Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 and 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, lines 5-7, “such a non-shaped portion” should be amended such as “such that a non-shaped portion” for proper idiomatic language. Claims 2-8 and 17-20 are objected as being dependent upon an objected claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The scope of Claim 6 includes means of a weaving technology for producing the textile structure. An example of such means is weaving machine 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312).
Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) teach a method for producing a molded (shaped) body from
a fiber material (abstract; figs. 1-10; [0018]-[0021], [0025], [0034], [0064], [0069], [0081], [0099], [0101],
[0121]-[0136], [0140]), the method comprising:
providing a textile structure (defining a fabric sheet structure as shown in figs. 1-3) that provided with a binder material is produced from the fiber material using a textile technology (a supply device 2 for supplying(providing) a woven fabric [0025]; a woven fabric is a textile structure produced using a textile technology, namely weaving; a binder material is added to the textile structure [0081]);
shaping the textile structure, wherein the textile structure is shaped such that a non-shaped portion of the textile structure is moved three dimensionally in order to create a desired shaped portion of the textile structure ([0135]-[0145]; figs. 1-5 show the forming device 13 moving a non-shaped fabric sheet structure three dimensionally in order to create (shape) a three dimensional desired shaped portion); and
fixing portions of the shaped textile structure in a predetermined three-dimensional form by an activation of the binder material (by a curing device to stiffen (fix) the shaped fabric sheet structure [0081], [0099], [0101]),
wherein fixed portions of the shaped textile structure form a support for other portions of the textile structure that are not yet shaped and fixed ([0081], [0099], [0101], the shaped fabric sheet structure is stiffened (fixed) by a curing device; thus there is a line of demarcation between where (1), the shaped fabric sheet structure is shaped and NOT fixed (i.e., other portions of the shaped fabric sheet structure not yet shaped AND fixed) and where (2) the shaped fabric sheet structure is shaped and fixed (i.e., fixed portions of the shaped fabric structure); it is inherent that the fixed portions support the other portions because the fixed portions on one side of the line prevent movement (e.g., away from the shape of the shaped portion) of the (non-fixed) other portions on the other side of the line), and
wherein the activation of the binder material is carried out iteratively (fig. 1; [0081], [0099], [0101], after forming, the fiber sheet structure is stiffened by a curing device (activation of the binder); the activation is carried out iteratively because the fabric sheet structure is moving continuously; thus activation occurs after a portion of the fiber sheet structure is formed, and activation occurs again after a next upstream portion of the fiber sheet structure is formed).
Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) further teach the method:
(Claim 3) wherein the shaping of the textile structure and the activation of the binder material
overlap in time ([0081], the curing device can be arranged at the forming device; thus shaping (at the forming device) and activation (curing device arranged at the forming device) overlap in time (as both occur when at the forming device));
(Claim 17) wherein the binder material is activated progressively in some selected areas (areas
where the curing device is arranged) of the textile structure before activation is carried out in other
areas (areas upstream of where the curing device is arranged) of the textile structure (fig. 1; [0081], [0099], [0101], after forming, the fiber sheet structure is stiffened by a curing device (activation of the binder); the activation is carried out progressively because the fabric sheet structure is moving continuously; thus activation occurs in some selected areas after forming before activation occurs in other areas (e.g., a next upstream portion of the fiber sheet structure to be formed)); and
(Claim 18) wherein said fixing is carried out area-by-area (fig. 1; [0081], [0099], [0101], after forming, the fiber sheet structure is stiffened (fixed) by a curing device; the fixing is carried out area-by-area because the fabric sheet structure is moving continuously; thus fixing occurs after a portion (first area) of the fiber sheet structure is formed, and fixing occurs again after a next upstream portion (second area) of the fiber sheet structure is formed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte et al.
(US 2022/0234312) in view of Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308).
Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) disclose the method substantially as claimed, as mentioned above, except for the limitations of claims 2, 4 and 6.
Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308) discloses a method for producing a molded body from a fiber
material, the method comprising providing/supplying a textile structure to a shaping means 13 for
shaping the textile structure into a molded body, wherein the textile structure is produced from the fiber material using a loom (weaving machine) 11 (fig. 2; [0018], [0051], loom supplies woven preform (woven fabric)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the supply device of Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) with a loom, as disclosed by
Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308), because such a modification is known in the art and would enable the
supply device to produce the supplied textile structure. As shown in fig. 1 of Schulte et al. (US
2022/0234312), in view of such combination (where the supply device 2 includes a loom):
(Claim 2) the activation of the binder material after forming, as mentioned above, would be carried out in-process during production of the textile structure in the loom of the modified supply device 2);
(Claim 4) the shaping of the textile structure by the forming device 13 and the activation of the binder material by the curing device, as mentioned above, would be carried out in synchronization
with the production of the textile structure in the loom of the modified supply device 2; and
(Claim 6) wherein the textile structure is produced by the loom (weaving machine) of the modified supply device 2.
Claim(s) 5 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) in view of Jacobson (US5,573,716).
Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) disclose the method substantially as claimed, as mentioned above, except for the limitations of claims 5 and 19-20.
Jacobson (US 5,573,716) discloses a method for producing a molded (shaped) body from a sheet
structure (figs. 6A-6D), the method comprising:
providing the sheet structure 110;
shaping the sheet structure 110 via a sheet former 200, wherein the sheet structure 110 is
shaped such that a desired shaped portion of the sheet structure 110 is created without a shaped mold
structure (col. 2, lines 39-42, without the use of dies, molds or other fixed tooling), in that a non-shaped
portion of the sheet structure 110 is moved three dimensionally in order to create the desired shaped
portion of the sheet structure 110 (figs. 6A-6D show the sheet 110 being moved three dimensionally for
shaping; col. 12, line 1, to col. 13, line 56);
fixing the shaped sheet structure 110 in a predetermined three-dimensional form (col. 13, lines
46-56, stabilizing (fixing) the sheet);
(Claim 5) wherein the shaping of the sheet structure is carried out using an industrial robot (fig.
6A shows the sheet former 200 including an industrial robot);
(Claim 19) wherein said shaping is carried out using manipulators, which include movable
punches 112, 217, and grippers 220 (figs. 6A-6D; col. 12, line 1, to col. 13, line 56); and
(Claim 20) wherein said manipulators are configured such that programming of the
manipulators can be modified during the method for producing the molded body (fig. 11; col. 21, line
25, to col. 22, line 14; feedback control enables programming of the manipulators can be modified
during the method for producing the molded body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the shaping of Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) with shaping, as disclosed by Jacobson
(US 5,573,716), because such a modification is known in the sheet shaping art and would provide an
alternative configuration for shaping sheet structures known to be operable in the art.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte et al. (US
2022/0234312) in view of Buckley (US 2007/0241478).
Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) disclose the method substantially as claimed, as mentioned above, except for the limitations of claims 7-8.
Buckley (US 2007/0241478) discloses a method for producing a molded body from a fiber
material ([0070], woven fabric), wherein activation of a binder material is accomplished by
electromagnetic radiation or by electric current ([0006]-[0008], [0012], [0037]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the activation of the binder material of Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) to be
accomplished by electromagnetic radiation or by electric current, as disclosed by Buckley (US
2007/0241478), because such a modification is known in the art and would provide an alternative
configuration for activating (curing) the binder material known to be operable in the art.
Claim(s) 9, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte
et al. (US 2022/0234312) in view of Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308).
Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) disclose a device for producing a molded body from a fiber
material (abstract; figs. 1-10; [0018]-[0021], [0025], [0034], [0064], [0069], [0081], [0099], [0101],
[0121]-[0136]), the device comprising:
an assembly unit for supplying a textile structure that is provided with a binder material from
the fiber material (a supply device 2 for supplying a textile structure (a woven fabric [0025]); and an
injection or impregnating device for providing a binder material to the textile structure [0081]); and
a fixing unit (forming device 13 to shape the textile structure and curing device for fixing the shaped textile structure) for geometrical fixing portions of the textile structure emerging from the assembly unit, the fixing unit including a shaping unit 13 for spatial forming of the textile structure 1 from fiber material (figs. 1-5; [0081], [0099], [0101], [0135]-[0145]; a curing device stiffens (fixes) the textile structure);
wherein the textile structure is shaped such that a non-shaped portion of the textile structure is moved three dimensionally in order to create a desired shaped portion of the textile structure ([0135]-[0145]; figs. 1-5 show the forming device 13 moving a non-shaped fabric sheet structure three dimensionally in order to create (shape) a three dimensional desired shaped portion); and
wherein fixed portions of the shaped textile structure form a support for other portions of the textile structure that are not yet shaped and fixed ([0081], [0099], [0101], the shaped fabric sheet structure is stiffened (fixed) by a curing device; thus there is a line of demarcation between where (1), the shaped fabric sheet structure is shaped and NOT fixed (i.e., other portions of the shaped fabric sheet structure not yet shaped AND fixed) and where (2) the shaped fabric sheet structure is shaped and fixed (i.e., fixed portions of the shaped fabric structure); it is inherent that the fixed portions support the other portions because the fixed portions on one side of the line prevent movement (e.g., away from the shape of the shaped portion) of the (non-fixed) other portions on the other side of the line).
However, Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) does not disclose the assembly unit producing the
textile structure.
Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308) discloses a device for producing a molded body from a fiber
material, the device comprising an assembly unit for producing a textile structure which is supplied to a
shaping means 13 for shaping the textile structure, the assembly unit including a loom 11 for producing
the textile structure produced from the fiber material (fig. 2; [0018], [0051], loom supplies woven
preform (woven fabric)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the assembly unit of Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) with a loom, as disclosed by
Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308), because such a modification is known in the art and would enable the
assembly unit to produce the textile structure to be supplied.
As to claim 12, Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) further discloses the device wherein the fixing unit includes an activation unit (curing device) for activating a
binder material contained in the textile structure [0081], [0099], [0101].
As to claim 15, Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308) further discloses the assembly unit including a
loom 11, which is a weaving machine.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) in view of Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308) as applied to claims 9, 12 and 15 above, and further in view of Jacobson (US5,573,716).
Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) and Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308) do not disclose the limitations of claim 11
Jacobson (US5,573,716) discloses a device for producing a molded (shaped) body from a sheet
structure (figs. 6A-6D), the device comprising:
an assembly unit 205 for producing a sheet structure 110;
a fixing unit 200 for geometrical fixing of the sheet structure 110 emerging from the assembly
unit 205, the fixing unit 200 including a shaping unit 112, 217, 220, 222, 225 for spatial forming of the
sheet structure 110, wherein the sheet structure is shaped such that a desired shaped portion of the
textile structure is created without a shaped mold structure (col. 2, lines 39-42, without the use of dies,
molds or other fixed tooling) in that a non-shaped portion of the textile structure material is moved
three dimensionally in order to create the desired shaped portion of the textile structure (figs. 6A-6D
show the sheet 110 being moved three dimensionally for shaping (spatial forming); col. 12, line 1, to col.
13, line 56; the fixing unit 200 including stabilizing (fixing elements) 265);
wherein the shaping unit includes at least one industrial robot (fig. 6A shows the shaping unit including at least one industrial robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the shaping unit of Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) with a shaping unit, as disclosed by Jacobson (US 5,573,716), because such a modification is known in the sheet shaping art and would provide an alternative configuration for the shaping unit known to be operable in the art for shaping sheet structures.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte et al. (US
2022/0234312) in view of Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308) as applied to claims 9, 12 and 15 above, and further in view of Buckley (US 2007/0241478).
Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) and Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308) do not disclose the limitations of claims 13-14.
Buckley (US 2007/0241478) discloses a device for producing a molded body from a fiber
material ([0070], woven fabric), wherein an activation unit for activating (curing) a binder material
includes an electromagnetic radiation source or an electric current source ([0006]-[0008], [0012],
[0037]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the activation unit of Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) to include an
electromagnetic radiation source or an electric current source, as disclosed by Buckley (US
2007/0241478), because such modifications are known in the art and would provide an alternative
configuration for activating (curing) the binder material known to be operable in the art.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte et al. (US
2022/0234312) in view of Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308) as applied to claims 9, 12 and 15 above, and further in view of Moessinger (US 4,392,515).
Schulte et al. (US 2022/0234312) and Provost et al. (US 2017/0175308) do not disclose the limitations of claim 16.
Moessinger (US 4,392,515) discloses a weaving machine for producing a woven fabric, wherein the weaving machine is a single phase weaving machine (col. 2, lines 16-34, single phase weaving loom).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the weaving machine (loom) to be a single phase weaving machine (single
phase weaving loom), as disclosed by Moessinger (US 4,392,515), because such a modification is known
in the weaving machine art and would provide an alternative configuration for the weaving machine
known to be operable in the art for producing a woven fabric.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the applied references, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest each and every feature of the claimed invention. That is, the applied references fail to teach or
suggest "wherein fixed portions of the shaped textile structure form a support for other portions of the textile structure that are not yet shaped and fixed" as recited in exemplary independent claim 1 and similarly recited in exemplary independent claim 9.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Such limitations is disclosed by Schulte as mentioned above.
Applicant argues that the Examiner alleges that Schulte teaches fixing the textile structure. Specifically, the Examiner refers to paragraphs [0081] and [0099] of Schulte to support this assertion. Paragraph [0081] of Schulte merely discloses that a curing device is provided for
curing a binding agent that is provided by an injection device Paragraph [0099] of Schulte
merely teaches: "after the forming and/or the deflection, the semi-finished fiber product
and/or formed semi-finished product is stiffened, in the form deflected by the forming
device, inside the forming device by means of a curing device arranged between the
pulling and the forming device."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Schulte discloses that the curing device stiffens (fixes) the textile structure and retains shape [0081], [0099], [0101], as mentioned above.
Conclusion
/J.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/John J DeRusso/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744