DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7-16, 19-20 and 23-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8, 10-12, 15-17, 20-22 and 24-27 of copending Application No. 18009390 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as below.
Regarding claims 1-3, 7-16, 19-20 and 23-26, the copending claims disclose the same PSA sheet as claimed in present claims. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 7-16, 19-20 and 23-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 13-26 and 29-36 of copending Application No. 17951378 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as below.
Regarding claims 1-3, 7-16, 19-20 and 23-26, the copending claims disclose the same PSA sheet as claimed in present claims. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 7-16, 19-20 and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites “the polyfunctional (meth)acrylate reacts with crosslinkable functional groups in the acrylic polymer (A) and the hydrogenated polyolefin resin (B) to form crosslinked structures”. Applicant points to paragraphs 0142 and 0165 in the specification. While there is support to recite polyfunctional acrylate serves as a crosslinking component, there is no support found regarding the polyfunctional (meth)acrylate reacts with “crosslinkable functional groups in the acrylic polymer (A)” and the hydrogenated polyolefin resin (B) to form crosslinked structures
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-16, 19-20 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katami et al. (US 2015/0376477) in view of Takeda et al. (US 2013/0302602).
Regarding claims 1-2, 7-13 and 15-16, Katami discloses a pressure sensitive adhesive sheet comprising a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) layer (title) wherein the PSA layer contains an acrylic polymer, as a main component, (paragraph 0065) comprising 30 to 95 of isostearyl acrylate, i.e. acrylic alkyl ester having a branched chain alkyl group having 10 to 24 carbon atoms, (paragraphs 0071, 0072), 5 to 30 parts by weight of hydroxyl group containing monomer based on the total amount of monomer components constituting acrylic polymer 100 parts by weight (paragraph 0075) and 5 to 30 parts by weight of nitrogen atom containing monomer based on the total amount of monomer components constituting acrylic polymer 100 parts by weight (paragraph 0077), wherein the PSA sheet has a total light transmittance in the visible wavelength region of not less than 88% (0157). Further, the PSA layer comprises polyfunctional acrylate wherein the polyfunctional acrylate is used as a crosslinking component (paragraph 0103).
Katami does not disclose hydrogenated polyolefinic resin such as hydrogenated polybutadiene.
Taketa discloses pressure sensitive adhesive sheet containing pressure sensitive layer comprising 40 wt% or less of hydrogenated polybutadiene, i.e. hydrogenated polyolefinic resin, to improve adhesion (paragraphs 0095-0096). Taketa further discloses that molecular weight of the resin can be set to any appropriate value and preferably the number average molecular weight is 5000 to 50000 (paragraph 0097).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the hydrogenated resin of Taketa in the PSA of Katami to obtain improve adhesion. Further, given that the hydrogenated polyolefinic resin of Taketa is the same as claimed in present claims, it is clear that the hydrogenated polyolefinic resin of Katami in view of Taketa would possess the same properties as claim in present claims. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding storage elastic modulus, dielectric constant and peel adhesive strength, Katami discloses PSA sheet has a 180 peel strength to a glass plate not less than 14 N/20 mm (paragraph 0150). Given that the PSA sheet of Katami in view of Taketa discloses the same composition and the same structure as claimed in present claims, it is clear that the PSA sheet of Katami in view of Taketa would intrinsically possess the same properties as claimed in present claims.
Regarding claim 3, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein the PSA layer has a gel fraction from 65 to 99% (paragraph 0159).
Regarding claim 14, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein the acrylic polymer comprises methyl acrylate (paragraph 0070).
Regarding claims 19-20, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein the PSA layer further comprises rust inhibitor such as benzotriazole compound (paragraphs 0055, 0057).
Regarding claim 23, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein Katami discloses an optical component comprising the PSA sheet of claim 1 and a base layer, i.e. substrate, wherein the substrate comprises metal wiring on its face and the PSA is laminated on the face of the substrate on the side having the metal wiring (paragraphs 0186-0188).
Regarding claim 24, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the optical member of claim 23, wherein the metal wiring is metal mash or silver nanowire (paragraphs 0188, 0189).
Regarding claim 25, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein Katami discloses a touch panel comprising the PSA sheet of claim 1 and a base layer, i.e. substrate, wherein the substrate comprises metal wiring on its face and the PSA is laminated on the face of the substrate on the side having the metal wiring (paragraphs 0184, 0186-0188).
Regarding claim 26, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the touch panel of claim 25, wherein the metal wiring is metal mash or silver nanowire (paragraphs 0188, 0189).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-16, 18-20 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katami et al. (US 2015/0376477) in view of Takano et al. (US 2018/0244963).
Regarding claims 1-2, 7-13 and 15-16, Katami discloses a pressure sensitive adhesive sheet comprising a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) layer (title) wherein the PSA layer contains an acrylic polymer, as a main component, (paragraph 0065) comprising 30 to 95 of isostearyl acrylate, i.e. acrylic alkyl ester having a branched chain alkyl group having 10 to 24 carbon atoms, (paragraphs 0071, 0072), 5 to 30 parts by weight of hydroxyl group containing monomer based on the total amount of monomer components constituting acrylic polymer 100 parts by weight (paragraph 0075) and 5 to 30 parts by weight of nitrogen atom containing monomer based on the total amount of monomer components constituting acrylic polymer 100 parts by weight (paragraph 0077), wherein the PSA sheet has a total light transmittance in the visible wavelength region of not less than 88% (0157). Further, the PSA layer comprises polyfunctional acrylate wherein the polyfunctional acrylate is used as a crosslinking component (paragraph 0103).
Katami does not disclose hydrogenated polyolefinic resin such as hydrogenated polybutadiene.
Takano discloses adhesive composition (abstract) comprising acrylic polymer and adhesive aid such as hydrogenated polybutadiene resin in an amount of from 3 to 50 mass % to obtain reduced adhesive residue and desired adhesive force (paragraph 0045). Takano discloses hydrogenated polybutadiene resin such as GI-1000 and GI-3000 (paragraphs 0134, 0140) which is the same as disclosed in the present specification and therefore it is clear that hydrogenated polybutadiene resin of Takano would have the same properties as claimed in present claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the hydrogenated resin of Takano in the PSA of Katami to obtain reduced adhesive residue and desired adhesive force. Given that the adhesive composition of Katami in view of Taketa is the same as claimed in present claims, it is clear that the adhesive of Katami in view of Taketa would possess the same properties as claim in present claims.
Regarding storage elastic modulus, dielectric constant and peel adhesive strength, Katami discloses PSA sheet has a 180 peel strength to a glass plate not less than 14 N/20 mm (paragraph 0150). Given that the PSA sheet of Katami in view of Takano discloses the same composition and the same structure as claimed in present claims, it is clear that the PSA sheet of Katami in view of Takano would intrinsically possess the same properties as claimed in present claims.
Regarding claim 3, Katami in view of Takano discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein the PSA layer has a gel fraction from 65 to 99% (paragraph 0159).
Regarding claim 14, Katami in view of Takano discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein the acrylic polymer comprises methyl acrylate (paragraph 0070).
Regarding claims 19-20, Katami in view of Takano discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein the PSA layer further comprises rust inhibitor such as benzotriazole compound (paragraphs 0055, 0057).
Regarding claim 23, Katami in view of Takano discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein Katami discloses an optical component comprising the PSA sheet of claim 1 and a base layer, i.e. substrate, wherein the substrate comprises metal wiring on its face and the PSA is laminated on the face of the substrate on the side having the metal wiring (paragraphs 0186-0188).
Regarding claim 24, Katami in view of Takano discloses the optical member of claim 23, wherein the metal wiring is metal mash or silver nanowire (paragraphs 0188, 0189).
Regarding claim 25, Katami in view of Takano discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein Katami discloses a touch panel comprising the PSA sheet of claim 1 and a base layer, i.e. substrate, wherein the substrate comprises metal wiring on its face and the PSA is laminated on the face of the substrate on the side having the metal wiring (paragraphs 0184, 0186-0188).
Regarding claim 26, Katami in view of Takano discloses the touch panel of claim 25, wherein the metal wiring is metal mash or silver nanowire (paragraphs 0188, 0189).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejections be held in abeyance. It is noted that the claims are not allowable at this time and therefore the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that Takeda discloses a liquid acrylic copolymer in adhesive layer but the acrylic copolymer is used at most in an amount of 5 wt%. However, it is noted that the examiner is not relying on Takeda reference for acrylic polymer as a base polymer in the adhesive. Katami reference is relied on for such limitation as explained above in the rejection.
Applicant argues that the examiner’s position appears to be rely on improper hindsight in an attempt to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). The rejection is not based on hindsight but rather on motivation to combine found in the references themselves. Further, it is the examiner's position that the combination is not based on hindsight but rather on motivation to combine found in Takeda itself, namely, adhesive sheet containing pressure sensitive layer comprising 40 wt% or less of hydrogenated polybutadiene, i.e. hydrogenated polyolefinic resin, to improve adhesion.
Applicant argues that if Katami were somehow modified to include a hydrogenated polyolefin resin, the polyfunctional acrylate of Katami would not react with the crosslinkable functional groups in the acrylic polymer and the hydrogenated polyolefin resin to form a crosslinked structure. However, it is noted that “the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record”, In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). It is the examiner’s position that the arguments provided by the applicant must be supported by a declaration or affidavit. As set forth in MPEP 716.02(g), “the reason for requiring evidence in a declaration or affidavit form is to obtain the assurances that any statements or representations made are correct, as provided by 35 U.S.C. 24 and 18 U.S.C. 1001”.
Applicant points to examples in Takano and argues that comparative example 1 had less adhesive force to copper foil but stronger adhesive force to polyimide and this the effect of the adhesive aid on adhesive strength appears unpredictable. However, it is noted that the data is not persuasive given that the claims are rejected under Katami in view of Takano. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787