DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 13, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 7-12, 16-19, 41-43, and 46-49 are pending in the application. Applicant has submitted amendments to the claims along with other remarks. Claims 1-3, 7-12, 16-19, 41-43, and 46-49 are still rejected by prior art references, refer to the following rejection for details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pp. 8-17 of the response, filed March 13, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 7-12, 16-19, 41-43, and 46-49 under § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration for the amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new reference, please see the rejection for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-12, 16-17, 19 and 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0145943 (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0077927 (hereinafter “Choi”) and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0404512 (hereinafter “Heidari”)
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches: A positioning and ranging method, comprising ([0037] For example, cell specific RS, UE-specific RS (UE-RS), positioning RS (PRS), and channel state information RS (CSI-RS) are defined as DL RSs.): sending, by a network device, a configuration ([0037] physical control format indicator channel (PCFICH)) of a frame structure to a terminal device ([0051] Control information that the UE transmits to the eNB on the UL or receives from the eNB on the DL includes a DL/UL acknowledgment/negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) signal, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a rank indicator (RI), etc. In the 3 GPP LTE system, the UE may transmit control information such as a CQI, a PMI, an RI, etc. on a PUSCH and/or a PUCCH. [0052-55]), the frame structure being a structure of a frame comprises multiple parts performing different functions (FIG. 3, e.g., slots, subframes), the frame structure (FIG. 3 [0052]) comprising a first time unit (e.g., slot, subframe, combination thereof), and the first time unit being configured for positioning or ranging ([0037] For example, cell specific RS, UE-specific RS (UE-RS), positioning RS (PRS), and channel state information RS (CSI-RS) are defined as DL RSs.); wherein a working frequency of the frame structure belongs to a frequency band not less than 6 GHz ([0189] However, a maximum number of SSBs is 64 in frequency bands of 6 GHz or higher and positions at which SSBs can be transmitted in bands of 6 GHz or higher are defined as type 1 or type 2 of FIG. 30(b). To perform full flexible transmission through a bitmap as in bands of 6 GHz or lower, 64 bits are required. The number of 64 bits may act as considerable overhead even though ATSS indication is performed using RMSI/OSI. Accordingly, an ATSS may be indicated through methods of embodiments 6-3 to 6-7 to provide maximum flexibility with a smaller number of bits although full flexibility cannot be supported. [0194] For example, 64 SSBs may be divided into 8 SSB groups as in type 2 of FIG. 30(b) and an 8-bit bitmap may be transmitted to signal information about SSB groups used for ATSS transmission to a UE. When regions at which SSBs can be transmitted are defined as type 2 of FIG. 30(b), there is an advantage that boundaries of SSB groups are aligned with boundaries of slots having a 60 kHz subcarrier spacing when SSBs are multiplexed with the slots having the 60 kHz subcarrier spacing. Accordingly, when whether SSB groups are used using a bitmap, the UE is able to know whether SSBs are transmitted per slot for all subcarrier spacings in frequency bands of 6 GHz or higher.); the working frequency of the frame structure belongs to at least one of a terahertz frequency band or a millimeter wave frequency band ([0089] As a wavelength becomes short in the millimeter frequency band, that is, millimeter wave (mmW) band, it is possible to install a plurality of antenna elements in the same area. For example, a total of 100 antenna elements may be installed at (wavelength) intervals of 0.5 lamda in a 30-GHz band with a wavelength of about 1 cm in a two-dimensional (2D) array on a 5 by 5cm panel.); and the terahertz frequency band comprises a frequency band between 300 GHz and 1000 GHz, and the millimeter wave frequency band comprises a frequency band between 26.5 GHz and 300 GHz ([0089] a 30-GHz band); wherein the first time unit occurs within the frame structure according to a period ([0084] For the switching between the transmission mode and the reception mode, some OFDM symbol corresponding to a DL-to-UL switching time is configured as a guard period (GP) in the slot structure.).
Kim does not explicitly teach a terahertz frequency band. Although with the claim interpretation provided on page 2 this may be unnecessary.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi provides the working frequency of the frame structure belongs to at least one of a terahertz frequency band and the terahertz frequency band comprises a frequency band between 300 GHz and 1000 GHz (FIGs. 3-4, [0135] Hereinafter, matters related to a transmission/reception structure in a terahertz frequency band are described).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the feature of a terahertz frequency band and a combination of Kim with Choi renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing a terahertz frequency band).
The combination of Kim and Choi teaches with Kim: the first period is greater than the second period ([0154] When SSBs having a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz and data having a subcarrier spacing of 60 kHz are multiplexed in a slot composed of 14 OFDM symbols, the SSBs may be disposed as shown in FIG. 20. In this case, the SSBs having the 15 kHz subcarrier spacing overlap with guard periods and uplink control symbols included in the first and third slots of the data having the 60 kHz subcarrier spacing. [0155] When SSBs having a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz and data having a subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz are multiplexed in a slot composed of 7 OFDM symbols, the SSBs may be disposed as shown in FIG. 21. In this case, the SSBs having the 15 kHz subcarrier spacing overlap with a guard period and an uplink control symbol included in the first slot of the data having the 30 kHz subcarrier spacing)
The combination of Kim and Choi does not teach: wherein . . . the method further comprises: determining the period according to a service load situation corresponding to the working frequency of the frame structure or wherein determining the period according to the service load situation corresponding to the working frequency of the frame structure comprises: in response to determining that the working frequency of the frame structure corresponds to first service loads, determining the period as a first period; and in response to determining that the working frequency of the frame structure corresponds to second service loads, determining the period as a second period, wherein a number of the first service loads is greater than a number of the second service loads, and the first period is greater than the second period.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Heidari teaches: wherein . . . the method further comprises: determining the period according to a service load situation corresponding to the working frequency of the frame structure ([0080-81] the method 400 may include determining to at least one of: increase latency, increase PER, increase throughput, or increase PPS. Block 406 may be followed by block 408. At block 408, performance of the wireless network may be adjusted by adjusting the one or more operating parameters determined at block 406 . . . adjusting a duration of a guard interval; or adjusting retry rates for packet retransmissions.), wherein determining the period according to the service load situation corresponding to the working frequency of the frame structure comprises: in response to determining that the working frequency of the frame structure corresponds to first service loads ([0080] First, in response to the metric moving from above the threshold value to below the threshold value, the method 400 may include determining to at least one of: decrease latency, decrease PER, decrease throughput, or decrease PPS), determining the period as a first period ([0081] adjusting a duration of a guard interval); in response to determining that the working frequency of the frame structure corresponds to second service loads ([0080] Or second, in response to the metric moving from below the threshold value to above the threshold value, the method 400 may include determining to at least one of: increase latency, increase PER, increase throughput, or increase PPS.), determining the period as a second period ([0081] adjusting a duration of a guard interval); wherein a number of the first service loads is greater than a number of the second service loads ([0080] First, in response to the metric moving from above the threshold value to below the threshold value . . . Or second, in response to the metric moving from below the threshold value to above the threshold value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the feature of a different periods based on the service loads and a combination of Kim and Choi with Heidari renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing distinct periods based on service load and providing dynamic period adjustment).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches: wherein the first time unit occupies t consecutive time units in a time domain, and t is a positive integer ([0086] The basic time unit for LTE, Ts is defined as 1/(15000*2048) seconds, in consideration of the basic 15-kHz subcarrier spacing and a maximum FFT size of 2048. T.sub.s is also a sampling time for the 15-kHz subcarrier spacing. In the NR system, many other subcarrier spacings than 15 kHz are available, and since a subcarrier spacing is inversely proportional to a corresponding time length, an actual sampling time T.sub.s corresponding to subcarrier spacings larger than 15 kHz becomes shorter than 1/(15000*2048) seconds. For example, the actual sampling time for the subcarrier spacings of 30 kHz, 60 kHz, and 120 kHz may be 1/(2*15000*2048) seconds, 1/(4*15000*2048) seconds, and 1/(8*15000*2048) seconds, respectively. [0103] In addition, an SS burst proposed in the present disclosure is a bundle of candidate SSB positions and represents a set or arrangement of candidate SSBs in a specific time duration or a specific time unit. The SS burst may have different specific time durations or specific time units according to subcarrier spacing. For example, when the number of OFDM symbols included in one symbol is 14, an SS burst having a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz or 30 kHz used in bands of 6 GHz or lower may refer to a set or arrangement of candidate SSBs included in one slot and an SS burst having a subcarrier spacing of 120 kHz or 240 kHz used in bands of 6 GHz or higher may refer to a set or arrangement of candidate SSBs included within 0.25 ms. [0008], [0010-11]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches: wherein a bandwidth corresponding to the first time unit is positively correlated with a frequency of the first time unit ([0059] A DL carrier frequency and a corresponding system bandwidth can be obtained by MIB carried by PBCH. A UL carrier frequency and a corresponding system bandwidth can be obtained through system information corresponding to a DL signal. Having received the MIB, if there is no valid system information stored in a corresponding cell, a UE applies a value of a DL BW included in the MIB to a UL bandwidth until system information block type 2 (SystemInformationBlockType2, SIB2) is received. For example, if the UE obtains the SIB2, the UE is able to identify the entire UL system bandwidth capable of being used for UL transmission through UL-carrier frequency and UL-bandwidth information included in the SIB2.).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches: wherein a bandwidth corresponding to the first time unit is not greater than 500 megabytes ([0089]; See also, millimeter waves in NPL 5G_ShareTechnote).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches: A positioning and ranging method, , comprising ([0037] For example, cell specific RS, UE-specific RS (UE-RS), positioning RS (PRS), and channel state information RS (CSI-RS) are defined as DL RSs.): obtaining, by a terminal device, a configuration of a frame structure ([0051] Control information that the UE transmits to the eNB on the UL or receives from the eNB on the DL includes a DL/UL acknowledgment/negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) signal, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a rank indicator (RI), etc. In the 3 GPP LTE system, the UE may transmit control information such as a CQI, a PMI, an RI, etc. on a PUSCH and/or a PUCCH. [0052-55]), the frame structure (FIG. 3 [0052]) comprising a first time unit (e.g., slot, subframe, RE, etc.), and the first time unit being configured for positioning or ranging ([0037] For example, cell specific RS, UE-specific RS (UE-RS), positioning RS (PRS), and channel state information RS (CSI-RS) are defined as DL RSs.); and performing, by the terminal device, positioning or ranging on the first time unit, wherein a working frequency of the frame structure belongs to a frequency band not less than 6 GHz ([0189] However, a maximum number of SSBs is 64 in frequency bands of 6 GHz or higher and positions at which SSBs can be transmitted in bands of 6 GHz or higher are defined as type 1 or type 2 of FIG. 30(b). To perform full flexible transmission through a bitmap as in bands of 6 GHz or lower, 64 bits are required. The number of 64 bits may act as considerable overhead even though ATSS indication is performed using RMSI/OSI. Accordingly, an ATSS may be indicated through methods of embodiments 6-3 to 6-7 to provide maximum flexibility with a smaller number of bits although full flexibility cannot be supported. [0194] For example, 64 SSBs may be divided into 8 SSB groups as in type 2 of FIG. 30(b) and an 8-bit bitmap may be transmitted to signal information about SSB groups used for ATSS transmission to a UE. When regions at which SSBs can be transmitted are defined as type 2 of FIG. 30(b), there is an advantage that boundaries of SSB groups are aligned with boundaries of slots having a 60 kHz subcarrier spacing when SSBs are multiplexed with the slots having the 60 kHz subcarrier spacing. Accordingly, when whether SSB groups are used using a bitmap, the UE is able to know whether SSBs are transmitted per slot for all subcarrier spacings in frequency bands of 6 GHz or higher.) ; wherein the first time unit occurs within the frame structure according to a period ([0084] For the switching between the transmission mode and the reception mode, some OFDM symbol corresponding to a DL-to-UL switching time is configured as a guard period (GP) in the slot structure.).
Kim does not explicitly teach a terahertz frequency band. Although with the claim interpretation provided on page 2 this may be unnecessary.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi provides the working frequency of the frame structure belongs to at least one of a terahertz frequency band and the terahertz frequency band comprises a frequency band between 300 GHz and 1000 GHz (FIGs. 3-4, [0135] Hereinafter, matters related to a transmission/reception structure in a terahertz frequency band are described).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the feature of a terahertz frequency band and a combination of Kim with Choi renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing a terahertz frequency band).
The combination of Kim and Choi teaches in Kim: the first period is greater than the second period ([0154] When SSBs having a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz and data having a subcarrier spacing of 60 kHz are multiplexed in a slot composed of 14 OFDM symbols, the SSBs may be disposed as shown in FIG. 20. In this case, the SSBs having the 15 kHz subcarrier spacing overlap with guard periods and uplink control symbols included in the first and third slots of the data having the 60 kHz subcarrier spacing. [0155] When SSBs having a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz and data having a subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz are multiplexed in a slot composed of 7 OFDM symbols, the SSBs may be disposed as shown in FIG. 21. In this case, the SSBs having the 15 kHz subcarrier spacing overlap with a guard period and an uplink control symbol included in the first slot of the data having the 30 kHz subcarrier spacing).
The combination of Kim and Choi does not teach: wherein . . . the method further comprises: determining the period according to a service load situation corresponding to the working frequency of the frame structure or wherein determining the period according to the service load situation corresponding to the working frequency of the frame structure comprises: in response to determining that the working frequency of the frame structure corresponds to first service loads, determining the period as a first period; and in response to determining that the working frequency of the frame structure corresponds to second service loads, determining the period as a second period, wherein a number of the first service loads is greater than a number of the second service loads, and the first period is greater than the second period.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Heidari teaches: wherein . . . the method further comprises: determining the period according to a service load situation corresponding to the working frequency of the frame structure ([0080-81] the method 400 may include determining to at least one of: increase latency, increase PER, increase throughput, or increase PPS. Block 406 may be followed by block 408. At block 408, performance of the wireless network may be adjusted by adjusting the one or more operating parameters determined at block 406 . . . adjusting a duration of a guard interval; or adjusting retry rates for packet retransmissions.), wherein determining the period according to the service load situation corresponding to the working frequency of the frame structure comprises: in response to determining that the working frequency of the frame structure corresponds to first service loads ([0080] First, in response to the metric moving from above the threshold value to below the threshold value, the method 400 may include determining to at least one of: decrease latency, decrease PER, decrease throughput, or decrease PPS), determining the period as a first period ([0081] adjusting a duration of a guard interval); in response to determining that the working frequency of the frame structure corresponds to second service loads ([0080] Or second, in response to the metric moving from below the threshold value to above the threshold value, the method 400 may include determining to at least one of: increase latency, increase PER, increase throughput, or increase PPS.), determining the period as a second period ([0081] adjusting a duration of a guard interval); wherein a number of the first service loads is greater than a number of the second service loads ([0080] First, in response to the metric moving from above the threshold value to below the threshold value . . . Or second, in response to the metric moving from below the threshold value to above the threshold value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the feature of a different periods based on the service loads and a combination of Kim and Choi with Heidari renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing distinct periods based on service load and providing dynamic period adjustment).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches: wherein the first time unit occupies t consecutive time units in a time domain, and t is a positive integer ([0086] The basic time unit for LTE, Ts is defined as 1/(15000*2048) seconds, in consideration of the basic 15-kHz subcarrier spacing and a maximum FFT size of 2048. T.sub.s is also a sampling time for the 15-kHz subcarrier spacing. In the NR system, many other subcarrier spacings than 15 kHz are available, and since a subcarrier spacing is inversely proportional to a corresponding time length, an actual sampling time T.sub.s corresponding to subcarrier spacings larger than 15 kHz becomes shorter than 1/(15000*2048) seconds. For example, the actual sampling time for the subcarrier spacings of 30 kHz, 60 kHz, and 120 kHz may be 1/(2*15000*2048) seconds, 1/(4*15000*2048) seconds, and 1/(8*15000*2048) seconds, respectively. [0103] In addition, an SS burst proposed in the present disclosure is a bundle of candidate SSB positions and represents a set or arrangement of candidate SSBs in a specific time duration or a specific time unit. The SS burst may have different specific time durations or specific time units according to subcarrier spacing. For example, when the number of OFDM symbols included in one symbol is 14, an SS burst having a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz or 30 kHz used in bands of 6 GHz or lower may refer to a set or arrangement of candidate SSBs included in one slot and an SS burst having a subcarrier spacing of 120 kHz or 240 kHz used in bands of 6 GHz or higher may refer to a set or arrangement of candidate SSBs included within 0.25 ms. [0008], [0010-11]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches: wherein the first time unit occupies m consecutive frequency units in a frequency domain, and m is a positive integer ([0060] In the frequency domain, PSS/SSS and PBCH are transmitted irrespective of an actual system bandwidth in total 6 RBs, i.e., 3 RBs in the left side and 3 RBs in the right side with reference to a DC subcarrier within a corresponding OFDM symbol. In other words, the PSS/SSS and the PBCH are transmitted only in 72 subcarriers. Therefore, a UE is configured to detect or decode the SS and the PBCH irrespective of a downlink transmission bandwidth configured for the UE.).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches: wherein a bandwidth corresponding to the first time unit is positively correlated with a frequency of the first time unit ([0059] A DL carrier frequency and a corresponding system bandwidth can be obtained by MIB carried by PBCH. A UL carrier frequency and a corresponding system bandwidth can be obtained through system information corresponding to a DL signal. Having received the MIB, if there is no valid system information stored in a corresponding cell, a UE applies a value of a DL BW included in the MIB to a UL bandwidth until system information block type 2 (SystemInformationBlockType2, SIB2) is received. For example, if the UE obtains the SIB2, the UE is able to identify the entire UL system bandwidth capable of being used for UL transmission through UL-carrier frequency and UL-bandwidth information included in the SIB2.).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches: wherein a bandwidth corresponding to the first time unit is not greater than 500 megabytes ([0089]; See also, millimeter waves in NPL 5G_ShareTechnote).
Regarding claim 19, the Kim teaches: wherein the frame structure is periodically configured, or the frame structure is semi-statically and periodically configured ([0037] physical control format indicator channel (PCFICH), [0052] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating a radio frame structure for transmitting a synchronization signal (SS) in LTE system. In particular, FIG. 3 illustrates a radio frame structure for transmitting a synchronization signal and PBCH in frequency division duplex (FDD). FIG. 3(a) shows positions at which the SS and the PBCH are transmitted in a radio frame configured by a normal cyclic prefix (CP) and FIG. 3(b) shows positions at which the SS and the PBCH are transmitted in a radio frame configured by an extended CP. [0107], [0180]).
Regarding claim 41, Kim teaches: A network device, comprising: a processor; a transceiver connected with the processor; and a memory for storing an executable instruction of the processor, wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the executable instruction to (FIG. 1, eNB) send a configuration of a frame structure to a terminal device ([0051] Control information that the UE transmits to the eNB on the UL or receives from the eNB on the DL includes a DL/UL acknowledgment/negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) signal, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a rank indicator (RI), etc. In the 3 GPP LTE system, the UE may transmit control information such as a CQI, a PMI, an RI, etc. on a PUSCH and/or a PUCCH. [0052-55]), the frame structure (FIG. 3 [0052]) comprising a first time unit (e.g., slot, subframe, RE, etc.), and the first time unit being configured for positioning or ranging ([0037] For example, cell specific RS, UE-specific RS (UE-RS), positioning RS (PRS), and channel state information RS (CSI-RS) are defined as DL RSs.); wherein a working frequency of the frame structure belongs to a frequency band not less than 6 GHz ([0189] However, a maximum number of SSBs is 64 in frequency bands of 6 GHz or higher and positions at which SSBs can be transmitted in bands of 6 GHz or higher are defined as type 1 or type 2 of FIG. 30(b). To perform full flexible transmission through a bitmap as in bands of 6 GHz or lower, 64 bits are required. The number of 64 bits may act as considerable overhead even though ATSS indication is performed using RMSI/OSI. Accordingly, an ATSS may be indicated through methods of embodiments 6-3 to 6-7 to provide maximum flexibility with a smaller number of bits although full flexibility cannot be supported. [0194] For example, 64 SSBs may be divided into 8 SSB groups as in type 2 of FIG. 30(b) and an 8-bit bitmap may be transmitted to signal information about SSB groups used for ATSS transmission to a UE. When regions at which SSBs can be transmitted are defined as type 2 of FIG. 30(b), there is an advantage that boundaries of SSB groups are aligned with boundaries of slots having a 60 kHz subcarrier spacing when SSBs are multiplexed with the slots having the 60 kHz subcarrier spacing. Accordingly, when whether SSB groups are used using a bitmap, the UE is able to know whether SSBs are transmitted per slot for all subcarrier spacings in frequency bands of 6 GHz or higher.) ; wherein the first time unit occurs within the frame structure according to a period ([0084] For the switching between the transmission mode and the reception mode, some OFDM symbol corresponding to a DL-to-UL switching time is configured as a guard period (GP) in the slot structure.).
Kim does not explicitly teach a terahertz frequency band. Although with the claim interpretation provided on page 2 this may be unnecessary.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi provides the working frequency of the frame structure belongs to at least one of a terahertz frequency band and the terahertz frequency band comprises a frequency band between 300 GHz and 1000 GHz (FIGs. 3-4, [0135] Hereinafter, matters related to a transmission/reception structure in a terahertz frequency band are described).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the feature of a terahertz frequency band and a combination of Kim with Choi renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing a terahertz frequency band).
The combination of Kim and Choi does not explicitly teach: wherein . . . the method further comprises: determining the period according to a service load situation corresponding to the working frequency of the frame structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Heidari teaches: wherein . . . the method further comprises: determining the period according to a service load situation corresponding to the working frequency of the frame structure ([0080-81] the method 400 may include determining to at least one of: increase latency, increase PER, increase throughput, or increase PPS. Block 406 may be followed by block 408. At block 408, performance of the wireless network may be adjusted by adjusting the one or more operating parameters determined at block 406 . . . adjusting a duration of a guard interval; or adjusting retry rates for packet retransmissions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the feature of a determining the period according to a service load and a combination of Kim and Choi with Heidari renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing dynamic period adjustment).
Regarding claim 42, Kim teaches: A terminal device (the preamble is not considered limiting; See also, U.S. Publication No. 2008/0151778 for M2M), comprising: a processor; a transceiver connected with the processor; and a memory for storing an executable instruction of the processor, wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the executable instruction so as to implement the positioning and ranging method according to claims 1 (FIG. 1 eNB).
Regarding claim 43, Kim teaches: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the readable storage medium stores an executable instruction, and the executable instruction is loaded and executed by a processor, so as to implement the positioning and ranging method according to claims 1 (FIG. 1 eNB).
Regarding claim 46, Kim teaches: wherein a time unit of the first time unit comprises at least one of a subframe, a time slot, or a symbol ([0039]).
Regarding claim 47, Kim teaches: wherein a time unit of the first time unit comprises at least one of a subframe, a time slot, or a symbol ([0039]).
Claims 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Choi and Heidari and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0329993 (hereinafter “Lieshout”).
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Kim, Choi, and Heidari does not explicitly teach: wherein sending the configuration of the frame structure comprises at least one of the following: sending a system information block to the terminal device according to a configured periodicity, wherein the system information block is configured to carry system information, and the system information comprises information related to the configuration of the frame structure; or sending a radio resource control (RRC) signaling and first downlink control information (DCI) signaling to the terminal device, wherein the RRC signaling carries the configuration of the frame structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lieshout teaches: wherein sending the configuration of the frame structure ([0060]) comprises at least one of the following: sending a system information block ( IE Tdd-Config of SystemInformationBlockType1 (SIB1) broadcasted from the ENB and then transmitted to the UE. [0060]) to the terminal device according to a configured periodicity (the UE may be periodically informed of new TDD configuration information through newly designated system information (for example, SIB x). [0061]), wherein the system information block is configured to carry system information, and the system information comprises information related to the configuration of the frame structure; or sending a radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0061] A new TDD configuration may be performed through a dedicated RRC configuration message (RRC message) by the ENB.) and first downlink control information (DCI) signaling to the terminal device ([0063]), wherein the RRC signaling carries the configuration of the frame structure ([0061] A new TDD configuration may be performed through a dedicated RRC configuration message (RRC message) by the ENB. Alternatively, the UE may be periodically informed of new TDD configuration information through newly designated system information (for example, SIB x).).
Regarding claim 49, the combination of Kim, Choi, and Heidari does not explicitly teach: wherein sending the configuration of the frame structure comprises at least one of the following: sending a system information block to the terminal device according to a configured periodicity, wherein the system information block is configured to carry system information, and the system information comprises information related to the configuration of the frame structure; or sending a radio resource control (RRC) signaling and first downlink control information (DCI) signaling to the terminal device, wherein the RRC signaling carries the configuration of the frame structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lieshout teaches: wherein sending the configuration of the frame structure ([0060]) comprises at least one of the following: sending a system information block ( IE Tdd-Config of SystemInformationBlockType1 (SIB1) broadcasted from the ENB and then transmitted to the UE. [0060]) to the terminal device according to a configured periodicity (the UE may be periodically informed of new TDD configuration information through newly designated system information (for example, SIB x). [0061]), wherein the system information block is configured to carry system information, and the system information comprises information related to the configuration of the frame structure; or sending a radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0061] A new TDD configuration may be performed through a dedicated RRC configuration message (RRC message) by the ENB.) and first downlink control information (DCI) signaling to the terminal device ([0063]), wherein the RRC signaling carries the configuration of the frame structure ([0061] A new TDD configuration may be performed through a dedicated RRC configuration message (RRC message) by the ENB. Alternatively, the UE may be periodically informed of new TDD configuration information through newly designated system information (for example, SIB x).).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Choi and Heidari and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2011/0188443 (hereinafter “Bahceci”).
Regarding claim 3, although inherent, Kim teaches a first time unit in the frequency domain (e.g., FDD), but does not specifically teach: wherein the first time unit occupies m consecutive frequency units in a frequency domain, and m is a positive integer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bahceci teaches: wherein the first time unit occupies m consecutive frequency units in a frequency domain, and m is a positive integer ([0007] Access to the shared wireless medium is scheduled using Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) frames that extend over two dimensions: time, in units of OFDMA symbols, and frequency, in units of logical sub-channels. Data bursts are conveyed into two-dimensional (i.e. time and frequency) data regions, which identify regions within the frame and are advertised by the BS via specific control messages. Each frame is divided into downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) subframes. The former is used by the BS to transmit data to the MSs, whereas the MSs transmit to the BS in the latter. [0008] FIG. 12 shows an example TDD frame structure. As shown, a DL subframe starts with a preamble followed by a Frame Control Header (FCH), a downlink MAP (DL-MAP), and an uplink MAP (UL-MAP). The preamble helps MSs perform synchronization and channel estimation. The FCH specifies a burst profile and the length of one or more downlink bursts that immediately follow the FCH in the current frame. The DL-MAP and UL-MAP notify MSs of the corresponding resources allocated to them in the downlink and uplink direction, respectively, within the current frame. In general, the BS is free to define the shape and position of any data region. Based upon the schedule received from the BS, each MS can determine when (i.e., OFDMA symbols) and where (i.e., subchannels) it should receive from and transmit to the BS. Proper time gaps, namely receive-to-transmit transition gap (RTG) and transmit-to-receive transition gap (TTG, also referred to herein as TRG), have to be inserted between consecutive subframes in order to give wireless devices sufficient time to switch from transmission mode to reception mode, or vice versa. [0086-87] The R-link Channel Description (RCD) MAC message can be employed to signal the access and relay zones. The access zones may be contiguous and fall within one of the subframes of the H-FDD frame, while the relay zones may be contiguous and fall within the other subframe. The FCH/MAP and R-FCH/RMAP can be transmitted in the first tx access zone and relay zone, respectively.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the feature of a first time unit and a combination of Kim, Choi, and Heidari with Bahceci renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing a time unit).
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Choi, Bahceci, and Heidari and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0066568 (hereinafter “Do”)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kim, Choi, Heidari, and Bahceci teaches: sending the configuration of the frame structure to terminal. The combination does not teach: sending the configuration of the frame structure to other terminal devices except the terminal device, wherein a sidelink is established between the terminal device and other terminal devices.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Do teaches: sending the configuration of the frame structure to other terminal devices except the terminal device, wherein a sidelink is established between the terminal device and other terminal devices ([0075] In any aspect or embodiment, the radio communication may comprise or use an uplink (UL) communication, a downlink (DL) communication and/or a direct communication between radio devices, e.g., device-to-device (D2D) communications or sidelink (SL) communications.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the feature of device to device or sidelink communications and a combination of Kim, Choi, Heidari, and Bahceci with Do renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., device to device or sidelink communications).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kim, Choi, Heidari, and Bahceci teaches: obtaining a configuration of the frame structure. The combination does not teach: wherein obtaining the configuration of the frame structure comprises: receiving configuration information from a network device; and obtaining the configuration of the frame structure according to the configuration information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Do teaches: wherein obtaining the configuration of the frame structure comprises: receiving configuration information from a network device; and obtaining the configuration of the frame structure according to the configuration information ([0075] In any aspect or embodiment, the radio communication may comprise or use an uplink (UL) communication, a downlink (DL) communication and/or a direct communication between radio devices, e.g., device-to-device (D2D) communications or sidelink (SL) communications.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the feature of device to device or sidelink communications and a combination of Kim, Choi, Heidari, and Bahceci with Do renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., device to device or sidelink communications).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2024/0113771 (Fariss) regarding a dual path switchable repeater
U.S. Publication No. 2008/0151778 (Venkitaraman) regarding a method and apparatus for establishing peer-to-peer communications
Chinese Publication No. CN 109716847 A (Salem) regarding a system and method for coexistence of different cyclic prefix length
WIPO Publication No. WO 2018137569 A1 (Lyu) regarding a data sending method and apparatus, and data receiving method and apparatus
NPL - ShareTechnote on 5G/NR – FR/Operating Bandwidth
NPL - SS Burst Set on the periodicity of SS burst sets
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643