DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/19/26.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “injection mechanism configured for administering a drug formulation from a reservoir through a delivery needle” in claim 1, “an activation mechanism configured to selectively lock the pump or injection mechanism to prevent administration of the drug formulation” in claim 1, “a magnetic or mechanical coupling mechanism for combining a reusable component and a disposable component making up the delivery device” in claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the wording of “a pump or injection mechanism…” is ambiguous as it could be read in multiple ways. It is not clear if a “pump” is an alternative to an “injection mechanism”, if the mechanism could be a pump mechanism or an injection mechanism, or if applicant is using “pump” as a synonym to “injection”.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the delivery device is a single part prefilled injector, a two part prefilled injector, or a three part injector…”. At least the first option is unclear however because claim 1 specifically requires “wherein the delivery device comprises a magnetic or mechanical coupling mechanism for combining a reusable component and a disposable component making up the delivery device”. In other words, it is contradictory for a delivery device to be considered “a single part prefilled injector” as well include a magnetic or mechanical coupling mechanism for combining a reusable component and a disposable component.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the delivery device comprises one or more of a reusable injector component comprising an electronic control module or a disposable component comprising the reservoir containing the drug formulation”, however claim 1 already introduced a reusable component and a disposable component, making claim 4 unclear if the applicant intends to recite an additional reusable component and/or an additional disposable component.
Claim 7 recites “one or more cartridges containing the reservoir”. What the applicant likely intends to say, however, is “one or more cartridges, each cartridge containing a reservoir
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The examiner will assume that the limitations that follow are not required.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the plurality of cartridges" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner notes that a “plurality” is inconsistent with “one or more cartridges” introduced earlier.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The examiner will assume that the limitations that follow are not required.
Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mounce et al. (US 2008/0077081 A1, hereafter “Mounce”).
As to claim 1, Mounce discloses a drug delivery system (10; see Fig. 1) comprising a delivery device (12) comprising:
(a) a pump or injection mechanism (motor 44, lead shaft 42 & associated components for moving the drug) configured for administering a drug formulation from a reservoir (26) through a delivery needle (see Fig. 4, para 0085, 0088); and
(b) an activation mechanism (motor control circuit 52 and/or control electronics 514) configured to selectively lock the pump or injection mechanism to prevent administration of the drug formulation (para 0098, 0214),
wherein the delivery device comprises a magnetic or mechanical coupling mechanism for combining a reusable component (22) and a disposable component (20) making up the delivery device (para 0010-0012, 0068).
As to claim 3, Mounce discloses the drug delivery system of claim 1, wherein the delivery device is a two part prefilled injector (20 and 22 constituting two parts that are releasably attached – see para 0064, 0065, 0187).
As to claim 4, Mounce discloses the drug delivery system of claim 1, wherein the delivery device comprises a disposable component (20) comprising the reservoir (26) containing the drug formulation (para 0073, 0075, 0183).
As to claim 9, Mounce discloses the drug delivery system of claim 1, further comprising a cap assembly (103; see Figs. 33-34), optionally wherein the cap assembly comprises a decontamination sponge (optional limitation considered not required).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mounce in view of Brandt et al. (US 2011/0196337 A1, hereafter “Brandt”).
As to claim 2, Mounce discloses the drug delivery system of claim 1 as described above, but does not expressly recite wherein the activation mechanism is configured to allow setting of a dosage of the drug formulation.
Brandt discloses an activation mechanism (user interface/display), wherein the activation mechanism is configured to allow setting of a dosage of the drug formulation (para 0026, 0055).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mounce (which already teaches that “information (or other information, warnings, etc., associated with the stored information) may be displayed on a display device on the durable housing portion 22” – para 0187) an incorporate a user interface which includes button and/or a display as part of the activation mechanism and configure the activation mechanism to allow setting of a dosage of the drug formulation. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of allowing a user to modify setting of a dose before administration (see para 0026, 0055 of Brandt).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mounce in view of Both et al. (US 2011/0166512 A1, hereafter “Both”).
As to claim 6, Mounce discloses the drug delivery system of claim 1 as described above, but is silent to wherein the delivery device comprises a shield activated trigger for unlocking the delivery device for administration of the drug formulation.
Both discloses a shield activated trigger (24) for unlocking the delivery device for administration of the drug formulation (see Fig. 3 & para 0039, 0042).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mounce to include a shield activated trigger for unlocking the delivery device for administration of the drug formulation. One would have been motivated to do so as a way to prevent activation of the device before it is placed on skin (see Fig. 3 & para 0039, 0042 of Both).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mounce in view of Tamtoro et al. (US 2020/0289740 A1).
As to claims 7-8, Mounce discloses the drug delivery system of claim 1 as described above, but is silent to a tamper resistant package comprising one or more cartridges containing the reservoir (claim 7) and wherein the drug delivery system is configured to cause the tamper resistant package to release a cartridge from the one or more cartridges upon obtaining user authorization, optionally wherein the plurality of cartridges are individually locked prior to obtaining user authorization (claim 8).
Tamtoro discloses a tamper resistant package (302) comprising one or more cartridges containing reservoirs (see Figs. 3, 5, & para 0027, 0065, 0129, 0131, 0156, 0161 teaching storage compartments 310 and a controller 314 that may be used to prevent tampering) and wherein the drug delivery system is configured to cause the tamper resistant package to release a cartridge from the one or more cartridges upon obtaining user authorization (para 0015, 0027, 0065, 0143, 0156, 0161).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mounce to include a tamper resistant package comprising one or more cartridges containing the reservoir (claim 7) and wherein the drug delivery system is configured to cause the tamper resistant package to release a cartridge from the one or more cartridges upon obtaining user authorization (claim 8) based off of Tamtoro. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a secure way of storing cartridges to be used with Mounce (see Figs. 3, 5, & para 0027, 0065, 0129, 0131, 0143, 0156, 0161 of Tamtoro).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mounce in view of James et al. (US 2013/0281962 A1, hereafter “James”).
As to claim 10, Mounce discloses the drug delivery system of claim 1 as described above.
Mounce is silent to a controlled cartridge septum lockout function, optionally wherein the controlled cartridge septum lockout function is configured to open or close an iris to control access to the reservoir.
James discloses a controlled cartridge septum lockout function (“the tear-away feature 206 prevents access to a septum 127 near the distal end of the drug cartridge 200, and therefore the medicament 125, until the tear-away feature 206 is removed or tampered with in some other way” – para 0114).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mounce such that cartridges used by Mounce include a septum (for the motivation of sealing the cartridge unless pierced by a needle), and further to include a controlled cartridge septum lockout function, such as a tear-away feature as taught by James, for the motivation of providing tamper-evident access to the septum/ contents of the cartridge (see para 0014, 0107, 0114 of James).
Conclusion
/James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783