DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peretz et al. (US 2020/0287413)
Re Claims 7, 11 and 12; Peretz disclose a non-contact power supply device for supplying power to a load the non-contact power supply device comprising:
an inverter (11) to convert power supplied from a power supply into a predetermined AC power, the inverter including a plurality of switches (Q1-Q4);
a feeder (CM) provided to transmit the AC power to the Load;
a filter circuit (17) provided between the inverter and the feeder and including a reactor (Lp) and a capacitor (CP); and
a controller (Primary controller) configured or programmed to perform power control of the AC power that is to be supplied to the feeder; (Par 0083)
wherein the controller (Primary controller) is configured or programmed to obtain a current value that flows through the inverter and is output from the inverter while changing a switching frequency of the switches of the inverter in a state in which a current having a predetermined value flows through the feeder, (the placement of the current sensor continuously receiver the current data regardless of the state of the switches) and to set and output a reactor value of the reactor and a capacitance value of the capacitor so that the current value becomes a minimum value at a predetermined frequency based on the switching frequency at which the current value is a minimum value. (Par 0086-7)
Peretz does not disclose a traveling vehicle traveling on a track rail in a non-contact manner,
However, vehicle traveling on a track rail in a non-contact manner are known and it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have used the device of Peretz on traveling vehicle traveling on a track rail in a non-contact manner in order to provide wireless power with its advantages to the vehicle such as protecting charging ports from damage caused by repeated plugging and unplugging.
Re Claim 8; Peretz disclose wherein the controller is configured or programmed to set the predetermined value of the current that flows through the feeder to a value below a current required to drive traveling of the load. (The tuning circuit tunes the current to whatever the load requires which would be a value below a current required to drive traveling of the load Par 0076 to regulate a target current/power to the receiving side at best power transfer conditions.)
Re Claim 9; Peretz disclose wherein the controller is configured or programmed to change the switching frequency in steps within a predetermined range. (Claim 3)
Re Claim 10; Peretz disclose wherein the controller is configured or programmed to include a table in which the switching frequency is associated with the reactor value of the reactor and the capacitance value of the capacitor, and to obtain the reactor value of the reactor and the capacitance value of the capacitor from the table based on the switching frequency at which the current value is the minimum value. (controllers holds the table in which the switching frequency)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that Peretz does not teach:
Obtaining the inverter current while sweeping switching frequency,
Identifying the frequency at which that inverter current is minimized, and
Setting L/C values so that the inverter current is minimized at a predetermined frequency.
Applicant further asserts that Peretz only regulates current after the inverter, and that Peretz’s frequency‑tracking approach is the “opposite” of tuning L/C values to a fixed frequency.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Peretz expressly teaches or strongly suggests each of the disputed features. The following paragraphs from Peretz directly contradict Applicant’s assertions.
1. Peretz explicitly measures and regulates the current that flows through and is output from the inverter.
Applicant argues that Peretz regulates only a downstream current. However, Peretz repeatedly states that the primary resonant current the same current that flows through and is output from the full‑bridge inverter is sensed and regulated.
Supporting citations:
¶[0079]: The full‑bridge inverter 11 directly drives the primary resonant network (Lp, Cp).
¶[0081]: The primary current Ip is the current produced by the inverter and flowing into the resonant network.
¶[0045], ¶[0053]–[0054]: Peretz explicitly “senses the regulated current Ireg from the primary resonant circuit” and compares it to a target value.
Fig. 9: Shows the current‑sensing circuit directly measuring the primary resonant current.
Because the resonant network is directly connected to the inverter output, the “primary resonant current” is the inverter output current.
Thus, Peretz does obtain the current flowing through and output from the inverter.
Peretz teaches sweeping/adjusting switching frequency while monitoring inverter current.
Applicant argues that Peretz does not vary switching frequency while observing inverter current. But Peretz’s first control loop (DPLL) continuously adjusts the switching frequency and uses phase detection to determine whether the system is at resonance.
Supporting citations:
¶[0017]–[0018]: The first control loop adjusts switching frequency fsw to compensate for impedance changes.
¶[0024]–[0025]: The switching frequency is synthesized to follow the resonant frequency.
¶[0042]–[0044]: The tuning procedure explicitly includes frequency adjustment (Stage I) followed by current measurement (Stage III).
Fig. 4 (Steps 42–45): Shows frequency tuning, secondary tuning, and then regulated current measurement.
Thus, Peretz performs frequency variation while monitoring inverter current, exactly as recited in amended claims 7 and 12.
3. Peretz inherently identifies the frequency at which inverter current is minimized (resonance).
Applicant argues that Peretz does not identify a “minimum current” point. However, Peretz’s entire tuning algorithm is built around finding the resonant frequency the frequency at which reactive current is minimized and power transfer is maximized.
Supporting citations:
¶[0040]: “Optimal power transfer conditions may be obtained when the phase difference… equals 90°.”
¶[0081]–[0082]: At resonance, currents are sinusoidal and in phase with voltage—this is the condition of minimum reactive current.
Fig. 8A–8B: Shows the phase‑based detection of resonance (i.e., the minimum‑current point).
Thus, Peretz inherently identifies the frequency at which inverter current is minimized.
4. Peretz teaches adjusting L and C values to force resonance at a desired (predetermined) frequency.
Applicant argues that Peretz does not operate at a predetermined frequency. But Peretz explicitly teaches adjusting Lp and Ls to set the resonant frequency which is equivalent to tuning L/C values so that resonance occurs at a desired frequency.
Supporting citations:
¶[0032]–[0035]: The resonant frequency may be adjusted by changing inductors or capacitors.
¶[0078]: Variable capacitance or inductance may be used to tune the matching networks.
¶[0019]–[0023]: The secondary controller adjusts Ls to match the primary resonant frequency.
Fig. 6A–6B: Shows variable inductors used to shift resonant frequency.
Thus, Peretz teaches the same concept: setting L/C values so that the system operates at a desired frequency.
5. Peretz teaches setting L/C values to achieve optimal (minimum) inverter current at the operating frequency.
Applicant argues that Peretz does not “set and output” L/C values. But Peretz’s multi‑loop controller adjusts Lp and Ls until the system reaches the optimal (minimum‑current) resonant condition.
Supporting citations:
¶[0044]–[0045]: The system adjusts Lp until the desired regulated current is achieved.
¶[0051]–[0053]: The secondary inductance Ls is adjusted until the phase difference equals 90° (resonance).
¶[0076]–[0077]: The controller continuously tunes both matching networks to maintain optimal power transfer.
This is functionally identical to “setting and outputting” L/C values that minimize inverter current at the operating frequency.
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/
05/22/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836