Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11 and 19 recite the limitation “amino acid” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claims depend from claim 1, which did not recite amino acid. It is noted that Claim 7 is when amino acid first recited.
Claims 12, 13 and 20 recite the limitation “leucine”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claims depend from claim 1, which did not recite amino acid. It is noted that Claim 8 is when leucine first recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, 10, 12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams US 20130298921 A1.
Williams teaches an inhalable composition comprising at least about 25 wt. % anatabine based on the total alkaloid weight. In some examples, anatabine is the sole alkaloid present in the composition, e.g., anatabine comprises 100 wt. % of the total alkaloid weight. In other examples, up to about 75 wt. % of one or more other alkaloids, such as nicotine, nornicotine, and/or anabasine, may be present in addition to anatabine. For example, anatabine and nicotine may be combined in a weight ratio (anatabine-to-nicotine) of about 50:1 to about 1:3, or from about 25:1 to about 1:2, from about 10:1 to about 3:2, or from about 5:1 to about 1:1. See paragraph 0017. Micronized dry powder used in inhalers typically is produced with an original particle range of about 1-10 microns. An individual dose may include, for example, from about 5 mg to about 20 mg of powder. The active agent(s) may be combined with one or more excipient carriers, non-limiting examples of which include lactose, trehalose, and mannitol. If desired, one or more flavorants may be added to the composition, non-limiting examples of which include peppermint, menthol, wintergreen, spearmint, propolis, eucalyptus, cinnamon, natural or artificial tobacco flavors, or the like. The total amount of flavorants and/or other additives typically ranges from about 0.5 to about 15 wt. %, often from about 1 to about 10 wt. %, based on the total weight of the composition. See paragraph 0024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuber et al. WO 2018002756 A1, in view of Levin et al. (J Psychopharmacol 2014) and Williams US 20130298921 A1.
Zuber teaches a free flowing inhalable dry powder comprises nicotine, a sugar and an amino acid. The dry powder has particle with a diameter size in a range from about 0.5 to about 10 µm, or from about 0.5 to about 5 µm measure as mass medium aerodynamic diameter. The powder comprises about 25 wt% or less nicotine or from about 5 to about 15 wt% nicotine. This disclosure relates to particles comprising nicotine, a sugar, and an amino acid. Particles may be formed having a specific particle size distribution. In illustrative examples, about 90%, or about 95%, or about 98% of the particles have a size of about 5 µm or less. In many of these examples, about 10% of the particles have a size of about 820 nanometers or less. The particles may have a mass median aerodynamic diameter in a range from about 1 to about 4 µm. Advantageously, the nicotine particles and powder formulation described herein provide for a homogenous and stable particle size sufficient to deliver nicotine to the lungs of a consumer at inhalation or air flow rates that are within conventional smoking regime inhalation or air flow rates. The nicotine particles and powder formulation described herein allows these particles to be formed by spray drying to achieve a specific and controlled particle size distribution while minimizing agglomeration or adherence to surfaces such as processing equipment surfaces. See page 1. The particle may include an amino acid or peptide (preferably formed of three or less amino acids). The amino acid or peptide may reduce adhesion forces of the particles forming the composition and mitigate or prevent agglomeration of the particles forming the composition. The particles forming the composition described herein thus may be a free flowing material and possess a stable relative particle size distribution during processing, transport and storage. The amino acid may be a single amino acid or molecule containing two or more amino acids such as a peptide. Useful amino acids may include leucine, alanine, valine, isoleucine, methionine, phenylalanine, tyrosine, tryptophan, or a combination thereof. One preferred amino acid is leucine or a leucine isomer such as, L-leucine. The particle may include a sugar. Sugar refers to simple sugars, monosaccharides, disaccharides, and polysaccharides. Without limitation, examples of suitable sugars are lactose, sucrose, raffinose, trehalose, fructose, dextrose, glucose, maltose, mannitol, or combinations thereof. Preferred sugars include trehalose or mannitol. See page 4. Nicotine present in an amount ranging from 0.5-20%, sugar in an amount ranging from 60-95%, and amino acid in an amount ranging from 1-10% is found in page 5.
The only thing missing from the teaching of Zuber is anatabine compound.
Levin teaches while nicotine is the primary alkaloid found in tobacco, it is not the only nicotinic acetylcholine receptor agonist present. Among alkaloid compounds similar to nicotine, anatabine is found to have similar structure to nicotine yet present more advantageous result over nicotine. See page 2.
Similar to the suggestion in the Levin reference, Williams teaches an inhalable composition comprising at least about 25 wt. % anatabine based on the total alkaloid weight. In some examples, anatabine is the sole alkaloid present in the composition, e.g., anatabine comprises 100 wt. % of the total alkaloid weight. In other examples, up to about 75 wt. % of one or more other alkaloids, such as nicotine, nornicotine, and/or anabasine, may be present in addition to anatabine. For example, anatabine and nicotine may be combined in a weight ratio (anatabine-to-nicotine) of about 50:1 to about 1:3, or from about 25:1 to about 1:2, from about 10:1 to about 3:2, or from about 5:1 to about 1:1. See paragraph 0017.
As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to, by routine experimentation optimize the teaching in Zuber in view of the teaching in the Levin and Williams with the expectation to obtain the claimed invention. This is because Zuber teaches an inhalable composition that comprises exactly every component of the present claimed invention except for anatabine. While Zuber teaches nicotine instead of anatabine, Williams teaches an inhalable composition that comprises nicotine and anatabine, thus provides the motivation to combine nicotine and anatabine to obtain the claimed invention. Further in view of the teaching in Williams, Levin suggested anatabine which is a known alkaloid compound that has similar structure to nicotine, yet providing a more advantageous and unexpected result over nicotine compound. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include anatabine in the inhalable composition taught in Zuber in view of the teaching of Levin and Williams with the expectation to obtain an inhalable powder comprising anatabine useful in pharmaceutical art.
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615