DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2-26-2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He 20200045768 in view of Chang 20220095226.
As to claim 1, He discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [104,350,802], comprising: a memory [360]; and at least one processor [356,359,368] coupled to the memory (see fig. 3; par. 0053) and configured to:
receive a plurality of discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations [810,1208] for a plurality of DRX groups, wherein the plurality of DRX configurations is indicative of multiple wake-up signals (WUSs) corresponding to the plurality of DRX groups, and wherein each WUS of the multiple WUSs corresponds to a particular DRX group of the plurality of DRX groups (see fig. 8; par. 0072-0073, 0081, 0103);
monitor for, based on the plurality of DRX configurations, one or more, WUSs of the multiple WUSs corresponding to the plurality of DRX groups, wherein each WUS of the multiple WUSs includes multiple WUS indicators, and include multiple WUS indicators and wherein the multiple WUS indicators comprise: a respective WUS indicator corresponding to the particular DRX group, and one or more WUS indicators each corresponding to a respective DRX group of other DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups [614, 714, 822] (see par. 0077,0084-0085); and
in response to non-receipt of a first WUS of the multiple WUSs corresponding to a first DRX group of the plurality of DRX groups, determine whether to wake-up for or to sleep through one or more DRX cycles first DRX group based on a WUS indicator of the multiple WUS indicators corresponding to the first DRX group [824] (see par. 0063,0074,0077,0085). He fails to discloses a backup WUS indicator included in a second WUS of the multiple WUSs, the second WUS corresponding to a second DRX group different from the first DRX group. In another analogous art, Chang discloses a WUS indicator included in a second WUS of the multiple WUSs, the second WUS corresponding to a second DRX group different from the first DRX group [One UE may be configured or associated with multiple WUSs, including one or more common WUSs, one or more group WUSs, and one or more group combination WUSs] (see par. 0006), thereby, since it can wakeup with any of the configured WUSs, the second group WUS function as a backup. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of making sure the device wakeup and improving the reliability.
As to claim 2, He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the one or more WUSs including the at least one WUS, wherein the at least one WUS corresponds to at least two DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups (see fig. 8; par. 0081,0103).
As to claim 3, He discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the multiple WUS indicators included in the at least one WUS include a first WUS indicator and a second WUS indicator, the first WUS indicator comprising a wake-up indication bit for a first DRX group of the plurality of DRX groups, and the second WUS indicator comprising a backup wake-up indication bit for a second DRX group of the plurality of DRX groups [bitmap] (see fig. 8; par. 0077, 0081,0103). He does not use the word backup. However, in the absence of any measurable difference between the indicators, the first and second indicator can be the same and/or repeat information for redundance is a common and well-known technique. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of redundance improving the quality of communication and increased user satisfaction.
As to claim 4, He discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein a number of the multiple WUS indicators included in each WUS of the multiple WUSs is less than or equal to a number of DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups [the bitmap should have equal to a number of DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups in order to indicate the group]; and, each WUS indicator of the multiple WUS indicators comprises a wake-up indication bit for a corresponding one or more DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups [822] (see par. 0063,0074,0077,0085). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of indicating the group.
As to claim 5, He discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on a first WUS indicator of the multiple WUS indicators included in a first-received WUS of the one or more WUSs or a last WUS indicator of the multiple WUS indicators included in a last-received WUS of the one or more WUSs, the first-received WUS different from the last- received WUS. (see fig. 8, item 822 is the only WUS so it can be the first or the last; par. 0063,0074,0077,0080,0085,0100).
As to claim 6, He discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on the WUS corresponding to each of the plurality of DRX groups (see par. 0077,0084-0085).
As to claims 7, 17 and 24, He discloses the apparatus and method, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the multiple DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on at least one radio resource control (RRC) field (see par. 0064). He fails to disclose priority WUS. In an analogous art, Chang discloses a highest priority WUS of the one or more WUSs (see par. 0009-0011). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of providing quality of service and increase user satisfaction.
As to claim 8, He discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on at least one radio resource control (RRC) flag (see par. 0064,0077,0081,0084-0085).
As to claim 9, He discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the determination whether to wake-up for or to sleep through the one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups is based on a WUS with a least amount of payload bits in downlink control information (DCI) (see par. 0076-0077,0081,0084-0085).
As to claim 10, He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the multiple WUS indicators of the at least one WUS comprise multiple wake-up indication bits included in downlink control information (DCI), and wherein each wake-up indication bit of the multiple wake-up indication bits is corresponds to a respective one or more DRX groups of the plurality of DRX group [bitmap] (see par. 0076-0077,0081,0084-0085).
As to claim 11, He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of DRX configurations is associated with each of one or more frequency ranges (FRs) (see par. 0041).
As to claim 12, He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of DRX groups includes a first DRX group and a second DRX group, wherein the first DRX group is associated with a first DRX configuration of the plurality of DRX configurations and the second DRX group is associated with a second DRX configuration of the plurality of DRX configurations (see fig. 8; par. 0081,0103).
Regarding claims 13-14, they are the corresponding method claims of apparatus claims 1-2. Therefore, claims 13-14 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Regarding claims 15-16, they are the corresponding method claims of apparatus claims 3-5. Therefore, claims 15-16 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
As to claims 18 and 30, He discloses an apparatus [102,310,804] and method for wireless communication at a transmission-reception point (TRP), comprising: a memory [376]; and at least one processor [316,370,375] coupled to the memory and configured to:
transmit a plurality of discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations [810,1208] for a plurality of DRX groups, wherein the plurality of DRX configurations is indicative of multiple wake-up signals (WUSs) corresponding to the plurality of DRX groups, and wherein each WUS of the multiple WUSs corresponds to a particular DRX group of the plurality of DRX groups; (see fig. 8; par. 0081,0103); and
transmit the multiple (WUSs) corresponding to the plurality of DRX groups based on the plurality of DRX configurations, wherein each WUS of the multiple WUSs includes multiple WUS indicators and wherein the multiple WUS indicators comprise: a respective WUS indicator corresponding to the particular DRX group and one or more WUS indicators corresponding to a respective DRX group of other DRX groups of the plurality of DRX groups [614, 714, 822] (see par. 0077, 0084-0085); wherein the multiple WUS indicators of the included in each WUS is correspond to one or more DRX cycles for the plurality of DRX groups (see par. 0077,0081,0084-0085).
Regarding claim 19, is the corresponding transmission-reception point claims of UE claim 2. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for similar reasons as shown above.
Regarding claims 20-23 and 25-29, they are the corresponding transmission-reception point claims of UE claims 3-6 and 8-12. Therefore, claims 19-23 and 25-29 are rejected for similar reasons as shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647