Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraphs are numbered incorrectly. The number should consist of at least four numerals enclosed in square brackets, including leading zeros (e.g., [0001]) in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 60-64, 67, 73, 74 and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 60, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 60 recites the broad recitation “wherein the method is undertaken for greater than about 15 minutes”, and the claim also recites “about 15 to about 60 minutes”, and then “or for about 30 minutes”, which is the narrowest statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 61, it recites the limitation "the pulses" in “the magnetic pulse comprises applying the pulses”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 62, it recites the limitation "the pulses" in “the magnetic pulse comprises applying the pulses discontinuously”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 63, it recites the limitation "the pulses" in “the magnetic pulse comprises applying the pulses for about four seconds”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 64, the term “optionally” is considered exemplary claim language and it is unclear whether the claimed narrower range is a limitation. See to MPEP 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 67, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 67 recites the broad recitation “a clinical dementia rating (CDR) score of at least about 0.5”, and the claim also recites “at least about or 1”, and then “or at least about 2”, which is the narrowest statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 73, Figure 4 is used as a reference, however claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted). See to MPEP 2173.05(s). Claim 74 is also rejected due to its dependency on claim 73.
Regarding claim 76, the term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the degree of how free the rTMS treatment is of adverse effects is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 58, 60, 62, 64-66, 68, 71, 72, and 75-77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dissing et al. (US 20120101327 A1).
Regarding claims 58 and 77, Dissing et al. teaches a repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS) method for slowing or preventing a conversion of mild cognitive impairment (MCI) to Alzheimer’s disease (“preventing, treating, or relieving a disorder”, paragraph [0027]), treating or preventing Alzheimer’s disease (“pulsed electromagnetic field applied trans-cranially at the bi-temporal area of a subject for the treatment...Alzheimer’s disease”, paragraph [0026]),
comprising repetitively applying a magnetic pulse to the scalp of a patient in need thereof thereby stimulating neurons in the brain of the patient (“electrical field induced by supplying pulses to said at least one coil will stimulate serotonergic neurons”, paragraph [0021]; shown in Fig. 7),
wherein the magnetic pulse is applied: repetitively over the patient’s brain; and at a frequency of about 50 to about 250 Hz (“current pulses are supplied with a frequency of… preferably 50-100 Hz”, paragraph [0069]) and an intensity of about 1,000 to about 20,000 milligauss (Fig. 4 shows a magnetic field range of 1 to 9 Gauss, which is 1,000 to 9,000 milligauss).
Regarding claim 60, Dissing et al. teaches the method being undertaken once, or twice, or thrice, or four times daily (“pulsed electromagnetic field applied…several times a day, such as 2, 3, 4 or 5 times a day, on a daily basis”, paragraph [0110]);
and/or wherein the method is undertaken for greater than about 15 minutes, about 15 to about 60 minutes, or for about 30 minutes (“the pulsed electromagnetic field applied…for a period of…preferably 15-60, more preferred 20-40, preferably about 30 minutes”, paragraph [0131]).
Regarding claim 62, Dissing et al. teaches repetitively applying the magnetic pulse and applying the pulses discontinuously. This is interpreted that pulses are a discontinuous moment of an action. Unless applicant intends to claim at a certain time interval, there is a number of pulses and then silent for another time interval before another set of pulses is generated.
Regarding claim 64, Dissing et al. teaches the method being applied chronically (“patients…receive daily PEMF treatments for a 5-week period”, paragraph [0180]), optionally wherein the treatment is applied for greater than about 2 months, greater than about 6 months, or greater than about one year.
Regarding claim 65, Dissing et al. teaches the treatment being self-applied by a device that is suitable for home use, and/or wherein the device is portable (“subject comes to the clinic and places the PEMF device on his or her own head…subject may subsequently use the device at home”, paragraph [0180]).
Regarding claim 66, Dissing et al. teaches the magnetic pulse being applied using a device, the device being suitable for conducting electric current through a coil, and wherein the device generates a magnetic field (“a pulse generator and seven coils, in which pulsed currents cause fluctuating magnetic fields in a predetermined region”, paragraph [0009]; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 68, Dissing et al. teaches the patient is afflicted with dementia with using the Hamilton Depression scale (HAM-D17) to indicate the presence of cognitive impairment (see paragraph [0103]).
Regarding claim 71, Dissing et al. teaches the method stimulating neurons throughout the patient’s brain, stimulates neurons in a left hemisphere of the patient’s brain, stimulates neurons in a frontal lobe of the patient’s brain, stimulates neurons in a cerebral cortex of the patient’s brain, and/or stimulates neurons outside of the patient’s left prefrontal dorsolateral cortex. The seven coils are placed around the scalp of the patient to treat various points of the brain (see paragraphs [0022], [0023], [0024]).
Regarding claim 72, Dissing et al. teaches the method preventing or delaying the progression of MCI to Alzheimer’s disease, improving cognitive traits of the patient, preventing diminution of cognitive traits of the patient, and/or slows the patient’s memory loss or retains or increases memory capacity (“a method and an apparatus for stimulating cellular activities in brain tissue causing improved neural function for patient suffering from mental disorders”, paragraph [0001], paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 75, Dissing et al. teaches the method being used in tandem with ne or more additional agents, and/or wherein the method obviates the need for treatment with one or more additional agents (paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 76, Dissing et al. teaches treating of Alzheimer’s disease as the same to Applicant’s invention with the claimed frequency and electric field. Therefore, making the method substantially free of adverse effects selected from epileptic seizures, nausea, and headache.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 59, 61, 63, 67, 69, 70, 73, and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dissing et al. (US 20120101327 A1).
Regarding claim 59, Dissing et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 58, but does not teach the magnetic pulse being applied at a frequency of about 125 to about 145 Hz, or at a frequency of about 135 Hz;
Wherein the magnetic pulse is applied at an intensity of about 10,000 milligauss; and/or
Wherein the magnetic pulse generates an electric field of about 0.1 to about 10 V/m^7. About 0.5 to about 1.5 V/m^7, or about 1 V/m^7.
However, Dissing et al. does teach the magnetic pulse being applied at a frequency of 10-400 Hz (paragraph [0108]), and the magnetic pulse being applied at an electric field intensity of about 1x10^-6-0.1 V/m (paragraph [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frequency and intensity of the magnetic pulse to be within the claimed ranges in order to increase the therapeutic effects of rTMS. A higher frequency and intensity would enhance neural excitability, improving cognitive function and memory in patients with Alzheimer’s disease. Since it has been held that “in the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, the Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see paragraph [026]).
Regarding claim 61, Dissing et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 58, including pulses (paragraph [0057]), but does not teach repetitively applying the magnetic pulse about 300 to about 400 times.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to routinely experiment the number of pulses that are effective during the treatment as an optimal range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Dissing et al. by making the number of the pulses to the claimed amount as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation,” in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 63, Dissing et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 58, but does not teach repetitively applying the magnetic pulse and applying the pulses for about four seconds, or wherein the pulses last for about four seconds followed by one second without pulsing.
However, Dissing et al. does teach the time between each new current pulse being “5-100, preferably 10-50, more preferred 15-20, preferably 18 ms”, in paragraph [0074], and the delay between pulse pairs being “1-50, preferably 5-25, more preferred 10-15, preferably 12 ms”, in paragraph [0075].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the duration of each pulse of Dissing et al. to the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the timing to be a little bit longer. Adjusting the time of each pulse and in between pulse would vary the strength of the treatment depending on the level of severity in a patient with Alzheimer’s disease. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Dissing et al. by making the time of the pulses about four seconds and one second in between pulses as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation,” in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 67, 73 and 74, Dissing et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 72, and further teaches using the Hamilton Depression scale (HAM-D17) (see paragraph [0103]) to measure the degree of the disease, but fails to teach any of the claimed treatment scales.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to selectively choose any of the scale to measure the degree of the disease and to provide treatment using rTMS, since each one of these scales would be functionally equivalent to allow healthcare workers to make an assessment.
Regarding claim 69, Dissing et al. teaches using a biomarker indicative of Alzheimer’s disease instead of high A6, high Tau in cerebrospinal fluid, and the presence of the ApoE4 allele.
However, because Dissing et al. teaches using one of the biomarkers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have any of the equivalent biomarkers to yield an indicator whether the patient needs treatment or not.
Regarding claim 70, Dissing et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 58, but does not teach the method stimulating neurons around about 2 cm to about 3 cm from the skull, and/or wherein the magnetic pulse is applied repetitively over the patient’s left prefrontal dorsolateral cortex.
However, Dissing et al. does teach the seven coils being arranged such that every area of the brain can be treated (paragraphs [0022], [0023], [0024]), which would include the left prefrontal dorsolateral cortex.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to focus primarily on the left prefrontal dorsolateral cortex to focus on how its plasticity affects Alzheimer’s and mild cognitive impairment (MCI).
Conclusion
/L.L.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791