DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Guan et al fails to teach a video playing component is initially associated with the video preview page to play the video preview. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Guan et al teaches at S205, establish a first association between the target player instance and a first playback window in the video aggregation page, so as to play a video image output by the target player instance through the first playback window. The first playback window is a playback window for playing a target video stream in a video aggregation page. When a target player instance stored in a preset player management component is bound to the first playback window, a first association relationship is established. At this time, the video image output by the target player instance can be displayed to the user through the first playback window meeting limitations of “a video playing component is initially associated with the video preview page to play the video preview”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the playback window is not initially associated with the video aggregation page) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further argues Zhang fails to disclose or suggest displaying a video preview page comprising a plurality of live stream entrances and a video preview corresponding to one live stream entrance of the plurality of live stream entrances. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Zhang et al teaches displaying a video preview page comprising a plurality of live stream entrances and a video preview corresponding to one live room stream of the plurality of live stream entrances (Abstract, Figures 4, 7; Para. 0075, 0092 and 0132). Wherein, the reference teaches while watching a first live stream room, a personalized recommendation list of other live streaming room is displayed within the same interface, allowing the user to browse and select a room to switch to. Upon selection, the server send the corresponding video stream to the client, which seamlessly switches to the new live streaming room (Figure 7; Para. 0095). Thus, the combination meets claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al (CN 110582017A provided in IDS submitted on 12/08/20222; Note: The examiner used machine translation), in view of Kim et al (US PG Pub No. 2022/0157345), further in view of Zhang et al (US PG Pub No. 2022/0303605).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 10, Guan et al teaches a video playing method (Technical Field), comprising:
displaying a video preview page, wherein a video playing component is initially associated with the video preview page to play the video preview (Page 8: Last Paragraph);
receiving a video playing request, wherein the video playing request comprises first video information, and the video playing request indicates to play video data corresponding to the first video information in a page (i.e. a received first-level page playback instruction for a target video stream in a video aggregation page, acquire data information of the target video stream) (Figure 2; S201; Page 6; Para. 6);
acquiring second video information corresponding to the video preview in the video preview page (i.e. in response to the received first-level page playback instruction for the target video stream in the video aggregation page, obtains data information of the target video stream, for example, from the distribution shown in FIG. 1B and the secondary page switching instruction is used to instruct switching to a target secondary page associated with the target video stream) (Page 7: Para. 2 and Page 8: Last paragraph), and determining whether the first video information is a same as the second video information (Figures 2-3; Page 8: Last paragraph-Page 9: Steps 303, S309);
playing the video data corresponding to the second video information in the target page by the video playing component based on video playing progress information of the video preview page and video data loaded on the video preview page, in response to the first video information being the same as the second video information (i.e. the target secondary page may be a video detail page associated with the target video stream. The video detail page is a page for displaying complete video information, and may generally include a video being played and a corresponding list of video information) (Figures 2-3; Page 8: Last paragraph, figure 3; Steps 303, 309).
The reference is unclear with respect to acquiring the video data corresponding to the first video information and playing the video data corresponding to the first video information in the page by the video playing component, in response to the first video information different from the second video information.
In similar field of endeavor, Kim et al teaches acquiring the video data corresponding to the first video information and playing the video data corresponding to the first video information in the target page by the video playing component, in response to the first video information different from the second video information (Fig. 6; Para. 0175, 0191-0195, 0225, 0228). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of dynamically displaying a frame of each video as thumbnails so that users can easily recognize each of the videos.
The combination is unclear with respect to a plurality of live stream entrances and a video preview corresponding to one live room stream of the plurality of live stream entrances.
In similar field of endeavor, Zhang et al teaches a plurality of live stream entrances and a video preview corresponding to one live room stream of the plurality of live stream entrances (Abstract, Figures 4, 7; Para. 0075, 0092 and 0132). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of displaying a live streaming room information for each room so that users can easily recognize each of the videos.
Claims 2, 11 and 17 are rejected wherein before the receiving a video playing request, the method further comprises: playing the video data corresponding to the second video information in the video preview page, and storing the video data corresponding to the video preview page (i.e. The video aggregation page is a page displaying a video feed stream and includes multiple video stream
entries, which is equivalent to a content aggregator that combines several message sources subscribed by a user to help users continuously obtain the latest feed content) (Guan: Page 6: Para. 7).
Claims 3, 12 and 18 are rejected wherein the playing the video data corresponding to the second video information in the video preview page, comprises:
acquiring the video data corresponding to the video preview page based on the second video information;
parsing the video data corresponding to the video preview page to obtain preview video frames; and playing the preview video frames in the video preview page (Guan: Figures 2-3; Page 6: Para.7 and Page 9: Para. 1).
Claims 4, 13 and 19 are rejected wherein the video data corresponding to the first video information is stored in a video playing component, the video playing component is a global component, and the video playing component is initially associated with the video preview page (Page 8 Para. 4);
before playing a video in the page based on video playing progress information of the video preview page and video data loaded on the video preview page in response to the first video information being the same as the second video information, the method further comprises:
disassociating the video playing component with the video preview page, and associating the video playing component with the page (Guan: Page 8: Last paragraph-9: Para. 1); and
the playing a video in the page based on video playing progress information corresponding to the video preview page and video data loaded on the video preview page, comprises: playing the video data loaded on the video preview page in the page based on the video playing component, the video playing progress information corresponding to the video preview page and the video data loaded on the video preview page (i.e. the previously captured current video frame image can be displayed in the second playback window, so that the user feels that the video is still playing and the continuous viewing) (Guan: Figure 2-3; Page 8: Last paragraph, Page 9: First paragraph).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Guan et al teaches limitations discussed with respect to claims 1 and 10. The reference is unclear with respect to wherein deleting the video data corresponding to the second video information when a process of playing the video is exited. However, the examiner takes official notice that both concepts and advantages are well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Guan by specifically deleting the video data corresponding to the second video information when a process of playing the video is exited before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of freeing resources of device to accommodate for future data for efficient transition.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected wherein the first video information comprises one or more of a first video identifier, a first video address, and a first live stream number; and the second video information comprises one or more of a second video identifier, a second video address, and a second live stream number (Guan: Figures 1B-C, 2-3; Page 7: Para. 3-5 and Zhang: Abstract, Figures 4, 7; Para. 0075, 0092 and 0132).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUNAL LANGHNOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425