Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 line 2-3 states, “..the holding portion is located with aligned with the base”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Goto (US 9947566 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Goto discloses the Substrate holding apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising a base (25); and holders (10A to 10E) attached to the base to hold a substrate, wherein the holders are aligned in a predetermined alignment direction (Para. 0056), and is attached to the base so as to be detachable in parallel with a reference plane as a virtual plane crossing the alignment direction.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Goto discloses the Substrate Holding Apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the holders (6) has an attachment to be attached to the base and a holding portion that holds the substrate, the base has sides facing directions perpendicular to the alignment direction (see Fig. 2), the holding portion is located with aligned with the base in a first direction of the directions perpendicular to the alignment direction (see Fig. 2), and the attachment is attached to a first side, which faces a direction other than the first direction, of the sides (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Goto discloses the Substrate Holding Apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the sides include a second side facing a direction other than the first direction (see Fig. 9-10), and the holders are alternately attached to the first side and the second side in an order of the holders being aligned in the alignment direction (see Fig. 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 4, Goto discloses the Substrate Holding Apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first side and the second side face opposite directions (see Fig. 9-10).
Regarding claim 5, Goto discloses the Substrate Holding Apparatus as claimed in claim 4,
wherein the first side and the second side face directions perpendicular to the first direction (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7, Goto discloses the Substrate Holding Apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the holders has an inclination adjuster that adjusts inclination with respect to the base (65).
Regarding claim 8, Goto discloses the Substrate Holding Apparatus as claimed in claim 7, wherein the inclination adjuster (65) includes inclination adjusters disposed at positions at each of the holders (see Para. 0077).
Regarding claim 9, Goto discloses the Substrate Holding Apparatus as claimed in claim 7, wherein the inclination adjuster (65) is located at a position operable from a direction parallel with the reference plane with each of the holders attached to the base (see Para. 0077).
Regarding claim 10, Goto discloses the Substrate Holding Apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the base has a linear guide (11) having a slide block (62) and a rail (63) guiding the slide block in the alignment direction, and each of the holders is attached to the slide block such that a position thereof in the alignment direction is adjustable (see Para. 0075).
Regarding claim 11, Goto discloses the Substrate Holding Apparatus as claimed in claim 10, wherein an attachment block (12A to 12E) used to attach each of the holders is attached to the slide block, and each of the holders is attached to the slide block by attaching to the attachment block.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 9947566 B2), in view of So (JP 2006045632 A).
Regarding claim 6, Goto discloses the Substrate Holding Apparatus as claimed in claim 1.
Goto fails to disclose wherein the holders are fixed to the base with a bolt, and a screw hole extends in parallel with the reference plane, the screw hole being located at the base such that the bolt is screwed therein.
However, So teaches the holders are fixed to the base with a bolt, and a screw hole extends in parallel with the reference plane, the screw hole being located at the base such that the bolt is screwed therein (see Para. 0012 under ‘Best Mode’).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the holders are fixed to the base with a bolt, and a screw hole extends in parallel with the reference plane, the screw hole being located at the base such that the bolt is screwed therein on the Substrate Holding Apparatus of Goto as taught by So in order to securely fix the substrate holder to the base.
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651