DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7-7-2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant submits: “Chang does not describe, nor combine with He to make obvious, the above quoted feature. The quoted language describes three addressing-scope variants of a UE-grouping wake-up signal, distinguished by how many groups of UEs each signal wakes: a "common WUS ... may be used to wake up all groups of UEs"; a "group WUS ... may only wake up a certain group of UEs"; and a "group combination WUS ... may wake up multiple groups of UEs ... a subset of all groups of UEs." (Chang [0057].) Chang describes the common WUS and the group combination WUS as optional, "such that the UE may not be configured with these two types of WUS." (Id.) And once any associated WUS is received, Chang's UE "does not need to monitor other associated WUS(s), thereby avoiding energy consumption caused by unnecessary monitoring" (Id. para. [0070]), consistent with Chang's stated purpose "to reduce energy consumption of a user equipment (UE)" (Id. para. [0003]). Chang thus describes selecting among differently-scoped signals to wake different populations of UEs, and ceasing to monitor once any one signal is received. Chang does not describe any of its WUSs as a backup for a different DRX group of the same UE, and does not describe determining, in response to non-receipt of a first WUS for a first DRX group, a wake-or- sleep decision for that first DRX group based on an indicator carried in a second WUS corresponding to a different DRX group. Accordingly, He and Chang, whether considered individually or in the combination proposed by the Office, do not disclose or make obvious the features of amended claim 1.”; the examiner’s position is that the cited portions of Chang are mischaracterizing his teachings. The teachings of Chang of monitoring multiple WUSs until successfully detecting one does read in a backup WUSs; thereby, when combined with He disclosing determining, in response to non-receipt of a first WUS for a first DRX group, a wake-or- sleep decision for that first DRX group based on an indicator carried in a second WUS corresponding to a different DRX group.
Regarding the argument: “Independent claims 1 and 13 have been further amended to recite determining "non-receipt of a first WUS ... for a wake-up signal monitoring occasion, wherein the non-receipt is based on at least one of a collision of the first WUS with a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) failure for downlink control information (DCI) associated with the first WUS," and determining whether to wake-up or sleep "in response to the non-receipt of the first WUS." Neither He nor Chang describes non-receipt of a wake-up signal arising from a collision of the WUS with an SSB or from a CRC failure for DCI associated with the WUS, and the Office identifies no portion of either reference disclosing such a non-receipt event, much less using such an event to trigger reliance on a backup WUS indicator carried in a second WUS for a different DRX group. For at least this additional reason, Applicant submits that independent claims 1 and 13 are allowable.”; the examiner’s position is that it is noted that the reason for the failure of reception is not a part of either the device or the method. The claims do not require determining a collision, the claims only explain the reason why it was not received. The examiner invites the applicant instead of describing the reason for the failure to add in the claims if the apparatus or method are actually determining the reason of the failure, in order to be part of the device or method.
As to the argument: “Independent claims 18 and 30 are each allowable for at least the same reasons as presented above. Claims 18 and 30 have been further amended to recite transmitting the multiple WUSs "in a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_6 configured with a power-saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI) in a type3 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) common search space (CSS)." Neither He nor Chang describes transmitting a wake-up signal in a DCI format 2_6 configured with a PS-RNTI in a type3 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) common search space, and the Office identifies no portion of either reference describing this feature. For at least this additional reason, independent claims 18 and 30 are allowable”; please note that the claims must be directed to a single invention. If the USPTO determines that all the claims presented are not directed to a single invention a restriction can be made. In the instant case, the present application includes two different devices which previously were working together; however, when one of the inventions start doing different steps not required by the other device it can become an independent and distinct invention. If each apparatus continues to drift apart a restriction by original presentation may apply. Please see below in the claim for more information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He 20200045768 in view of Chang 20220095226.
As to claim 1, He discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [104,350,802], comprising: a memory [360]; and at least one processor [356,359,368] coupled to the memory (see fig. 3; par. 0053) and configured to:
receive a plurality of discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations [810,1208] for a plurality of DRX groups, wherein the plurality of DRX configurations is indicative of multiple wake-up signals (WUSs) corresponding to the plurality of DRX groups, and wherein each WUS of the multiple WUSs corresponds to a particular DRX group of the plurality of DRX groups (see fig. 8; par. 0072-0073, 0081, 0103);
monitor for, based on the plurality of DRX configurations, one or more, WUSs of the multiple WUSs corresponding to the plurality of DRX groups, wherein each WUS of the multiple WUSs includes multiple WUS indicators, and include multiple WUS indicators and wherein the multiple WUS indicators comprise: a respective WUS indicator corresponding to the particular DRX group, and one or more WUS indicators each corresponding to a respective DRX group of other DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups [614, 714, 822] (see par. 0077,0084-0085); and
determine non-receipt of a first WUS of the multiple WUSs corresponding to a first DRX group of the plurality of DRX groups for a wake-up signal, wherein the non-receipt is based on at least one of a collision of the first WUS with a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) failure for downlink control information (DCI) associated with the first WUS [reasons of the failure do not modify the method or device]; determine, in response to the non-receipt of the WUS, whether to wake-up for or to sleep through one or more DRX cycles first DRX group based on a WUS indicator of the multiple WUS indicators corresponding to the first DRX group [824] (see par. 0063, 0074, 0077, 0085). He fails to discloses a backup WUS indicator included in a second WUS of the multiple WUSs, the second WUS corresponding to a second DRX group different from the first DRX group. In another analogous art, Chang discloses a WUS indicator included in a second WUS of the multiple WUSs, the second WUS corresponding to a second DRX group different from the first DRX group [One UE may be configured or associated with multiple WUSs, including one or more common WUSs, one or more group WUSs, and one or more group combination WUSs] (see par. 0006), thereby, since it can wakeup with any of the configured WUSs, the second group WUS function as a backup. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of making sure the device wakeup and improving the reliability.
As to claim 2, He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the one or more WUSs including the at least one WUS, wherein the at least one WUS corresponds to at least two DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups (see fig. 8; par. 0081,0103).
As to claim 3, He discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the multiple WUS indicators included in the at least one WUS include a first WUS indicator and a second WUS indicator, the first WUS indicator comprising a wake-up indication bit for a first DRX group of the plurality of DRX groups, and the second WUS indicator comprising a backup wake-up indication bit for a second DRX group of the plurality of DRX groups [bitmap] (see fig. 8; par. 0077, 0081,0103). He does not use the word backup. However, in the absence of any measurable difference between the indicators, the first and second indicator can be the same and/or repeat information for redundance is a common and well-known technique. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of redundance improving the quality of communication and increased user satisfaction.
As to claim 4, He discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein a number of the multiple WUS indicators included in each WUS of the multiple WUSs is less than or equal to a number of DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups [the bitmap should have equal to a number of DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups in order to indicate the group]; and, each WUS indicator of the multiple WUS indicators comprises a wake-up indication bit for a corresponding one or more DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups [822] (see par. 0063,0074,0077,0085). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of indicating the group. Or in another analogous art, Chang discloses a WUS indicator included in a second WUS of the multiple WUSs, the second WUS corresponding to a second DRX group different from the first DRX group [One UE may be configured or associated with multiple WUSs, including one or more common WUSs, one or more group WUSs, and one or more group combination WUSs] (see par. 0006), thereby, since it can wakeup with any of the configured WUSs, the second group WUS function as a backup. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of making sure the device wakeup and improving the reliability.
As to claim 5, He discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on a first WUS indicator of the multiple WUS indicators included in a first-received WUS of the one or more WUSs or a last WUS indicator of the multiple WUS indicators included in a last-received WUS of the one or more WUSs, the first-received WUS different from the last- received WUS. (see fig. 8, item 822 is the only WUS so it can be the first or the last; par. 0063,0074,0077,0080,0085,0100).
As to claim 6, He discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on the WUS corresponding to each of the plurality of DRX groups (see par. 0077,0084-0085).
As to claims 7 and 17, He discloses the apparatus and method, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the multiple DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on at least one radio resource control (RRC) field (see par. 0064). He fails to disclose priority WUS. In an analogous art, Chang discloses a highest priority WUS of the one or more WUSs based on alink quality (see par. 0009-0011, 0098). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of providing quality of service and increase user satisfaction.
As to claim 8, He discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on at least one radio resource control (RRC) flag (see par. 0064,0077,0081,0084-0085).
As to claim 9, He discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on a WUS with a least amount of payload bits in downlink control information (DCI) (see par. 0076-0077,0081,0084-0085).
As to claim 10, He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the multiple WUS indicators of the at least one WUS comprise multiple wake-up indication bits included in downlink control information (DCI), and wherein each wake-up indication bit of the multiple wake-up indication bits is corresponds to a respective one or more DRX groups of the plurality of DRX group [bitmap] (see par. 0076-0077,0081,0084-0085).
As to claim 11, He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of DRX configurations is associated with each of one or more frequency ranges (FRs) (see par. 0041).
As to claim 12, He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of DRX groups includes a first DRX group and a second DRX group, wherein the first DRX group is associated with a first DRX configuration of the plurality of DRX configurations and the second DRX group is associated with a second DRX configuration of the plurality of DRX configurations (see fig. 8; par. 0081,0103).
Regarding claims 13-14, they are the corresponding method claims of apparatus claims 1-2. Therefore, claims 13-14 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Regarding claims 15-16, they are the corresponding method claims of apparatus claims 3-5. Therefore, claims 15-16 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim(s) 18-19, 21-23 and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He 20200045768 in view of Lohr 20230217506.
As to claims 18 and 30, He discloses an apparatus [102,310,804] and method for wireless communication at a transmission-reception point (TRP), comprising: a memory [376]; and at least one processor [316,370,375] coupled to the memory and configured to:
transmit a plurality of discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations [810,1208] for a plurality of DRX groups, wherein the plurality of DRX configurations is indicative of multiple wake-up signals (WUSs) corresponding to the plurality of DRX groups, and wherein each WUS of the multiple WUSs corresponds to a particular DRX group of the plurality of DRX groups; (see fig. 8; par. 0081,0103); and
transmit, in a downlink control information (DCI) format 2-61 in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (see par. 0044, 0076, 0090-0091), the multiple (WUSs) corresponding to the plurality of DRX groups based on the plurality of DRX configurations, wherein each WUS of the multiple WUSs includes multiple WUS indicators and wherein the multiple WUS indicators comprise: a respective WUS indicator corresponding to the particular DRX group and one or more WUS indicators corresponding to a respective DRX group of other DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups [614, 714, 822] (see par. 0077, 0084-0085); wherein the multiple WUS indicators of the included in each WUS is correspond to one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups (see par. 0077,0081,0084-0085). He fails to disclose a power-saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI) in a type3 common search space (CSS). In an analogous art, Lohr discloses transmit, in a downlink control information (DCI) format 26 configured with a power-saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI) in a type3 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) common search space (CSS) (see par. 0040, 0166). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of compatibility with the 3GPP standard.
As to claim 19, He discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the one or more WUSs including the at least one WUS, wherein the at least one WUS corresponds to at least two DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups (see fig. 8; par. 0081,0103).
As to claim 21, He discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein a number of the multiple WUS indicators included in each WUS of the multiple WUSs is less than or equal to a number of DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups [the bitmap should have equal to a number of DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups in order to indicate the group]; and, each WUS indicator of the multiple WUS indicators comprises a wake-up indication bit for a corresponding one or more DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups [822] (see par. 0063,0074,0077,0085). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of indicating the group.
As to claim 22, He discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on a first WUS indicator of the multiple WUS indicators included in a first-received WUS of the one or more WUSs or a last WUS indicator of the multiple WUS indicators included in a last-received WUS of the one or more WUSs, the first-received WUS different from the last- received WUS. (see fig. 8, item 822 is the only WUS so it can be the first or the last; par. 0063,0074,0077,0080,0085,0100).
As to claim 23, He discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on the WUS corresponding to each of the plurality of DRX groups (see par. 0077,0084-0085).
As to claim 25, He discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on at least one radio resource control (RRC) flag (see par. 0064,0077,0081,0084-0085).
As to claim 26, He discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on a WUS with a least amount of payload bits in downlink control information (DCI) (see par. 0076-0077,0081,0084-0085).
As to claim 27, He discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the multiple WUS indicators of the at least one WUS comprise multiple wake-up indication bits included in downlink control information (DCI) (see par. 0076-0077,0081,0084-0085).
As to claim 28, He discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein each of the plurality of DRX configurations is associated with each of one or more frequency ranges (FRs) (see par. 0041).
As to claim 29, He discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the plurality of DRX groups includes a first DRX group and a second DRX group, wherein the first DRX group is associated with a first DRX configuration of the plurality of DRX configurations and the second DRX group is associated with a second DRX configuration of the plurality of DRX configurations (see fig. 8; par. 0081,0103).
Claim(s) 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Lohr and further in view of Chang.
As to claim 20, He discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the multiple WUS indicators included in the at least one WUS include a first WUS indicator and a second WUS indicator, the first WUS indicator comprising a wake-up indication bit for a first DRX group of the plurality of DRX groups, and the second WUS indicator comprising a backup wake-up indication bit for a second DRX group of the plurality of DRX groups [bitmap] (see fig. 8; par. 0077, 0081,0103). He does not use the word backup. However, in the absence of any measurable difference between the indicators, the first and second indicator can be the same and/or repeat information for redundance is a common and well-known technique. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of redundance improving the quality of communication and increased user satisfaction. Or in another analogous art, Chang discloses a WUS indicator included in a second WUS of the multiple WUSs, the second WUS corresponding to a second DRX group different from the first DRX group [One UE may be configured or associated with multiple WUSs, including one or more common WUSs, one or more group WUSs, and one or more group combination WUSs] (see par. 0006), thereby, since it can wakeup with any of the configured WUSs, the second group WUS function as a backup. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of making sure the device wakeup and improving the reliability.
As to claim 24, He discloses the apparatus and method, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the multiple DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on at least one radio resource control (RRC) field (see par. 0064). He fails to disclose priority WUS. In an analogous art, Chang discloses a highest priority WUS of the one or more WUSs based on a link quality (see par. 0009-0011, 0098). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of providing quality of service and increase user satisfaction.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647