DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
The amendment/remarks submitted 04/21/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, and 13-19 are pending. Claims 5, 7, and 11-12 cancelled. Claims 1 and 6 are amended. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, and 13-19 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0136100 A1 (“Yamamoto”) in view of US 2022/0209361 A1 (“Huang”) and JP 2012-119224 A (“Yoshitomi” – machine translation provided by applicant dated 04/12/2024 cited herein).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6, and 8, Yamamoto discloses a separator 300 comprising a base material 310 (“porous polymer substrate”) and insulating layers 320 (“organic/inorganic composite porous layer”) disposed on two surfaces of the base material 310 (Fig. 3; [0023]). The base material 310 comprises a resin and is porous ([0066], [0069]). Each of the insulating layers 320 comprises an inorganic filler and a resin ([0071]-[0072]). A ratio of a thickness of the insulating layer 320 to a thickness of the base material 310 may be equal to or greater than 1.50 and equal to or less than 3.00 (Abstract; [0014], [0023], [0025], [0100]).
Yamamoto discloses the total of the thickness of the insulating layer 322 and the thickness of the insulating layer 324 may be suitably determined, and may be, for example, equal to or greater than 10.0 µm and equal to or less than 20.0 µm ([0074]). This overlaps the claimed range. The thickness would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the thickness disclosed by Yamamoto overlaps the thickness as claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Furthermore, “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and MPEP 2144.05.
Yamamoto discloses a thickness of the base material 310 may be suitably determined, and may be, for example, equal to or greater than 5.0 µm and equal to or less than 10.0 µm ([0073]). This overlaps the claimed range. The thickness would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the thickness disclosed by Yamamoto overlaps the thickness as claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Furthermore, “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and MPEP 2144.05.
Yamamoto does not expressly disclose the inorganic particles have a BET specific surface area of 50-150 m2/g or the inorganic particles have an average particle diameter (D50) of 20-47 nm.
Huang discloses a separator for a lithium-ion battery contains an organic substrate coated with a coating layer, containing a binder and alumina particles (Abstract). The alumina preferably has a surface of 50 m2/g to 150 m2/g ([0039]). Huang discloses the separators with the coating layer demonstrated lower AC impedance increase ([0131]) and higher cycle performance retention ([0134]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the BET specific surface area through routine experimentation in the pursuit of lower AC impedance increase and higher cycle performance retention.
Huang discloses the alumina preferably has a number mean particle diameter d50 of 30 nm-700 nm ([0041]). This overlaps the claimed ranges. The D50 would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the D50 disclosed by Huang overlaps the D50 as claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Furthermore, “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and MPEP 2144.05.
Yamamoto does not expressly disclose a surface of the organic/inorganic composite porous layer has an arithmetic mean roughness of 150-355 nm.
Yoshitomi discloses a separator for a nonaqueous electrolyte battery comprises a porous base material containing polyolefin, and a heat-resistant porous layer disposed on one side or both sides of the porous base material and containing a heat-resistant resin. On the side with the heat-resistant porous layer, the center line average roughness (Ra) satisfies 0.1 µm ≤ Ra ≤ 0.5 µm (Abstract). If the Ra is less than 0.1 µm, the smoothness is too high, which is undesirable as it causes slippage with the electrode active material. On the other hand, if Ra exceeds 0.5 µm, unevenness occurs in the spacing between the electrode active materials, and good cycle characteristics may not be obtained ([0015]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the arithmetic mean roughness because Yoshitomi discloses it prevents slippage with the electrode active material, prevents unevenness from occurring in the spacing between the electrode active materials, and provides good cycle characteristics.
Regarding claims 9-10, modified Yamamoto discloses the separator of claim 1. Huang discloses an inorganic particle of fumed alumina ([0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Yamamoto discloses the separator of claim 1. Yamamoto discloses a thickness of the separator 300 may be suitably determined, and may be, for example, equal to or greater than 15.0 µm and equal to or less than 30.0 µm ([0075]). This overlaps the claimed range. The thickness would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the thickness disclosed by Yamamoto overlaps the thickness as claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Furthermore, “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 14-15, modified Yamamoto discloses the separator of claim 1. Yoshitomi discloses the content of the inorganic filler in the heat-resistant porous layer is preferably 50 to 95% by mass of the total mass of the heat-resistant resin and the inorganic filler, from the viewpoints of improving heat resistance, permeability, and handleability ([0045]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the ratio of the inorganic particles and binder polymer through routine experimentation to improve heat resistance, permeability, and handleability.
Regarding claim 16, modified Yamamoto discloses the separator of claim 1. Modified Yamamoto is silent regarding the organic/inorganic composite porous layer having a weight corresponding to 50-99 wt% based on a total weight of the separator. However, Yoshitomi discloses the content of the inorganic filler in the heat-resistant porous layer is preferably 50 to 95% by mass of the total mass of the heat-resistant resin and the inorganic filler, from the viewpoints of improving heat resistance, permeability, and handleability ([0045]). It is noted that the content of the organic/inorganic composite porous layer can affect its relative weight. Yamamoto discloses the ratio of a thickness of the insulating layer 320 to a thickness of the base material 310 may be equal to or greater than 1.50 and equal to or less than 3.00 to improve resistance in the nail penetration test (Abstract; [0014], [0023], [0025], [0100]). It is noted that the thickness of the organic/inorganic composite porous layer can affect its relative weight. In view of these facts, it is the opinion of the Office that the claimed weight percentage of the organic/inorganic composite porous layer would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention from the standpoint of improving heat resistance, permeability, and handleability, and improving resistance in the nail penetration test.
Regarding claims 17-18, modified Yamamoto discloses the separator of claim 1. It is deemed that the claimed ratio of light transmission and heat shrinkage are inherent characteristics and/or properties of the specifically disclosed separator. In this respect, MPEP 2112 sets forth the following:
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
“When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
“Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.
Regarding claim 19, modified Yamamoto discloses the separator of claim 1. Yamamoto disclose a battery 10 comprising a positive electrode 100, a negative electrode 200, and the separator 300 disposed between the positive electrode 100 and the negative electrode 200 (Fig. 3; [0023]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that amended claim 1 is clearly distinguished from Yamamoto and points to examples of Yamamoto in support. The Office respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 is rejected over Yamamoto in view of Huang and Yoshitomi. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). The Office finds claim 1 to be obvious over the broader disclosures of Yamamoto in view of Huang and Yoshitomi.
Applicant’s primary argument is the presence of unexpected results in the claimed invention. While the Office acknowledges the narrower scope of claim 1 as amended, this does not fully address the concerns of the Office regarding unexpected results. Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 716.02. For example, a substrate thickness of 4.5 to 6.5 µm, a composite layer thickness of 6 to 10 µm (or in applicant’s Group A, only 10 µm), a thickness ratio of 1.08 to 2.86 (or in applicant’s Group A, 1.54 to 2.86), a D50 of 23 to 47 nm, a BET specific surface area of 51 to 130 m2/g, and an arithmetic mean roughness Ra of 210 to 420 nm (or in applicant’s Group A, 210 to 355 nm). The instant claim is broader in each instance and it is not clear whether the entire claimed range would appreciate the results discussed by applicant.
Contact Information
Robert Scott Carrico
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/Robert S Carrico/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727