Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 7 – 9 pertaining to “As discussed in detail below, the combination of references fails to disclose or suggest the following combination of features in claim 12: comparing the running length with a threshold representative of a length of the running zone until receiving a detection of exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone; transmitting a malfunction signal when the running length has reached the threshold; and re-initialising the running length in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the running length not having reached the threshold. As agreed during the interview, the combination of references fails to disclose or suggest the above features at least because both references make a comparison after the vehicle has left the running zone and not while the vehicle is in the running zone as recited in claim 12. … According to pending claim 12, the running length is calculated from the detection in the entry zone, i.e. calculation of the length is measured while the vehicle runs along the running length. The running length is compared to a threshold before the vehicle exits from the running zone. … Pfeifer290 discloses an embodiment different from the method according to claim 12. … This technical solution is unsatisfactory because the transit time depends on the cable speed. When the cable speed is not constant, transit times must be recalculated immediately. It is thus very difficult to calculate the transit time. Furthermore, the calculation must account for the time already elapsed for each vehicle located in the multiple study zones. It is important to note that during stopping and restarting phases, the instantaneous speed of the cable is difficult to measure, and it is possible for the cable to slip slightly relative to its drive mechanism, which makes speed measurement even more complicated. It is thus very difficult to transform a transit time into a transit length because the length is equivalent to the time only when the speed of the cable is continuously and precisely known.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in this OA, the Examiner does not rely on Pfeifer290 to teach the following combination of features of “comparing the running length with a threshold representative of a length of the running zone until receiving a detection of exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone; transmitting a malfunction signal when the running length has reached the threshold; and re-initialising the running length in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the running length not having reached the threshold.” The Examiner relies on Revenant and Tarassoff. Revenant teaches, “comparing the running length with a threshold representative of a length of the running zone until receiving a detection of exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone (Fig. 2, ¶ 29 counting the time elapsed between two successive passage signals 29; ¶ 30 By making a comparison, the control unit 28 is able to detect any deviation)”. Revenant stores a time value of the running length of a cable in a running zone. This value is time value is compared with a measured value that is used to continuously measure the time it takes to travel the length of the running zone (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 direction of running). Tarassoff teaches, “transmitting a malfunction signal when the running length has reached the threshold (Fig. 1. Claim 3 alarm means upon detection of a less than predetermined spacing);” The alarm is the malfunction signal. Revenant also teaches, “and re-initialising the running length in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the running length not having reached the threshold. (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 a setpoint value which value, direction of running), (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 on exit from the speed regulating section S2), (Fig. 2, ¶ 29 counting the time elapsed between two successive passage signals 29; ¶ 30 By making a comparison, the control unit 28 is able to detect any deviation)”. The comparison the counting occurs while the vehicle is in the running zone so as to determine the threshold (deviation). Th continuous comparison occurs so that stopping and restarting phases are compensated for by adjusting the speed (¶ 30 detect any deviation due to inevitable staggers liable to occur during operation (different braking and acceleration conditions).
In response to Applicant's argument on page 11 pertaining to “Pfeifer 110 and Pfeifer 290 thus both disclose waiting for the vehicle to exit the measurement zone so as to calculate a transit and to compare the transit time with at least one threshold. Pfeifer110 and Pfeifer290 thus do not disclose or suggest:
- comparing a running length of the cable to a threshold while the cable and the vehicle move along the running length
- re-initialising the running length in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the variable not having reached the threshold.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned above, the Examiner does not rely on Pfeifer 110 and Pfeifer 290 to teach the features of “- comparing a running length of the cable to a threshold while the cable and the vehicle move along the running length - re-initialising the running length in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the variable not having reached the threshold.” The Examiner relies on Revenant and Tarassoff.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 11 – 12 pertaining to “Pfeifer110 does not disclose measuring the length of a cable and comparing the measured length to a threshold when a vehicle runs along a running zone. Pfeifer110 teaches measuring a length of the cable while the vehicle moves along a rail. In other word, the speed of the cable is different from the speed of the car. The one skilled in the art motivated to improve a cableway installation and for example motivated to better detect a vehicle slipping along the hauling cable has no motivation to take into account the disclosure of Pfeifer110. Pfeifer110 teaches comparing a position of a car to a position of the cable so as to better manage the distance between the cars when the cars are attached to the cable or when the cars are coupled to the rail. According to the Examiner's arguments, Pfeifer110 discloses a cable transport system in which the vehicle is pulled by the cable when the vehicle moves within the running zone. Applicant does not agree. As already explained, the cableway installation moves the car along a rail in the passage zone DZ1. The car is uncoupled from the cable in the passage zone DZ1. In passage zone DZ1, the vehicle is not pulled by the cable when the vehicle moves within the running zone. … Consequently, there is no incentive to take Pfeifer110 into consideration. Pfeifer110 does not teach measuring the length of the conveying car or the transit time of the car to remove power supply for the radio transponders RFn. There is thus no objective motivation to take into account Pfeifer110's disclosure.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Pfeifer290 teaches a vehicle that is transported by a cable in a running zone (Fig. 1, cable car 5), (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 one or more cable position sensors 18, for detecting the passage of the cable car 5). Pfeifer110 also teaches a vehicle that is transported by a cable in a running zone (Fig. 4, ¶ 51 first sensor 21, second sensor 22, enters or exits the passage zone DZ1), (Fig. 4, cable pulley 3, guide rail 6). It would be obvious for one skiled in the art to combine Pfeifer290 and Pfeifer110 for the benefit of detecting entry of at least one vehicle in a running zone using a sensor that does not require power supply.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 13 pertaining to “Contrary to what is stated by the Examiner, Pfeifer110 does not describe how to calculate the distance traveled by the cable when the vehicle is attached to the cable.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Pfeifer110 describes how to measure the distance traveled by the cable when the vehicle is attached to the cable (Fig. 3, ¶ 48 cable distance traveled in station 2 may also be measured directly).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 13, 16, 17, 19 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeifer et al (US 2022/0169290 A1) (herein after Pfeifer ‘290) in view of Pfeifer et al (US 2021/0024110 A1) (herein after Pfeifer ‘110), and further in view of Revenant (US 2007/0250244 A1) (herein after Revenant).
Regarding Claim 12, Pfeifer ‘290 teaches, a method for monitoring a cableway installation (Fig. 1, Claim 15 a method for detecting the passage of cable cars on a cableway support of a cableway), the cableway installation comprising at least one vehicle (Fig. 1, cable car 5) provided with at least one clamp (Fig. 1, cable clamp 6) attaching the at least one vehicle to the cable, the method comprising: detecting entry of the at least one vehicle (Fig. 1, ¶ 27 detect the presence of a cable car 5) in a running zone (Fig. 1, cableway support length L) by means of a detector (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 one cable position sensor 18) and detecting exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone by means of said detector (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 for detecting the passage of the cable car 5), —.
Pfeifer ‘290 fails to teach, — and wherein in response to detection of entry of the at least one vehicle in the running zone triggering calculation of a running length of the cable starting from the detection, wherein the at least one clamp is fixed to the cable so that the cable hauls the at least one vehicle when the at least one vehicle is running in the running zone; comparing the running length with a threshold representative of a length of the running zone until receiving a detection of exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone; transmitting a malfunction signal when the running length has reached the threshold; and re-initialising the running length in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the running length not having reached the threshold.
In analogous art, Pfeifer ‘110 teaches, — wherein the detector is a single sensor (Fig. 3, reader 30) and wherein in response to detection of entry of the at least one vehicle in the running zone triggering calculation of a running length of the cable (Fig. 3, ¶ 48 cable distance traveled in station 2 may also be measured directly) starting from the detection, wherein the at least one clamp is fixed to the cable so that the cable hauls the at least one vehicle when the at least one vehicle is running in the running zone (Fig. 2, ¶ 27 a releasable clamp 16 (FIG. 2) and moved through the station 2); comparing the running length with a threshold representative of a length of the running zone (Fig. 4, ¶ 48 specified permissible cable distance range) until receiving a detection of exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone (Fig. 4, ¶ 48 each car Sn passing through the passage zone DZ1); transmitting a malfunction signal when the running length has reached the threshold (Fig. 4, ¶ 48 malfunction is transmitted to the cableway control system 10 in a function status message FS2); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfeifer ‘290 by combining the method performed by the cableway installation detection taught by Pfeifer ‘290 with a method performed by a cableway installation detection comprising: a detector, wherein the detector is a single sensor and wherein in response to detection of entry of the at least one vehicle in the running zone triggering calculation of a running length of the cable starting from the detection, wherein the at least one clamp is fixed to the cable so that the cable hauls the at least one vehicle when the at least one vehicle is running in the running zone; comparing the running length with a threshold representative of a length of the running zone until receiving a detection of exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone; transmitting a malfunction signal when the running length has reached the threshold; taught by Pfeifer ‘110 for the benefit of detecting entry of at least one vehicle in a running zone using a sensor that does not require power supply. [Pfeifer ‘110: ¶ 34 passive radio transponders RFn, e.g. passive RFID transponders, are a good option here because no power supply for the radio transponders RFn on the car 5n is necessary for this purpose].
Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 fail to teach, — and re-initialising the running length in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the running length not having reached the threshold.
In analogous art, Revenant teaches, — and re-initialising the running length (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 a setpoint value which value, direction of running) in response to receipt of an event indicating exit (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 on exit from the speed regulating section S2) of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the running length not having reached the threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 29 counting the time elapsed between two successive passage signals 29; ¶ 30 By making a comparison, the control unit 28 is able to detect any deviation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant by combining the method performed by the cableway installation detection taught by Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant with a method performed by a cableway installation detection comprising: re-initialising the running length in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the running length not having reached the threshold; taught by Revenant for the benefit of controlling a distance separating vehicles on a cableway by assigning set point values of the distance [Revenant: ¶ 10 – 11 method for controlling the distance separating a vehicle and the vehicle in front of it, on exit from a speed regulating section of a continuous running aerial ropeway transport installation, provides a greater freedom of positioning of the vehicles along the rope. [0011] it consists in assigning an individual identification code to each vehicle and in associating a setpoint value representative of the required distance for said vehicle with said identification code].
Regarding Claim 13, Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant teach the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Pfeifer ‘290 further teaches, the method for monitoring a cableway installation according to claim 12, comprising determining receipt of an event (Fig. 2c, sensor values SW) indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone (Fig. 2c, ¶ 27 second sensor 15 is arranged in the exit area A), and transmitting the malfunction signal if the event is not received after the running length has reached the threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 specified transit time; Examiner interpretation: generate the fault signal F if a time exceeds the specified transit time).
Regarding Claim 16, Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant teaches the limitations of claim 13, which this claim depends on.
Pfeifer ‘290 further teaches, the method according to claim 13, wherein the cableway installation comprises transmitting a first signal indicating entry of the vehicle in the running zone (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 step value W if a first sensor 15 in the entry area E) and transmitting a second signal indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 step value W if a second sensor 15 in the exit area A), and the event corresponds to receipt of the second signal.
Regarding Claim 17, Pfeifer ‘290 teaches, a monitoring device (Fig. 1, detection device 9) of a cableway installation (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 cableway), the cableway installation comprising two terminals (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 two end stations 14) for passengers to board and alight from at least one vehicle equipped with a clamp (Fig. 1, cable clamp 6) and designed to be hauled by the cable between the two terminals, the monitoring device comprising: a detector (Fig. 1, first sensor 15, second sensor 15) configured to detect entry (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 entry area E) of the at least one vehicle in a running zone (Fig. 1, cableway support length L) and exit (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 exit area A) of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the detector defining a running zone where the at least one vehicle is hauled by the cable; —.
Pfeifer ‘290 fails to teach, — a calculator configured to calculate a variable that is representative of a running length of the cable, the calculator being configured to calculate the variable in response to detection of the at least one vehicle in the running zone, and a comparator configured to compare the variable with a threshold representative of a length of the running zone, wherein the monitoring device is configured to transmit a malfunction signal when the variable reaches the threshold, and wherein the monitoring device is configured to re-initialize the variable in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the variable not having reached the threshold.
In analogous art, Pfeifer ‘110 teaches, — a calculator (Fig. 4, ¶ 30 cableway control system 10 is generally distributed over a plurality of control units) configured to calculate a variable that is representative of a running length of the cable (Fig. 3, ¶ 48 cable distance traveled in station 2 may also be measured directly), the calculator being configured to calculate the variable in response to detection of the at least one vehicle in the running zone (Fig. 4, ¶ 48 each car Sn passing through the passage zone DZ1), and a comparator (Fig. 4, ¶ 30 cableway control system 10 is generally distributed over a plurality of control units) configured to compare the variable with a threshold representative of a length of the running zone (Fig. 4, ¶ 48 specified permissible cable distance range), wherein the monitoring device is configured to transmit a malfunction signal when the variable reaches the threshold (Fig. 4, ¶ 48 malfunction is transmitted to the cableway control system 10 in a function status message FS2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfeifer ‘290 by combining the monitoring device of a cableway installation detection taught by Pfeifer ‘290 with a monitoring device of a cableway installation comprising: a calculator configured to calculate a variable that is representative of a running length of the cable, the calculator being configured to calculate the variable in response to detection of the at least one vehicle in the running zone, and a comparator configured to compare the variable with a threshold representative of a length of the running zone, wherein the monitoring device is configured to transmit a malfunction signal when the variable reaches the threshold; taught by Pfeifer ‘110 for the benefit of detecting entry of at least one vehicle in a running zone using a sensor that does not require power supply. [Pfeifer ‘110: ¶ 34 passive radio transponders RFn, e.g. passive RFID transponders, are a good option here because no power supply for the radio transponders RFn on the car 5n is necessary for this purpose].
Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 fail to teach, — threshold, and wherein the monitoring device is configured to re-initialize the variable in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the variable not having reached the threshold.
In analogous art, Revenant teaches, — threshold, and wherein the monitoring device is configured to re-initialize the variable (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 a setpoint value which value, direction of running) in response to receipt of an event indicating exit (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 on exit from the speed regulating section S2) of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the variable not having reached the threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 29 counting the time elapsed between two successive passage signals 29; ¶ 30 By making a comparison, the control unit 28 is able to detect any deviation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant by combining the monitoring device of a cableway installation detection taught by Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant with a monitoring device of a cableway installation detection wherein, the monitoring device is configured to re-initialize the variable in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the variable not having reached the threshold; taught by Revenant for the benefit of controlling a distance separating vehicles on a cableway by assigning set point values of the distance [Revenant: ¶ 10 – 11 method for controlling the distance separating a vehicle and the vehicle in front of it, on exit from a speed regulating section of a continuous running aerial ropeway transport installation, provides a greater freedom of positioning of the vehicles along the rope. [0011] it consists in assigning an individual identification code to each vehicle and in associating a setpoint value representative of the required distance for said vehicle with said identification code].
Regarding Claim 19, Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant teaches the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Pfeifer ‘290 further teaches, the monitoring device of a cableway installation according to claim 17, comprising a receiver (Fig. 1, control unit 11) configured to determine receipt of the event (Fig. 2c, sensor values SW) indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone (Fig. 2c, ¶ 27 second sensor 15 is arranged in the exit area A), and configured to transmit the malfunction signal if an event is not received after the variable has reached the threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 specified transit time; Examiner interpretation: generate the fault signal F if a time exceeds the specified transit time), wherein the detector is designed to transmit a first signal indicating entry of the at least one vehicle in the running zone (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 step value W if a first sensor 15 in the entry area E) and designed to transmit a second signal indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 step value W if a second sensor 15 in the exit area A), the receiver receiving the first and second signals, and the event corresponds to receipt of the second signal.
Regarding Claim 20, Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant teaches the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Pfeifer ‘290 further teaches, the monitoring device of a cableway installation according to claim 17, wherein the cableway installation comprises at least one tower (Fig. 1, cableway support 1) configured to keep the cable above the ground, the at least one tower comprising at least one girder assembly (Fig. 1, longitudinal beam 7), the length of the running zone being equal to the length of the at least one girder assembly (Fig. 1, ¶ 24 longitudinal beam 7, to carry the conveyor cable 3).
Regarding Claim 21, Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant teaches the limitations of claim 19, which this claim depends on.
Pfeifer ‘290 further teaches, the monitoring device of a cableway installation according to claim 19, wherein a single sensor (Fig. 1, evaluation unit 16) is used per running zone and the sensor has a detection area (Fig. 1, cableway support length L) delimiting the running zone, and wherein the sensor is configured so that when the at least one vehicle enters the detection area (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 detect the passage of cable cars 5), the sensor transmits the first signal indicating entry of the vehicle in the running zone (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 step value W if a first sensor 15 in the entry area E), and when the vehicle exits the detection area, the sensor transmits the second signal indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 step value W if a second sensor 15 in the exit area A).
Regarding Claim 22, Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant teaches the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Pfeifer ‘290 further teaches, the cableway installation comprising a cable, at least one vehicle designed to be hauled by the cable (Fig. 1, conveyor cable 3, cable car 5), and a monitoring device according to claim 17 (Fig. 1, detection device 9).
Regarding Claim 23, Pfeifer ‘290 teaches, a method for monitoring a cableway installation (Fig. 1, Claim 15 a method for detecting the passage of cable cars on a cableway support of a cableway), the cableway installation comprising at least two terminals linked by a cable (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 two end stations 14, conveyor cable 3), a plurality of towers (Fig. 1, ¶ 24 a plurality of cableway supports) supporting the cable, at least one vehicle (Fig. 1, cable car 5) provided with at least one clamp (Fig. 1, cable clamp 6) attaching the at least one vehicle to the cable and a plurality of sensors (Fig. 1, ¶ 37 the two sensors 15) —.
Pfeifer ‘290 fails to teach, — a plurality of sensors arranged to define a plurality of running zones; wherein the plurality of running zones comprises at a first running zone and a second running zone, the first running zone being included in the second running zone; the method comprising: detecting entry of the at least one vehicle in the first running zone to trigger calculation of a first variable that is representative of a running length of the cable in the first running zone starting from said entry in the first running zone; detecting entry of the at least one vehicle in the second running zone to trigger calculation of a second variable that is representative of a running length of the cable in the second running zone; comparing the first variable with a first threshold representative of a length of the first running zone and comparing the second variable with a second threshold representative of a length of the second running zone; and transmitting a malfunction signal when the first variable has reached the first threshold or when the second variable has reached the second threshold; and re-initialising the first variable in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the first running zone, the first variable not having reached the first threshold, and re-initialising the second variable in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the second running zone, the second variable not having reached the second threshold.
In analogous art, Pfeifer ‘110 teaches, — a plurality of sensors (Fig. 4, ¶ 51 first sensor 21, second sensor 22, enters or exits the passage zone DZ1) arranged to define a plurality of running zones (Fig. 4, ¶ 47, passage zones DZm, m≥1); wherein the plurality of running zones comprises at a first running zone (Fig. 4, passage zone DZ1) and a second running zone (Fig. 4, passage zone DZ3), the first running zone being included in the second running zone (Fig. 4, cable pulley 3, guide rail 6; ”passage zone DZ1 is included in passage zone DZ3 since they are both part of cable pulley 3 and guide rail 6”); the method comprising: detecting entry of the at least one vehicle in the first running zone to trigger calculation of a first variable that is representative of a running length of the cable (Fig. 3, ¶ 48 cable distance traveled in station 2 may also be measured directly) in the first running zone starting from said entry in the first running zone (Fig. 2, ¶ 27 a releasable clamp 16 (FIG. 2) and moved through the station 2); detecting entry of the at least one vehicle in the second running zone to trigger calculation of a second variable that is representative of a running length of the cable (Fig. 3, ¶ 48 cable distance traveled in station 2 may also be measured directly) in the second running zone (Fig. 2, ¶ 27 a releasable clamp 16 (FIG. 2) and moved through the station 2); comparing the first variable with a first threshold (Fig. 4, ¶ 48 specified permissible cable distance range) representative of a length of the first running zone and comparing the second variable with a second threshold (Fig. 4, ¶ 48 specified permissible cable distance range) representative of a length of the second running zone; and transmitting a malfunction signal when the first variable has reached the first threshold or when the second variable has reached the second threshold (Fig. 4, ¶ 48 malfunction is transmitted to the cableway control system 10 in a function status message FS2); —.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfeifer ‘290 by combining the method performed by the cableway installation detection taught by Pfeifer ‘290 with a method performed by a cableway installation detection comprising: a plurality of sensors arranged to define a plurality of running zones; wherein the plurality of running zones comprises at a first running zone and a second running zone, the first running zone being included in the second running zone; the method comprising: detecting entry of the at least one vehicle in the first running zone to trigger calculation of a first variable that is representative of a running length of the cable in the first running zone starting from said entry in the first running zone; detecting entry of the at least one vehicle in the second running zone to trigger calculation of a second variable that is representative of a running length of the cable in the second running zone; comparing the first variable with a first threshold representative of a length of the first running zone and comparing the second variable with a second threshold representative of a length of the second running zone; and transmitting a malfunction signal when the first variable has reached the first threshold or when the second variable has reached the second threshold; taught by Pfeifer ‘110 for the benefit of detecting entry of at least one vehicle in a running zone using a sensor that does not require power supply. [Pfeifer ‘110: ¶ 34 passive radio transponders RFn, e.g. passive RFID transponders, are a good option here because no power supply for the radio transponders RFn on the car 5n is necessary for this purpose].
Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 fail to teach, — and re-initialising the first variable in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the first running zone, the first variable not having reached the first threshold, and re-initialising the second variable in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the second running zone, the second variable not having reached the second threshold.
In analogous art, Revenant teaches, — and re-initialising the first variable (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 a setpoint value which value, direction of running) in response to receipt of an event indicating exit (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 on exit from the speed regulating section S2) of the at least one vehicle from the first running zone, the first variable not having reached the first threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 29 counting the time elapsed between two successive passage signals 29; ¶ 30 By making a comparison, the control unit 28 is able to detect any deviation), and re-initialising the second variable (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 a setpoint value which value, direction of running) in response to receipt of an event indicating exit (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 on exit from the speed regulating section S2) of the at least one vehicle from the second running zone, the second variable not having reached the second threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 29 counting the time elapsed between two successive passage signals 29; ¶ 30 By making a comparison, the control unit 28 is able to detect any deviation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 by combining the method performed by the cableway installation detection taught by Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 with a method performed by a cableway installation detection comprising: re-initialising the first variable in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the first running zone, the first variable not having reached the first threshold, and re-initialising the second variable in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the second running zone, the second variable not having reached the second threshold; taught by Revenant for the benefit of controlling a distance separating vehicles on a cableway by assigning set point values of the distance [Revenant: ¶ 10 – 11 method for controlling the distance separating a vehicle and the vehicle in front of it, on exit from a speed regulating section of a continuous running aerial ropeway transport installation, provides a greater freedom of positioning of the vehicles along the rope. [0011] it consists in assigning an individual identification code to each vehicle and in associating a setpoint value representative of the required distance for said vehicle with said identification code].
Regarding Claim 24, Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant teach the limitations of claim 23, which this claim depends on.
Pfeifer ‘290 and Revenant fail to teach, the method for monitoring a cableway installation according to claim 23 wherein detection of entry of the at least one vehicle in the first running zone and detection of entry of the at least one vehicle in the second running zone are performed by a same sensor.
Pfeifer ‘110 further teaches, the method for monitoring a cableway installation according to claim 23 wherein detection of entry of the at least one vehicle in the first running zone and detection of entry of the at least one vehicle in the second running zone are performed by a same sensor (Fig. 4, ¶ 51 first sensor 21 or the second sensor 22 could also be implemented by reader 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant by combining the method performed by the cableway installation detection taught by Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant with a method performed by a cableway installation detection, wherein detection of entry of the at least one vehicle in the first running zone and detection of entry of the at least one vehicle in the second running zone are performed by a same sensor; taught by Pfeifer ‘110 for the benefit of detecting entry of at least one vehicle in a running zone using a sensor that does not require power supply. [Pfeifer ‘110: ¶ 34 passive radio transponders RFn, e.g. passive RFID transponders, are a good option here because no power supply for the radio transponders RFn on the car 5n is necessary for this purpose].
Regarding Claim 25, Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant teach the limitations of claim 23, which this claim depends on.
Pfeifer ‘290 and Revenant fail to teach, the method for monitoring a cableway installation according to claim 23 wherein the second running zone comprises one of the terminals and one of the towers.
Pfeifer ‘110 further teaches, the method for monitoring a cableway installation according to claim 23 wherein the second running zone comprises one of the terminals and one of the towers (Fig. 4, station 2, guide rail 6; ”passage zone DZ3 is comprises station 2 and guide rail 6”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant by combining the method performed by the cableway installation detection taught by Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant with a method performed by a cableway installation detection, wherein the second running zone comprises one of the terminals and one of the towers; taught by Pfeifer ‘110 for the benefit of detecting entry of at least one vehicle in a running zone using a sensor that does not require power supply. [Pfeifer ‘110: ¶ 34 passive radio transponders RFn, e.g. passive RFID transponders, are a good option here because no power supply for the radio transponders RFn on the car 5n is necessary for this purpose].
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeifer et al (US 2022/0169290 A1) (herein after Pfeifer ‘290) in view of Tarassoff (5,105,745) (herein after Tarassoff), and further in view of Revenant (US 2007/0250244 A1) (herein after Revenant).
Regarding Claim 15, Pfeifer ‘290 teaches, a method for monitoring a cableway installation (Fig. 1, Claim 15 a method for detecting the passage of cable cars on a cableway support of a cableway), the cableway installation comprising at least one vehicle (Fig. 1, cable car 5) provided with at least one clamp (Fig. 1, cable clamp 6) attaching the at least one vehicle to the cable, the method comprising: detecting entry of the at least one vehicle (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 one or more cable position sensors 18, for detecting the passage of the cable car 5) in a running zone (Fig. 1, cableway support length L) to trigger calculation of a variable that is representative of a running length of the cable (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 cable cars 5, predetermined distance from one another) starting from said detection, wherein the at least one clamp is fixed to the cable so that the cable hauls the at least one vehicle when the at least one vehicle is running in the running zone (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 the fastening preferably taking place by means of cable clamps 6), —.
Pfeifer ‘290 fails to teach, — wherein the cableway installation is provided with a rotary encoder connected to pulse generator to provide pulses according to a travel of the cable for moving the at least one vehicle, and calculating the variable from said pulses; comparing the variable with a threshold representative of a length of the running zone; transmitting a malfunction signal when the variable has reached the threshold; and re-initialising the variable in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the running length not having reached the threshold..
In analogous art, Tarassoff teaches, — wherein the cableway installation is provided with a rotary encoder (Fig. 1. detector 24,) connected to pulse generator to provide pulses (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Lin. 18-21 detector 24, supplying a pulse 25) according to a travel of the cable for moving the at least one vehicle (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Lin. 18-21 supplying a pulse 25 each time a carriage passes its location), and calculating the variable from said pulses (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Lin. 64 controller 23 detects a deviation); comparing the variable with a threshold representative of a length of the running zone (Fig. 1. Claim 3 predetermined spacing between successive carriages); transmitting a malfunction signal when the variable has reached the threshold (Fig. 1. Claim 3 alarm means upon detection of a less than predetermined spacing); —.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfeifer ‘290 by combining the method performed by the cableway installation detection taught by Pfeifer ‘290 with a method performed by a cableway installation detection, wherein the cableway installation is provided with a rotary encoder connected to pulse generator to provide pulses according to a travel of the cable for moving the at least one vehicle, and calculating the variable from said pulses; comparing the variable with a threshold representative of a length of the running zone; and transmitting a malfunction signal when the variable has reached the threshold; taught by Tarassoff for the benefit of monitoring a cableway installation without the risk of collision and without the vehicles stopping [Tarassoff: Col. 1, Ln. 40-44 improve the abovementioned rhythm device with a view to reducing its operations and to achieve an installation with a high capacity without the risk of collision between the cars and without the latter stopping].
Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Tarassoff fail to teach, — and re-initialising the variable in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the running length not having reached the threshold.
In analogous art, Revenant teaches, — and re-initialising the variable (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 a setpoint value which value, direction of running) in response to receipt of an event indicating exit (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 on exit from the speed regulating section S2) of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the running length not having reached the threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 29 counting the time elapsed between two successive passage signals 29; ¶ 30 By making a comparison, the control unit 28 is able to detect any deviation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Tarassoff by combining the method performed by the cableway installation detection taught by Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Tarassoff with a method performed by a cableway installation detection comprising: re-initialising the variable in response to receipt of an event indicating exit of the at least one vehicle from the running zone, the running length not having reached the threshold; taught by Revenant for the benefit of controlling a distance separating vehicles on a cableway by assigning set point values of the distance [Revenant: ¶ 10 – 11 method for controlling the distance separating a vehicle and the vehicle in front of it, on exit from a speed regulating section of a continuous running aerial ropeway transport installation, provides a greater freedom of positioning of the vehicles along the rope. [0011] it consists in assigning an individual identification code to each vehicle and in associating a setpoint value representative of the required distance for said vehicle with said identification code].
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeifer et al (US 2022/0169290 A1) (herein after Pfeifer ‘290) in view of Pfeifer et al (US 2021/0024110 A1) (herein after Pfeifer ‘110) in view of Revenant (US 2007/0250244 A1) (herein after Revenant), and further in view of Tarassoff (5,105,745) (herein after Tarassoff).
Regarding Claim 18, Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant teaches the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant fail to teach, the monitoring device of a cableway installation according to claim 17, comprising a measuring device configured to provide pulses according to the travel of the cable, and wherein the calculator calculates the variable from the pulses.
In analogous art, Tarassoff teaches, the monitoring device of a cableway installation according to claim 17, comprising a measuring device configured to provide pulses according to the travel of the cable (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Lin. 18-21 a signal, supplied by a detector 24, supplying a pulse 25 each time a carriage passes its location), and wherein the calculator calculates the variable from the pulses (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Lin. 64 controller 23 only detects a deviation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant by combining the monitoring device of a cableway installation taught by Pfeifer ‘290 in view of Pfeifer ‘110 in view of Revenant with a device comprising, a measuring device configured to provide pulses according to the travel of the cable, and wherein the calculator calculates the variable from the pulses; taught by Tarassoff for the benefit of monitoring a cableway installation without the risk of collision and without the vehicles stopping [Tarassoff: Col. 1, Ln. 40-44 improve the abovementioned rhythm device with a view to reducing its operations and to achieve an installation with a high capacity without the risk of collision between the cars and without the latter stopping].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thum (US 2008/0208519 A1) teaches, a monitoring device of a cableway installation (Fig. 1, ¶ 85 transportation system 10, there is provided a cable position monitoring device)
Pearson (4,003,314) teaches, a monitoring device of a cableway installation (Fig. 1, Col 5, Lin 48-49 various automatic safety, manual and condition sensing switches described with respect to FIGS. 1)
Frohlich et al. (5,528,219) a monitoring device of a cableway installation (Fig. 1, Col 4, Lin 32-34 each tower interface unit 4 local to, or mounted on, a tower 8 monitors eight sheave support vibration sensors 12).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858