DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 30 May 2023.
Response to Arguments
The specification objection has been withdrawn.
The 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that “a second resonance circuit that has a second resonance frequency, identical to the first resonance frequency, is configured to resonate with the oscillation signal voltage to detect the oscillation signa voltage and output the detect oscillation signal voltage”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Judging by applicant’s remarks, applicant believes the claim language requires item 22 of the specification specifically. However, resonant circuits only require two of the following three: A resistor, a capacitor, and an inductor, with the resonant period generally correlating to a product of some type (R*C, L*1/R, SQRT(L*C)). The claim language also lacks language stating that the resonant circuit can not be part of the resonant tank. That voltage is clearly being sensed detected by Liu, which is shown most clearly in Fig. 13 and implied in Figure 11 which shows how the system is synchronized. The specificity shown in the arguments is not required by the claim language. Though applicant probably meant to claim something more specific, the courts have repeatedly told the office not to import limitations from the specifications into the claims (MPEP 2111.01, 2173.01). As such retracting the 103 rejection would be improper at this time.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on June 2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zong (US 20190288607) in view of Liu et al’s “A Novel Synchronization Technique for Wireless power Transfer Systems” (MDPI NPL).
As to claim 1, Zong discloses insulated resonance circuit device comprising: a first resonance circuit that includes first (33) and second (34) LC resonance circuits electromagnetically coupled to each other (coupled via transformer 32) and electrically insulated from each other, is configured to oscillate at a predetermined first resonance frequency (¶3 “Due to the topological symmetry, the converter operations in the two power transferring directions are the same”) based on an input AC voltage (Fig. 1, output of inverter switches Sp1-Sp4), and generate and output an oscillation signal voltage; a rectifier (Sp5-Sp8) circuit that includes a plurality of switching elements, and is configured to switch the oscillation signal voltage according to a plurality of predetermined gate signals (Fig. 4a-4b),
Zong does not disclose then smooth the oscillation signal voltage, and to detect the oscillation signal voltage, and output the detected oscillation signal voltage; and a control circuit configured to compare the oscillation signal voltage from the second resonance circuit with a comparison signal voltage for obtaining a predetermined target output voltage and/or a predetermined target output current to generate the plurality of gate signals for controlling the rectifier circuit and output the plurality of gate signals to the rectifier circuit.
Liu teaches an insulated resonance circuit device comprising: a first resonance circuit that includes first (Fig. 1, primary LC ckt) and second LC (Fig. 2 secondary LC ckts) resonance circuits electromagnetically coupled to each other and electrically insulated from each other (mia transformer L1…LN), is configured to oscillate at a predetermined first resonance frequency based on an input AC voltage (output of inverter), and generate and output an oscillation signal voltage; a rectifier (output of rectifier, showing 4 gate signals) circuit that includes a plurality of switching elements, and is configured to switch the oscillation signal voltage according to a plurality of predetermined gate signals, then smooth the oscillation signal voltage (output capacitor), and output a predetermined DC voltage to a load (V2 DC); a second resonance circuit is configured to resonate with the oscillation signal voltage to detect the oscillation signal voltage, and output the detected oscillation signal voltage; and a control circuit (Fig. 2, pgs. 3-4) configured to compare the oscillation signal voltage from the second resonance circuit with a comparison signal voltage for obtaining a predetermined target output voltage and/or a predetermined target output current to generate the plurality of gate signals for controlling the rectifier circuit and output the plurality of gate signals to the rectifier circuit (See Figs 7, 11, and 13. Fig. 7 shows the frequency signal that is generated via TLV3502. That is compared with CMPA/B to generate the synchronization signal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use frequency synchronization to prevent unwanted gate firings.
As to claim 2, Zong in view of Liu teaches further comprising an inverter circuit that is provided at a preceding stage of the first resonance circuit, includes a plurality of switching elements, and is configured to switch an input voltage according to a plurality of predetermined gate signals and then output the AC voltage after the switching to the first resonance circuit (Sp1-Sp4), wherein the control circuit is configured to generate a predetermined reference signal based on an oscillation signal voltage from the second resonance circuit, compare the reference signal with the comparison signal voltage to calculate a phase difference between a plurality of gate signals of the inverter circuit and a plurality of gate signals of the rectifier circuit, generate a plurality of gate signals of the rectifier circuit based on the calculated phase difference (this would be taught by the combination, with the synchronization signal trying to drive the phase difference to zero), and control the rectifier circuit to operate with the phase difference using the generated plurality of gate signals of the rectifier circuit, thereby obtaining the target output voltage and/or the target output current (see Figs. 2A, 3A, and 4a, showing how the gate signals are generated).
As to claim 4, Zong in view of Liu teaches wherein the rectifier circuit includes: a pair of first and second switching elements belonging to a first leg; and a pair of third and fourth switching elements belonging to a second leg. wherein the first and fourth switching elements are high-side switching elements, and the second and third switching elements are low-side switching elements, wherein the first to fourth switching elements are configured by being connected in a bridge form, and wherein the control circuit is configured to generate a predetermined reference signal based on an oscillation signal voltage from the second resonance circuit, compare the reference signal with the comparison signal voltage, calculate a phase difference between corresponding switching elements between the first and second legs, generate the plurality of gate signals based on the calculated phase difference, thereby obtaining the target output voltage and/or the target output current (See image of Zong, and note that two switches are active while the other two deactivate as shown in Fig. 2a, 3a, 4a. The rest of the limitations are taught by the combination as explained above).
As to claim 6, Zong in view of Liu teaches at least one further rectifier circuit (Liu, Fig. 6 shows another rrectifier) that includes a plurality of switching elements, and switches the oscillation signal voltage according to a predetermined plurality of further gate signals, then is configured to smooth the oscillation signal voltage, and output a predetermined DC voltage to a load; and at least one further second resonance circuit that has a second resonance frequency substantially identical to the first resonance frequency, is configured to resonate with the oscillation signal voltage to detect the oscillation signal voltage, and output the detected oscillation signal voltage, wherein the control circuit is further configured to compare an oscillation signal voltage from the further second resonance circuit with the comparison signal voltage, generate the plurality of further gate signals for controlling the further rectifier circuit, and output the plurality of further gate signals to the further rectifier circuit (This would be taught by the combination, with using the multiple outputs of Liu in the device of Zong).
As to claim 7, Zong in view of Liu teaches further comprising a third resonance circuit that is connected to the first LC resonance circuit, has a resonance frequency substantially identical to a frequency of the input AC voltage, and is configured to resonate with the AC voltage (Liu Fig. 6).
As to claim 8, Zong in view of Liu teaches A contactless power supply system comprising: a power transmitter device that transmits an AC voltage; a power receiver device that is electromagnetically coupled to the power transmitter device and receives the AC voltage; and an insulated resonance circuit device, wherein the insulated resonance circuit device comprises: a first resonance circuit that includes first and second LC resonance circuits electromagnetically coupled to each other and electrically insulated from each other, is configured to oscillate at a predetermined first resonance frequency based on an input AC voltage, and generate and output an oscillation signal voltage;a rectifier circuit that includes a plurality of switching elements, and is configured to switch the oscillation signal voltage according to a plurality of predetermined gate signals, then smooth the oscillation signal voltage, and output a predetermined DC voltage to a load; a second resonance circuit that has a second resonance frequency substantially identical to the first resonance frequency, is configured to resonate with the oscillation signal voltage to detect the oscillation signal voltage, and output the detected oscillation signal voltage; and a control circuit configured to compare the oscillation signal voltage from the second resonance circuit with a comparison signal voltage for obtaining a predetermined target output voltage and/or a predetermined target output current to generate the plurality of gate signals for controlling the rectifier circuit, and output the plurality of gate signals to the rectifier circuit, wherein the power transmitter device includes the first LC resonance circuit, and wherein the power receiver device includes the second LC resonance circuit, the second resonance circuit, the rectifier circuit, and the control circuit (this is extremely similar to claim 1 above, with about the only major difference being the contactless power supply claimed in the preamble and the transmitter device. Though broadly interpreted both could be taught by Zong since there is electrical isolation between the primary and secondary, these differences are explicitly taught in Zong in Fig. 2, which specifies wireless power transmission. As such, the combination and reasons to combine are similar and the claim is obvious for similar reasons).
As to claim 9, Zong in view of Liu teaches A contactless power supply system comprising: a power transmitter device configured to transmit an AC voltage; a power receiver device that is electromagnetically coupled to the power transmitter device, and is configured to receive the AC voltage; and an insulated resonance circuit device, wherein the insulated resonance circuit device comprises: a first resonance circuit that includes first and second LC resonance circuits electromagnetically coupled to each other and electrically insulated from each other, is configured to oscillate at a predetermined first resonance frequency based on an input AC voltage, and generate and output an oscillation signal voltage;a rectifier circuit that includes a plurality of switching elements, and is configured to switch the oscillation signal voltage according to a plurality of predetermined gate signals, then smooth the oscillation signal voltage, and output a predetermined DC voltage to a load; a second resonance circuit that has a second resonance frequency substantially identical to the first resonance frequency, is configured to resonate with the oscillation signal voltage to detect the oscillation signal voltage, and output the detected oscillation signal voltage; a control circuit configured to compare the oscillation signal voltage from the second resonance circuit with a comparison signal voltage for obtaining a predetermined target output voltage and/or a predetermined target output current to generate the plurality of gate signals for controlling the rectifier circuit, and output the plurality of gate signals to the rectifier circuit; at least one further rectifier circuit that includes a plurality of switching elements, and switches the oscillation signal voltage according to a predetermined plurality of further gate signals, then is configured to smooth the oscillation signal voltage, and output a predetermined DC voltage to a load; and at least one further second resonance circuit that has a second resonance frequency substantially identical to the first resonance frequency, is configured to resonate with the oscillation signal voltage to detect the oscillation signal voltage, and output the detected oscillation signal voltage, wherein the control circuit is further configured to compare an oscillation signal voltage from the further second resonance circuit with the comparison signal voltage, generate the plurality of further gate signals for controlling the further rectifier circuit, and output the plurality of further gate signals to the further rectifier circuit,wherein the power transmitter device includes the first LC resonance circuit, and wherein the power receiver device includes the second LC resonance circuit, the second resonance circuit, the rectifier circuit, the further second resonance circuit, the further rectifier circuit, and the control circuit (this is extremely similar to claim 1 above, with about the only major difference being the contactless power supply claimed in the preamble, the transmitter device, and additional load circuit. Though broadly interpreted, the transmitter device and the contactless power supply both could be taught by Zong since there is electrical isolation between the primary and secondary, these differences are explicitly taught in Zong in Fig. 2, which specifies wireless power transmission. Fig. 6 of Zong also specifies an additional load. As such, the combination and reasons to combine are similar and the claim is obvious for similar reasons).
As to claim 10, Zong in view of Liu teaches A contactless power supply system comprising: a power transmitter device configured to transmit an AC voltage; a power receiver device that is electromagnetically coupled to the power transmitter device, and is configured to receive the AC voltage; and an insulated resonance circuit device, wherein the insulated resonance circuit device comprises: a first resonance circuit that includes first and second LC resonance circuits electromagnetically coupled to each other and electrically insulated from each other, is configured to oscillate at a predetermined first resonance frequency based on an input AC voltage, and generate and output an oscillation signal voltage;a rectifier circuit that includes a plurality of switching elements, and is configured to switch the oscillation signal voltage according to a plurality of predetermined gate signals, then smooth the oscillation signal voltage, and output a predetermined DC voltage to a load; a second resonance circuit that has a second resonance frequency substantially identical to the first resonance frequency, is configured to resonate with the oscillation signal voltage to detect the oscillation signal voltage, and output the detected oscillation signal voltage; a control circuit configured to compare the oscillation signal voltage from the second resonance circuit with a comparison signal voltage for obtaining a predetermined target output voltage and/or a predetermined target output current to generate the plurality of gate signals for controlling the rectifier circuit, and output the plurality of gate signals to the rectifier circuit; and a third resonance circuit that is connected to the first LC resonance circuit, has a resonance frequency substantially identical to a frequency of the input AC voltage, and is configured to resonate with the AC voltage, wherein the power transmitter device includes the first LC resonance circuit and the third resonance circuit, and wherein the power receiver device includes the second LC resonance circuit, the second resonance circuit, the rectifier circuit, and the control circuit (this is extremely similar to claim 1 above, with about the only major difference being the contactless power supply claimed in the preamble, the transmitter device, and additional load circuit. Though broadly interpreted, the transmitter device and the contactless power supply both could be taught by Zong since there is electrical isolation between the primary and secondary, these differences are explicitly taught in Zong in Fig. 2, which specifies wireless power transmission. Fig. 6 of Zong also specifies an additional load. As such, the combination and reasons to combine are similar and the claim is obvious for similar reasons)..
Claims 3, 5, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zong (US 20190288607) in view of Liu et al’s “A Novel Synchronization Technique for Wireless power Transfer Systems” (MDPI NPL) and Jee (GB 2258060).
As to claim 3, Zong in view of Liu teaches wherein the rectifier circuit includes: a pair of first and second switching elements belonging to a first leg; and a pair of third and fourth switching elements belonging to a second leg, wherein the first and fourth switching elements are high-side switching elements, and the second and third switching elements are low-side switching elements, wherein the first to fourth switching elements are configured by being connected in a bridge form (see Zong Fig. 1), and wherein the control circuit includes:
They do not disclose explicitly disclose an integrator configured to generate a predetermined synchronization signal voltage synchronized with an oscillation signal voltage based on the oscillation signal voltage from the second resonance circuit.
Jee teaches an integrator (40) configured to generate a predetermined synchronization signal voltage synchronized (Vo).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the gate generating ciruit of Jee in the device above. The expected advantage of integration would be to make the controller more resilient against high frequency noise.
As to claim 5, Zong in view of Liu teaches wherein the control circuit comprises:
They do not explicitly teach an integrator, a second comparator or a second inverter.
Lee teaches . an integrator (40), a second comparator (OP1) and an inverter (INV). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the gate generating ciruit of Jee in the device above. The expected advantage of integration would be to make the controller more resilient against high frequency noise.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839