DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 02/05/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amendment made to claim 1. Claims 7 and 10-19 stand as withdrawn. No new claims have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that Rossi does not disclose or suggest the subject matter of claim 1, specifically that Rossi has not disclosed that beams produced by a first array are more diffuse than beams produced by a second array, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Paragraph [0253] of Rossi discloses that in the second mode, the array is illuminated by [S2]. Paragraphs [0079 and 0242] disclose that light distribution in a second mode is more diffuse than light distribution in a first mode. With [S2] being disclosed as being the illumination of the second mode, and the second mode being described as more diffuse than light distribution of the first mode, Rossi is disclosing that the light [S2] shown in Fig. 8B is more diffuse than light [S1] of a first mode. (See also claim 11 and paragraphs [0014,0039,0061 and 0064] regarding Rossi disclosing more diffuse light illumination in the device structure)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejection of claims 1-6,8,9 and 20 have been withdrawn in light of the amendments made to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Rossi et al. (hereinafter Rossi) (US 20190049097 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rossi discloses in Fig. 8B,
An apparatus [Fig. 8B] comprising:
a light source [S1 and S2] (Paras. [122,0252]) including a first subset of light emitting elements [S2] (Para. [0250]) and a different second subset of light emitting elements [S1] (Para. [0252]), wherein each of the light emitting elements of the first subset [S2] (Para. [0252]) is operable to produce a respective light beam (Para. [0249]), and each of the light emitting elements of the second subset [S1] (Para. [0252]) is operable to produce a respective light beam that is less diffuse than the light beams produced by the first subset of light emitting elements [Fig. 8B larger emission area S2] (Paras. [0029,0061,0079]);
one or more optical elements [2 Fig. 9] (Paras. [0207,0260]) disposed so as to project the light beams produced by the first and second subsets of light emitting elements [light from S1 and S2] (Para. [0250]) onto a scene [Fig. 8B] (Para. [0252]); and
control circuitry [10] (Para. [0253]) operable to control respective durations for which the light emitting elements of the first [S2] and second [S1] subsets are on (Para. [0253]) so that a resulting overall illumination projected onto the scene is homogenous diffuse illumination [S1 between diffuse S2 Fig. 8B] (Paras. [0029,0061,0079,0252].
Regarding claim 2, Rossi as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Fig. 8B,
wherein the light emitting elements of the first [S2] and second subsets [S1] (Para. [0250]), and the one or more optical elements [2 Fig. 9] (Paras. [0250,0260]), are disposed such that the light beams produced by the second subset [S1] are projected onto the scene [Fig. 8B] so as to at least partially fill gaps in illumination produced by the first subset of light emitting elements [S2] (S1 interposed between diffuse S2 Fig. 8B Para. [0253]).
Regarding claim 3, Rossi as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Fig. 8B,
wherein the control circuitry [10] (Para. [0253]) is operable to turn on the light emitting elements of the first subset [S2] for a first duration, and to turn on the light emitting elements of the second subset [S1] for a second duration while the light emitting elements of the first subset [S2] are on, wherein the second duration [duration of S1] is shorter than the first duration [duration of S2] (Para. [0253]).
Paragraph [0253] states that the second mode light [S2] can be operated alone, and alternatively the first mode light [S1] can also be operated with the second mode light [S2]. When the second mode light [S2] is operated alone, and then the first mode light [S1] is operated with the second mode light [S2], the second mode light [S2] was turned on first, therefore meaning the first mode light [S1] would be on for a shorter duration than the second mode light [S2].
Regarding claim 4, Rossi as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Fig. 8B,
wherein each of the first [S2] and second [S1] subsets of light emitting elements (Para. [0249]) is composed of VCSELs (Paras. [0122-0124, 0211]).
Regarding claim 9, Rossi as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Fig. 8B,
wherein the control circuitry [10] (Paras. [0208,0253]) is operable to turn on the second subset of light emitting elements [S1] in a second mode of operation to project a structured light pattern [light 5 from S1 see Figs. 1 and 2] (Paras. [0206]) onto the scene [Fig. 8B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi in view of Ahmed (US 20190107389 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Rossi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 4 above and further discloses in Fig. 8B,
wherein the VCSELs (Paras. [0122-0124, 211]) of the first subset [S2 Fig. 8B] have a first aperture (Paras. [0161,0177,0217]), and the VCSELs (Paras. [0122-0124, 211]) of the second subset [S1 Fig. 8B] have a second aperture (Paras. [0161,0177,0217]),
Rossi fails to disclose,
wherein the first aperture is larger than the second aperture.
Ahmed discloses in Fig. 4,
a first subset of VCSELs [402] with a first aperture width [d1] differing from a second aperture width [d2] of a second subset of VCSELs [404] (Para. [0037,0041])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the differing aperture widths between respective subsets of VCSELs as shown in Ahmed with the VCSEL subsets of Rossi for the purpose of producing different speckle patterns and for mode selection. (Para. [0058])
Regarding claim 20, Rossi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 2 above and further discloses in Fig. 8B,
wherein the control circuitry [10] (Para. [0253]) is operable to turn on the light emitting elements of the first subset [S2] for a first duration, and to turn on the light emitting elements of the second subset [S1] for a second duration while the light emitting elements of the first subset [S2] are on, wherein the second duration [duration of S1] is shorter than the first duration [duration of S2] (Para. [0253]),
each of the first [S2] and second [S1] subsets of light emitting elements (Para. [0249]) is composed of VCSELs (Paras. [0122-0124, 0211])
the VCSELs (Paras. [0122-0124, 211]) of the first subset [S2] have a first aperture (Paras. [0161,0177,0217]), and the VCSELs (Paras. [0122-0124, 211]) of the second subset [S1] have a second aperture (Paras. [0161,0177,0217]),
Paragraph [0253] states that the second mode light [S2] can be operated alone, and alternatively the first mode light [S1] can also be operated with the second mode light [S2]. When the second mode light [S2] is operated alone, and then the first mode light [S1] is operated with the second mode light [S2], the second mode light [S2] was turned on first, therefore meaning the first mode light [S1] would be on for a shorter duration than the second mode light [S2].
Rossi fails to disclose,
the first aperture is larger than the second aperture.
Ahmed discloses in Fig. 4,
a first subset of VCSELs [402] with a first aperture width [d1] differing from a second aperture width [d2] of a second subset of VCSELs [404] (Para. [0037,0041])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the differing aperture widths between respective subsets of VCSELs as shown in Ahmed with the VCSEL subsets of Rossi for the purpose of producing different speckle patterns and for mode selection. (Para. [0058])
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi in view of Boytard et al. (hereinafter Boytard) (US 20200064521 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Rossi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 4 above but fails to disclose,
wherein the VCSELs of the first subset have a rectangular aperture.
Boytard discloses in Fig. 1B,
a first subset of light sources [108] (Para. [0035]) with rectangular aperture shapes (Para. [0036])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the rectangular aperture shape of the light sources of Boytard into the light source apertures of Rossi of the purpose of changing the intensity profiles of the respective light sources. (Boytard Para. [0035])
Regarding claim 8, Rossi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 4 above but fails to disclose,
wherein the VCSELs of the first subset have an aperture shaped differently from a shape of an aperture of the VCSELs of the second subset.
Boytard discloses in Fig. 1B,
a first subset of light sources [106] (Para. [0036])with a differing aperture shape than a second subset of light sources [108] (Para. [0036])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the differing aperture shapes as shown in Boytard with the aperture shapes of Rossi for the purpose of specifically influencing the intensity profiles of each respective subset of light sources. (Boytard Para. [0035,0036])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828