DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner thanks the Applicant for the well-prepared amendment. The Examiner appreciates the Applicant’s effort to carefully analyze the Office action, and make appropriate arguments and amendments.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-15 and 19-33 responded on February 02, 2026 are pending, claims 1, 15, 19 and 33 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 15, 19-22, 24-25 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2017/0013599 A1, hereinafter "Sun") in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0112538 A1, hereinafter "Kim") and Jung et al. (US 2020/0107353 A1, hereinafter "Jung").
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Sun discloses a method of wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) and an apparatus, comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a layer mapping configuration that indicates mapping coded data in time, frequency, and a plurality of spatial layers associated with a plurality of separate panels (Sun, [0070, 0108] DCI manager 162 may use rank fields (i.e. layer mapping configuration) (e.g., two rank fields for two UEs) to indicate the spatial layers for a pair of UEs (i.e. separate panels); Each stream is then mapped to an OFDM subcarrier, multiplexed with a reference signal (e.g., pilot) in the time and/or frequency domain, and then combined together using an Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) to produce a physical channel carrying a time domain OFDM symbol stream. The OFDM stream is spatially precoded to produce multiple spatial streams);
applying the layer mapping configuration for the mapping (Sun, [0073] UE 110 may be configured to use spatial layers 1 and 2, and UE 120 may be configured to use spatial layers 1, 2, and 4); and
exchanging the coded data with the base station based on the layer mapping configuration (Sun, [0099, 0101] UE-RS 704 are transmitted only on the resource blocks upon which the corresponding physical DL shared channel (PDSCH) is mapped; The UE may transmit only data or both data and control information in a physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) on the assigned resource blocks in the data section).
Sun does not explicitly disclose a layer mapping order for mapping coded data in time, frequency, and a plurality of spatial layers associated with a plurality of panels.
Kim from the same field of endeavor discloses a layer mapping order for mapping coded data in time, frequency, and a plurality of spatial layers associated with a plurality of panels (Kim [0069] the eNB may indicate a mapping order for UL between the two mapping orders to the UE. Alternatively, in conjunction with configured waveforms, RE mapping is performed in the order of layer, time, and frequency in SC-OFDM like the LTE UL, and in the order of layer, frequency, and time in CP-OFDM like the LTE DL).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified coded data mapping configuration disclosed by Sun and layer mapping order disclosed by Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to increase channel estimation accuracy (Kim, [0075]).
Sun in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein each spatial layer of the plurality of spatial layers is associated with a respective UE of a plurality of UEs or a respective panel of the plurality of separate panels .
Jung from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein each spatial layer of the plurality of spatial layers is associated with a respective UE of a plurality of UEs or a respective panel of the plurality of separate panels (Jung [0023] the new DCI formats, e.g. DCI format 0_0A and DCI format 0_1A (or DCI format 1_0A and DCI format 1_1A), can be defined to support both non-coherent joint transmission in one PUSCH…the UE can transmit multiple spatial layers in one PUSCH, where each subset of the multiple spatial layers can be independently beamformed or precoded from other subsets of the multiple spatial layers, potentially transmitted with a different UE antenna panel, and potentially intended to a different network node or different antenna panel of a network node. Similarly, in non-coherent joint downlink transmission, the UE can receive multiple, such as at least two, codewords or multiple spatial layers in one PDSCH, where each subset of the multiple codewords or each subset of the multiple spatial layers can be independently beamformed or precoded, potentially transmitted from a different network node or different antenna panel of a network node).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Jung’s system for spatial layer mapping into Sun’s coded data mapping as modified by Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve reliability (Jung, [0002]).
Regarding claim 3, Sun discloses wherein the layer mapping order maps the coded data to the frequency first, the time second, and the plurality of spatial layers third (Sun, [0108] The coded and modulated symbols are then split into parallel streams. Each stream is then mapped to an OFDM subcarrier (i.e. frequency), multiplexed with a reference signal (e.g., pilot) in the time and/or frequency domain, and then combined together using an Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) to produce a physical channel carrying a time domain OFDM symbol stream. The OFDM stream is spatially precoded to produce multiple spatial streams).
Regarding claim 4, Sun discloses wherein each spatial layer of the plurality of spatial layers is associated with at least one UE of a plurality of UEs (Sun, [0057] the spatial layers used by a BL UE are a subset of the spatial layers used by the EL UE) or at least one panel of the plurality of separate panels (not given patentable weight due to not selected option).
Regarding claim 6, Sun does not explicitly disclose wherein the layer mapping order maps the coded data to the plurality of spatial layers first, the frequency second, and the time third.
Kim from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the layer mapping order maps the coded data to the plurality of spatial layers first, the frequency second, and the time third (Kim, [0068] whereas RE mapping is performed preferably in the order of layer, frequency, and time in CP-OFDM).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified coded data mapping disclosed by Sun and layer mapping order disclosed by Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to increase increased channel estimation accuracy (Kim, [0075]).
Regarding claim 7, Sun discloses wherein the layer mapping order maps to spatial layers for a first UE in the plurality of UEs and mapping to an additional spatial layer for a second UE in a plurality of UEs (Sun, [0073] UE 110 may be configured to use spatial layers 1 and 2, and UE 120 may be configured to use spatial layers
1, 2, and 4) but does not explicitly disclose maps to spatial layer prior to mapping to the frequency and the time for the first UE.
Kim from the same field of endeavor discloses maps to spatial layer prior to mapping to the frequency and the time for the first UE (Kim, [0066] UL data is first mapped to a spatial domain, that is, a layer, to a time domain, that is, an OFDM symbol, and then to a frequency domain, that is, an OFDM subcarrier).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified coded data mapping disclosed by Sun and layer mapping order disclosed by Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to increase increased channel estimation accuracy (Kim, [0075]).
Regarding claims 19-22, 24-25 and 33, these claims recite "a method of wireless communication at a base station" and "an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station" that disclose similar steps as recited by the method of claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 and 15, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 and 15 as presented above.
Claims 5, 8-14, 23 and 26-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2017/0013599 A1, hereinafter "Sun") in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0112538 A1, hereinafter "Kim") and Jung et al. (US 2020/0107353 A1, hereinafter "Jung") as applied to claim above, and further in view of Cao et al. (US 2020/0336181 A1, hereinafter "Cao").
Regarding claim 5, Sun in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein each spatial layer of the plurality of spatial layers is associated with a respective demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port.
Cao from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein each spatial layer of the plurality of spatial layers is associated with a respective demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port (Cao, [0259] a DMRS port corresponding the occupied codeword (i.e. spatial layer) in the DMRS configuration set as the interference DMRS port).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Cao’s system for interference measurement into Sun’s coded data mapping as modified by Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to improving throughput and reliability of the system (Cao, [0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Sun discloses the plurality of separate panels is associated with the plurality of UEs. Sun in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose UE in a plurality of UEs; and measuring interference from the second UE by measuring the signal received at the DMRS port associated with the second UE.
Cao from the same field of endeavor discloses UE in the plurality of UEs; and measuring interference from the second UE by measuring the signal received at the DMRS port associated with the second UE (Cao, claim 28 generate information indicating mapping relationship between interference measurement resources or antenna ports for transmitting the interference measurement resources and DMRS configurations; and control the base station to transmit the information indicating the mapping relationship to this user equipment, for this user equipment to determine, based on the mapping relationship and the control information, DMRS configuration of the other user equipment in the group of user equipment).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Cao’s system for interference measurement into Sun’s coded data mapping as modified by Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to improving throughput and reliability of the system (Cao, [0009]).
Regarding claim 9, Sun in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication is comprised in a set of DMRS code division multiplex (CDM) groups, wherein a first CDM group corresponds to a first DMRS port for the first UE and a second CDM group corresponds to a second DMRS port for the second UE.
Cao discloses wherein the indication is comprised in a set of DMRS code division multiplex (CDM) groups, wherein a first CDM group corresponds to a first DMRS port for the first UE and a second CDM group corresponds to a second DMRS port for the second UE (Cao, [0152, 0246] the base station sends control information including DMRS configuration of the UE k and a total layer number for MU-MIMO transmission to the UE k. The control information may be included in user specific downlink control information (UE-specific DCI) transmitted on PDCCH. Then, in step S705, the base station transmits downlink data to a group of user equipment including the UE k ; downlink DMRSs (DL-DMRS) for different antenna ports are independent, and can be multiplexed in respective resource block pairing. DL-DMRSs are orthogonal to each other at antenna ports by using CDM and/or Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM). DL-DMRSs are code division multiplexed with the orthogonal codes in the CDM group. DL-DMRSs are frequency division multiplexed between CDM groups).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Cao’s system for interference measurement into Sun’s coded data mapping as modified by Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to improving throughput and reliability of the system (Cao, [0009]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses wherein the indication is received in downlink control information (DCI) from the base station wherein a first DCI indicates a first DMRS port for the first UE in [0011] but does not explicitly disclose a second DCI indicates a second DMRS port for the second UE.
Cao from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the indication is comprised in a set of DMRS code division multiplex (CDM) groups, wherein a first CDM group corresponds to a first DMRS port for the first UE and a second CDM group corresponds to a second DMRS port for the second UE (Cao, [0266-0267] The control information may be sent to the target UE via for example UE-specific DCI of a physical layer. In a case that the configuration information in the received control information indicates that the entire CDM group is used, the target UE may determine DMRS configuration other than DMRS configuration of the target UE in the DMRS configuration set corresponding to the CDM group as the interference DMRS configuration… The control information generation module 2022 may generate the control information by including the configuration information in a bitmap form, and sends the control information to the target UE via for example UE-specific DCI of the physical layer, to indirectly indicate the interference DMRS configuration to the target UE).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Cao’s system for interference measurement into Sun’s coded data mapping as modified by Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to improving throughput and reliability of the system (Cao, [0009]).
Regarding claim 11, Sun discloses wherein the plurality of separate panels is associated with a plurality of UEs and wherein each of the plurality of UEs is associated with a codeword or a code block group in [0070, 73], but does not explicitly disclose wherein the layer mapping order aligns a codeword or a code block group for a respective UE in the plurality of UEs.
Cao from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein each of the plurality of UEs is associated with a codeword or a code block group, and wherein the layer mapping order aligns a codeword or a code block group for a respective UE in the plurality of UEs (Cao, [0265] the configuration information may be used to indicate whether an entire DMRS configuration set corresponding to the CDM group is used for the MU-MIMO transmission, that is, indicating whether all codewords in the CDM group are used by interference DMRS ports in the MU-MIMO transmission. For example, 1 indicates that all codewords are used).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Cao’s system for interference measurement into Sun’s coded data mapping as modified by Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to improving throughput and reliability of the system (Cao, [0009]).
Regarding claim 12, Sun in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein a first UE of the plurality of UEs is associated with a dedicated codeword or dedicated code block group.
Cao from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the first UE is associated with a dedicated codeword or dedicated code block group (Cao, [0248] the base station may inform the target UE of usage of all or a part of codewords in a CDM group in which the target UE is included via for example DCI).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Cao’s system for interference measurement into Sun’s coded data mapping as modified by Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to improving throughput and reliability of the system (Cao, [0009]).
Regarding claim 13, Sun discloses codeword and RB but does not explicitly disclose wherein the coded data is for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and the coded data for the dedicated codeword or the dedicated code block group maps to each RB of an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol for scheduled resources.
Kim from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the coded data is for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and the coded data for the dedicated codeword or the dedicated code block group maps to each RB of an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol for scheduled resources (Kim, [0047] The PUSCH is allocated to the middle of the subframe, whereas the PUCCH is allocated to both ends of a data region in the frequency domain. The control information transmitted on the PUCCH includes an ACK/NACK, a channel quality indicator (CQI) representing a downlink channel state, an RI for Multiple Input and Multiple Output (MIMO), a scheduling request (SR) indicating a request for allocation of UL resources, etc. A PUCCH of a UE uses one RB occupying different frequencies in each slot of a subframe. That is, two RBs allocated to the PUCCH frequency-hop over the slot boundary).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified coded data mapping disclosed by Sun and layer mapping order disclosed by Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to increase increased channel estimation accuracy (Kim, [0075]).
Regarding claim 14, Sun discloses codeword and RB but does not explicitly disclose wherein the coded data is for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and the coded data for the dedicated codeword or the dedicated code block group corresponds to at least a portion of RBs of an OFDM symbol for scheduled resources.
Kim from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the coded data is for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and the coded data for the dedicated codeword or the dedicated code block group corresponds to at least a portion of RBs of an OFDM symbol for scheduled resources (Kim, [0036] After performing the above procedures, the UE may receive a PDCCH/PDSCH (S307) and transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)/physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (S308), as a general UL/DL signal transmission procedure. Especially, the UE receives downlink control information (DCI) through the PDCCH. The DCI includes control information such as resource allocation information for the UE).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified coded data mapping disclosed by Sun and layer mapping order disclosed by Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to increase increased channel estimation accuracy (Kim, [0075]).
Regarding claims 23 and 26-32, these claims recite "a method of wireless communication at a base station" that disclose similar steps as recited by the method of claims 5, and 8-14, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claims 5 and 8-14 as presented above.
Relevant Cited References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
WO 2018229078 A1 discloses receive an indication of a codeword-to-layer mapping for use and the antenna subsets belong to different transmission points or belong to different antenna panels of the same transmission point.
WO 2020073257 A1 discloses without additional signaling overhead, it is possible to support layer mapping in a single TRP / panel transmission and multiple TRP / panel transmissions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUNA WEISSBERGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415