DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to amendment filed on 12/16/2025.
Claims 1, 8, 11, 13, 16 and 18 are amended.
Claims 7 and 12 are canceled.
Claims 1, 8-11, 13, 14, 16, and 18 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/16/2025 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant amended the independent claims 1, 16 and 18. Therefore, a new ground of rejection has been made in view of previously cited prior Huang et al. (US 2019/0342907 A1) and a new prior art Nagata et al. (US 2023/0209569 A1).
Applicant argued on page 2: middle paragraph of the remark, "Applicant respectfully submits that paragraph [0255] of Huang does not disclose or suggest that the default TCI state is determined based on a first TCI state of a plurality of TCI states indicated for a specific CORESET. According to applicant, “Paragraph [0255] discloses that the default TCI state corresponds to a TCI state used for control channel QCL indication for the lowest CORESET ID. However, Huang does not disclose or suggest that a plurality of TCI states are indicated for the above CORESET. Furthermore, Huang does not disclose or suggest that the above-noted TCI stated (used for control channel QCL indication) is a first TCI state of such a plurality of TCI states".
Examiner respectfully agrees with applicant’s arguments. Huang does not disclose in ¶ [0255]; but discloses in ¶ [0252], that a default TCI state (e.g. the first state of the 2{circumflex over ( )}N states used for PDSCH QCL indication) and in ¶ [0218], When TCI states are used for QCL indication, the UE receives an N-bit TCI field in DCI. Here, the default TCI state is a first TCI state of N (i.e. a plurality) TCI states. The new prior art Nagata further discloses that (a default TCI state) of the PDSCH is the TCI state of the lowest CORESET ID in the newest slot in an active DL BWP of the CC (¶ [0042]); The default TCI state of the PDSCH is two TCI states corresponding to a lowest code point among TCI code points including two different TCI states (¶ [0114]); one of the two default TCI states for PDSCH is appropriately determined and the A-CSI-RS received using the determined TCI state is used for measurement (¶ [0168]). Here, the default TCI state is determined based on one TCI state of two TCI states (i.e. a plurality of TCI states). Also the two default TCI states corresponding to a lowest code point. Here, the lowest CORESET ID/ code point is considered as a specific CORESET; therefore, the plurality of TCI states is indicated for a specific CORESET. Accordingly, the combination of Huang and Nagata teaches the limitation in question.
Applicant argued on page 3: middle paragraph of the remark, “Huang does not disclose or suggest:
... receiving, by the terminal from the base station, in a second time unit,
the downlink transmission based on a default TCI state,
wherein, based on there being no TCI codepoint configured with a
plurality of TCI states in an activation command through a medium access
control (MAC) control element (CE), and the downlink transmission being a
physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, or
based on any other downlink signal not being received with the downlink
transmission, and the downlink transmission being an aperiodic channel state
information-reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission:
the default TCI state is determined based on a first TCI state of a plurality of TCI states indicated for a specific CORESET”.
Examiner respectfully agrees with applicant’s remarks. The above mentioned limitations are taught by the new prior art Nagata et al. (US 2023/0209569 A1) (please see the rejection section). Therefore, the argument is moot.
Applicant argued on page 3: last paragraph to Page. 4 of the remark, “Matsumura does not disclose or suggest the above features.
Examiner respectfully agrees with applicant’s remarks. As mentioned above the limitations are taught by the new prior art Nagata; therefore, the argument is moot.
Applicant argued on page 5 of the remark, “independent claim 1 is patentable over Huang in view of Matsumura. As amended, independent claims 16 and 18 recite features similar to the noted features of independent claim 1. For reasons similar to reasons set forth with respect to independent claim 1, it is respectfully submitted that independent claims 16 and 18 are patentable over Huang in view of Matsumura”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remarks. As mentioned above combination of Huang and Nagata teaches all the limitations of the currently amendment independent claims 1, 16 and 18; therefore, applicant’s argument is not appropriate.
Applicant argued on page 5: of the remark, regarding dependent claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument. Since, the combination of combination of Huang and Nagata teaches all the limitations of the currently amended independent claims 1, 16 and 18. Therefore, the dependent claims 8-11, 13 and 14 are not patentable by virtue of their dependency from the independent claims.
Finally examiner would like to cite a new reference YU et al. (US 2023/0106244 A1), that teaches that a default TCI state is the first (or last) TCI state among the multiple active TCI states; the TCI state with lowest (or highest) TCI-State Id among the multiple active TCI states (¶ [0103] – ¶ [0105]).
Examiner respectfully disagrees with all the arguments filed by the applicant. All arguments and remarks are replied in detail in the rejection section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 – 11, 13 – 14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (Huang hereinafter referred to Huang) (US 2019/0342907 A1) (cited in IDS) in view of Nagata et al. (Nagata hereinafter referred to Nagata) (US 2023/0209569 A1).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a method (Title, METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR DOWNLINK CONTROL INFORMATION (DCI) CONTENT PROCESSING CONSIDERING ACTIVE DOWNLINK (DL) BANDWIDTH PART (BWP) CHANGE IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM) comprising:
receiving, by a terminal from a base station, at least one of first configuration information related to at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configured for at least one TCI codepoint ([0436], UE receives an activation command used to map up to 8 TCI states to the codepoints of the DCI field Transmission Configuration Indication; Here, the UE receives an activation command (i.e. a configuration information) to map 8 TCI states to the codepoints; therefore, it receives a first configuration information related to at least one TCI state configured for at least one TCI codepoint) or second configuration information related to at least one TCI state configured for at least one control resource set (CORESET) ([0249], K TCI states are configured per CORESET; [0448], UE uses the TCI state/spatial parameter/beam for receiving the CORESET; [0450], a DCI based on configuration of scheduling CORESET. Here, the TCI state is configured for at least one CORESET and the UE uses it; therefore, UE receives second configuration information related to at least one TCI state configured for at least one CORESET);
receiving, by a terminal from the base station, in a first time unit, downlink control information (DCI) ([0475], The UE is configured or indicated a time window; the time window starts at a time unit when the UE receives the DCI. Therefore, the UE receives DCI in a first time unit); and
receiving, by a terminal from the base station, in a second time unit, a downlink transmission ([0288], time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH. Here, PDSCH is considered as a downlink transmission. Since, a time offset presents between the DCI and the PDSCH; therefore, it is obvious that the UE receives the PDSCH/ downlink transmission in a second time unit) based on a default TCI state ([0252], When the scheduling offset is <=k, the PDSCH uses QCL assumption that is based on a default TCI state. Here, the PDSCH/ downlink transmission is based on a default TCI state),
the default TCI state ([0255], The default TCI state corresponds to the TCI state used for control channel QCL indication for the lowest CORESET ID in that slot) is determined based on a first TCI state of a plurality of TCI states ([0252], a default TCI state (e.g. the first state of the 2{circumflex over ( )}N states used for PDSCH QCL indication); [0218], When TCI states are used for QCL indication, the UE receives an N-bit TCI field in DCI. Here, the default TCI state is a first TCI state of N (i.e. a plurality)TCI states).
Huang does not specifically teach
wherein, based on there being no TCI codepoint configured with a plurality of TCI states in an activation command through a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and the downlink transmission being a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, or
based on any other downlink signal not being received with the downlink transmission, and the downlink transmission being an aperiodic channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission:
the default TCI state is determined based on a TCI state of a plurality of TCI states indicated for a specific CORESET.
However, Nagata teaches (Title, TERMINAL, RADIO COMMUNICATION METHOD, AND BASE STATION):
receiving, by a terminal from the base station, a downlink transmission based on a default TCI state ([0168], one of the two default TCI states for PDSCH is appropriately determined and the A-CSI-RS received using the determined TCI state. Here, A-CSI-RS is considered as a received downlink transmission based on a default TCI state),
wherein, based on there being no TCI codepoint configured with a plurality of TCI states in an activation command through a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and the downlink transmission being a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, or (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only)
based on any other downlink signal not being received with the downlink transmission, and the downlink transmission being an aperiodic channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission ([0233], When there is no downlink signal having the indicated TCI state in the same symbol as the aperiodic channel state information reference signal (A-CSI-RS), the transmitting/receiving section receives the A-CSI-RS using two default TCI states for PDSCH. Here, the A-CSI-RS is the downlink transmission and no other downlink signal is received with the A-CSI-RS):
the default TCI state is determined ([0233], The control section uses, based on at least one of capability information and a PDCCH for triggering of the A-CSI-RS, one default TCI state of the two default TCI states for measurement of the A-CSI-RS) based on a TCI state of a plurality of TCI states indicated for a specific CORESET ([0042], (a default TCI state) of the PDSCH is the TCI state of the lowest CORESET ID in the newest slot in an active DL BWP of the CC; [0114], The default TCI state of the PDSCH is two TCI states corresponding to a lowest code point among TCI code points including two different TCI states; [0168], one of the two default TCI states for PDSCH is appropriately determined and the A-CSI-RS received using the determined TCI state is used for measurement. Here, the default TCI state is determined based on a TCI state of two TCI states (i.e. a plurality of TCI states) indicated for a lowest CORESET ID (i.e. specific CORESET)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Nagata. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems, in which an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (A-CSI-RS) can be appropriately measured using a default transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (Nagata, Abstract and [0010]).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 8, combination of Huang and Nagata teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches wherein:
the specific CORESET is a CORESET having a lowest CORESET identifier in a latest time unit ([0291], to determine the “lowest CORESET-ID” for determining default spatial QCL assumption for PDSCH, only consider CORESETs in active BWP; [0436], indication of the lowest CORESET-ID in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs are configured for the UE. Here, the specific CORESET is a CORESET having a lowest CORESET identifier in a latest slot/ time unit).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 9, combination of Huang and Nagata teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches
an offset between the first time unit and the second time unit ([0288], time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH).
Huang does not specifically teach
an offset between the first time unit and the second time unit is less than a predetermined time threshold.
However, Nagata teaches
wherein: an offset between the first time unit and the second time unit is less than a predetermined time threshold ([0042], time offset between the reception of DL DCI (DCI that schedules a PDSCH) and the corresponding PDSCH (the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI) is smaller than a threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Huang and Nagata as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of Nagata. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems, in which an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (A-CSI-RS) can be appropriately measured using a default transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (Nagata, Abstract and [0010]).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 10, combination of Huang and Nagata teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
Huang does not specifically teach wherein:
based on the downlink transmission being the PDSCH transmission, the predetermined time threshold is a timeDurationForQCL parameter, or
based on the downlink transmission being the aperiodic CSI-RS transmission, the predetermined time threshold is a beamSwitchTiming parameter.
However, Nagata teaches wherein:
based on the downlink transmission being the PDSCH transmission, the predetermined time threshold is a timeDurationForQCL parameter ([0042], the time offset between the reception of DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is smaller than a threshold (time Duration For QCL)), or
based on the downlink transmission being the aperiodic CSI-RS transmission, the predetermined time threshold is a beamSwitchTiming parameter ([0102], an A-CSI-RS scheduled with an offset equal to or larger than the beam switching timing threshold in the case in which the beam switching timing threshold; [0105] For a scheduling offset between a last symbol of a PDCCH carrying triggering DCI (DCI that triggers an A-CSI-RS) and a first symbol of the A-CSI-RS, a beam switching timing threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Huang and Nagata as mentioned in claim 9 and further incorporate the teaching of Nagata. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems, in which an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (A-CSI-RS) can be appropriately measured using a default transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (Nagata, Abstract and [0010]).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 11, combination of Huang and Nagata teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches
wherein: the terminal is configured to perform or has a capability of performing a reception of the DCI through a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0049], UE uses TCI that conforms with a value of a TCI field in a detected PDCCH having DCI; [0062], a PDCCH carrying the DCI) based on a plurality of TCI states ([0096], as to a PDCCH or a PDSCH, a plurality of TCI states are configured to the UE) in a single time unit ([0475], The UE is configured or indicated a time window; the time window starts at a time unit when the UE receives the DCI. Here, the reception of the DCI through the PDCCH is based on a plurality of TCI states in a single time unit).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 13, combination of Huang and Nagata teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Huang further teaches
wherein: the TCI state includes parameters for configuring a quasi co-location (QCL) ([0196] A UE is RRC configured with a list of up to M candidate Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states at least for the purposes of QCL indication) relationship between at least one downlink reference signal (RS) and at least one demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH ([0218] When TCI states are used for QCL indication, the UE receives an N-bit TCI field in DCI; [0219] The UE assumes that the PDSCH DMRS is QCL with the DL RS(s) in the RS Set corresponding to the signaled TCI state; [210], more than one DMRS port group and more than one RS Set per TCI state) or at least one CSI-RS port (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim, examiner did not address all limitations).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 14, combination of Huang and Nagata teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Huang does not specifically teach
wherein: the time unit is a slot or a symbol defined based on a subcarrier spacing.
However, Nagata teaches
wherein: the time unit is a slot ([0256], a slot may be a time unit based on numerology) or a symbol defined based on a subcarrier spacing ([0258], A radio frame, a subframe, a slot, a mini-slot, and a symbol all express time units in signal communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Huang and Nagata as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of Nagata. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems, in which an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (A-CSI-RS) can be appropriately measured using a default transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (Nagata, Abstract and [0010]).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 16, Huang teaches a terminal for receiving a downlink transmission from a base station in a wireless communication system (Title, METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR DOWNLINK CONTROL INFORMATION (DCI) CONTENT PROCESSING CONSIDERING ACTIVE DOWNLINK (DL) BANDWIDTH PART (BWP) CHANGE IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM), the terminal (Fig.3 and [0030], communication device 300 in a wireless communication system is utilized for realizing the UE) comprising:
at least one transceiver (Fig.3 and [0030], transceiver 314); and
at least one processor (Fig.3 and [0030], control circuit 306) connected to the at least one transceiver (Fig.3, Control circuit is connected to the transceiver),
wherein the at least one processor is configured (Fig.3 and [0030], The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300) to:
receive, from a base station through the at least one transceiver (Fig.3 and [0030], transceiver 314 is used to receive and transmit wireless signals), at least one of first configuration information related to at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configured for at least one TCI codepoint ([0436], UE receives an activation command used to map up to 8 TCI states to the codepoints of the DCI field Transmission Configuration Indication; Here, the UE receives an activation command (i.e. a configuration information) to map 8 TCI states to the codepoints; therefore, it receives a first configuration information related to at least one TCI state configured for at least one TCI codepoint) or second configuration information related to at least one TCI state configured for at least one control resource set (CORESET) ([0249], K TCI states are configured per CORESET; [0448], UE uses the TCI state/spatial parameter/beam for receiving the CORESET; [0450], a DCI based on configuration of scheduling CORESET. Here, the TCI state is configured for at least one CORESET and the UE uses it; therefore, UE receives second configuration information related to at least one TCI state configured for at least one CORESET);
receive, from the base station through the at least one transceiver (Fig.3 and [0030], transceiver 314 is used to receive and transmit wireless signals), in a first time unit, downlink control information (DCI) ([0475], The UE is configured or indicated a time window; the time window starts at a time unit when the UE receives the DCI. Therefore, the UE receives DCI in a first time unit); and
receive, from the base station through the at least one transceiver (Fig.3 and [0030], transceiver 314 is used to receive and transmit wireless signals), in a second time unit, a downlink transmission ([0288], time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH. Here, PDSCH is considered as a downlink transmission. Since, a time offset presents between the DCI and the PDSCH; therefore, it is obvious that the UE receives the PDSCH/ downlink transmission in a second time unit) based on a default TCI state ([0252], When the scheduling offset is <=k, the PDSCH uses QCL assumption that is based on a default TCI state. Here, the PDSCH/ downlink transmission is based on a default TCI state),
the default TCI state ([0255], The default TCI state corresponds to the TCI state used for control channel QCL indication for the lowest CORESET ID in that slot) is determined based on a first TCI state of a plurality of TCI states ([0252], a default TCI state (e.g. the first state of the 2{circumflex over ( )}N states used for PDSCH QCL indication); [0218], When TCI states are used for QCL indication, the UE receives an N-bit TCI field in DCI. Here, the default TCI state is a first TCI state of N (i.e. a plurality)TCI states).
Huang does not specifically teach
wherein, based on there being no TCI codepoint configured with a plurality of TCI states in an activation command through a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and the downlink transmission being a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, or
based on any other downlink signal not being received with the downlink transmission, and the downlink transmission being an aperiodic channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission:
the default TCI state is determined based on a TCI state of a plurality of TCI states indicated for a specific CORESET.
However, Nagata teaches (Title, TERMINAL, RADIO COMMUNICATION METHOD, AND BASE STATION):
Receive, from the base station, a downlink transmission based on a default TCI state ([0168], one of the two default TCI states for PDSCH is appropriately determined and the A-CSI-RS received using the determined TCI state. Here, A-CSI-RS is considered as a received downlink transmission based on a default TCI state),
wherein, based on there being no TCI codepoint configured with a plurality of TCI states in an activation command through a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and the downlink transmission being a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, or (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only)
based on any other downlink signal not being received with the downlink transmission, and the downlink transmission being an aperiodic channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission ([0233], When there is no downlink signal having the indicated TCI state in the same symbol as the aperiodic channel state information reference signal (A-CSI-RS), the transmitting/receiving section receives the A-CSI-RS using two default TCI states for PDSCH. Here, the A-CSI-RS is the downlink transmission and no other downlink signal is received with the A-CSI-RS):
the default TCI state is determined ([0233], The control section uses, based on at least one of capability information and a PDCCH for triggering of the A-CSI-RS, one default TCI state of the two default TCI states for measurement of the A-CSI-RS) based on a TCI state of a plurality of TCI states indicated for a specific CORESET ([0042], (a default TCI state) of the PDSCH is the TCI state of the lowest CORESET ID in the newest slot in an active DL BWP of the CC (of a specific UL signal); [0114], The default TCI state of the PDSCH is two TCI states corresponding to a lowest code point among TCI code points including two different TCI states; [0168], one of the two default TCI states for PDSCH is appropriately determined and the A-CSI-RS received using the determined TCI state is used for measurement. Here, the default TCI state is determined based on a TCI state of two TCI states (i.e. a plurality of TCI states) indicated for a lowest CORESET ID (i.e. specific CORESET)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Nagata. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems, in which an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (A-CSI-RS) can be appropriately measured using a default transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (Nagata, Abstract and [0010]).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 18, Huang teaches a base station for performing a downlink transmission in a wireless communication system (Title, METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR DOWNLINK CONTROL INFORMATION (DCI) CONTENT PROCESSING CONSIDERING ACTIVE DOWNLINK (DL) BANDWIDTH PART (BWP) CHANGE IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM), the base station (Fig.3 and [0030], communication device 300 in a wireless communication system is utilized for realizing base station 100 in FIG. 1) comprising:
at least one transceiver (Fig.3 and [0030], transceiver 314); and
at least one processor (Fig.3 and [0030], control circuit 306) connected to the at least one transceiver (Fig.3, Control circuit is connected to the transceiver),
wherein the at least one processor is configured (Fig.3 and [0030], The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300) to:
transmit, to a terminal through the at least one transceiver (Fig.3 and [0030], transceiver 314 is used to receive and transmit wireless signals), at least one of first configuration information related to at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configured for at least one TCI codepoint ([0436], UE receives an activation command used to map up to 8 TCI states to the codepoints of the DCI field Transmission Configuration Indication; Here, the UE receives an activation command (i.e. a configuration information) to map 8 TCI states to the codepoints; therefore, it receives a first configuration information related to at least one TCI state configured for at least one TCI codepoint) or second configuration information related to at least one TCI state configured for at least one control resource set (CORESET) ([0249], K TCI states are configured per CORESET; [0448], UE uses the TCI state/spatial parameter/beam for receiving the CORESET; [0450], a DCI based on configuration of scheduling CORESET. Here, the TCI state is configured for at least one CORESET and the UE uses it; therefore, UE receives second configuration information related to at least one TCI state configured for at least one CORESET);
transmit, to a terminal through the at least one transceiver (Fig.3 and [0030], transceiver 314 is used to receive and transmit wireless signals), in a first time unit, downlink control information (DCI) ([0475], The UE is configured or indicated a time window; the time window starts at a time unit when the UE receives the DCI. Therefore, the UE receives DCI in a first time unit); and
transmit, to a terminal through the at least one transceiver (Fig.3 and [0030], transceiver 314 is used to receive and transmit wireless signals), in a second time unit, a downlink transmission ([0288], time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH. Here, PDSCH is considered as a downlink transmission. Since, a time offset presents between the DCI and the PDSCH; therefore, it is obvious that the UE receives the PDSCH/ downlink transmission in a second time unit) based on a default TCI state ([0252], When the scheduling offset is <=k, the PDSCH uses QCL assumption that is based on a default TCI state. Here, the PDSCH/ downlink transmission is based on a default TCI state),
the default TCI state ([0255], The default TCI state corresponds to the TCI state used for control channel QCL indication for the lowest CORESET ID in that slot) is determined based on a first TCI state of a plurality of TCI states ([0252], a default TCI state (e.g. the first state of the 2{circumflex over ( )}N states used for PDSCH QCL indication); [0218], When TCI states are used for QCL indication, the UE receives an N-bit TCI field in DCI. Here, the default TCI state is a first TCI state of N (i.e. a plurality)TCI states).
Huang does not specifically teach
wherein, based on there being no TCI codepoint configured with a plurality of TCI states in an activation command through a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and the downlink transmission being a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, or
based on any other downlink signal not being received with the downlink transmission, and the downlink transmission being an aperiodic channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission:
the default TCI state is determined based on a TCI state of a plurality of TCI states indicated for a specific CORESET.
However, Nagata teaches (Title, TERMINAL, RADIO COMMUNICATION METHOD, AND BASE STATION):
transmit, a downlink transmission based on a default TCI state ([0168], one of the two default TCI states for PDSCH is appropriately determined and the A-CSI-RS received using the determined TCI state. Here, A-CSI-RS is considered as a received downlink transmission based on a default TCI state),
wherein, based on there being no TCI codepoint configured with a plurality of TCI states in an activation command through a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and the downlink transmission being a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, or (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only)
based on any other downlink signal not being received with the downlink transmission, and the downlink transmission being an aperiodic channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission ([0233], When there is no downlink signal having the indicated TCI state in the same symbol as the aperiodic channel state information reference signal (A-CSI-RS), the transmitting/receiving section receives the A-CSI-RS using two default TCI states for PDSCH. Here, the A-CSI-RS is the downlink transmission and no other downlink signal is received with the A-CSI-RS):
the default TCI state is determined ([0233], The control section uses, based on at least one of capability information and a PDCCH for triggering of the A-CSI-RS, one default TCI state of the two default TCI states for measurement of the A-CSI-RS) based on a TCI state of a plurality of TCI states indicated for a specific CORESET ([0042], (a default TCI state) of the PDSCH is the TCI state of the lowest CORESET ID in the newest slot in an active DL BWP of the CC (of a specific UL signal); [0114], The default TCI state of the PDSCH is two TCI states corresponding to a lowest code point among TCI code points including two different TCI states; [0168], one of the two default TCI states for PDSCH is appropriately determined and the A-CSI-RS received using the determined TCI state is used for measurement. Here, the default TCI state is determined based on a TCI state of two TCI states (i.e. a plurality of TCI states) indicated for a lowest CORESET ID (i.e. specific CORESET)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Nagata. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems, in which an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (A-CSI-RS) can be appropriately measured using a default transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (Nagata, Abstract and [0010]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474