DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 4-8 are currently pending and are subject to this office action. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 2 and 3 are canceled. This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 03/23/2026.
Response to Amendments
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 03/23/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 8-11, filed 03/23/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the filter of Inagaki is provided at a downstream end of the cigarette, while the first filter of Jang is not at a downstream end, and thus it would not have been obvious to modify the first filter of Jang with Inagaki’s heater. Further, it is unclear in the combination where the moisturizer accommodation portion of Jang would be located.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 does not recite whether the first filter segment or first heater unit must be positioned at a downstream or upstream end of the aerosol generating article. Further, a test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference, rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2145(III)). Jang discloses the first filter (Fig. 5B: #531) and first and second heater units (Fig. 4A: #41a & #42a). Inagaki is being used to teach the known configuration of a heater surrounding and heating a filter portion, not the location of the filter segments and heaters relative to the aerosol generating article. Inagaki’s heater provides heat to the high efficiency filter (Fig. 1: #2) and the filter works to remove particles contained in tobacco smoke to deliver vapor to a user [0014]. Additionally, Inagaki is not limited to only a downstream filter arrangement. Inagaki supports upstream and downstream heaters that overlap filters [0043], as shown in Figure 10.
Furthermore, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the language of “the cavity segment formed by the first filter segment and the second filter segment” does not require the cavity segment to be exclusively bounded by the first and second filter segments. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the moisturizer accommodation portion (Fig. 5B: #520) of Jang could remain adjacent to, integrated with, or otherwise linked with the modified filter arrangement while allowing the tobacco medium accommodation portion (Fig. 5B: #510) to still be formed between the first and second filter segments. Jang discloses that the second filter may be located between the tobacco medium accommodation portion (Fig. 5B: #510) and the moisturizer accommodation portion (Fig. 5B: #520, [0090]), further supporting the possibility of movement for the moisturizer accommodation portion (Fig. 5B: #520). Thus, Jang and Itabashi combined suggest the claimed arrangement, regardless of whether additional structures, such as the moisturizer accommodation portion, remain in the device.
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 12-13, filed 03/23/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to include a limitation that was not previously presented, specifically, “the tobacco granule, which is in the cavity segment, comprises 5 wt% or less of moisture”. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yilmaz (US 20160066617 A1).
The following are modified rejections based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (KR 20190093027 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20200359688 A1), and further in view of Inagaki (US 20050145260 A1), Itabashi (EP 3391758 A1), Jarriault (EP 2814341 B1), and Yilmaz (US 20160066617 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Jang, directed to an aerosol generation system, (i) teaches an aerosol generation system with an aerosol generating device [0006], comprising (ii) an outer housing with an elongated cavity (Fig. 2: #211) for accommodating a cigarette [0046]. (iii) The device includes a heater (Fig. 2: #212), in which when the cigarette is inserted into the aerosol generation device, the heater heats the cigarette and allows aerosol to be generated [0052]. The device includes (iv) a controller (Fig. 2: #213) that may adjust power supplied from a battery to adjust a temperature of the heater [0060].
Jang further teaches wherein (v) the cigarette may include a first filter (Fig. 5B: #531), a second filter (Fig. 5B: #532), and a tobacco medium accommodation portion (Fig. 5B: #510), meeting the claim limitation of a first filter segment, second filter segment, and a cavity segment.
Jang further teaches (vi) wherein the aerosol generation device may include a first heater (Fig. 4A: #41a) and a second heater (Fig. 4A: #42a). In one embodiment, the first heater unit (Fig. 4A: #41a) overlaps with the tobacco medium accommodation portion (Fig. 4A: #410) and is configured to heat the tobacco medium accommodation portion [0083]. (vii) The first and second heater unit’s (Fig. 4A: #41a & #41b) are spaced apart (Fig. 4A: “S”) from each other in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the cigarette and are arranged continuously.
(viii) The tobacco medium accommodation portion can be filled with tobacco cuts or strands [0037-0038]. Under BRI, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that granules can refer to a small cut piece or particle of material. Additionally, both granules and cuts or strands are different forms of the same tobacco material and used for the same purpose. (vii) The second heater unit (Fig. 5B: #532) is located upstream of the tobacco medium accommodation portion (Fig. 5b: #510), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first filter segment is located upstream of the cavity segment. Jang teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Jang is silent to:
The first heater unit overlapping with the first filter segment in a first direction that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the aerosol generating article, and configured to heat the first filter segment of the aerosol generating article
The cavity segment is defined by a compartment formed by the first filter segment and the second filter segment
The first filter segment comprises an aerosol forming agent
The tobacco granule, which is in the cavity segment, comprises 5 wt% or less of moisture
In regards to i., Inagaki, directed to a filter for smoking teaches (i) a heater (Fig. 1: #3) that surrounds a filter (Fig. 1: #2, [0030]) in a direction that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of a cigarette. The heater and filter may be positioned upstream or downstream relative to the cigarette (Fig. 1: #10, [0043]). The heater (Fig. 1: #3) is configured to heat the filter (Fig. 1: #2) of the cigarette [0030] to effectively remove undesired components being delivered to the user [0045].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first heater unit of Jang to overlap with the first filter segment in a first direction that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the aerosol generating article, and configured to heat the first filter segment of the aerosol generating article because both Jang and Inagaki are directed to filtering to provide desirable tastes to a user. Inagaki teaches a filter that is surrounded and heated by a heater to effectively remove undesired components being delivered to the user [0045] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known filtering methods to yield predictable results.
In regards to ii., Itabashi, directed to a smoking product and filter, teaches (ii) a first filter main body (Fig. 1: #21) and a second filter main body (Fig. 1: #22). The two filter bodies form a cavity (Fig. 1: #24, [0043]), wherein the cavity comprises granules (Fig. 1: #25, [0030]) to improve the quality of the smoking article [0044].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cavity segment of Jang to be defined by a compartment formed by the first filter segment and the second filter segment because both Jang and Itabashi are directed to filtering in aerosol generating devices to improve the quality of smoke delivered to a user. Itabashi teaches two filter bodies that form a cavity to improve the quality of the smoking article [0044] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known positional techniques to yield predictable results.
In regards to iii., Jarriault, directed to an aerosol-generating article, teaches wherein (iii) an aerosol forming substrate comprises a bundle of cast-leaf tobacco, comprising an aerosol forming additive wrapped in a filter paper [0063]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the filter surrounded aerosol forming agent of Jarriault with the heater surrounded filter segment location of modified Jang to improve the density and strength of the tobacco and deliver smooth aerosol to a user [0008], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first filter segment includes an aerosol forming agent.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cavity segment and first filter segment of Jang to where the first filter segment includes an aerosol forming agent because both Jang and Jarriault are directed to filtering aerosol to provide efficient smoke delivery to a user. Jarriault teaches an aerosol forming filter with an aerosol forming additive to improve the density and strength of the tobacco, making it more suitable for use as an aerosol forming substrate [0008] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known filtering methods to yield predictable results.
In regards to iv., Yilmaz, directed to a vaporizable material and capsule, teaches (vii) dried plant fibers, that are formed into particles [0033], having a moisture content of about 5 wt% or less [0034] to improve the taste of aerosol delivered to a user [0046].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tobacco granules in the cavity segment of modified Jang to comprise 5 wt% or less of moisture because both Jang and Yilmaz are directed to using moisture to improve the taste of aerosol delivered to a user. Yilmaz teaches tobacco particles having a moisture content of 5 wt% or less to improve the taste of aerosol delivered to a user [0046] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known tobacco particle properties to yield predictable results.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (KR 20190093027 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20200359688 A1), Inagaki (US 20050145260 A1), Itabashi (EP 3391758 A1), Jarriault (EP 2814341 B1), and Yilmaz (US 20160066617 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakano (EP 3841897 A1).
With regard to Claim 4, Jang teaches (i) wherein a controller is connected to the first and second heaters to determine heating temperatures [0059]. The first heater heats the tobacco medium [0020] causing smoke to be generated [0036], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the control unit is further configured to drive first heater unit in a smoky mode. (ii) The first temperature range may be 150° C. to 200° C [0088]. There is a significant overlap in the temperature range of 180° C to 240° C in the claimed invention. The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. Modified Jang teaches all of the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Jang is silent to:
Wherein the first heater unit is driven in a smokeless mode
Wherein in the smokeless mode, the first heater unit is not heated
Nakano, directed to a suction component generator, teaches (i) where an operation of a suction component generator is referred to as a smokeless mode [0121], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first heater unit is driven in a smokeless mode. (ii) The smokeless mode can be established by maintaining the amount of heat applied by a temperature controller [0121], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the smokeless mode, the first heater unit is not heated. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply the smokeless mode to Jang to make the aerosol less visible according to a user’s preferences [0121].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first heater unit of modified Jang to include a smokeless mode wherein the first heater unit is not heated because both Jang and Nakano are directed to aerosol generating devices with controlling means of heating. Nakano teaches a smokeless mode in a suction component generator that is established by maintaining the amount of heat applied by a temperature controller [0121] to make the aerosol less visible according to a user’s preferences [0121] and this merely involves applying a known heater operating method to a similar aerosol generating device to yield predictable results.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (KR 20190093027 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20200359688 A1), Inagaki (US 20050145260 A1), Itabashi (EP 3391758 A1), Jarriault (EP 2814341 B1), and Yilmaz (US 20160066617 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Raichman (US 20180104214 A1)
With regard to Claim 5, Jang teaches wherein a controller is connected to the first and second heaters to determine heating temperatures [0059]. The second heater may be in a temperature range of 200 °C to 250 °C [0075]. There is a significant overlap in the temperature range of 200 to 260 °C in the claimed invention. The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. Modified Jang teaches all of the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Jang is silent to:
Wherein the second heater unit is driven in one of a strong mode, a medium mode, and a weak mode
In the weak mode, the second heater unit is heated to maintain a temperature range of 150 °C to 180 °C
In the medium mode, the second heater unit is heated to maintain a temperature range of 160 ° C to 200 °C
Raichman, directed to vaporizing devices, (i) teaches a control circuitry that controls the functioning of a vaporizing unit [0050]. A vaporizer can be heated through three heating stages of different temperatures [0164], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the second heater unit can be driven on one of a strong mode, a medium mode, and a weak mode. (ii) Heating to a second temperature may be more than 140 degrees Celsius and/or 170 degrees Celsius [0166], showing a significant amount overlap with the range of 150° C to 180° C in the claimed invention. The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Raichman further teaches (iii) wherein heating to a third temperature may be more than 180 degrees Celsius and/or less than 220 degrees Celsius [0167], showing a significant amount overlap with the range of 160° C to 200° C in the claimed invention. The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply these modes to the second heater unit of Jang to generate different tastes based on the desires of a user [0115].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second heater unit of modified Jang to include a strong mode, medium mode, and a weak mode, wherein in the medium mode of the second heater is heated to a temperature range of 160° C to 200° C and in the weak mode the second heater unit is heated to maintain a temperature range of 150 °C to 180 °C because both Jang and Raichman are directed to aerosol generation devices with various heating temperatures. Raichman teaches a vaporizer with three different temperature heating stages, with one having a temperature range of 140 degrees Celsius to 170 degrees Celsius and another having a temperature range of 180 Celsius to 200 degrees Celsius to generate different tastes based on the desires of a user [0115] and this merely involves applying a known three-stage heating temperature function to a similar aerosol generating device for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (KR 20190093027 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20200359688 A1), Jang (KR 20190093027 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20200359688 A1), Inagaki (US 20050145260 A1), Itabashi (EP 3391758 A1), Jarriault (EP 2814341 B1), Yilmaz (US 20160066617 A1), and Raichman (US 20180104214 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Lee (WO 2021210900 A1)
With regard to Claim 6, modified Jang teaches the second heater in a strong mode and all of the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Jang is silent to:
Wherein the control unit is further configured to, in a case where the temperature of the first heater unit is less than 100 °C, drive the second heater unit in the strong mode
Lee, directed to an aerosol generating device, teaches wherein a heater, wherein the temperature is controlled by a controller [7] has a first temperature between 0° C to 100 C° [14], meeting the claim limitation of when the temperature of the first heater unit is less than 100° C. After the heater is heated to the first temperature, the heater has a second temperature higher than the first temperature, relating to a strong mode, in response to user inhalation [125]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the temperature threshold and separate temperature functions of Lee to the first and second heater of modified Jang containing separate temperature functions to generate a sufficient amount of vapor and rich flavor at the first puff from the device [0116], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the second heater unit is drive in the strong mode.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second heater of modified Jang to be driven in the strong mode when the temperature of the first heater unit is less than 100° C because both Jang and Lee are directed to temperature control in aerosol generating devices. Lee teaches a first heating temperature between 0° C and 100° C that activates a higher second heating temperature to generate a sufficient amount of vapor and rich flavor at the first puff from the device [0116] and this merely involves combining two heating temperatures of one prior art with two heaters with different temperature mode to yield predictable results.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (KR 20190093027 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20200359688 A1), Jang (KR 20190093027 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20200359688 A1), Inagaki (US 20050145260 A1), Itabashi (EP 3391758 A1), Jarriault (EP 2814341 B1), and Yilmaz (US 20160066617 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20210204611 A1)
With regard to Claim 7, modified Jang teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Jang is silent to:
Wherein the control unit is further configured to control the first heater unit and the second heater unit to reheat based on the temperature of the first heater unit and the second heater unit being outside a set temperature range after the first heater unit and the second heater unit are initially preheated
Lee, directed to a method for controlling power of a heater for an aerosol generating apparatus, teaches wherein a heater reheating operation occurs after determining the completion of preheating for the heater when the first target temperature or the second target temperature is no longer maintained [0033]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the structure of the two heaters of modified Jang with the operational teaching or reheating with two temperatures of Lee to produce an efficient atomization amount and a user-friendly aerosol temperature [0003], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first heater unit and the second heater unit are driven in a form of being reheated when they are out of set range after being initially preheated.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first heater unit and second heater unit of modified Jang to include where they are driven in a form of being reheated when they are out of a set range after being initially preheated because both Jang and Lee are directed to controlling heating temperatures in aerosol generating devices. Lee teaches where reheating occurs after determining the completion of preheating of a first and second target temperature to produce an efficient atomization amount and a user-friendly aerosol temperature [0003], and this merely involves combining the reheating capabilities of heater based on a first and second target temperature of one prior art with two heaters of different temperature modes in another prior art to yield predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (KR 20190093027 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20200359688 A1), Jang (KR 20190093027 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20200359688 A1), Inagaki (US 20050145260 A1), Itabashi (EP 3391758 A1), Jarriault (EP 2814341 B1), Yilmaz (US 20160066617 A1), and Nakano (EP 3841897 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Raichman (US 20180104214 A1)
With regard to Claim 8, Jang teaches wherein the second heater may be in a temperature range of 200 °C to 250 °C [0075]. There is a significant overlap in the temperature range of 200 to 260 °C in the claimed invention. The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. modified Jang teaches the first heater, second heater, and all of the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Jang is silent to:
A switch that is on an outer wall surface of the housing
Wherein the switch is configured to set the smoky mode or the smokeless mode for the first heater unit
Wherein the switch sets a strong mode, a medium mode, or a weak mode for the second heater unit
In the medium mode, the second heater unit is heated to maintain a temperature range of 160 ° C to 200 °C
In the weak mode, the second heater unit is heated to maintain a temperature range of 150 °C to 180 °C
In regards to i. and ii., Nakano teaches (i) wherein a suction component generator comprises an input unit in the form of a touch-panel or push button [0078], similar in function to the switch, used to select a mode. The input unit must be accessible to the user, making it obvious that the input unit would be located on an outer wall surface of the housing. (ii) The input unit may be used to set a target value of the aerosol to be generated and adjusts the control unit based on these target values [0079]. The determination of a mode being smokeless is determined by when a target value of the aerosol is reached [0121], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the switch sets the smoky mode of the smokeless mode for the first heater.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the housing of modified Jang to include a switch, wherein the switch sets the smoky mode or the smokeless mode for the first heater unit because both Jang and Nakano are directed to aerosol generation devices with controlling means for heaters. Nakano teaches an input unit used to select a mode based on set target values for aerosol to be generated and this merely involves the use of a known temperature controlling switch component to improve a similar aerosol generating device in the same way.
In regards to iii., iv., and v., Raichman teaches (iii) a user interface, which may be a touchscreen display or buttons, connected to a control circuitry responsible for controlling and determining the heating profile going through the vaporizing unit [0095]. The heating profile comprises a three-stage heating process of different temperatures [0164], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the switch sets the strong mode, the medium mode, or the weak mode for the second heater unit.
(iv) Heating to a second temperature may be more than 140 degrees Celsius and/or 170 degrees Celsius [0166], showing a significant amount overlap with the range of 150° C to 180° C in the claimed invention. The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. (v) Heating to a third temperature may be more than 180 degrees Celsius and/or less than 220 degrees Celsius [0167], showing a significant amount overlap with the range of 160° C to 200° C in the claimed invention. The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply these modes to the second heater unit of Jang to generate different tastes based on the desires of a user [0115].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the housing of modified Jang to comprise a switch on an outer wall configured to set the smoky mode or smokeless mode for the first heater unit and set a strong mode, medium mode, and a weak mode for the second heater unit; wherein in the medium mode of the second heater is heated to a temperature range of 160° C to 200° C and in the weak mode the second heater unit is heated to maintain a temperature range of 150 °C to 180 °C because both Jang and Raichman are directed to aerosol generation devices with various heating temperatures. Raichman teaches a vaporizer with three different temperature heating stages, with one having a temperature range of 140 degrees Celsius to 170 degrees Celsius and another having a temperature range of 180 Celsius to 200 degrees Celsius to generate different tastes based on the desires of a user [0115] and this merely involves applying a known three-stage heating temperature function to a similar aerosol generating device for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.O.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755