DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination dated May 27, 2026. Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0051483, to Soryal, in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0155278, to Idbrant et al. (hereinafter Idbrant), and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0070631, to Hebling et al. (hereinafter Hebling).
As per claim 1, and similarly with respect to claim 12, Soryal discloses an access arrangement for a vehicle (e.g. see Abstract, Fig. 2A and paras 0002, 0016 and 0028, wherein a remote entry system for a vehicle 290 is provided), comprising: a vehicle transmission/reception device (e.g. see Figs. 2A and 2C, and paras 0028 and 0032, wherein the vehicle includes a high-frequency module 232 for communicating with a HF module 235 of a key 211) configured to: transmit first and second interrogation signals to a mobile identification transmitter (e.g. see Fig. 2C, and paras 0032-0033, wherein the HF module transmits multiple challenges 238 (i.e. first and second interrogation signals) to the key)…, receive first response signals from the mobile identification transmitter in response and corresponding to the first interrogation signals and a second response signal from the mobile identification transmitter in response and corresponding to the second interrogation signal (e.g. see Fig. 2C, and paras 0032-0033, wherein the HF module receives multiple responses 238 (i.e. first and second response signals) from the key), and determine a first time interval…that elapsed between the transmission of the first interrogation signal and the reception of the first response signal (e.g. see para 0019 and claim 1, wherein a time delay of reception of a first signal is determined) and determine a second time interval…that elapsed between the transmission of the second interrogation signal and the reception of the second response signal (e.g. see para 0030 and claim 3, wherein a time delay of reception of a second signal is determined); and a vehicle control device configured to output a different control command based on at least one of the first and second time intervals and a difference between the first and second time intervals (e.g. see claim 5, wherein determining whether to enable an entry system of the vehicle (i.e. output a different control command) is based upon analyzing the first and second response signal, which includes analyzing the time delay of the first and second response signals; also see Fig. 2D and paras 0035-0041 wherein the second response time T2 is greater than the first response time T1; the Office further notes that a comparison between the first and second time intervals is based upon the first and second time interval)…
Sorval fails to disclose that the time intervals are determined by subtracting time needed by the mobile identification transmitter to process the first/second interrogation signals and generated the first response signal from the time that elapsed between transmission of the first/second interrogation signals and the reception of the first response signal. However, Idbrant teaches wireless communication between a wireless remote control unit 230 (i.e. mobile device) and vehicle 110, wherein a flight of time duration between the remote control unit and vehicle is determined by subtracting processing time of the operator unit (e.g. mobile device) (e.g. see Fig. 1, and para 0043-0045). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the security system of Soryal to include a subtracting processing time of a round trip signal for the purpose of generating a more accurate positioning between two devices.
Soryal fails to particularly disclose all of the features of transmit first and second interrogation signals to a mobile identification transmitter at predetermined time intervals and at a uniform transmission power level and wherein the vehicle control device distinguishes whether the mobile identification transmitter is moving closer to or farther from the vehicle by evaluating a sign of the difference and selects the control command accordingly. However, Hebling teaches a vehicle transmitting interrogation signals to a mobile identification transmitter at regular time intervals and at a specific field strength (i.e. uniform transmission power level) (i.e. see paras 0003 and 0029). Hebling further teaches actuating a window (selects a control command) based upon whether an object, such as a driver, is moving towards or away from the vehicle (e.g. see at least para 0007). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the security system of Soryal to include transmitting signals at regular intervals at a particular power level and determining a distance of a user for activating a vehicle device for the purpose of regularly checking a position of a driver so as to prepare the vehicle for occupation.
As per claim 3, Soryal, as modified by Idbrant and Hebling, teaches the features of claim 1, and Soryal further discloses wherein the vehicle control device is configured to at least one of: output at least one first control command when a difference between the first and second time intervals is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value, and output at least one second control command when a difference between the first and second time intervals is greater than a predetermined threshold value (e.g. see claim 5, paras 0035-0041, wherein determining whether to enable an entry system of the vehicle (i.e. output a different control command) is based upon analyzing the first and second response signal, which includes analyzing the time delay of the first and second response signals, wherein in one configuration the second response time T2 is greater than the first predetermined response time T1).
As per claim 7, Soryal, as modified by Idbrant and Hebling, teaches the features of claim 1, and Soryal further discloses wherein the vehicle control device further outputs the control command based on at least one of the first and second time intervals (e.g. see claim 5, paras 0035-0041, wherein determining whether to enable an entry system of the vehicle (i.e. output a different control command) is based upon analyzing the first and second response signal, which includes analyzing the time delay of the first and second response signals, wherein in one configuration the second response time T2 is greater than the first predetermined response time T1).
As per claim 10, Soryal, as modified by Idbrant and Hebling, teaches the features of claim 1, and Soryal further discloses which further comprises a mobile identification transmitter with a sensor configured to measure a physical parameter, wherein the vehicle control device further outputs the control command based on the physical parameter measured by the mobile identification transmitter (e.g. see claim 8, wherein the processing system comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader).
As per claim 11, Soryal, as modified by Idbrant and Hebling, teaches the features of claim 1, and Soryal further discloses which further comprises the vehicle (e.g. see rejection of claim 1).
Claims 2, 4-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soryal, in view of Hebling and Idbrant, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0176382, to Siswick et al. (hereinafter Siswick).
As per claim 2, and similarly with respect to claim 13, Soryal, as modified by Idbrant and Hebling, teaches the features of claims 1 and 12, respectively, but fails to particularly disclose wherein the first and second interrogation signals and the first and second response signals are signals in accordance with an ultra-wideband standard. However, Siswick teaches a system for validating communication between a remote and vehicle for the purpose of allowing entrance therein, wherein the communication between the remote and vehicle utilize ultra-wideband frequencies (e.g. see Figs. 1-2, and para 0032). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the security system of Soryal to include UWB signals for communicating identification data between a vehicle and remote as a matter of designer’s choice for the transmission of data.
As per claim 4, Soryal, as modified by Idbrant and Hebling, teaches the features of claim 1, but fail to disclose wherein the vehicle control device further outputs the control command based on a signal from a door sensor configured to sense an open or closed state of at least one door of the vehicle and/or a signal from a locking sensor configured to sense an unlocked or locked state of at least one door of the vehicle. However, Siswick teaches a security protocol of the vehicle security system does not double-lock the vehicle, meaning that there is some sort of sensing means to determine if the vehicle is already locked (e.g. see para 0051). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the security system of Soryal to include a sensing means for determining whether the vehicle is locked or unlocked prior to locking or unlocking the vehicle for the purpose of conserving battery resources.
As per claim 5, Soryal, as modified by Idbrant, Hebling and Siswick, teaches the features of claim 4, and Siswick further teaches wherein the vehicle control device outputs an unlock command for the at least one door of the vehicle as at least one second control command (e.g. see para 0026, wherein each door of the vehicle has a lock mechanism which is locked or unlocked implying a first command for a first door and a second command for a second door): when a difference between the first and second time intervals greater than a predetermined threshold value is detected, or either when there is a signal from the locking sensor that represents a locked state of the at least one door of the vehicle (e.g. see para 0051, wherein a security protocol of the vehicle security system does not double-lock the vehicle, meaning that there is some sort of sensing means to determine if the vehicle is already locked) or when the second time interval is shorter than the first time interval and the second interrogation signal is transmitted later than the first interrogation signals. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the security system of Soryal to include a sensing means for determining whether all of the vehicle doors are locked or unlocked prior to locking or unlocking the doors for the purpose of conserving battery resources.
As per claim 6, Soryal, as modified by Idbrant, Hebling and Siswick, teaches the features of claim 4, and Siswick further teaches wherein the vehicle control device outputs a lock command for the at least one door of the vehicle as at least one further second control command (e.g. see para 0026, wherein each door of the vehicle has a lock mechanism which is locked or unlocked implying a first command for a first door and a second command for a second door): when a difference between the first and second time intervals greater than a predetermined threshold value is detected, or either when there is a signal from the locking sensor that represents an unlocked state of the at least one door of the vehicle (e.g. see para 0051, wherein a security protocol of the vehicle security system does not double-lock the vehicle, meaning that there is some sort of sensing means to determine if the vehicle is already locked) or when the second time interval is longer than the first time interval and the second interrogation signal is transmitted later than the first interrogation signals. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the security system of Hocke to include a sensing means for determining whether all of the vehicle doors are locked or unlocked prior to locking or unlocking the doors for the purpose of conserving battery resources.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soryal, in view of Idbrant and Hebling, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0329732, to Hocke et al. (hereinafter Hocke).
As per claim 8, Soryal, as modified by Idbrant and Hebling, teaches the features of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the vehicle control device is configured to output a start command for a drive motor of the vehicle as at least one first control command: when a difference between the first and second time intervals. However, Hocke teaches a system configured to start an engine of the vehicle based upon the authentication (e.g. see paras 0006, 0028 and 0041). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the security system of Soryal to include allowing start-up of a vehicle as part of the security system of Soryal for the purpose of adding an additional level of security to the vehicle.
As per claim 9, Soryal, as modified by Idbrant, Hebling and Hocke, teaches the features of claim 1, and Hocke further teaches wherein the vehicle control device is configured to output a deactivate command for deactivating access and/or start function as at least one further first control command: when a difference between the first and second time intervals less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value is detected, or if at least one of the first and second time intervals is greater than a time threshold value (e.g. see paras 0010-0011 and 0041-0042, and claims 2-3, wherein control of vehicle components are either allowed or denied based upon reception times of the signals being above or below a threshold value). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the security system of Soryal to include allowing start-up of a vehicle as part of the security system of Soryal for the purpose of adding an additional level of security to the vehicle.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to James M. McPherson whose telephone number is (313) 446-6543. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30 AM - 5PM Mon-Fri Eastern Alt Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abby Flynn can be reached on 571 272-9855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663B