DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-11 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended.
Response to Amendments
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant's response filed on 6/24/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6 of Remarks filed 6/24/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to address the indefinite language. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-14 of Remarks filed 6/24/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to include limitations that were not previously presented and are not obvious over the previous mapping of Selby in view of Rojo-Calderon. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are made in view of a new mapping of Selby in view of Rojo-Calderon, as discussed in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selby et al. (US 2022/0183348 A1) in view of Rojo-Calderon et al. (US 2018/0295885 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Selby discloses a tobacco rod (“HNB cigarette 10”, Fig. 19), comprising:
a first filter segment (“first filter 120a”, Fig. 19, ¶ 0056, the examiner notes that Fig. 19 is mislabeled and that one of the two 120b’s should be 120a based on the accompanying text in ¶ 0056);
a second filter segment (“second filter 120b”, Fig. 19, ¶ 0056) that is located upstream of the first filter segment (¶ 0056); and
a cavity segment (cavity containing “tobacco section 20”, Fig. 19, ¶ 0056) that is formed by the first filter segment and the second filter segment (Fig. 19),
wherein the cavity segment is filled with a tobacco section (“tobacco section 20”, Fig. 19, ¶ 0056).
However, Selby does not explicitly disclose that the tobacco section is a tobacco granule that includes tobacco fine particles, and susceptor fine particles heated by a variable magnetic field therein,
a particle diameter of the tobacco fine particles is 20 to 40 μm,
a particle diameter of the susceptor fine particles is 20 to 40 μm,
a diameter of the tobacco granule is 0.4 mm to 1.2 mm,
the cavity segment includes a composite granule structure in which two or more tobacco granules are aggregated,
wherein the composite granule structure is a multi-laver structure in which two or more layers are layered, and
wherein each tobacco granule includes a form in which a plurality of the tobacco fine particles and a plurality of the susceptor fine particles are randomly mixed and aggregated.
Rojo-Calderon, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a tobacco rod (“aerosol-generating article (9)”, abstract, Fig. 3) comprising:
a cavity segment (“cavity of a casing of an aerosol-generating article”, ¶ 0093) that is filled with a tobacco granule (“particles 1 comprising susceptor material and aerosol-forming substrate”, Fig. 3, ¶ 0109, where “Aerosol-forming substrate may be a tobacco containing aerosol-forming substrate.”, ¶ 0066),
the tobacco granule includes tobacco fine particles (“tobacco particles” in the form of a “tobacco dust”, ¶ 0067-0068), and susceptor fine particles (“several particles form a susceptor core”, ¶ 0063) heated by a variable magnetic field therein (¶ 0049),
a particle diameter of the tobacco fine particles is 30 to 80 μm (“30 micrometers to 80 micrometers”, ¶ 0068),
a diameter of the tobacco granule is 0.5 mm to 4 mm (“between 0.5 millimeter and 4 millimeter”, ¶ 0133),
the cavity segment includes a composite granule structure in which two or more tobacco granules are aggregated (“Two pre-formed pellets 3”, Fig. 3, ¶ 0117), and
wherein the composite granule structure is a multi-layer structure in which two or more layers are layered (“Two pre-formed pellets 3”, Fig. 3, ¶ 0117), and
wherein each tobacco granule includes a form in which a plurality of tobacco fine particles and a plurality of susceptor fine particles are randomly mixed and aggregated (as seen in Fig. 3 of Rojo-Calderon, the particles 1 which are formed of the tobacco fine particles and susceptor fine particles are randomly mixed in the sense that there is no defined order to the placement of individual particles and they are aggregated).
Rojo-Calderon teaches several benefits of the tobacco granule in that it improves heat transfer while reducing waste of both materials and energy (¶ 0005) as well as a benefit of the composite granule structure in that it provides mechanical stability (¶ 0011). Rojo-Calderon further teaches that the composite granule structure can be used in place of a tobacco section of a tobacco rod (“A pellet may, for example, replace a tobacco plug in a tobacco stick used in electronic heating devices.”, ¶ 0013). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced the tobacco section taught by Selby with the composite granule structure taught by Rojo-Calderon, with the dimensions and random mix taught by Rojo-Calderon, in order to obtain these benefits. Since the tobacco fine particle diameter range 30 to 80 μm overlaps the claimed range of 20 to 40 μm, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05(I)). Since the tobacco granule diameter range 0.5 mm to 4 mm overlaps the claimed range of 0.4 mm to 1.2 mm, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
With regard to the limitation, “a particle diameter of the susceptor fine particles is 20 to 40 μm”, Rojo-Calderon teaches that the susceptor core diameter may be between 0.2 mm and 2.4 mm (¶ 0059) and that the susceptor core comprises one or several particles (¶ 0063). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the particle diameter of the susceptor fine particles of Rojo-Calderon may be 0.2 mm to 2.4 mm (in the case of one particle) or less (in the case of several particles; e.g., if 5 susceptor fine particles were combined to form a susceptor core with a total diameter of 0.2 mm, the particle diameters of the susceptor fine particles would be 40 μm). Since the range 2.4 mm or less overlaps the claimed range of 20 to 40 μm, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 2, Selby in view of Rojo-Calderon teaches the tobacco rod of claim 1, as stated above. Rojo-Calderon further teaches wherein the tobacco granule is in a form of a core-shell (“granules formed by the susceptor core 10 coated with one or two aerosol-forming substrate coatings 20,21 form particles 1”, Fig. 8b, ¶ 0128) in which the susceptor fine particles are aggregated and located in a core which is an inner center thereof (“susceptor core 10”, Fig. 8b, ¶ 0128) and the tobacco fine particles are aggregated and located in a form of a shell surrounding the core (“aerosol-forming substrate coating 20”, Fig. 8b, ¶ 0128).
Regarding claim 4, Selby in view of Rojo-Calderon teaches the tobacco rod of claim 1, as stated above. Rojo-Calderon also teaches wherein the tobacco granule further comprises moisture (“moisture”, ¶ 0066, 0070).
Regarding claim 5, Selby in view of Rojo-Calderon teaches the tobacco rod of claim 4, as stated above. Rojo-Calderon does not explicitly disclose wherein the tobacco granule comprises, based on the total weight of the tobacco granule, 20 to 40 wt% of susceptor fine particles. However, Rojo-Calderon teaches that the susceptor fine particles facilitate heating of the tobacco granule (¶ 0005). The efficacy of the susceptor fine particles for this result depends on the amount of susceptor fine particles included in the tobacco granule. If too small of an amount of susceptor fine particles are included in the tobacco granule, the tobacco granule will not be properly heated. If too large of an amount of susceptor fine particles are included in the tobacco granule, there will not be sufficient room in the tobacco granule for the tobacco fine particles and moisture that are to be heated by the by the susceptor fine particles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the amount of susceptor fine particles in the tobacco granule such that it falls within the claimed range. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
Rojo-Calderon also does not explicitly disclose wherein the tobacco granule comprises, based on the total weight of the tobacco granule, 50 to 70 wt% of tobacco fine particles. However, Rojo-Calderon teaches that the tobacco fine particles provide substances, such as nicotine and flavouring, to be volatilized into the aerosol and delivered to the consumer (¶ 0070). The efficacy of the tobacco fine particles for this result depends on the amount of tobacco fine particles included in the tobacco granule. If too small of an amount of tobacco fine particles are included in the tobacco granule, the tobacco granule will not provide a sufficient dose of nicotine or amount of flavour. If too large of an amount of tobacco fine particles are included in the tobacco granule, there will not be sufficient room in the tobacco granule for the susceptor fine particles that are to heat the tobacco fine particles to form the aerosol. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the amount of susceptor fine particles in the tobacco granule such that it falls within the claimed range. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
Rojo-Calderon also does not explicitly disclose wherein the tobacco granule comprises, based on the total weight of the tobacco granule, 5 to 15 wt% of moisture. However, Rojo-Calderon teaches that the tobacco product should have a desirable level of moisture (¶ 0070). The efficacy of the moisture for this result depends on the amount of moisture included in the tobacco granule. If too small of an amount of moisture is included in the tobacco granule, then the tobacco granule will be too dry. If too large of an amount of moisture is included in the tobacco granule, there will not be sufficient room in the tobacco granule for the tobacco fine particles that are to provide the nicotine and flavour or for the susceptor fine particles that are to heat the tobacco fine particles to form the aerosol. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the amount of susceptor fine particles in the tobacco granule such that it falls within the claimed range. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
Regarding claim 8, Selby in view of Rojo-Calderon teaches the tobacco rod of claim 1, as stated above. Selby further teaches wherein each of the first filter segment and the second filter segment comprises a paper material (“cigarette paper, tipping paper, or other suitable materials 180”, Fig. 38A, ¶ 0075).
Regarding claim 9, Selby in view of Rojo-Calderon teaches the tobacco rod of claim 1, as stated above. Rojo-Calderon further discloses wherein the susceptor fine particles comprise aluminum (“aluminum”, ¶ 0050).
Regarding claim 10, Selby in view of Rojo-Calderon teaches the tobacco rod of claim 1, as stated above. Selby further discloses an aerosol generating article (combination of the tobacco rod of claim 1, corresponding to the combination of first filter segment “porous material 110”, tobacco section “substrate 20”, and second filter segment “porous material 110”, Fig. 36B, ¶ 0070; and a filter rod, corresponding to the combination of “cone 130” and “mouthpiece 90” with “optional filter 120”, Fig. 36B, ¶ 0070) used with an aerosol generating apparatus (“Heat-not-burn (HNB) devices”, ¶ 0002) comprising:
the tobacco rod of claim 1 (combination of first filter segment “porous material 110”, tobacco section “substrate 20”, and second filter segment “porous material 110”, Fig. 36B, ¶ 0070); and
a filter rod (combination of “cone 130” and “mouthpiece 90” with “optional filter 120”, Fig. 36B, ¶ 0070) that is located downstream of the tobacco rod (Fig. 36B),
wherein the filter rod includes a cooling segment (“some air will tend to flow in through the external perforations 70 and directly through the cone 130 perforations 70 and mixes with the hot vapor to reduce its temperature”, Fig. 36B, ¶ 0070); and a mouthpiece segment (“mouthpiece 90”, Fig. 36B, ¶ 0070) that is located downstream of the cooling segment (Fig. 36B).
Regarding claim 11, Selby in view of Rojo-Calderon teaches the aerosol generating article of claim 10, as stated above. Selby also discloses using the aerosol-generating article of claim 10 in an aerosol generating apparatus (“Heat-not-burn (HNB) devices”, ¶ 0002-0003), wherein the aerosol generating apparatus may use electromagnetic induction to generate heat (¶ 0022). However, Selby does not explicitly disclose all of the details of the apparatus as claimed.
Rojo-Calderon teaches an aerosol generating apparatus (“aerosol-generating system”, ¶ 0094), comprising:
an aerosol generating article (“aerosol-generating article”, ¶ 0094) with the tobacco granule of claim 10;
an accommodation space (“device cavity”, ¶ 0094) for the aerosol generating article;
a battery (“power source”, ¶ 0094); and
a coil (“one or more induction coils”, ¶ 0094),
wherein the coil surrounds the cavity segment and generates a variable magnetic field by receiving power from the battery to heat the susceptor (¶ 0015, 0049, 0094).
Rojo-Calderon teaches an advantage to heating the tobacco granule in such an inductive heating apparatus in that it allows for optimal heating of the tobacco fine particles with the susceptor fine particles (¶ 0005, 0049). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included the aerosol-generating article of claim 10, taught by Selby in view of Rojo-Calderon, in the apparatus taught by Rojo-Calderon, in order to obtain this benefit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.G.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747