Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riesinger (WO 2013/113906; citing English translation of record dated March 27th 2025).
Regarding claim 1, Riesinger discloses a wound cleaning device (Figure 11) having a carrier layer (31) and having arranged thereon a wound cleaning layer (29) designed to hold wound exudate and/or solid wound components and having cleaning threads (30).
Riesinger fails to disclose that the wound cleaning layer is characterized in that the wound cleaning layer is provided with at least one storage material that increases the holding capacity for wound exudate, and in that based on the dry weight of cleaning layer, the proportion of the at least one storage material is 0.2 % - 30 % by weight.
However, Riesinger discloses that a wound cleaning device can have a layer with an absorbent core having a storage material that increases the holding capacity for wound exudate, and in that based on the dry weight of layer, the proportion of the at least one storage material is 0.2 % - 30 % by weight ([0129]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the cleaning layer of Riesinger with the above absorbant core in order to help increase the holding capacity for wound exudate.
Regarding claim 2, the cleaning threads include plastic fibers ([0382]).
Regarding claim 3, the cleaning threads are designed as monofilaments and/or multifilaments ([0382] the threads must be either monofilaments or multifilaments).
Regarding claim 4, the threads have a loop structure within the cleaning layer as seen in Figure 11.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Riesinger discloses that the carrier layer is a thin film ([0384]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the film such that it does not contribute significantly to the overall mass of the device (within the generally accepted meaning of a film).
Regarding claims 7 and 11, the incorporation of the absorbent material into the cleaning layer can be regarded as an impregnation ([0129]). Use of an aqueous solution is not required by the claim.
Regarding claim 8, the concentration of the storage material is 0.1% or more ([0129]).
Regarding claim 9, the storage material has at least one substance that swells on contact with water or an aqueous solution ([0141], [0280]).
Regarding claim 10, the storage material contains at least one cellulose ether, in particular hydroxyethyl cellulose, carboxymethyl cellulose, methyl cellulose, ethyl cellulose and/or hydroxypropyl cellulose, additional polysaccharides, such as dextrans, starch, chitosan, carrageenan and alginates, milk protein, hyaluronic acid, sugar alcohols, glycols, salts and/or blends thereof ([0190]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Riesinger discloses that the device may be held in a pack ([0317]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the pack fluid impermeable with a dry device therein since the objective of the invention is to use the device for liquid absorption only after unpacking. Any completely enclosing pack can be regarded as a sheath. An aqueous solution is not required by the claim.
Regarding claim 14, Riesinger discloses a method of using a storage material for a wound cleaning device for wound bed preparation, wherein substances formed by the body itself are removed ([0089]-[0091] and elsewhere).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS MCEVOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771