DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-35 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 16, 18, 21-22, and 35 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the rejection of claims 16, 21, 22, and 35, claims 16, 21, 22, and 35 recite the same limitations as set forth in amended claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 16, 21, 22, and 35, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
In response to the applicant’s argument, that dependent claims are allowable based upon their dependency to their base claim and the additional features therein, the examiner respectfully disagrees. No new arguments were presented for dependent claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1, 16, 21, 22 and 35. Therefore for at least the reasons above presented for claims 1, 16, 21, 22 and 35, the dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 20210259021 A1); hereinafter Huang, in view of Bao et al. (US 20220132589 A1); hereinafter Bao.
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory (Fig. 3 Memory 310); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (Fig. 3 CPU 308) and configured to:
determine to enter into a two-step random access channel (RACH) procedure in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0578] The CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to enable the UE (i) to initiate a 2-step RA procedure including UL data in RRC_INACTIVE state);
transmit a MsgA of the two-step RACH procedure, the MsgA including a payload, the payload including at least uplink data, wherein the uplink data is associated with a small data transmission ([0473] For a 2-step RA (e.g. with small data), the UE may perform Random Access Resource selection and then send a Message A (MSGA) including a RA preamble and a PUSCH payload. The PUSCH payload may contain RRC resume request and the UL data (e.g. small data). When some UL data (e.g. small data) is available for transmission while the UE is in RRC_INACTIVE state, the UE may initiate a RRC Resume procedure in RRC_INACTIVE state which triggers a RA procedure for the small data transmission.);
monitor for a message B (MsgB) of the two-step RACH procedure ([0293] Once the MSGA is transmitted, regardless of the possible occurrence of a measurement gap, the MAC entity shall: [0294] 1>start the msgB-ResponseWindow at the first PDCCH occasion from the end of the MSGA transmission as specified in TS 38.213 [6]; [0295] 1>monitor the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running).
Huang does not teach transmit, based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA within a time window, at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA or a message 3 (Msg3) including a portion of the payload of the MsgA, wherein the at least one transmission is associated with the small data transmission.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of random access procedure fallback behavior teaches transmit, based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA within a time window, at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA or a message 3 (Msg3) including a portion of the payload of the MsgA, wherein the at least one transmission is associated with the small data transmission (Fig. 7, Implementation 1, [0150] In this implementation, a specific method for falling back from the EDT 2-step random access procedure to the 2-step random access procedure is mainly described. [0152] Step 10: The UE obtains, from the network device, a maximum number of attempts and/or attempt timer duration for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure. [0153] In this embodiment of this disclosure, the UE may obtain a fallback restriction condition from the network device, such as the maximum number of attempts (the first threshold) for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure, and the attempt timer duration (the second threshold) for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure. [0155] Step 12: The UE transmits a MsgA to the network device. [0169] If a response message for the UE has not been received (based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA) until the contention resolution timer of the UE expires (within a time window), the current RACH procedure fails. The UE goes back to step 11 and initiates the EDT 2-step RACH procedure again (transmit at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA) until the UE satisfies a RACH failure condition and performs reporting to the higher layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fallback behavior of the random access procedure including small data of Huang to include the configured fallback condition for number of MsgA attempts if the UE fails to receive the MsgB of Bao within a timer duration. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce delay and signaling overhead for data transmission in the random access procedure (Bao; [0104][0158]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches the payload of the MsgA includes at least one of an RRC message or a data request message, the MsgA including a preamble associated with one of one or more preamble groups ([0473] For a 2-step RA (e.g. with small data), the UE may perform Random Access Resource selection and then send a Message A (MSGA) including a RA preamble and a PUSCH payload. The PUSCH payload may contain RRC resume request (an RRC message) and the UL data (e.g. small data). Section 5.1.2a describes Random Access Resource Selection for 2-Step Random Access. [0220] select a Random Access Preamble randomly with equal probability from the 2-step Random Access Preambles associated with the selected SSB and the selected Random Access Preambles group).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the MsgB of the two-step RACH procedure, wherein the MsgB includes a fallback indication including a fallback random access response (RAR) ([0473] the NW may send a MSGB to inform the UE to fall back to Msg3. The UE may use the UL grant in the MSGB to transmit a Msg3, which means the UE is configured to receive the MsgB. [0508] if a network node (or NW) detects that it may be difficult to succeed the current procedure of small data transmission (e.g. due to poor radio condition, resource congestion, etc.), the network node could transmit a signaling to a UE. The signaling may trigger the UE to perform a fallback action. [0527] The signaling may be or include one or multiple of the following constructs: [0528] MSGB (of the 2-step RA)—For example, the indication could be included in a fallbackRAR).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: retransmit the payload of the MsgA when the MsgB including the fallback indication is received ([0313] 3>if the MSGB contains a fallbackRAR MAC subPDU; and [0314] 3>if the Random Access Preamble identifier in the MAC subPDU matches the transmitted PREAMBLE_INDEX (see subclause 5.1.3a): [0315] 4>consider this Random Access Response reception successful; [0316] 4>apply the following actions for the SpCell: 5>process the received Timing Advance Command (see clause 5.2); 5>set the TEMPORARY_C-RNTI to the value received in the fallbackRAR; [0318] 5>if the Msg3 buffer is empty: 6>obtain the MAC PDU to transmit from the MSGA buffer and store it in the Msg3 buffer; 5>process the received UL grant value and indicate it to the lower layers and proceed with Msg3 transmission. The MAC PDU is the payload of the MsgA).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit the Msg3 after the MsgB including the fallback indication is received, wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) retransmission is applied for the Msg3 ([0313] 3>if the MSGB contains a fallbackRAR MAC subPDU; and [0314] 3>if the Random Access Preamble identifier in the MAC subPDU matches the transmitted PREAMBLE_INDEX (see subclause 5.1.3a): [0315] 4>consider this Random Access Response reception successful; [0316] 4>apply the following actions for the SpCell: 5>process the received Timing Advance Command (see clause 5.2); 5>set the TEMPORARY_C-RNTI to the value received in the fallbackRAR; [0318] 5>if the Msg3 buffer is empty: 6>obtain the MAC PDU to transmit from the MSGA buffer and store it in the Msg3 buffer; 5>process the received UL grant value and indicate it to the lower layers and proceed with Msg3 transmission. [0345] Once Msg3 is transmitted, the MAC entity shall: [0346] 1>start the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer and restart the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer at each HARQ retransmission in the first symbol after the end of the Msg3 transmission. This shows that HARQ is applied to the Msg3).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches the portion of the payload of the MsgA corresponds to at least one of an RRC message or at least a portion of the uplink data, wherein the uplink data is user data ([0549] In one example, the UE may cancel the small data transmission and initiate (or fall back to or proceed with) a RA procedure to resume. The RA procedure may be 2-step RA or 4-step RA. The UE may rebuild the MSGA (or Msg3) to exclude the small data. The UE transmits a MSGA (or Msg3) containing RRC resume request without the small data. In this example the payload of the new Msg3 excludes the small data and only contains RRC message, therefor it is only a portion of the original MsgA payload which included both the small data and RRC message).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches the Msg3 includes at least one of an RRC message or a data request message, wherein the data request message is at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) or an RRC message ([0473] The Msg3 may contain RRC resume request and the UL data (e.g. small data). RRC Resume Request is an RRC message).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: monitor for a message 4 (Msg4) after the Msg3 is transmitted ([0345] Once Msg3 is transmitted, the MAC entity shall: [0346] 1>start the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer and restart the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer at each HARQ retransmission in the first symbol after the end of the Msg3 transmission; [0347] 1>monitor the PDCCH while the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer is running regardless of the possible occurrence of a measurement gap; This shows the UE is monitoring the Physical Downlink Control channel for a response from the network to the Msg3 that was sent, (i.e. Msg4).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the Msg4, wherein the Msg4 includes at least one of a preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) or downlink data ([0348] 1>if notification of a reception of a PDCCH transmission of the SpCell is received from lower layers: [0349] 2>if the C-RNTI MAC CE was included in Msg3: [0350] 3>if the Random Access procedure was initiated for beam failure recovery (as specified in clause 5.17) and the PDCCH transmission is addressed to the C-RNTI; or [0351] 3>if the Random Access procedure was initiated by a PDCCH order and the PDCCH transmission is addressed to the C-RNTI; or [0352] 3>if the Random Access procedure was initiated by the MAC sublayer itself or by the RRC sublayer and the PDCCH transmission is addressed to the C-RNTI and contains a UL grant for a new transmission: [0353] 4>consider this Contention Resolution successful; [0354] 4>stop ra-ContentionResolutionTimer; [0355] 4>discard the TEMPORARY C-RNTI; [0356] 4>consider this Random Access procedure successfully completed. This shows the UE successfully received Msg4 and it contained an UL grant (preconfigured uplink resource)).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: retransmit the MsgA when the MsgB or a Msg4 is not received, the retransmitted MsgA including a payload and a preamble, wherein the retransmitted MsgA includes at least one of an RRC message or a data request message ([0503] The UE may take action if the UE fails to receive MSGB in response to the MSGA including small data. [0549] In one example, the UE may cancel the small data transmission and initiate (or fall back to or proceed with) a RA procedure to resume. The RA procedure may be 2-step RA or 4-step RA. The UE may rebuild the MSGA (or Msg3) to exclude the small data. The UE transmits a MSGA (or Msg3) containing RRC resume request without the small data. The RRC resume request is an RRC message and the payload of MsgA. The preamble is also included in the MsgA as per [0329]1>if msgB-ResponseWindow expires, and the Random Access Response Reception has not been considered as successful based on descriptions above: [0330] 2>increment PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER by 1; [0335] 2>if the Random Access procedure is not completed: [0336] 3>select a random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the PREAMBLE_BACKOFF; 4>perform the Random Access Resource selection procedure for 2-step random access (see subclause 5.1.2a) after the backoff time).
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: select at least one of one or more new preamble groups or a new preamble for the retransmitted MsgA ([0217] 1>else (i.e. MSGA is being retransmitted): [0218] 2>select the same group of Random Access Preambles as was used for the Random Access Preamble transmission attempt corresponding to the first transmission of MSGA. [0220] 1>select a Random Access Preamble randomly with equal probability from the 2-step Random Access Preambles associated with the selected SSB and the selected Random Access Preambles group).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: switch from the two-step RACH procedure to a four-step RACH procedure when the MsgA is retransmitted at least a configured threshold number of retransmissions ([0337] 3>if msgATransMax is configured, and PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER=msgATransMax+1: [0338] 4>set the RA_TYPE to 4-stepRA, where msgATransMax is a configured threshold and PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER is the number of times MsgA has been transmitted. So if the number of times MsgA has been transmitted exceeds the threshold, the UE will switch to the four-step RACH procedure).
Regarding claim 14, Huang teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: store the uplink data in at least one buffer, wherein a payload of a retransmitted MsgA or a retransmitted payload of the MsgA includes at least one of an RRC message or a data request message ([0246] 2>obtain the MAC PDU to transmit from the Multiplexing and assembly entity and store it in the MSGA buffer. For all MsgA transmissions, [0248] 1>instruct the physical layer to transmit the MSGA using the selected PRACH occasion and the associated PUSCH resource, using the corresponding RA-RNTI, MSGB-RNTI, PREAMBLE_INDEX, PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER. [0249] NOTE: The MSGA transmission includes the transmission of the PRACH Preamble as well as the contents of the MSGA buffer in the PUSCH resource corresponding to the selected PRACH occasion and PREAMBLE_INDEX (see TS 38.213 [6]), where the RA-RNTI is an example of an RRC message).
Regarding claim 16, Huang teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
determining to enter into a two-step random access channel (RACH) procedure in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0578] The CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to enable the UE (i) to initiate a 2-step RA procedure including UL data in RRC_INACTIVE state);
transmitting a MsgA of the two-step RACH procedure, the MsgA including the payload, the payload including at least the uplink data, wherein the uplink data is associated with a small data transmission ([0473] For a 2-step RA (e.g. with small data), the UE may perform Random Access Resource selection and then send a Message A (MSGA) including a RA preamble and a PUSCH payload. The PUSCH pay
load may contain RRC resume request and the UL data (e.g. small data). When some UL data (e.g. small data) is available for transmission while the UE is in RRC_INACTIVE state, the UE may initiate a RRC Resume procedure in RRC_INACTIVE state which triggers a RA procedure for the small data transmission.);
monitoring for a message B (MsgB) of the two-step RACH procedure ([0293] Once the MSGA is transmitted, regardless of the possible occurrence of a measurement gap, the MAC entity shall: [0294] 1>start the msgB-ResponseWindow at the first PDCCH occasion from the end of the MSGA transmission as specified in TS 38.213 [6]; [0295] 1>monitor the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running).
Huang does not teach transmitting, based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA within a time window, at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA or a message 3 (Msg3) including a portion of the payload of the MsgA, wherein the at least one transmission is associated with the small data transmission.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of random access procedure fallback behavior teaches transmitting, based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA within a time window, at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA or a message 3 (Msg3) including a portion of the payload of the MsgA, wherein the at least one transmission is associated with the small data transmission (Fig. 7, Implementation 1, [0150] In this implementation, a specific method for falling back from the EDT 2-step random access procedure to the 2-step random access procedure is mainly described. [0152] Step 10: The UE obtains, from the network device, a maximum number of attempts and/or attempt timer duration for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure. [0153] In this embodiment of this disclosure, the UE may obtain a fallback restriction condition from the network device, such as the maximum number of attempts (the first threshold) for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure, and the attempt timer duration (the second threshold) for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure. [0155] Step 12: The UE transmits a MsgA to the network device. [0169] If a response message for the UE has not been received (based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA) until the contention resolution timer of the UE expires (within a time window), the current RACH procedure fails. The UE goes back to step 11 and initiates the EDT 2-step RACH procedure again (transmit at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA) until the UE satisfies a RACH failure condition and performs reporting to the higher layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fallback behavior of the random access procedure including small data of Huang to include the configured fallback condition for number of MsgA attempts if the UE fails to receive the MsgB of Bao within a timer duration. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce delay and signaling overhead for data transmission in the random access procedure (Bao; [0104][0158]).
Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches the payload of the MsgA includes at least one of an RRC message or a data request message, the MsgA including a preamble associated with one of one or more preamble groups ([0473] For a 2-step RA (e.g. with small data), the UE may perform Random Access Resource selection and then send a Message A (MSGA) including a RA preamble and a PUSCH payload. The PUSCH payload may contain RRC resume request (an RRC message) and the UL data (e.g. small data). Section 5.1.2a describes Random Access Resource Selection for 2-Step Random Access. [0220] select a Random Access Preamble randomly with equal probability from the 2-step Random Access Preambles associated with the selected SSB and the selected Random Access Preambles group).
Regarding claim 18, Huang teaches receiving the MsgB of the two-step RACH procedure, wherein the MsgB includes a fallback indication including a fallback random access response (RAR) ([0473] the NW may send a MSGB to inform the UE to fall back to Msg3. The UE may use the UL grant in the MSGB to transmit a Msg3, which means the UE is configured to receive the MsgB. [0508] if a network node (or NW) detects that it may be difficult to succeed the current procedure of small data transmission (e.g. due to poor radio condition, resource congestion, etc.), the network node could transmit a signaling to a UE. The signaling may trigger the UE to perform a fallback action. [0527] The signaling may be or include one or multiple of the following constructs: [0528] MSGB (of the 2-step RA)—For example, the indication could be included in a fallbackRAR).
Regarding claim 19, Huang teaches retransmitting the payload of the MsgA when the MsgB including the fallback indication is received ([0313] 3>if the MSGB contains a fallbackRAR MAC subPDU; and [0314] 3>if the Random Access Preamble identifier in the MAC subPDU matches the transmitted PREAMBLE_INDEX (see subclause 5.1.3a): [0315] 4>consider this Random Access Response reception successful; [0316] 4>apply the following actions for the SpCell: 5>process the received Timing Advance Command (see clause 5.2); 5>set the TEMPORARY_C-RNTI to the value received in the fallbackRAR; [0318] 5>if the Msg3 buffer is empty: 6>obtain the MAC PDU to transmit from the MSGA buffer and store it in the Msg3 buffer; 5>process the received UL grant value and indicate it to the lower layers and proceed with Msg3 transmission. The MAC PDU is the payload of the MsgA).
Regarding claim 20, Huang teaches transmitting the Msg3 after the MsgB including the fallback indication is received, wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) retransmission is applied for the Msg3 ([0313] 3>if the MSGB contains a fallbackRAR MAC subPDU; and [0314] 3>if the Random Access Preamble identifier in the MAC subPDU matches the transmitted PREAMBLE_INDEX (see subclause 5.1.3a): [0315] 4>consider this Random Access Response reception successful; [0316] 4>apply the following actions for the SpCell: 5>process the received Timing Advance Command (see clause 5.2); 5>set the TEMPORARY_C-RNTI to the value received in the fallbackRAR; [0318] 5>if the Msg3 buffer is empty: 6>obtain the MAC PDU to transmit from the MSGA buffer and store it in the Msg3 buffer; 5>process the received UL grant value and indicate it to the lower layers and proceed with Msg3 transmission. [0345] Once Msg3 is transmitted, the MAC entity shall: [0346] 1>start the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer and restart the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer at each HARQ retransmission in the first symbol after the end of the Msg3 transmission. This shows that HARQ is applied to the Msg3).
Regarding claim 21, Huang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for determining to enter into a two-step random access channel (RACH) procedure in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0578] The CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to enable the UE (i) to initiate a 2-step RA procedure including UL data in RRC_INACTIVE state);
means for transmitting a MsgA of the two-step RACH procedure, the MsgA including a payload, the payload including at least uplink data, wherein the uplink data is associated with a small data transmission ([0473] For a 2-step RA (e.g. with small data), the UE may perform Random Access Resource selection and then send a Message A (MSGA) including a RA preamble and a PUSCH payload. The PUSCH payload may contain RRC resume request and the UL data (e.g. small data). When some UL data (e.g. small data) is available for transmission while the UE is in RRC_INACTIVE state, the UE may initiate a RRC Resume procedure in RRC_INACTIVE state which triggers a RA procedure for the small data transmission.);
means for monitoring for a message B (MsgB) of the two-step RACH procedure (0293] Once the MSGA is transmitted, regardless of the possible occurrence of a measurement gap, the MAC entity shall: [0294] 1>start the msgB-ResponseWindow at the first PDCCH occasion from the end of the MSGA transmission as specified in TS 38.213 [6]; [0295] 1>monitor the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running).
Huang does not teach means for transmitting, based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA within a time window, at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA or a message 3 (Msg3) including a portion of the payload of the MsgA, wherein the at least one transmission is associated with the small data transmission.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of random access procedure fallback behavior teaches means for transmitting, based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA within a time window, at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA or a message 3 (Msg3) including a portion of the payload of the MsgA, wherein the at least one transmission is associated with the small data transmission (Fig. 7, Implementation 1, [0150] In this implementation, a specific method for falling back from the EDT 2-step random access procedure to the 2-step random access procedure is mainly described. [0152] Step 10: The UE obtains, from the network device, a maximum number of attempts and/or attempt timer duration for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure. [0153] In this embodiment of this disclosure, the UE may obtain a fallback restriction condition from the network device, such as the maximum number of attempts (the first threshold) for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure, and the attempt timer duration (the second threshold) for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure. [0155] Step 12: The UE transmits a MsgA to the network device. [0169] If a response message for the UE has not been received (based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA) until the contention resolution timer of the UE expires (within a time window), the current RACH procedure fails. The UE goes back to step 11 and initiates the EDT 2-step RACH procedure again (transmit at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA) until the UE satisfies a RACH failure condition and performs reporting to the higher layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fallback behavior of the random access procedure including small data of Huang to include the configured fallback condition for number of MsgA attempts if the UE fails to receive the MsgB of Bao within a timer duration. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce delay and signaling overhead for data transmission in the random access procedure (Bao; [0104][0158]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Bao; further in view of Alfarhan (US 20230164773 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Huang and Bao teaches claim 12 but does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: select one or more preamble groups of the four-step RACH procedure, wherein a transport block (TB) size of each of the one or more preamble groups of the four-step RACH procedure is different from a TB size of each of one or more preamble groups of the two-step RACH.
Alfarhan, in the same field of endeavor of methods, apparatus and systems for small data transmission in the uplink direction of wireless communications, teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: select one or more preamble groups of the four-step RACH procedure, wherein a transport block (TB) size of each of the one or more preamble groups of the four-step RACH procedure is different from a TB size of each of one or more preamble groups of the two-step RACH ([0165] The WTRU may attempt to select a different preamble group or PRACH resource, possibly for a different small data payload size, after a number of failed transmission attempts or timer expiry. For example, the WTRU may have selected a PRACH resource or preamble group x over which to transmit a payload of size y and failed to successfully transmit the payload N times (N may be configured, for instance, by RRC signaling). After N failed attempts, the WTRU may select a different preamble group for a smaller payload size less than y. The WTRU may construct a new TB to match the TB size of the selected preamble group and may flush the Msg3 or MsgA payload buffer for the associated HARQ process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alfarhan with the teachings of Huang and Bao. The motivation to do so would have been for the advantages of a WTRU to be able to transmit variable amounts of small data in the uplink without having to transition into a different connectivity state or into a different power usage or power saving mode (Alfarhan; [0096]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 22-32, 34, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Bao, further in view of Chen et al. (US 20230030443 A1); hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 15, Huang and Bao teaches claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an instruction to enter into the RRC inactive state from a base station.
Chen, in the same field of endeavor of small data transmission of wireless communications, teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an instruction to enter into the RRC inactive state from a base station ([0038] In some implementations, the RA procedure (e.g., 2-step RA procedure or 4-step RA procedure) may be triggered for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state if the RA procedure for small data transmission is configured/indicated/allowed by the NW (e.g., a BS) via system information, dedicated signaling, or in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration. A UE may transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state from the RRC_CONNECTED state when the UE receives the RRC Release message with the suspend configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UE’s processor of Huang and Bao to receive an instruction from a base station to enter into the RRC inactive state. The motivation to do so would have been to improve different aspects of wireless communication for next-generation wireless communication systems, such as the fifth-generation (5G) New Radio (NR) system, by improving data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility (Chen; [0003]).
Regarding claim 22, Huang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
a memory (Fig. 3 Memory 310); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (Fig. 3 CPU 308) and configured to:
receive a message A (MsgA) of a two-step random access channel (RACH) procedure, the MsgA including a payload, the payload including at least uplink data, wherein the at least uplink data is associated with a small data transmission ([0473] For a 2-step RA (e.g. with small data), the UE may perform Random Access Resource selection and then send a Message A (MSGA) including a RA preamble and a PUSCH payload. The PUSCH payload may contain RRC resume request and the UL data (e.g. small data));
transmit a message B (MsgB) of the two-step RACH procedure (0473] the NW may send a MSGB to inform the UE to fall back to Msg3).
Huang does not teach transmit, to at least one user equipment (UE), an instruction to enter into a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state; receive from a UE, based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA within a time window, at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA or a message 3 (Msg3) including a portion of the payload of the MsgA, wherein the at least one transmission is associated with the small data transmission.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of random access procedure fallback behavior teaches receive from a UE, based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA within a time window, at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA or a message 3 (Msg3) including a portion of the payload of the MsgA, wherein the at least one transmission is associated with the small data transmission (Fig. 7, Implementation 1, [0150] In this implementation, a specific method for falling back from the EDT 2-step random access procedure to the 2-step random access procedure is mainly described. [0152] Step 10: The UE obtains, from the network device, a maximum number of attempts and/or attempt timer duration for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure. [0153] In this embodiment of this disclosure, the UE may obtain a fallback restriction condition from the network device, such as the maximum number of attempts (the first threshold) for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure, and the attempt timer duration (the second threshold) for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure. [0155] Step 12: The UE transmits a MsgA to the network device. [0169] If a response message for the UE has not been received (based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA) until the contention resolution timer of the UE expires (within a time window), the current RACH procedure fails. The UE goes back to step 11 and initiates the EDT 2-step RACH procedure again (transmit at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA) until the UE satisfies a RACH failure condition and performs reporting to the higher layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fallback behavior of the random access procedure including small data of Huang to include the configured fallback condition for number of MsgA attempts if the UE fails to receive the MsgB of Bao within a timer duration. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce delay and signaling overhead for data transmission in the random access procedure (Bao; [0104][0158]).
Bao does not teach transmit, to at least one user equipment (UE), an instruction to enter into a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state.
Chen, in the same field of endeavor of small data transmission of wireless communications, teaches transmit, to at least one user equipment (UE), an instruction to enter into a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0038] In some implementations, the RA procedure (e.g., 2-step RA procedure or 4-step RA procedure) may be triggered for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state if the RA procedure for small data transmission is configured/indicated/allowed by the NW (e.g., a BS) via system information, dedicated signaling, or in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration. A UE may transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state from the RRC_CONNECTED state when the UE receives the RRC Release message with the suspend configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base station’s processor of Huang and Bao to transmit, to at least one user equipment (UE), an instruction to enter into a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state. The motivation to do so would have been to improve different aspects of wireless communication for next-generation wireless communication systems, such as the fifth-generation (5G) New Radio (NR) system, by improving data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility (Chen; [0003]).
Regarding claim 23, Huang teaches the payload of the MsgA includes at least one of an RRC message or a data request message, the MsgA including a preamble associated with one of one or more preamble groups ([0473] For a 2-step RA (e.g. with small data), the UE may perform Random Access Resource selection and then send a Message A (MSGA) including a RA preamble and a PUSCH payload. The PUSCH payload may contain RRC resume request (an RRC message) and the UL data (e.g. small data). Section 5.1.2a describes Random Access Resource Selection for 2-Step Random Access. [0220] select a Random Access Preamble randomly with equal probability from the 2-step Random Access Preambles associated with the selected SSB and the selected Random Access Preambles group).
Regarding claim 24, Huang teaches wherein the MsgB includes a fallback indication that includes a fallback random access response (RAR) ([0508] if a network node (or NW) detects that it may be difficult to succeed the current procedure of small data transmission (e.g. due to poor radio condition, resource congestion, etc.), the network node could transmit a signaling to a UE. The signaling may trigger the UE to perform a fallback action. [0527] The signaling may be or include one or multiple of the following constructs: [0528] MSGB (of the 2-step RA)—For example, the indication could be included in a fallbackRAR).
Regarding claim 25, Huang teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a retransmitted payload of the MsgA when the MsgB including the fallback indication is transmitted ([0473] If the NW receives a RA preamble (of the MasgA) but fails to receive a PUSCH payload, the NW may send a MSGB to inform the UE to fall back to Msg3. The UE may use the UL grant in the MSGB to transmit a Msg3. The Msg3 may contain RRC resume request and the UL data (e.g. small data). In response to receiving the Msg3, the NW may send a Msg4 to inform the UE to complete RA procedure. In this scenario Msg3 contains the retransmitted payload of MsgA).
Regarding claim 26, Huang teaches wherein the at least one transmission comprises the message 3 (Msg3), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the Msg3 after the MsgB including the fallback indication is transmitted, wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) retransmission is applied for the Msg3 ([0473] If the NW receives a RA preamble (of the MasgA) but fails to receive a PUSCH payload, the NW may send a MSGB to inform the UE to fall back to Msg3. The UE may use the UL grant in the MSGB to transmit a Msg3. The Msg3 may contain RRC resume request and the UL data (e.g. small data). In response to receiving the Msg3, the NW may send a Msg4 to inform the UE to complete RA procedure. [0345] Once Msg3 is transmitted, the MAC entity shall: [0346] 1>start the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer and restart the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer at each HARQ retransmission in the first symbol after the end of the Msg3 transmission. This shows that HARQ is applied to the Msg3).
Regarding claim 27, Huang teaches the portion of the payload of the MsgA corresponds to at least one of an RRC message or at least a portion of the uplink data, wherein the uplink data is user data ([0549] In one example, the UE may cancel the small data transmission and initiate (or fall back to or proceed with) a RA procedure to resume. The RA procedure may be 2-step RA or 4-step RA. The UE may rebuild the MSGA (or Msg3) to exclude the small data. The UE transmits a MSGA (or Msg3) containing RRC resume request without the small data. In this example the payload of the new Msg3 excludes the small data and only contains RRC message, therefor it is only a portion of the original MsgA payload which included both the small data and RRC message).
Regarding claim 28, Huang teaches the Msg3 includes at least one of an RRC message or a data request message, wherein the data request message is at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) or an RRC message ([0473] The Msg3 may contain RRC resume request and the UL data (e.g. small data). RRC Resume Request is an RRC message).
Regarding claim 29, Huang teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit a message 4 (Msg4) ([0473] In response to receiving the Msg3, the NW may send a Msg4 to inform the UE to complete RA procedure and may transmit a RRC release message to keep the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state).
Huang does not teach wherein the Msg4 includes at least one of a preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) or downlink data.
Chen, in the same field of endeavor of methods, apparatus and systems for small data transmission in the uplink direction of wireless communications, teaches wherein the Msg4 includes at least one of a preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) or downlink data ([0039] In some implementations, an indication may be included (or used) in the MSG3 for indicating that whether the small data transmission is complete. For example, if the indication is set to true, the BS may consider that the small data transmission is complete and no further UL grant may be configured (e.g., via the MSG4). On the other hand, if the indication is set to false (or not present or absent), the BS may consider that the small data transmission is not complete yet (e.g., subsequent data transmission is required) and may configure a subsequent UL grant (e.g., via the MSG4 or via an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) to the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Msg4 of Huang to include the UL grant of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been for subsequent small data transmission e.g. while the UE remains in RRC INACTIVE state (Chen [0039]).
Regarding claim 30, Huang teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a retransmitted MsgA including a payload and a preamble, wherein the retransmitted MsgA includes at least one of an RRC message or a data request message ([0503] The UE may take action if the UE fails to receive MSGB in response to the MSGA including small data. [0549] In one example, the UE may cancel the small data transmission and initiate (or fall back to or proceed with) a RA procedure to resume. The RA procedure may be 2-step RA or 4-step RA. The UE may rebuild the MSGA (or Msg3) to exclude the small data. The UE transmits a MSGA (or Msg3) containing RRC resume request without the small data. (The UE is re-transmitting the MsgA to the base station, see Fig. 6). The RRC resume request is an RRC message and the payload of MsgA. The preamble is also included in the MsgA as per [0329]1>if msgB-ResponseWindow expires, and the Random Access Response Reception has not been considered as successful based on descriptions above: [0330] 2>increment PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER by 1; [0335] 2>if the Random Access procedure is not completed: [0336] 3>select a random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the PREAMBLE_BACKOFF; 4>perform the Random Access Resource selection procedure for 2-step random access (see subclause 5.1.2a) after the backoff time).
Regarding claim 31, Huang teaches wherein the retransmitted MsgA includes at least one of one or more new preamble groups or a new preamble ([0217] 1>else (i.e. MSGA is being retransmitted): [0218] 2>select the same group of Random Access Preambles as was used for the Random Access Preamble transmission attempt corresponding to the first transmission of MSGA. [0220] 1>select a Random Access Preamble randomly with equal probability from the 2-step Random Access Preambles associated with the selected SSB and the selected Random Access Preambles group).
Regarding claim 32, Huang teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: switch from the two-step RACH procedure to a four-step RACH procedure when the MsgA is retransmitted at least a configured threshold number of retransmissions ([0337] 3>if msgATransMax is configured, and PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER=msgATransMax+1: [0338] 4>set the RA_TYPE to 4-stepRA, where msgATransMax is a configured threshold and PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER is the number of times MsgA has been transmitted. So if the number of times MsgA has been transmitted exceeds the threshold, the UE will switch to the four-step RACH procedure).
Regarding claim 34, Huang teaches wherein a payload of a retransmitted MsgA or a retransmitted payload of the MsgA includes at least one of an RRC message or a data request message ([0246] For all MsgA transmissions, [0248] 1>instruct the physical layer to transmit the MSGA using the selected PRACH occasion and the associated PUSCH resource, using the corresponding RA-RNTI, MSGB-RNTI, PREAMBLE_INDEX, PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER. [0249] NOTE: The MSGA transmission includes the transmission of the PRACH Preamble as well as the contents of the MSGA buffer in the PUSCH resource corresponding to the selected PRACH occasion and PREAMBLE_INDEX (see TS 38.213 [6]), where the RA-RNTI is an example of an RRC message).
Regarding claim 35, Huang teaches a method of wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
receive a message A (MsgA) of a two-step random access channel (RACH) procedure, , the MsgA including a payload, the payload including at least uplink data, wherein the at least uplink data is associated with a small data transmission ([0473] For a 2-step RA (e.g. with small data), the UE may perform Random Access Resource selection and then send a Message A (MSGA) including a RA preamble and a PUSCH payload. The PUSCH payload may contain RRC resume request and the UL data (e.g. small data));
transmitting a message B (MsgB) of the two-step RACH procedure (0473] the NW may send a MSGB to inform the UE to fall back to Msg3).
Huang does not teach transmitting, to at least one user equipment (UE), an instruction to enter into a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state; receiving from the UE, based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA within a time window, at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA or a message 3 (Msg3) including a portion of the payload of the MsgA, wherein the at least one transmission is associated with the small data transmission.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of random access procedure fallback behavior teaches receiving from the UE, based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA within a time window, at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA or a message 3 (Msg3) including a portion of the payload of the MsgA, wherein the at least one transmission is associated with the small data transmission (Fig. 7, Implementation 1, [0150] In this implementation, a specific method for falling back from the EDT 2-step random access procedure to the 2-step random access procedure is mainly described. [0152] Step 10: The UE obtains, from the network device, a maximum number of attempts and/or attempt timer duration for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure. [0153] In this embodiment of this disclosure, the UE may obtain a fallback restriction condition from the network device, such as the maximum number of attempts (the first threshold) for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure, and the attempt timer duration (the second threshold) for initiating the EDT 2-step random access procedure. [0155] Step 12: The UE transmits a MsgA to the network device. [0169] If a response message for the UE has not been received (based on a failure to receive a response to the MsgA) until the contention resolution timer of the UE expires (within a time window), the current RACH procedure fails. The UE goes back to step 11 and initiates the EDT 2-step RACH procedure again (transmit at least one transmission comprising the payload of the MsgA) until the UE satisfies a RACH failure condition and performs reporting to the higher layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fallback behavior of the random access procedure including small data of Huang to include the configured fallback condition for number of MsgA attempts if the UE fails to receive the MsgB of Bao within a timer duration. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce delay and signaling overhead for data transmission in the random access procedure (Bao; [0104][0158]).
Bao does not teach transmitting, to at least one user equipment (UE), an instruction to enter into a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state.
Chen, in the same field of endeavor of small data transmission of wireless communications, teaches transmitting, to at least one user equipment (UE), an instruction to enter into a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0038] In some implementations, the RA procedure (e.g., 2-step RA procedure or 4-step RA procedure) may be triggered for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state if the RA procedure for small data transmission is configured/indicated/allowed by the NW (e.g., a BS) via system information, dedicated signaling, or in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration. A UE may transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state from the RRC_CONNECTED state when the UE receives the RRC Release message with the suspend configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base station’s processor of Huang and Bao to transmit, to at least one user equipment (UE), an instruction to enter into a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state. The motivation to do so would have been to improve different aspects of wireless communication for next-generation wireless communication systems, such as the fifth-generation (5G) New Radio (NR) system, by improving data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility (Chen; [0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Bao and Chen; further in view of Alfarhan (US 20230164773 A1).
Regarding claim 33 Huang teaches wherein the four-step RACH procedure includes one or more preamble groups. ([0181] 3>if Random Access Preambles group B is configured 5>select the Random Access Preambles group B. [0184] 4>else: 5>select the Random Access Preambles group A).
Huang does not teach wherein a transport block (TB) size of each of the one or more preamble groups of the four-step RACH procedure is different from a TB size of each of one or more preamble groups of the two-step RACH.
Alfarhan, in the same field of endeavor of methods, apparatus and systems for small data transmission in the uplink direction of wireless communications, teaches wherein a transport block (TB) size of each of the one or more preamble groups of the four-step RACH procedure is different from a TB size of each of one or more preamble groups of the two-step RACH. ([0165] The WTRU may attempt to select a different preamble group or PRACH resource, possibly for a different small data payload size, after a number of failed transmission attempts or timer expiry. For example, the WTRU may have selected a PRACH resource or preamble group x over which to transmit a payload of size y and failed to successfully transmit the payload N times (N may be configured, for instance, by RRC signaling). After N failed attempts, the WTRU may select a different preamble group for a smaller payload size less than y. The WTRU may construct a new TB to match the TB size of the selected preamble group and may flush the Msg3 or MsgA payload buffer for the associated HARQ process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alfarhan with the teachings of Huang, Bao and Chen. The motivation to do so would have been for the advantages of a WTRU to be able to transmit variable amounts of small data in the uplink without having to transition into a different connectivity state or into a different power usage or power saving mode (Alfarhan; [0096]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465