DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Originally filed specification does not provide written description for the claimed “branch planes”. Specifically, where all branched portions extend in the branch planes that are parallel to the stem plane. No explicit written description is present for the words used in the amendment, the figures are relied upon. In Fig 2, there are two branched portions for element 121 that each have an oblique angle. The end portion of 121 is observed to be in the same parallel plane as feature 122, however the 1st branch portion from the stem portion does not extend in a direction parallel to the stem plane. The figures all depict a 1st branch portion that extends perpendicular to the stem plane and therefore does not meet the claimed recitation of “all branch portions extend in respective branch planes that are parallel to the stem plane.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered. Arguments presented are based upon the amended claim language which has not been reviewed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al (PGPUB 2020/0389005) and further in view of Kasai (EP 1018783).
Claim 1, 14-16: Koizumi teaches a conduction system to include a busbar that forms a plurality of conduction paths in a vehicle whereby the pathways are stacked and part of a distribution mechanism [Abstract]. Koizumi teaches at least two conductive layers stacked and having a divergence point where some of the conductive layers are divided and diverge [Fig 2; 0015-0028]. Claim features mapped:
Koizumi does not explicitly write that oblique angles are present as ways to diverge the connectors; this is paralleled by the instant specification being silent to explicitly recite oblique angles.
Kasai teaches an electrical pathway system for use with a busbar spine for use in a vehicle [Abstract]. In order to route the busbar effectively within the system, it is shown to have diverging connectors utilize a 45degree angle and continue in the same plane [Fig 12(B)] whereby their examples within the system are shown to utilize the 45 degree angle [Fig 11, 13(a), 13(c)]. The example of Fig 12b shows a pathway that is diverted with two angled portions that are 45 degree to allow the continuing direction to be in parallel plane as the first extending direction. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have been motivated to modify the diverging angle of Koizumi to utilize a 45degree turn as taught by Kasai in order to have a lateral shift to allow for efficient connection of electrical features within variable casings [0007-0010].
The prior art teaches a plurality of mechanisms for diverting a busbar to meet the electrical connection needs of a device. Modifying the branching configuration to have branches in the same plane would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art based upon specific needs of a device that needed such configuration. Instant claim is drawn to the busbar and therefore there is no nexus of feature between the busbar and device being presented at this time.
Claim 2: Koizumi teaches a divergence point being a parallel connection section at which members electrically connect to each other and have identical voltages [Fig 2; 0015-0028].
Claim 3: Koizumi teaches a number of conductive layers diverged from one another at a parallel connection section and provide a different current to at least one of the members [Fig 2; 0027-0029, 0039-0042].
Claim 4: Koizumi teaches a number of conductive layers diverted to correspond to the desired current needed by the devices D at the distribution destination such that the number of branched busbars accommodate the current [0027]; the specific formula does not limit the scope to overcome the teaching of the prior art as the scale and purpose is the same for the instant claim and prior art.
Claim 5: Koizumi teaches the busbars to have the same length [Fig 2; 0037].
Claim 6: Koizumi teaches the busbars to have holes formed on opposite ends [Fig 2].
Claim 7: Koizumi teaches the conductive layers to be folded and diverted from each other [Fig 2].
Claim 8-9: Koizumi teaches the busbars to be made of copper [0017] and thin and flexible [Fig 2].
Claim 10-11: Koizumi teaches a vehicle comprising the electric conduction system (1) [Fig 2] whereby it is well established in the art that electric vehicles are powered by batteries such as battery modules and battery packs. Additionally, petrol powered vehicles are known to have batteries to operate a plurality of different electronic devices. Prior art recitation of vehicle passing power is well known to have a power source from a battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ohara et al (PGPUB 2003/0102148) teaches a flat cable strip of lead wires with 45 degree bends [Abstract, Fig 1].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN J YANCHUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752