Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Restriction Requirement Response filed on 11/17/2025; and IDS filed on 11/17/2025, 12/30/2024, an d06/12/2023.
Claim 3 is drawn to a non-elected specie.
Claims 1-11, 15-18, 22-26 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 3-11, 15-18, 22-26 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election Group I (claims 1-3) and specie election of “VSV-G” in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Note, claim 3 is drawn to non-elected species.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,260,055 in view of WONG et al (US 2017/0073382) and WANG et al (US 2008/0318882).
The patents recite an arrestin domain-containing protein 1 (ARRDC1)-mediated microvesicle (ARMM), comprising: (i) a lipid bilayer and an ARRDC1 protein, and (ii) a cargo protein, wherein the cargo protein is linked to the ARRDC1 protein via one or more WW domains, and wherein the cargo protein is a transcription factor, a tumor suppressor, a developmental regulator, a growth factor, a metastasis suppressor, a pro-apoptotic protein, a nuclease, a recombinase, or a reprogramming factor (see US 10,260,055 at claim 1).
The patent does not teach using a viral envelope protein, such as VSV-G.
WONG teaches the prior art had known of using viral envelope proteins to associate with or bind to neural cells (see [0125]) for delivering polypeptide/proteins of interest to astroglial cell (see abstract).
WANG teaches the prior art had known of using viral envelope proteins viral envelope glycoprotein, such as vesicular stomatitis virus G protein (“VSVG”; see [0035]), to increase nucleic acid entry into mammalian cells (see [0035]) for delivery of nucleic acids to neuron cells (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate viral envelope protein, such as VSV-G. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the viral envelope protein would increase nucleic acid/protein entry into cells, and reasonably would have expected success because the references dealt in the same field of endeavor, such as delivery of bioactive agents into cells.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12,503,497 in view of WONG et al (US 2017/0073382) and WANG et al (US 2008/0318882).
The patent recites an arrestin domain-containing protein 1 (ARRDC1)-mediated microvesicle (ARMM) comprising: a lipid bilayer and a minimal ARRDC1 protein, wherein the minimal ARRDC1 protein comprises the minimal ARRDC1 protein of claim 1 (see claim 9), wherein the microvesicle further comprises an agent (see claim 10), wherein the agent is selected from the group consisting of a nucleic acid, a protein, and a small molecule (see claim 15).
The patents do not teach using a viral envelope protein, such as VSV-G.
WONG teaches the prior art had known of using viral envelope proteins to associate with or bind to neural cells (see [0125]) for delivering polypeptide/proteins of interest to astroglial cell (see abstract).
WANG teaches the prior art had known of using viral envelope proteins viral envelope glycoprotein, such as vesicular stomatitis virus G protein (“VSVG”; see [0035]), to increase nucleic acid entry into mammalian cells (see [0035]) for delivery of nucleic acids to neuron cells (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate viral envelope protein, such as VSV-G. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the viral envelope protein would increase nucleic acid/protein entry into cells, and reasonably would have expected success because the references dealt in the same field of endeavor, such as delivery of bioactive agents into cells.
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 18/845,704 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-application recites An arrestin domain-containing protein 1 (ARRDC1)-mediated microvesicle (ARMM), comprising: (i) a lipid bilayer and an ARRDC1 protein or a variant thereof, (ii) a Nipah virus (NiV) glycoprotein variant fused to an antibody or antigen-binding fragment, wherein the NiV glycoprotein variant does not recognize and/or bind to an ephrin receptor, and (iii) a NiV fusion protein (see claim 1), wherein Nipah virus (NiV) glycoprotein reads on virus envelope protein (see specification at [0005]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 18/343,685; 18/490,611 (reference application) in view of WONG et al (US 2017/0073382) and WANG et al (US 2008/0318882).
The co-applications recite an arrestin domain-containing protein 1 (ARRDC1)-mediated microvesicle (ARMM) comprising: a lipid bilayer; an ARRDC1 protein or variant thereof, wherein the ARRDC1 protein variant comprises a PSAP motif, a PPXY motif, or both, and wherein the ARRDC1 protein variant comprises an amino acid sequence that is at least about 80% identical to the amino acid sequence of any of any of SEQ ID NOs: 15-17; an RNA binding protein fused to at least one WW domain or variant thereof; and a binding RNA, wherein the binding RNA is associated with the RNA binding protein (see 18/343,685 at claim 2).
The co-applications do not teach using a viral envelope protein, such as VSV-G.
WONG teaches the prior art had known of using viral envelope proteins to associate with or bind to neural cells (see [0125]) for delivering polypeptide/proteins of interest to astroglial cell (see abstract).
WANG teaches the prior art had known of using viral envelope proteins viral envelope glycoprotein, such as vesicular stomatitis virus G protein (“VSVG”; see [0035]), to increase nucleic acid entry into mammalian cells (see [0035]) for delivery of nucleic acids to neuron cells (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate viral envelope protein, such as VSV-G. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the viral envelope protein would increase nucleic acid/protein entry into cells, and reasonably would have expected success because the references dealt in the same field of endeavor, such as delivery of bioactive agents into cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(as)(1) as being anticipated by MALTZAHN et al (WO 2020/102485).
MALTZAHN teaches a microvesicle (see pg. 34, line 28) composition comprised of: a lipid bilayer (see claim 1) and a fusogen (see claim 1), such as viral envelope protein (see pg. 96, line 10), such as vesicular stomatitis virus G (see pg. 95, line 30; pg. 97, line 24; and pg. 347, Example 65; and pg. 373, Example 92); ARRDC1 (see pg. 373, Example 92); and nucleic acid (see claim 1), which reads on molecule (see Applicant’s abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LU et al (US 2018/0119118) in view of WONG et al (US 2017/0073382) and WANG et al (US 2008/0318882).
LU teaches a method of delivering and/or proteins or protein variants (see abstract), such as nucleic acid (see [0024] into cells (see abstract) using a composition, such as an arrestin domain-containing protein 1 (ARRDC1)-mediated microvesicles (ARMMs) that comprise a lipid bilayer, an ARRDC1 protein (see [0008]); and a small molecule, such as proteins and nucleic acids (see [0024]).
LU does not teach using a viral envelope protein, such as VSV-G.
WONG teaches the prior art had known of using viral envelope proteins to associate with or bind to neural cells (see [0125]) for delivering polypeptide/proteins of interest to astroglial cell (see abstract).
WANG teaches the prior art had known of using viral envelope proteins viral envelope glycoprotein, such as vesicular stomatitis virus G protein (“VSVG”; see [0035]), to increase nucleic acid entry into mammalian cells (see [0035]) for delivery of nucleic acids to neuron cells (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate viral envelope protein, such as VSV-G. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the viral envelope protein would increase nucleic acid/protein entry into cells, and reasonably would have expected success because the references dealt in the same field of endeavor, such as delivery of bioactive agents into cells.
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618