DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant's amendment filed 08/20/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 10-11, 16, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-21 are pending in the instant application and the subject of this final office action.
All of the amendments and arguments have been reviewed and considered. Any rejections or objections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn in light of amendments to the claims or as discussed in this office action.
Previous Rejection
Status of Prior Rejections/Objections:
The objections to the specification and claim 10 and withdrawn in view of the respective amendments.
The 101 rejection is withdrawn in view of the arguments, amendments, and upon further reconsideration.
The 112(b) rejections directed to claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-17, 19 and 20 is/are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims. See updated 112(b) rejections of claim 10.
The prior art rejection(s) under 35 USC 102 directed to claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 13, 16, and 18 as being anticipated by Georgiou, as evidenced by Tanner is/are maintained and modified as necessitated by claim amendments.
The prior art rejection(s) under 35 USC 103 directed to claim(s) 7, 12, 14-15, 17, and 19-21 as being unpatentable over Georgiou as evidenced by Tanner in view of Young is/are maintained.
The double patenting rejections over copending applications 18/008,809 and 18/009,142 are maintained and modified in view of the amendments.
New Ground(s) of Rejections
The new ground(s) of rejections were necessitated by applicant’s amendment of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, as amended, the claim recites “a labeled nucleic acid molecule hybridizable to the elongated strand of the [dsDNA] sequence, wherein the nucleic acid molecule is labeled using a molecule that intercalates in the [dsDNA] sequence”.
It is noted again that intercalating dyes, as defined by the specification (see pg. 16, para 1), bind double-stranded nucleic acid molecules (e.g., the double-stranded elongated DNA), that the double-stranded elongated DNA sequence is what is being detected in the claim, and that it is already stated that another molecule intercalates in the double-stranded elongated DNA. The specification separately recites exemplary labeled primers LPB and/or LPF (pg. 16, para 1).
First, as amended, “the elongated strand” lacks antecedent basis. It is not clear which strand is being referred to.
Second, as amended, it is not clear whether “the nucleic acid molecule” of lines 4-5 is the “a labeled nucleic acid molecule” of line 3, and, if so, how labeling of the double-stranded elongated DNA sequence to which it is partially hybridizable results in the labeling of the labeled nucleic acid molecule. That is to say, it is unclear how a nexus exists between separately labelling the double-stranded elongated DNA sequence and the labeled nucleic acid molecule obtaining its label. The former is an antecedent basis rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 13, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Georgiou (WO 2019/234251 A1; published 12/12/2019; as cited in the IDS dated 11/17/2025), evidenced by Tanner (New England Biolabs, Inc. Isothermal Amplification [Internet]. Ipswich (MA): New England Biolabs, Inc.; 2015 Apr [cited 2025 Aug 26]. Available from: https://www.neb-online.de/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/NEB_isothermal_amp.pdf; as cited in the IDS dated 11/17/2025).
Regarding claim 1-4, 11, and 18, Georgiou teaches a method for determining presence of a pre-determined nucleic acid sequence in a sample (pg. 47; claim 9), wherein the sample may be animal matter (pg. 24, para 1), the method comprising the steps of:
adding an enzyme to the sample to be analyzed for the presence of the pre-determined nucleic acid sequence (pg. 47, lines 5-8), wherein the enzymes provide activities of RNA- and/or DNA-dependent DNA polymerase activity and strand-displacement activity (pg. 9, para 5-6; pg. 2, para 9);
adding at least five LAMP DNA primers to the sample, wherein at least one DNA primer comprises a sequence hybridizable to the nucleic acid sequence and at least one DNA primer comprises a sequence hybridizable to the sequence reverse-complementary to the nucleic acid sequence (pg. 47: (iv): FIP, (v): BIP, (vi): forward blocking, (vii): backward blocking; pg. 23, lines 10-11: forward loop primer [LPF] and backward loop primer [LPB]; pg. 22, lines 22-23; pg. 22, lines 36-37: B3; pg. 22, para 3; see also claim 9/7/6/1; instant claims 2-3);
incubating the sample resulting from steps (a) and (b) at a fixed temperature (pg. 47, (a): “amplifying under isothermal conditions” [i.e., a fixed temperature]);
determining whether an elongated DNA sequence is present in the sample, wherein presence of the elongated DNA sequence in the sample is indicative of the presence of the pre-determined nucleic acid sequence in the sample (pg. 47, (b)).
administering a drug to the subject in need thereof (pg. 47 (c); see also claim 10 and pg. 48, para 1; instant claim 11)
Georgiou teaches a polymerase with strand-displacement activity at least by teaching that the DNA polymerase when the nucleic acid sequence is DNA (instant claim 4) may be Bst 2.0 DNA polymerase (pg. 9, para 5), evidenced by Tanner. While Georgiou does not explicitly teach that the polymerase itself has strand-displacement activity, it is inherently taught because Bst 2.0 has strand-displacement activity, evidenced by Tanner (pg. 4, para 1: “Bst 2.0 DNA polymerase possesses … strong strand-displacement activity”).
Georgiou teaches that if the nucleic acid sequence is RNA, the method may also comprise reverse transcription of the RNA to produce cDNA (pg. 9, lines 36-40; instant claim 4)
Georgiou teaches that such amplification is LAMP (entire document); therefore, the primers are interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation to be LAMP primers (instant claims 1 and 18).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 13, Georgiou teaches that the nucleic acid may be a nucleic acid from a pathogen (throughout document, e.g., pg. 24, para 1; instant claim 5) and may be a bacteria, virus, fungi, or parasite (pg. 48, para 2; instant claims 6 and 13).
Regarding claim 8, Georgiou teaches that the reaction mixture may be held under isothermal conditions, wherein the temperature may be around 50 to 70 C (pg. 6, lines 2-9; see also pg. 6, para 5).
Regarding claim 9, Georgiou teaches that duration of amplification may be 1 to 150 minutes, including 5 to 60 minutes (pg. 6, para 1; see also pg. 6, line 40).
Regarding claims 10 and 16, under the best possible interpretation of claim 10, Georgiou teaches detection of amplification products [i.e., double-stranded elongated DNA sequences/molecules] by turbidity and nucleic acid intercalating agents (pg. 7, para 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 12, 14-15, 17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Georgiou (WO 2019/234251 A1; published 12/12/2019), as evidenced by Tanner (New England Biolabs, Inc. Isothermal Amplification [Internet]. Ipswich (MA): New England Biolabs, Inc.; 2015 Apr [cited 2025 Aug 26]. Available from: https://www.neb-online.de/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/NEB_isothermal_amp.pdf) as applied to claims 1, 6, 11, 13, and 18 above, and in view of Young (Young A, Pusterla N. Equine influenza (flu) [Internet]. UC Davis Veterinary Medicine Center for Equine Health; 2019 [cited 2026 Feb 11]. Available from: https://ceh.vetmed.ucdavis.edu/health-topics/equine-influenza-flu).
Regarding claim 7, 12, 14-15, 17, and 19-21, in the method of Georgiou, evidenced by Tanner, Georgiou teaches that such infectious diseases may comprise Influenza and Eastern Equine Encephalitis (pg. 48, para 3). It is noted for the sake of compact prosecution, Georgiou also teaches that the infectious disease may comprise Herpes and Streptococcal Disease (pg. 48, para 3, spanning pg. 49).
Georgiou teaches LAMP has high efficiency, high amplification yield, and high specificity, and may be used as an alternative to PCR for point of care applications (pg. 2, para 1). Georgiou teaches that thermal cycling, electrophoresis, and/or mollified oligos for validation elevates the time and cost per sample of PCR-based methods and prevents them from being widespread to decentralized areas (pg. 1, para 3).
Georgiou fails to explicitly teach that the pathogen is Equine influenza virus, that the animal is a horse, or specific therapeutic drugs.
Young rectifies this by teaching that equine influenza is a highly contagious respiratory disease with a high rate of transmission among horses and a short incubation time (pg. 3, What are the clinical signs of equine influenza?). Young teaches that infection cannot be diagnosed based on clinical signs alone, that the testing window is short in previously vaccinated horses, and that testing for EIV at one facility is performed as part of a nucleic acids-based panel comprising Streptococcus equi equi (pg. 4, para 1-2; instant claims 7, 12, 19, 17, and 21).
Young teaches that horses are particularly susceptible to secondary infections such as bacterial pneumonia 2-3 weeks after infection (pg. 3, What are the clinical signs of equine influenza?). Young teaches that horses diagnosed positive should be on stall rest and taken out of training for a minimum of one week for every day of fever, wherein if fever persists, purulent nasal discharge is present or if horses get pneumonia, antibiotics may be indicated (pg. 4, How is equine influenza treated?; instant claims 14-15 and 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the method of Georgiou evidenced by Tanner to the pathogen(s) and subjects of Young, wherein it would have been obvious to have followed the treatment plan of treating EIV positive horses with antibiotics if fever any of the discussed conditions are met, motivated by the desire to apply the high efficiency POC LAMP as an alternative to PCR of Georgiou to the highly contagious disease in order to reduce barriers associated with PCR-based tests to better address the testing window time issues taught by Young, wherein it would follow to apply the standard of care treatments based on the diagnosis as taught. There would have been a strong expectation of success as both are directed to nucleic acid amplification tests in animals, and such represents the application of a known method to a known target, wherein Georgiou teaches applying the technique to variety of diseases for which the artisan would similarly be able to develop primers and optimize the test.
Double Patenting
The following claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the indicated claims of the listed copending Applications in view of Georgiou (WO 2019/234251 A1; published 12/12/2019; as cited in the IDS dated 11/17/2025) and Young (Young A, Pusterla N. Equine influenza (flu) [Internet]. UC Davis Veterinary Medicine Center for Equine Health; 2019 [cited 2026 Feb 11]. Available from: https://ceh.vetmed.ucdavis.edu/health-topics/equine-influenza-flu). These are each a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Application:
Instant claims rejected:
Rejected over claims:
Fails to recite:
Other notes:
18/008,809
1-21
1-8, 10-14 and 16
• Sample obtained from animal/horse; •Treating with drug, and specific drugs; •Pathogen is EIV or others of claim 7
• Teaches Mollicutes, including M. arginini and others with non-human animal tropisms
18/009,142
1-21
1-14
• Sample obtained from non-human animal/horse; •Pathogen is EIV or others of claim 7
Each set of claims is directed do a method of adding one or more enzymes with RNA/DNA-dependent DNA pol activity and strand displacement activity; adding at least five DNA primers comprising primers hybridizable to both the forward and reverse strands; incubating the sample at a fixed temperature; and determining whether an elongated DNA sequence indicative of a pre-determined sequence is present, wherein no F3 primer is used.
Each set likewise teaches FIP/BIP and LPF/LPB; B3 (which may be interpreted as LAMP primers); RNA or DNA; at least one pathogen origin for the pre-determined sequence; that the pathogen may be a bacterium; detection via intercalating molecule or turbidity; temperature; and time.
Motivating reference Georgiou teaches that LAMP has high efficiency, high amplification yield, and high specificity, and may be used as an alternative to PCR for point of care applications (pg. 2, para 1). Georgiou teaches that thermal cycling, electrophoresis, and/or mollified oligos for validation elevates the time and cost per sample of PCR-based methods and prevents them from being widespread to decentralized areas (pg. 1, para 3).
Young teaches teaching that equine influenza is a highly contagious respiratory disease with a high rate of transmission among horses and a short incubation time (pg. 3, What are the clinical signs of equine influenza?). Young teaches that infection cannot be diagnosed based on clinical signs alone, sampling from sick horses, that the testing window is short in previously vaccinated horses, and that testing for EIV at one facility is performed as part of a nucleic acids-based panel comprising Streptococcus equi equi (pg. 4, para 1-2).
Young teaches that horses are particularly susceptible to secondary infections such as bacterial pneumonia 2-3 weeks after infection (pg. 3, What are the clinical signs of equine influenza?). Young teaches that horses diagnosed positive should be on stall rest and taken out of training for a minimum of one week for every day of fever, wherein if fever persists, purulent nasal discharge is present or if horses get pneumonia, antibiotics may be indicated (pg. 4, How is equine influenza treated?).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the methods of the copending Applications to the pathogen(s) and subjects of Young, wherein it would have been obvious to treat as indicated with the treatment plan of treating EIV positive horses with antibiotics if fever any of the discussed conditions are met, motivated by the desire to apply the high efficiency POC LAMP as an alternative to PCR as taught by Georgiou to the highly contagious disease in order to reduce barriers associated with PCR-based tests to better address the testing window time issues taught by Young, wherein it would follow to apply the standard of care treatments based on the diagnosis as taught. There would be a strong expectation of success as both are directed to nucleic acid amplification tests in animals, and such represents the application of a known method to a known target wherein the artisan would be capable of substituting samples and targets.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the art rejections, on pg. 15-19, Applicant argues that Georgiou differs from the instant claims because the instant method is not directed to SNP detection with sbLAMP and does not use competitive blocking primers to suppress the amplification of a major allele but is instead directed to determining the presence of a pathogen. Applicant alleges that Georgiou does not explicitly disclose the specific combination of the process steps of the method of claim 1 including adding at least five LAMP primers where F3 is omitted, much less a system comprising at least 5 LAMP DNA primers hybridizable to the nucleic acid sequence/reverse-complement of the nucleic acid sequence (claim 1); at least 5 LAMP DNA primers comprising FIP, BIP, LPF, and LPB (claim 2); or FIP, BIP, LFP, LPB, and B3 (claim 3) all without F3 (claim 3). Applicant argues that Georgiou mentions a theoretical option in the alternative use of F3 and/or B3, but does not teach or suggest that omission of F3 is possible for a five-primer system, nor that a five-primer system without F3 would still allow efficient amplification. Applicant argues that Georgiou fails to provide experimental evidence showing that omission of F3 is possible for a five-primer system.
Applicant alleges that forward and backward blocking primers are in all embodiments of Georgiou and are required to detect a first allele and argues that Georgiou does not teach or suggest the removal of these primers [sic]. Applicant argues that the F3 primer is used in all examples of Georgiou.
Applicant also argues that there is no reasonable expectation for the success of the combination of Georgiou with Tanner in view of Young. Applicant argues that the Office has not provided a motivation to remove the forward/reverse blocking primers of Georgiou without an F3 primer or provided adequate evidentiary basis for the finding with a satisfactory explanation for the motivation. Applicant argues that such removal would lead to inoperability.
Applicant argues that the inventors have “surprisingly found” that a five-primer system where f3 is omitted is most efficient in detecting a pre-determined nucleic acid sequence, citing pg. 6 of the instant specification. Applicant cites pg. 7 and Fig. 2 and notes that detection of an Equine herpes virus 1 pathogen stain was observed to be possible “within ten minutes”. Applicant argues that the use of five primers allows for shorter target sequences to be detected, citing pg. 8, expanding the utility of LAMP in diagnostics.
First, in response to applicant's argument that the method of Georgiou is directed to SNP detection rather than identification of a pathogen, the applicant appears to be arguing intended use of the claimed invention. In the instant case, the method of Georgiou is capable of “determining presence of a pre-determined nucleic acid sequence” (claim 1) and “determining presence of a pathogen derived nucleic acid sequence” (claim 18). SNPs are frequently used in the art to distinguish a particular pathogen from another closely related species, as the method is used in Example 1 of Georgiou and Chakravorty (Chakravorty, 2007; as cited in the IDS dated 10/05/2026).
Second, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “absence of sbLAMP primers”/removal of the forward and backward blocking primers, exactly five primers, that the five primers are hybridizable to the nucleic acid sequence/reverse complement, and a particular level of efficiency) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Indeed, the claims recite “at least five” and “comprising the steps of” and have no negative limitation directed to sbLAMP primers. The claims recite only that “at least one DNA primer comprises a sequence hybridizable to the … nucleic acid sequence and at least one DNA primer comprises a sequence hybridizable to the sequence reverse-complementary”. As the claims as written do not require removal of sbLAMP primers, all arguments directed to that are moot.
Third, respectfully, Georgiou does teach detection of a pre-determined nucleic acid sequence, which may be a pathogen-derived nucleic acid sequence, including from an animal as cited in at least in the 102, including at least claim 9/7/6/1 and pg. 24, para 1-2; pg. 26, para 2. The courts have found that reciting features in the alternative is a literal basis for a negative limitation, as discussed in MPEP 2173.05(i). Further, species are anticipated if they can “at once be envisaged” from the disclosure by the skilled artisan, as discussed in MPEP 2131.02(III). The teachings of Georgiou of “F3 and/or B3” in the above claim and other citations are interpreted to be such a situation. The combined primers of claims 2 and 3 are taught in claim 7 and 1 under the same analysis. The teachings of additional embodiments, including use in the examples, do not negate these teachings.
Fourth, where the Applicant argues efficiency, while not claimed as discussed above, it is also noted that while data is not shown, Georgiou does discuss that detectable amplification has been detected in the absence of one or both F3 and/or B3 and the efficiency of the method lacking one or both of the primers on pg. 22, para 7, spanning pg. 23. See also Gong and Martineau, as cited in the Conclusion, regarding alleged inoperability/unexpected results of amplification in a method without F3.
Fifth, where the Applicant argues unexpected results of the “five-primer system”, the claims are not limited to such a scope. Further, Fig. 2 (as annotated below) appears to show that the 6-primer system has a higher level of fluorescence in a shorter amount of time, starting at approximately 5 minutes, i.e., would be considered the more efficient (if the large enough difference to be is meaningful in a single replicate of a nucleic acid amplification system where early stochastic differences in amplification, particularly in a low copy number system [pg. 7, para 8], are known influence apparent efficiency).
For example, Hardinge (Hardinge P, Murray JAH. Full Dynamic Range Quantification using Loop-mediated Amplification (LAMP) by Combining Analysis of Amplification Timing and Variance between Replicates at Low Copy Number. Sci Rep. 2020 Jan 22;10(1):916; as cited in the IDS dated 10/05/2026) teaches that real-time monitoring of LAMP reactions by at least fluorescence dye binding shows increasing variation between replicates at low copy number due to the LAMP amplification mechanism, and that this effect increases with decreasing copy number and is associated with the amplification frequency (Abstract). Hardinge teaches that the increasing variation is not linked to the use of displacement primers (Abstract).
Further, the teachings of Martineau, as cited in the conclusion below, are noted, especially those discussing omitting F3/B3 for shorter target sequences. The interpretation of the claim limitations, as currently drafted, as encompassing broadly interpreted LAMP primers is respectfully reiterated.
Sixth, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been obvious to combine the high efficiency POC LAMP of Georgiou, wherein one embodiment is without F3, as an alternative to PCR of Young to the highly contagious disease in order to reduce barriers associated with PCR-based tests to better address the testing window time issues taught by Young, wherein it would follow to apply the standard of care treatments based on the diagnosis as taught. There would have been a strong expectation of success as both are directed to nucleic acid amplification tests in animals, and such represents the application of a known method to a known target, wherein Georgiou teaches applying the technique to variety of diseases for which the artisan would similarly be able to develop primers and optimize the test in a predictable manner following the teachings of Georgiou.
Regarding the double patenting rejections, on pg. 19-20, Applicant requests that the rejections over ‘809 and ‘142 be held in abeyance given the provisional nature of the rejection.
As discussed in MPEP 804(I)(B)(1), such rejections are not to be held in abeyance. Thus, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Martineau (US 20170107549 A1; published 04/20/2017; as previously cited) teaches a set of six LAMP primers comprising FIP/BIP, LF/LB [LPF/LPB], and F1S/B1S (para [0094]), wherein the F1S/B1S “swarm” primers overlap an F1 site (Abstract) and therefore would not reasonably be considered outer primers. Martineau teaches embodiments without the use of F3/B3 displacement primers, including experimental data without F3/B3 (para [0017]; para [0069]; Fig. 15), and teaches that this may be especially useful if the targeted sequence is short and cannot accommodate all binding sites (para [0013]).
Martineau also teaches use of one swarm primer (Abstract; claim 1; para [0084]), which may be broadly interpreted to be a “LAMP primer” in a LAMP reaction (e.g., para [0016]).
Gong (CN 103898222 B; published 09/09/2015; cited in the IDS dated 10/05/2026) teaches a detection method of a pathogen (entire document, e.g., para [0002] and claims 2-3) comprising adding Bst polymerase (e.g., claims 1-3; para [0082]); adding the DNA primers four to six of the primers F3, B3, FIP, BIP, LF, and LB (e.g., claims 1-3; para [0068-0069]); incubating at a fixed temperature (claim 2, step 4; claim 2; Example 1); and determining the presence of the target bacterial sequence via a double-stranded elongated DNA sequence using SYBR green (claim 3).
Gong teaches determining the efficiency of the reaction [i.e., optimizing] by leaving out F3, B3, or both F3 and B3 (Fig. 3; para [0068]). Gong teaches that absence of an outer primer has less of an effect on the LAMP reaction [i.e., with their single set of primers tested] than an inner primer (para [0069]). Gong also teaches optimizing the concentration of the ratio of outer primers to inner primers (para [0065]).
Gong teaches the polymerase Bst (para [0082], claim 1), i.e., an RNA- and/or DNA- dependent polymerase with strand-displacement activity.
That is to say, Gong teaches performing a LAMP for the detection of a pathogen with five primers B3, FIP, BIP, LF, and LB using a strand-displacing polymerase.
Hardinge – 2019 (Hardinge P, Murray JAH. Reduced False Positives and Improved Reporting of Loop-Mediated Isothermal Amplification using Quenched Fluorescent Primers. Sci Rep. 2019 May 14;9(1):7400.) teaches labeled FIP and LoopF primers for quantification of LAMP reactions (entire document, e.g., Discussion para 1) and that quenching of a suitable 5’ labelled LAMP primer is an attractive proposition for specific LAMP detection and can be used with an intercalating dye to assess the extent to which false positives may affect a new LAMP primer assay (pg. 10, para 3).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMMA R HOPPE/Examiner, Art Unit 1683
/NANCY J LEITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636