DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 6-30, 34-63 and 71 have been canceled.
Claims 1-5, 31-33, 64-70, and 72-76 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-5 and 31-33, and of species alginate and acid, in the reply filed on 10/1/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all groups are linked by a special technical feature. This is not found persuasive because as indicated by the rejections below, the groups do not share the special technical feature which contributes over the prior art at the time the invention was made.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 32, 64-70 and 72-76 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 1-5, 31 and 33 are being examined in this application, insofar as they read on the elected species of alginate and acid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA )], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 d) recites “stirring the mixture until gelation is complete”, and claim 5 recites “wherein the stirring in step d) is carried out until the viscosity of the mixture does not further increase.”, which generally signifies that gelation is complete. Since claim 5 includes the same step as recited in claim 1, claim 5 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speaker et al (US 2018/0078648 A1; 3/22/2018.).
The instant claims recite a method of forming a shear-thinning fluid gel composition comprising 0.5 to 20% w/v of a microgel particle-forming polymer dispersed in an aqueous medium, the method comprising the steps of: a) providing a microgel particle-forming polymer, wherein the polymer comprises a plurality of cross-linkable functional groups; b) dissolving the microgel-forming polymer provided in step a) in an aqueous medium at a concentration of 0.5 to 20% w/v to form a polymer solution; c) mixing the polymer solution formed in step b) with an agent capable of cross-linking the cross-linkable functional groups of the polymer; and d) stirring the mixture until gelation is complete; wherein the cross-linking agent in step c) is not a metal ion salt; and wherein the viscosity and the elastic modulus of the shear-thinning fluid gel composition reversibly reduce when the gel is exposed to shear.
Speaker teaches a shear-thinning composition obtained by a method comprising providing an aqueous solution comprises 20 mL of 1.0% wt. sodium alginate, adding trace citric acid, and stirring at 700 rpm for a while to form a gel-like fluid. Despite this gel-like consistency, the fluid was readily sprayed using a common dip-tube finger-pump cosmetic atomizer or trigger sprayer, and the spray pattern was very similar to that of water alone, the spray pattern reflected extreme viscosity loss while under shear conditions (Example 1). Speaker does not explicitly teach stirring the mixture until gelation is complete. However, Speaker does teach the mixture is stirred at 700 rpm for a while to form a gel-like fluid, which read on stirring the mixture until gelation is complete. Even if not anticipated, the mixture is stirred at 700 rpm for a while implying that the mixture is well mixed and continues to react, and a gel-like fluid is formed at the end, which is at least prima facie obvious.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole was at least prima facie obvious, if not anticipated by, the reference, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speaker et al (US 2018/0078648 A1; 3/22/2018.) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 31 and 33 above.
Speaker does not teach the microgel particle-forming polymer is dissolved in the aqueous medium at a concentration of 2 to 8% w/v (claim 3).
However, Speaker does teach the aqueous solution comprises 20 mL of 1.0% wt. sodium alginate, a concentration that is close to the claimed concentration.
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the concentration as a matter of routine experimentation. Generally, differences in concentration will not support patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. (MPEP 2144.05 II) Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to optimize the concentration with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a shear-thinning fluid gel composition.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-5, 31 and 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 10 and 15 of co-pending Application No. 18/009,485 (referred to as the ‘485 application) in view of Speaker et al (US 2018/0078648 A1; 3/22/2018.).
Claims 1-2, 10 and 15 of the ‘485 application recite a method of forming a shear-thinning fluid gel composition comprising 0.5 to 20% w/v of a microgel particle-forming polymer dispersed in an aqueous medium, the method comprising the steps of: a) providing a microgel particle-forming polymer, wherein the polymer comprises a plurality of cross-linkable functional groups; b) dissolving the microgel-forming polymer provided in step a) in an aqueous medium at a concentration of 0.5 to 20% w/v to form a polymer solution; c) mixing the polymer solution formed in step b) with a radical initiator; and d) stirring the mixture until gelation is complete; wherein the viscosity and the elastic modulus of the shear-thinning fluid gel composition reversibly reduce when the gel is exposed to shear. The microgel particle-forming polymer is a biopolymer. The microgel particle-forming polymer is dissolved in the aqueous medium at a concentration of 2 to 8% w/v. The stirring in step d) is carried out by constant stirring at 100 to 1000 rpm.
‘485 application does not teach the microgel particle-forming polymer is alginate and the agent is an acid (claims 31 & 33).
Speaker teaches a shear-thinning composition obtained by a method comprising providing an aqueous solution comprises 20 mL of 1.0% wt. sodium alginate, adding trace citric acid, and stirring at 700 rpm for a while to form a gel-like fluid (Example 1).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate alginate as a microgel particle-forming polymer and an acid as an agent to form a shear-thinning fluid gel composition, since ‘485 application and Speaker both disclose a method of forming a shear-thinning fluid gel composition, and Speaker discloses that alginate and an acid are used to form the shear-thinning fluid gel composition. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to incorporate alginate as a microgel particle-forming polymer and an acid as an agent, with a reasonable expectation for successfully forming a shear-thinning fluid gel composition.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759