DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: L2 of the claim should recite “… located inside of the pouch adjacent to an inner edge of the sealing part” in order to be grammatically correct.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 2007-0074390 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses in Fig. 2a-2b a secondary battery (P13) comprising:
an electrode assembly (100) to which an electrode lead (120) is coupled (P14);
a pouch (200) comprising an accommodation part accommodating the electrode assembly (100) therein, a front end of the electrode lead (120) extending through the pouch (200) to an outside of the pouch (200), and a sealing part (e.g. circumferential edge of 200) extending along a circumference of the accommodation part, the sealing part sealing the accommodation part (P22); and
an insulating tape (150) extending through the pouch (200) (Fig. 2b), and
the insulating tape (150) extends between the electrode lead (120) and the sealing part (Fig. 2b).
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the insulating tape is a gas discharge part, the gas discharge part being configured to discharge a gas from an inside of the pouch to the outside of the pouch, the gas discharge part being configured to block an inflow of moisture from the outside of the pouch to the inside of the pouch, wherein the gas discharge part comprises: a gas transmitting film having air permeability, the gas transmitting film being configured to discharge a gas from an inside of the accommodation part to the outside of the pouch; and a moisture absorbing material that is configured to absorb moisture from a gas from the outside of the pouch passing through the gas transmitting film, the moisture absorbing material being configured to block inflow of the moisture from the outside of the pouch to the inside of the pouch.
However, Lee discloses wherein the insulating tape (150) comprises an outer layer (154) formed of an organic material, such as polypropylene (P21), and an inner layer (152) formed of an organic material (152a), such as polypropylene, and an inorganic material (152b), such as silicon oxide (SiO2), silicon nitride (Si3N4), alumina (Al2O3), zirconia (ZrO2), and magnesia (MgO) (P19).
The Examiner notes wherein the instant specification discloses a gas discharge part being configured to discharge a gas from an inside of an pouch to an outside of the pouch, the gas discharge part being configured to block an inflow of moisture from the outside of the pouch to the inside of the pouch, wherein the gas discharge part comprises: a gas transmitting film having air permeability, the gas transmitting film being configured to discharge a gas from an inside of the accommodation part to the outside of the pouch; and a moisture absorbing material that is configured to absorb moisture from a gas from the outside of the pouch passing through the gas transmitting film, the moisture absorbing material being configured to block inflow of the moisture from the outside of the pouch to the inside of the pouch ([0051]-[0052]).
Specifically, the instant specification discloses wherein the gas transmitting film may be made of polypropylene ([0058]) and wherein the moisture absorbing material may be any one of silicon oxide (SiO2), silicon nitride (Si3N4), alumina (Al2O3), zirconia (ZrO2), and magnesia (MgO) ([0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the outer layer of Lee to be made of polypropylene and to form the inner layer of Lee to be made of polypropylene and any one of silicon oxide (SiO2), silicon nitride (Si3N4), alumina (Al2O3), zirconia (ZrO2), and magnesia (MgO), as disclosed by Lee, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the insulating tape desired by Lee.
In light of the above, modified Lee discloses wherein the insulating tape (150) is a gas discharge part (150) being configured to discharge a gas from an inside of the pouch (200) to the outside of the pouch (200), the gas discharge part (150) being configured to block an inflow of moisture from the outside of the pouch (200) to the inside of the pouch (200), wherein the gas discharge part (150) comprises: a gas transmitting film having air permeability (154), the gas transmitting film (154) being configured to discharge a gas from an inside of the accommodation part to the outside of the pouch (200); and a moisture absorbing material (152a) that is configured to absorb moisture from a gas from the outside of the pouch (200) passing through the gas transmitting film (154), the moisture absorbing material (152a) being configured to block inflow of the moisture from the outside of the pouch (200) to the inside of the pouch (200), as evidenced by [0051]-[0052], [0058], [0061] of the instant specification.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Lee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the gas discharge part (150) extends within the sealing part (Fig. 2b).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Lee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Lee further discloses wherein the gas discharge part (150) acts as an adhesive and therefore the secondary battery does not need to comprise an adhesive film disposed between the gas discharge part and the sealing part (P21).
However, Lee discloses wherein an adhesive film may be formed on the gas discharge part (150), so as to be disposed between the gas discharge part (150) and the sealing part, in order to reinforce the adhesive strength between the sealing part of the pouch (200) and the electrode lead (120) (bridging of P21-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form an adhesive film on the gas discharge part, such that the adhesive film is disposed between the gas discharge part and the sealing part, as disclosed by modified Lee, in order to reinforce the adhesive strength between the sealing part of the pouch and the electrode lead.
The Examiner notes that the limitation “configured to seal a gap between the gas discharge part and the sealing part” is intended use and therefore is not given patentable weight aside from the structure required to perform such function.
Thus, because modified Lee discloses an adhesive film disposed between the gas discharge part (150) and the sealing part in order to adhere the sealing part of the pouch and the electrode lead (120), (bridging of P21-22), such reads on the limitation “configured to seal a gap between the gas discharge part and the sealing part”.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Lee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the gas transmitting film (154) is made of a thermoplastic resin (P21, polypropylene), and the moisture absorbing material (152b) is made of an oxide that is configured to absorb moisture (P19, silicon oxide (SiO2), silicon nitride (Si3N4), alumina (Al2O3), zirconia (ZrO2), and/or magnesia (MgO), as rendered obvious above).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Lee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the gas discharge part (150) has a first end located inside of the pouch (200) adjacent to an inner edge of the sealing part, and a second end located outside of the pouch (200) adjacent to an outer periphery of the sealing part (Fig. 2b).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 2007-0074390 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), as applied to Claim 4 above, with evidence provided by NACE Corrosion Engineer’s Reference Book (see NPL provided with this Office Action).
Regarding Claims 5 and 7, modified Lee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Lee remains silent regarding the material of the adhesive film and consequently does not disclose wherein the adhesive film is made of a material having air permeability and wherein the adhesive film has an air permeability less than an air permeability of the gas transmitting film.
Though, Lee discloses wherein a polyimide layer may act as an adhesive (P21).
The Examiner notes wherein polyimide has an air permeability less than polypropylene (Table: Oxygen and Water Permeability in Plastic Films of NACE Corrosion Engineer’s Reference Book).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the adhesive film of polyimide, as disclosed by modified Lee, such that the adhesive film is made of a material having permeability and has an air permeability less than an air permeability of the gas transmitting film, as such is a known material that acts like an adhesive and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the adhesive film desired by modified Lee.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Lee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the adhesive film surrounds an entire outer circumference surface of the gas transmitting film, the adhesive film thereby preventing exposure of the gas discharge part to the outside of the pouch.
However, modified Lee discloses wherein the adhesive film is formed on the gas discharge part (150), so as to be disposed between the gas discharge part (150) and the sealing part, in order to reinforce the adhesive strength between the sealing part of the pouch (200) and the electrode lead (120) (bridging of P21-22).
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the adhesive layer to be on the entire outer circumferential surface of the gas discharge part in order to maximize reinforcement of the adhesive strength between the sealing part of the pouch and the electrode lead.
Thus, modified Lee discloses wherein the adhesive film surrounds an entire outer circumferential surface of the gas transmitting film (154) (Fig. 2b), thereby preventing exposure of the gas discharge part (150) to the outside of the pouch (200).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The invention of Claim 8 is directed to the secondary battery set forth above, wherein the moisture absorbing material is disposed on an outer surface of the gas transmitting film.
The closest prior art is considered to be Lee et al. (KR 2007-0074390 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Lee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Lee further discloses wherein the moisture absorbing material (152b) is contained inside of the gas transmitting film (154) so that even if the gas transmitting film (154) is deformed under a heated and pressurized state, the insulating function of the gas discharge part (150) is maintained, thereby preventing a short circuit between the pouch (200) and the electrode lead (120) (Fig. 2b, P10).
Consequently, modified Lee does not disclose wherein the moisture absorbing material is disposed on an outer surface of the gas transmitting film.
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the moisture absorbing material of modified Lee so as to be disposed on an outer surface of the gas transmitting film, as called for in the claimed invention, because the moisture absorbing material of modified Lee was specifically configured to be contained inside of the gas transmitting film in order to maintain the insulating function of the gas discharge part even if the gas transmitting film is deformed a heated and pressurized state.
In light of the above, the closest prior art fails to disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the claim limitation “wherein the moisture absorbing material is disposed on an outer surface of the gas transmitting film” in combination with all of the other limitations taken as a whole.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed November 26, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended Claim 1 (previous Claim 2) under over Kuroda et al. (JP 2005-038707 A, cited on the IDS dated December 8, 2022, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated September 16, 2025) in view of Funakoshi (JP 2011-108433 A, cited on the IDS dated December 8, 2022, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated June 30, 2025) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. (KR 2007-0074390 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action).
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1725