combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu and Heichal disclose the battery pack including the closed end of the conductive terminal, circuit board, etc., as discussed above in claim 17. Kwag teaches a battery pack (Title). Kwag further teaches in [0035] the circuit board ref. 131 has cutaway portions ref. 131c formed at four corners, and each of the cutaway portions ref. 131c has an arc shape but the shape is not limited thereto, and the cutaway portions ref. 131c are formed to enable laser welding of the connector tabs ref. 140 and ref. 140' to the tops of the battery cells ref. 110 and ref. 120, such that any shape enabling the laser welding may be employed in the cutaway portions ref. 131c, and further, the overall configuration of the circuit board ref. 131 may be selected to permit access to perform the laser welding of the connector tabs ref. 140, 140'., which at least provides a conductive terminal is welded and fixed to the circuit board in a circular arc of 90 degrees, such that said circular arc is at least close to a circular arc of 90 degrees as shown in at least Fig. 5C (also see Figs. 5D-F, [0054]-[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu and Heichal with the teachings of Kwag, whereby the battery pack including the housing, circuit board, first/second/third electrical connector(s), body, circuit board, conductive terminal, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu and Heichal further includes a conductive terminal is welded and fixed to the circuit board in a circular arc of 90 degrees as taught by Kwag so as to permit access to perform the laser welding of the connector tabs.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since the combined teachings of Barnett and Krucinski and Yu and Heichal disclose the conductive terminal, circuit board, etc., and Kwag teaches laser welding in arc shape, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that the shape of said arc weld and/or circuit board for said welding is a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP IV., B.) so as to permit access to perform the laser welding of the connector tabs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of Barnett have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Barnett and Cisar have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Please see the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record in view of Barnett and Krucinski for claims 1, 5, 8, and 20, and the claims that depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0131808 A1) discloses a power bank with a plurality of pluggable battery modules (Title), whereby as disclosed in Fig. 5 and ref. 37 first/second/third/fourth, etc., are stacked, etc.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727