DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The amendment file on 04/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 21 have been amended and claim 8 has been canceled. Thus claims 1-7, 9-16, 18 and 20-22 are currently pending; claims 12-16, 18 and 20 have been withdrawn; and claims 1-7, 9-11 and 21-22 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent application publication number US2003/0065233A1 (US’233) in view of Patent number CA1177095A (CA’095). The references have been cited in PTO-892 12/23/2025.
Regarding claims 1(a)-(b), 3, 5 and 21(a)-(b), US’233 teaches a production process for α-olefins and internal olefin isomers from a primary alcohol or an ether of formula (I) and a catalyst:
Examples of the straight or branched alkyl group having 3 to 20 carbon atoms as represented by R 1 in the above formula include n-propyl, n-butyl, isobutyl, n-pentyl, isopentyl, n-hexyl, n-heptyl, n-octyl, n-nonyl, n-decyl, undecyl, dodecyl, tetradecyl, hexadecyl and octadecyl. Examples of the straight or branched alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbons as represented by R2 include methyl, ethyl, n-propyl, n-butyl, isobutyl, n-pentyl, isopentyl, n-hexyl, n-heptyl, n-octyl, n-nonyl, n-decyl, undecyl, dodecyl, tetradecyl, hexadecyl and octadecyl and examples of the primary alcohol include n-butanol, n-pentanol, 3-methyl-1-butanol, n-hexanol, n-octanol, n-nonanol, n-decanol, n-undecanol, n-dodecanol, n-tetradecanol and n-hexadecanol. Of these, n-hexanol, n-octanol, n-nonanol and n-decanol are preferred. Examples of the ether include methyl pentyl ether, hexyl methyl ether, methyl octy ether, methyl nonyl ether, decyl methyl ether, ethyl pentyl ether, ethyl hexyl ether, ethyl octyl ether, methyl nonyl ether, decyl methyl ether, isopropyl pentyl ether, hexyl isopropyl ether, isopropyl octyl ether, isopropyl nonyl ether, decyl isopropyl ether, dihexyl ether, dioctyl ether and didecyl ether ([0024]-[0025]).
The reaction in US’233 is preferably carried out at a temperature of 150 to 350° C. and more preferably at 200 to 320° C ([0030]). The reference further teaches that unreacted primary alcohol or ether, is separated and collected from reaction products, and at least part of the collected ether intermediate, and unreacted primary alcohol or ether is returned to the reaction system and can serve as a starting material for the reaction ([0014], [0017] and [0051]). While US’233 teaches that unreacted alcohol and ether can be returned and serve as a starting material, the reference fails to specifically teach that the dialkylether and/or 1-alcohol are combined with fresh 1-alcohol and/or fresh dialkylether, in a ratio of 95:5 to 5:95 weight. However, since the reference teaches that the α-olefins and internal olefin isomers can be obtained from fresh primary alcohol and ether and/or from unreacted primary alcohol and ether, any combination of the fresh primary alcohol and ether and unreacted primary alcohol and ether, including the claimed ratio, would yield nothing more than the predictable α-olefins and internal olefin isomers.
Regarding claim 5, the catalyst comprises γ-alumina ([0026] and Examples 1-11).
Regarding claim 6-7 and 9, US’233 teaches that the rate at which the mixture is fed to the reactor is typically in the range of 0.1 to 50 hr −1, and preferably in the range of 0.5 to 10 hr−1 as measured in the liquid hourly space velocity (LHSV) ([0031]) and that the reaction may be carried out by using any known technique, including batch reaction process and continuous reaction process, in which, continuous reaction process using a fixed bed reactor is preferred ([0029]).
Regarding claim 10, US’233 teaches the obtained reaction mixture is subjected to simple distillation process to separate the intended α-olefin and other olefins including internal olefins ([0033]).
Regarding claims 1(c) and 21(c), US’233 fails to teach reacting the at least one alkene of step b) to obtain a product comprising at least one alkanediol having 5 to 15 carbon atoms. The deficiency is however cured by CA’095.
Regarding claims 1(c), 11 and 21(c), CA’095 teaches a process for producing vicinal diols by the reaction of olefinically unsaturated compounds containing 4 to 36 carbon atoms with hydrogen peroxide and formic acid followed by hydrolysis with a solution of caustic soda. The reference further teaches that the process may be applied with approximately equal results to linear olefins having terminal (also known as α-olefins) or internal double bonds and to cyclic olefins (pg.1,ln.31-pg.2,ln.1).
It is known to a skilled artisan that vicinal diols have various applications in the chemical industry, and thus a skilled artisan would have been motivated in subjecting the α-olefins and the internal olefin isomers of US’233 to the reaction methods of CA’095 with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining vicinal alkanediols.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to a process for the preparation of alkanediols having 5 to 15 carbon atoms comprising the following steps: a) providing a 1-alcohol having 5 to 15 carbon atoms and/or a dialkylether having 10 to 30 carbon atoms and a catalyst; b) dehydrating the 1-alcohol and/or cleaving the dialkylether in a reaction chamber to obtain at least one alkene having 5 to 15 carbon atoms, wherein the at least one alkene having 5 to 15 carbon atoms is at least one olefin selected from the group consisting of: α-, β- and/or γ-olefins; wherein the dehydration and/or cleavage is performed with recirculation of dialkylether and/or 1-alcohol; and wherein the dehydration and/or cleavage is performed at a temperature ranging from 255° C. to 290° C.; and c) reacting the at least one alkene of step b) to obtain a product comprising at least one alkanediol having 5 to 15 carbon atoms in view of the combination of US’233 and CA’095.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues
Applicant further discusses the teachings of the cited paragraphs [0014], [0017] and [0051] and argues that the embodiments do not teach mixing fresh and recycled 1-alcohol and ether starting materials.
The examiner disagrees. Claim 1 has now been amended by incorporating the subject matter of previously presented, now canceled claim 8, and by reciting
wherein the dialkylether and/or 1-alcohol are recirculated and combined with fresh 1-alcohol and/or fresh dialkylether, in a ratio of 80 : 20 to 20: 80 by volume.
The Office Action does not indicate or assert that US’233 teaches the combination or mixture of recirculated starting material and fresh starting material. The Office Action discusses that the reference teaches obtaining olefin products from 1-alcohol and ether starting material (as in claimed step a)) and further cites paragraphs [0014], [0017] and [0051] that disclose the separation and recycling of unreacted alcohol or ether starting materials. Nowhere in the Office Action indicates that US’233 teaches the combination of fresh and recycled starting materials but establishes obviousness for the claimed combination fresh and recycled starting materials. Reiterating herein and set forth in the rejection above, the following has been discussed to establish obviousness:
While US’233 teaches that unreacted alcohol and ether can be returned and serve as a starting material, the reference fails to specifically teach that the dialkylether and/or 1-alcohol are combined with fresh 1-alcohol and/or fresh dialkylether, in a ratio of 95:5 to 5:95 weight. However, since the reference teaches that the α-olefins and internal olefin isomers can be obtained from fresh primary alcohol and ether and/or from unreacted primary alcohol and ether, any combination of the fresh primary alcohol and ether and unreacted primary alcohol and ether, including the claimed ratio, would yield nothing more than the predictable α-olefins and internal olefin isomers.
In the above, the Office Action refers
(1) fresh 1-alcohol and ether starting materials, and
(2) recycled 1-alcohol and ether starting materials
as separate components, not as combined or mixture of the two. Both separate components obtain the same products, i.e. α-olefins and internal olefin isomers. The prima facie of obviousness is established in the Office Action by stating that since both starting materials as separate components, fresh and recycled, obtain the same olefin products, combining both fresh and recycled starting materials at any proportion, including at the claimed ratio, would yield nothing more than the predictable α-olefins and internal olefin isomers as the final product.
Furthermore, Applicant does not present the unexpected results of using the combination of fresh and recycled 1-alcohol and ether starting materials over that of prior art. In this instance, the instant specification describes in para. [0100] the benefits of recycling the unreacted 1-alcohol and ether starting materials, wherein waste is reduced:
Based on the gentle process and the recycling according to the invention, it is possible to reduce the amount of waste produced to a minimum, such as dialkylethers or non-reacted educts which would otherwise be lost to the production. Furthermore, other types of waste such as formed in exotic side-reactions such as carbon backbone rearrangements are highly suppressed in the present inventive process.
The same benefit is observed in US’233 para. [0037], in which the separation and recycling of the unreacted starting materials reduces the amount of waste:
As such, combining the fresh and recycled 1-alcohol and ether starting materials would reduce the production of waste.
In view of the foregoing, absent any showing of unexpected results, the 103 rejection is maintained for reasons of record.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent application publication number US2003/0065233A1 (US’233) in view of Patent number CA1177095A (CA’095) as applied to claims 1, 3-11 and 21 above, and further in view of Patent number US11,4143,65 (US365). The references have been cited in PTO-892 12/23/2025.
The teachings of US’233 and CA’095 has been set forth above.
Regarding claim 2, CA’095 fails to specifically teach that the product comprises at least two alkanediols selected from the group consisting of: a 1,2-alkanediol, a 2,3-alkanediol and a 3,4-alkanediol, each independently having 5 to 15 carbon atoms; wherein in the product, the ratio of the 1,2-alkanediol to the 2,3-alkanediol is in the range of 90:10 to 99.9:0.1 and/or the ratio of the 1,2-alkanediol to the 3,4-alkanediol is in the range of 90:10 to 99.99:0.01 by weight.
However, since the reference teaches that the reaction process can be applicable to either the terminal olefins or internal olefins, subjecting any combination of the terminal olefins and internal olefins, such as 2,3-olefins or 3,4-olefins, would yield nothing more than the predictable product comprising at least two alkanediols selected from the group consisting of: a 1,2-alkanediol, a 2,3-alkanediol and a 3,4-alkanediol.
CA’095 teaches the desired diols can usually be obtained in reaction times of less than seven hours and in yields of approximately 90%.
Furthermore, US’365 teaches a composition comprising about 60% to about 99% of a bio-1,2-alkanediol having a carbon chain length of 7 to 20 carbon atoms and less than 20% of a corresponding bio-2,3-alkanediol having the same carbon chain length as the bio-1,2-alkanediol, which is equivalent to a ratio of bio-1,2-alkanediol to bio-2,3-alkanediol of 3:1 to 4.95:1. The reference teaches that the composition is used as a preservative composition.
Thus based on the general yield of diols taught by CA’095, it would be within the purview of a skilled artisan to determine, through routine experimentation, the amount needed for terminal olefins and 2,3-olefins to give a product composition of US’365 that comprises about 60% to about 99% of a bio-1,2-alkanediol having a carbon chain length of 7 to 20 carbon atoms and less than 20% of a corresponding bio-2,3-alkanediol having the same carbon chain length as the bio-1,2-alkanediol.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to a process for the preparation of alkanediols having 5 to 15 carbon atoms comprising the following steps: a) providing a 1-alcohol having 5 to 15 carbon atoms and/or a dialkylether having 10 to 30 carbon atoms and a catalyst; b) dehydrating the 1-alcohol and/or cleaving the dialkylether in a reaction chamber to obtain at least one alkene having 5 to 15 carbon atoms, wherein the at least one alkene having 5 to 15 carbon atoms is at least one olefin selected from the group consisting of: α-, β- and/or γ-olefins; wherein the dehydration and/or cleavage is performed with recirculation of dialkylether and/or 1-alcohol; and wherein the dehydration and/or cleavage is performed at a temperature ranging from 255° C. to 290° C.; and c) reacting the at least one alkene of step b) to obtain a product comprising at least one alkanediol having 5 to 15 carbon atoms, wherein in step c) a product is obtained comprising at least two alkanediols selected from the group consisting of: a 1,2-alkanediol, a 2,3-alkanediol and a 3,4-alkanediol, each independently having 5 to 15 carbon atoms; wherein in the product, the ratio of the 1,2-alkanediol to the 2,3-alkanediol is in the range of 90:10 to 99.9:0.1 and/or the ratio of the 1,2-alkanediol to the 3,4-alkanediol is in the range of 90:10 to 99.99:0.01 by weight in view of the combination of US’233, CA’095 and US’365.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent application publication number US2003/0065233A1 (US’233) in view of Patent number CA1177095A (CA’095) as applied to claims 1, 3-11 and 21 above, and further in view of Patent application publication number US2016/0206571A1 (US’571). The references have been cited in PTO-892 12/23/2025.
The teachings of US’233 and CA’095 has been set forth above.
Regarding claim 22, CA’095 does not specifically teach that the product obtained comprises at least two 1,2-alkanediols differing in their chain length. However, the reference teaches the process is particularly suitable for the hydroxylation of long-chain linear olefins containing 4 to 36 carbon atoms and a terminal or internal double bond.
Furthermore, US’571 teaches a composition comprising 1,2-alkanediols differing in their chain length, i.e. a mixture of 1,2-hexanediol and 1,2-octanediol, wherein the composition is used as active mixture in cosmetic, pharmaceutical or dermatological emulsions.
Thus, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine two terminal alkenes with 6 and 8 carbon numbers and subject the mixture to the reaction process of CA’095 with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a combination of 1,2-hexanediol and 1,2-octanediol that can be used as active mixture in cosmetic, pharmaceutical or dermatological emulsions.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to a process for the preparation of alkanediols having 5 to 15 carbon atoms comprising the following steps: a) providing at least one 1-alcohol having 5 to 15 carbon atoms, and/or at least one dialkylether having 10 to 30 carbon atoms and a catalyst; b) dehydrating the at least one 1-alcohol and/or cleaving the at least one dialkylether to obtain at least one alkene having 5 to 15 carbon atoms, wherein the at least one alkene having 5 to 15 carbon atoms is at least one olefin selected from the group consisting of: α-, β- and/or γ-olefins, each independently having 5 to 15 carbon atoms; wherein the dehydration and/or cleavage is performed with recirculation of dialkylether and/or 1-alcohol; and wherein the dehydration and/or cleavage is performed at a temperature ranging from 255° C. to 290° C.; and c) reacting the at least one alkene of step b) to obtain a product comprising at least one alkanediol having 5 to 15 carbon atoms; and wherein in step c) the product obtained comprises at least two 1,2-alkanediols differing in their chain length and/or wherein the product comprises at least two 2,3-alkanediols differing in their chain length, and wherein said alkanediols each independently have from 5 to 15 carbon atoms in view of the combination of US’233, CA’095 and US’571.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that US’365 and US’571 fail to teach using mixtures of fresh and recycled 1-alcohol and ether starting materials.
The examiner disagrees. As set forth above, the limitation of using a mixture of the fresh and recycled starting materials and the obviousness have been covered by the teachings of US’233.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent number GB2145076A (GB’076; cited in PTO-892 12/23/2025) teaches
Thus, the process of the instant claims 1 and 21 would be obvious over the combination of US’233 (cited above) and GB’076.
Note: This is not a 103 rejection, but making the additional reference, GB’076, of the record as a relevant art and how it would make the instant claim obvious when combined with the teachings of US’233.
Conclusion
Claims 1-7, 9-11 and 21-22 are rejected and no claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEDHANIT W BAHTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692