DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-27 are pending.
Claims 2 and 6-25 are withdrawn for being directed to a nonelected species/invention.
Claims 1, 3-5 and 26-27 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Sayah.
Sayah: Comparative Study on Pectin Yield According To the State of the Orange Peels and Acids Used; International Journal of Innovative Research in Science, Engineering and Technology, Vol. 3, Issue 8, August 2014.
With regard to the prior art, the phrase: activatable pectin-containing citrus fiber, encompasses: pectin-containing citrus fiber (per pending para. 0010), wherein pectin by is plain meaning encompasses a soluble fiber, therefore, also encompasses: pectin derived from citrus, or parts thereof.
With regard to the prior art, the term: pectin, encompasses: water soluble fibers, per pending para. 0002.
Independent claim 1
High methoxyl (HM) pectins from citrus
With regard to the prior art, the phrase: “high methoxyl (HM) pectin”, encompasses: pectins having a high degree of esterification, versus those having a low high degree of esterification, that are commonly used for jam and jelly making.
Claim 1 requires a citrus pectin for food products, wherein the product is made by a process comprising multiple steps, however, determination of patentability is based solely on the claimed product itself.
Sayah teaches about pectins, including those having a high degree of esterification (SDNC) (i.e. high methoxyl citrus pectin) (1st para. on pg. 15663), for use in jams and jellies (i.e. foods) (ab).
One of skill in the art of pectin would have the common knowledge that pectins are generally categorized as having low or high degrees of esterification, meaning below 50% of its carboxyl groups are esterified with methanol; or 50% or more of its carboxyl groups are esterified with methanol.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify the use of the phrase highly esterified pectin, as Sayah, to include that it is synonymous with high methoxyl pectin, ----------------------------as disclosed, because one of skill in the art of pectin would have the common knowledge that pectins are generally categorized as having low or high degrees of esterification, meaning below 50% of its carboxyl groups are esterified with methanol; or 50% or more of its carboxyl groups are esterified with methanol.
Therefore, the teaching of citric pectins having a high degree of esterification (SDNC) is synonymous with high methoxyl citrus pectin.
Product by process
When looking for light in the pending Specification, it is noted that the claimed activatable pectin-containing citrus fiber is achieved due to a step of acidic extraction (i.e. disintegration ) which substantially reduces the pectin content of a citrus fiber
by disintegrating the citrus fiber structure resulting in a high methoxyl water soluble pectin (per pending paras. 0020-0024).
Further light on the step of acidic disintegration is disclosed as comprising: a temperature of between 60° C. and 95° C.; for a time of over 60 min to 8 hours; at a pH of between 0.5 to 4.0 (pending paras. 0062 and 0065-0066), using organic or mineral acids (pending paras. 0060-0061).
Sayahalso provides process parameters of the acid extracting of the pectin are known, including the three claimed process controls: time, temperature (1st para. of section B. Pectin Extraction) and pH (1st para. of section II. Literature Review).
Sayahprovides the three pectin extraction conditions, include: a pH of 1, a temperature of 80 °C, and a hot acid extraction time of 1 hour, which encompasses the disclosed step of acidic disintegration, comprising: a temperature of between 60° C. and 95° C.; for a time of over 60 min to 8 hours; at a pH of between 0.5 to 4.0 (pending paras. 0060 and 0063-64).
Sayahalso provides that organic and mineral acids are used, wherein the yield of pectin is result effective based on the type of acid used (see section IV. Results and Fig. 4). SayahThis encompasses the disclosed use of organic or mineral acids for the step of acidic disintegration (pending paras. 0058-0059).
Since, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production and in this case, the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
As for composition having less than 10 wt% of pectin:
Sayahprovides 8.07 % pectin yield (see Fig.3) which encompasses the composition having less than 10 wt% of pectin, as claimed.
Further, as discussed above, Sayahprovides that the yield of pectin is result effective based on the type of acid used (see section IV. Results and Fig. 4), therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have less than 10 wt% of pectin in an edible composition, as claimed, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Intended use
As for the intended use, being for food, as claimed, Sayahprovides that pectin is widely utilized by the food industry as a versatile and functional food ingredient (pg. i).
In summary, applicant claims a formula for making a nutritional composition that use or eliminate common ingredients, and does not amount to invention in the constantly developing art of preparing food because there is no specific showing that establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected and useful function. It is long and commonly known that the object of for people of skill for cooking (e.g. cooks, chefs, and bakers) is to use or eliminate common ingredients, like pectin, to formulate food that is palatable. Such an act, the formulation or creation a food recipe, is not patentable because it does not make a scientific advancement in the field unless a new/novel reaction, coaction or cooperative relationship is made evident by such a creation. In other words, the act of making food or food recipes that taste good, even if the combination of the ingredients is not known or has not been done before, is not patentable subject just because it was done.
Further, attention is invited to In re Levin, 84 USPQ 232 and the cases cited therein, which are considered in point in fact situation of this specific instant case.
At page 234, the Court stated as follows:
This court has taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention, merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In all such cases, there is nothing patentable unless the applicant by a proper showing further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected and useful function. In re Benjamin D. White, 17 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 956, 39 F.2d 974, 5 USPQ 267; In re Mason et al., 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1144, 156 F.2d 189, 70 USPQ 221.
Dependent claims
As for claim 3, Sayah teaches that pectins are known for use as thickeners, including for use in jams and jellies (i.e. foods) (see the 1st para.), which imparts that the pectin is known for to function as a food thickener, as claimed.
As for claim 4, Sayahdoes not discuss the grading strength (i.e. firmness) of the pectin, however, since SAYAHprovides a similar composition comprising similar amounts of similar ingredients, comprising firmness, which reflects the breadth of the claim composition, it would be reasonable to expect that the activatable pectin-containing citrus fiber has a firmness in a 4 wt% aqueous suspension of between 60 g and 240 g, preferably between 120 g and 200 g and more preferably between 140 and 180 g, absent a showing of criticality, because the teaching of a similar composition imparts a suggestion in or expectation that the composition taught will have the same or a similar utility.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, at the time of filing/the invention to modify the method of making high methoxyl citrus pectin, comprising firmness, as Sayah, to include that said composition will have a firmness when in a 4 wt% aqueous suspension of between 60 g and 240 g, preferably between 120 g and 200 g and more preferably between 140 and 180 g, as claimed, because the composition established through the teachings by Sayahprovides a sufficiently close relationship between the ingredients to create an expectation that such a similar compositions would have similar capabilities, properties or functionality because the claims are not physically or structurally distinguishable over the prior art compositions.
Furthermore, see MPEP 2144. III, which states that when case law imparts legal precedence, wherein the facts in this prior legal decision are sufficiently similar to those in an application, wherein the court applied the law of obviousness to similar facts. This includes a wide spectrum of illustrations and accompanying reasoning (i.e. obviousness) that exist in case law. In re Eli Lilly & Co., 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Also, although not cited in the MPEP, more recent caselaw on the topic, “In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688 (1990)” ( (https://cite.case.law/f2d/919/688/)) provides that when a claimed compositions has been made obvious from combined teachings of references, it is clear that the discovery that the claimed composition possesses a property not disclosed for the prior art subject matter, and this itself does not defeat a prima facie case. Finally, MPEP 2112.0 is clear that when a composition is anticipated, its properties are anticipated.
As for claim 5, although Sayahdoes not discuss that the intended use is a preserved food product, as claimed, it would also be reasonable to expect that similar compositions have similar intended uses, including that the pectin for foods, is also for preserved food products, as claimed, because preserving foods reduce/prevent spoilage caused by microorganisms and chemical reactions like oxidation, thereby extending their shelf life, while ensuring food remains safe to eat, maintains its nutritional value, taste and texture, which also makes seasonal foods available year-round.
As for claim 26, as discussed above, Sayahprovides that the pectin is for use in foods, as claimed.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Sayah, as applied to claims 1, 3-5 and 26 above, further in view of Mohamed.
Mohamed: Extraction and characterization of pectin from grapefruit peels; MOJ Food Process Technol. 2016;2(1):31‒38. 31 © 2016.
As for claim 27, Sayahdoes not discuss the amount of the pectin used in foods.
Mohamed also teaches about using high methoxyl (HM) citrus pectin (ab.), and further provides it is used in amounts greater that 7 % as a thickener in various types of foods, which encompasses between 0.05 wt% and 90 wt%, between 0.1 and 50 wt%, from 0.1 to 25 wt% and between 0.5 and 10 wt%, as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify the method of using edible high methoxyl (HM) citrus pectin, as Sayah, to include ----------------------------its use in amounts of: between 0.05 wt% and 90 wt%, between 0.1 and 50 wt%, from 0.1 to 25 wt% and between 0.5 and 10 wt%, as claimed, because Mohamed shows that it was known to use encompassing amounts, therefore such a thing was successfully achieved and published at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of a worker in the art to select this as a food ingredient, because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP 2144.07 that discussed that when the prior art recognizes something is suitable for a similar intended use/purpose, such a thing is obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that claim 1 not only requires both citrus fibers and pectin but also recites that the pectin is a component of the citrus fibers. And, in contrast, Sayah is directed toward isolated pectin alone and is entirely silent on providing pectin-containing fibers of any type, let alone pectin-containing citrus fibers. More specifically, Applicant argues that the process of Sayahis is imply directed toward isolating pectin instead of producing a citrus fiber including pectin.
Applicant’s argument has been considered; however, it is not found persuasive. It is noted that the claim is a product by process claim. MPEP 2113 (I) states, ““[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)” In the instant case, as noted in the prior office action, the patentability is based on the product itself. With this acknowledgement made, it should be further noted that Sayah teaches obtaining pectin from citrus pomace. And, pectin is a fiber. In other words, Sayah teaches pectin containing fiber from citrus.
Applicant also notes that the specification is defined as “a component consisting of mainly of fibers, which is isolated from a non-lignified cellular wall of a citrus and consists mainly of cellulose…Other components of the citrus fiber are, among others, hemicellulose and pectin”. Given this definition, Applicant notes that the claimed product produced by the method includes pectin and other components, and that the term “citrus fiber” does not represent pectin.
Applicant’s argument has been considered; however, it is not found persuasive. Sayah teaches obtaining pectin from citrus pomace. And, pectin is a fiber. In other words, Sayah teaches pectin containing fiber from citrus.
Applicant also notes that Mohamed does not refer to a citrus fiber, let alone the citrus fiber obtained by the method of claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments has been considered; however, not found persuasive. Applicant is reminded that Mohamed is introduced because Sayah does not discuss the amount of the pectin as claimed in claim 27.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793