DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7-16, 19-20 and 23-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8, 10-12, 15-17, 20-22 and 24-27 of copending Application No. 18009390 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as below.
Regarding claims 1-3, 7-16, 19-20 and 23-26, the copending claims disclose the same PSA sheet as claimed in present claims. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 7-16, 19-20 and 23-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 13-26 and 29-36 of copending Application No. 17951378 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as below.
Regarding claims 1-3, 7-16, 19-20 and 23-26, the copending claims disclose the same PSA sheet as claimed in present claims. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 7-16, 19-20 and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 is amended to recites “the polyfunctional (meth)acrylate reacts with crosslinkable functional groups in the acrylic polymer (A) and the hydrogenated polyolefin resin (B) to form crosslinked structures”. Applicant points to paragraph 0162 in the specification. However, there is no support found in the present specification regarding such phrase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-16, 19-20 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katami et al. (US 2015/0376477) in view of Takeda et al. (US 2013/0302602).
Regarding claims 1-2, 7-13 and 15-16, Katami discloses a pressure sensitive adhesive sheet comprising a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) layer (title) wherein the PSA layer contains an acrylic polymer comprising 30 to 95 of isostearyl acrylate, i.e. acrylic alkyl ester having a branched chain alkyl group having 10 to 24 carbon atoms, (paragraphs 0071, 0072), 5 to 30 parts by weight of hydroxyl group containing monomer based on the total amount of monomer components constituting acrylic polymer 100 parts by weight (paragraph 0075) and 5 to 30 parts by weight of nitrogen atom containing monomer based on the total amount of monomer components constituting acrylic polymer 100 parts by weight (paragraph 0077), wherein the PSA sheet has a total light transmittance in the visible wavelength region of not less than 88% (0157). Further, the PSA layer comprises polyfunctional acrylate wherein the polyfunctional acrylate is used as a crosslinking component (paragraph 0103).
Katami does not disclose hydrogenated polyolefinic resin such as hydrogenated polybutadiene.
Taketa discloses pressure sensitive adhesive sheet containing pressure sensitive layer comprising 40 wt% or less of hydrogenated polybutadiene, i.e. hydrogenated polyolefinic resin, to improve adhesion (paragraphs 0095-0096). Taketa further discloses that molecular weight of the resin can be set to any appropriate value and preferably the number average molecular weight is 5000 to 50000 (paragraph 0097).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the hydrogenated resin of Taketa in the PSA of Katami to obtain improve adhesion. Further, given that the hydrogenated polyolefinic resin of Taketa is the same as claimed in present claims, it is clear that the hydrogenated polyolefinic resin of Katami in view of Taketa would possess the same properties as claim in present claims. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding storage elastic modulus, dielectric constant and peel adhesive strength, Katami discloses PSA sheet has a 180 peel strength to a glass plate not less than 14 N/20 mm (paragraph 0150). Given that the PSA sheet of Katami in view of Taketa discloses the same composition and the same structure as claimed in present claims, it is clear that the PSA sheet of Katami in view of Taketa would intrinsically possess the same properties as claimed in present claims.
Regarding claim 3, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein the PSA layer has a gel fraction from 65 to 99% (paragraph 0159).
Regarding claim 14, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein the acrylic polymer comprises methyl acrylate (paragraph 0070).
Regarding claims 19-20, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein the PSA layer further comprises rust inhibitor such as benzotriazole compound (paragraphs 0055, 0057).
Regarding claim 23, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein Katami discloses an optical component comprising the PSA sheet of claim 1 and a base layer, i.e. substrate, wherein the substrate comprises metal wiring on its face and the PSA is laminated on the face of the substrate on the side having the metal wiring (paragraphs 0186-0188).
Regarding claim 24, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the optical member of claim 23, wherein the metal wiring is metal mash or silver nanowire (paragraphs 0188, 0189).
Regarding claim 25, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein Katami discloses a touch panel comprising the PSA sheet of claim 1 and a base layer, i.e. substrate, wherein the substrate comprises metal wiring on its face and the PSA is laminated on the face of the substrate on the side having the metal wiring (paragraphs 0184, 0186-0188).
Regarding claim 26, Katami in view of Taketa discloses the touch panel of claim 25, wherein the metal wiring is metal mash or silver nanowire (paragraphs 0188, 0189).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-16, 18-20 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katami et al. (US 2015/0376477) in view of Takano et al. (US 2018/0244963).
Regarding claims 1-2, 7-13 and 15-16, Katami discloses a pressure sensitive adhesive sheet comprising a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) layer (title) wherein the PSA layer contains an acrylic polymer comprising 30 to 95 of isostearyl acrylate, i.e. acrylic alkyl ester having a branched chain alkyl group having 10 to 24 carbon atoms, (paragraphs 0071, 0072), 5 to 30 parts by weight of hydroxyl group containing monomer based on the total amount of monomer components constituting acrylic polymer 100 parts by weight (paragraph 0075) and 5 to 30 parts by weight of nitrogen atom containing monomer based on the total amount of monomer components constituting acrylic polymer 100 parts by weight (paragraph 0077), wherein the PSA sheet has a total light transmittance in the visible wavelength region of not less than 88% (0157). Further, the PSA layer comprises polyfunctional acrylate wherein the polyfunctional acrylate is used as a crosslinking component (paragraph 0103).
Katami does not disclose hydrogenated polyolefinic resin such as hydrogenated polybutadiene.
Takano discloses adhesive composition (abstract) comprising acrylic polymer and adhesive aid such as hydrogenated polybutadiene resin in an amount of from 3 to 50 mass % to obtain reduced adhesive residue and desired adhesive force (paragraph 0045). Takano discloses hydrogenated polybutadiene resin such as GI-1000 and GI-3000 (paragraphs 0134, 0140) which is the same as disclosed in the present specification and therefore it is clear that hydrogenated polybutadiene resin of Takano would have the same properties as claimed in present claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the hydrogenated resin of Takano in the PSA of Katami to obtain reduced adhesive residue and desired adhesive force. Given that the adhesive composition of Katami in view of Taketa is the same as claimed in present claims, it is clear that the adhesive of Katami in view of Taketa would possess the same properties as claim in present claims.
Regarding storage elastic modulus, dielectric constant and peel adhesive strength, Katami discloses PSA sheet has a 180 peel strength to a glass plate not less than 14 N/20 mm (paragraph 0150). Given that the PSA sheet of Katami in view of Takano discloses the same composition and the same structure as claimed in present claims, it is clear that the PSA sheet of Katami in view of Takano would intrinsically possess the same properties as claimed in present claims.
Regarding claim 3, Katami in view of Takano discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein the PSA layer has a gel fraction from 65 to 99% (paragraph 0159).
Regarding claim 14, Katami in view of Takano discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein the acrylic polymer comprises methyl acrylate (paragraph 0070).
Regarding claims 19-20, Katami in view of Takano discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein the PSA layer further comprises rust inhibitor such as benzotriazole compound (paragraphs 0055, 0057).
Regarding claim 23, Katami in view of Takano discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein Katami discloses an optical component comprising the PSA sheet of claim 1 and a base layer, i.e. substrate, wherein the substrate comprises metal wiring on its face and the PSA is laminated on the face of the substrate on the side having the metal wiring (paragraphs 0186-0188).
Regarding claim 24, Katami in view of Takano discloses the optical member of claim 23, wherein the metal wiring is metal mash or silver nanowire (paragraphs 0188, 0189).
Regarding claim 25, Katami in view of Takano discloses the PSA sheet of claim 1, wherein Katami discloses a touch panel comprising the PSA sheet of claim 1 and a base layer, i.e. substrate, wherein the substrate comprises metal wiring on its face and the PSA is laminated on the face of the substrate on the side having the metal wiring (paragraphs 0184, 0186-0188).
Regarding claim 26, Katami in view of Takano discloses the touch panel of claim 25, wherein the metal wiring is metal mash or silver nanowire (paragraphs 0188, 0189).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the composition of the PSA layer of Katami and Takeda are different. However, it is noted that Takeda does disclose acrylic copolymer in B1 adhesive in paragraph 0087. Further, note that while Takeda does not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Takeda is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely 40 wt% or less of hydrogenated polybutadiene, i.e. hydrogenated polyolefinic resin, to improve adhesion, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Applicant argues that Takeda teaches the use of a softening agent in a layer containing a thermoplastic elastomer. While examiner agrees that Takeda discloses the adhesive layer based on a thermoplastic elastomer, the adhesive layer of Takeda also discloses acrylic copolymer in B1 adhesive in paragraph 0087.
Applicant argues that since the purpose of adhesives differ between Katami and Takano, it would not been obvious to use the adhesive aid of Takano in Katami because Katami does not desire removal of the PSA. However, it is noted that one of the motivation to use adhesive aid of Takano in Katami is to provide desired adhesive force. Therefore, it is clear that the rejection is proper.
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787