DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,613,826. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the pending application and U.S. Patent No. 11,613,826 teach synthetic single crystal diamond containing nitrogen atoms at a concentration of more than 600 ppm and 1500 ppm or less, the Raman shift λ′ (cm.sup.−1) of a peak in a primary Raman scattering spectrum of the synthetic single crystal diamond and the Raman shift λ(cm.sup.−1) of a peak in a primary Raman scattering spectrum of a synthetic type IIa single crystal diamond containing nitrogen atoms at a content of 1 ppm or less satisfying the following expression (1): λ′−λ≥−0.10. U.S. Patent No. 11,613,826 does not specify aggregates each composed of one vacancy and three substitutional nitrogen atoms present adjacent to the vacancy. It is clear the single crystal diamond taught by U.S. Patent No. 11,613,826 would necessarily produce aggregates each composed of one vacancy and three substitutional nitrogen atoms present adjacent to the vacancy because the diamond satisfies the claimed equation for Raman shift.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumiya et al. (WO2019077844A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sumiya et al. teaches synthetic a single crystal diamond according to an aspect of the present disclosure is a synthetic single crystal diamond containing nitrogen atoms at a concentration of more than 600 ppm and at most 1,500 ppm which is encompassed by synthetic single crystal diamond containing nitrogen atoms at a concentration of 100 ppm or more and 1500 ppm or less based on atom numbers (lines 70-75). Sumiya et al. teaches λ′−λ ≧ −0.10 When the equation (1) (λ′−λ) satisfies the relationship of the above equation (1), the amount of isolated substitutional nitrogen atoms in the synthetic single crystal diamond is sufficiently reduced which meets the limitation of wherein a Raman shift X' cm-1 of a peak in a first-order Raman scattering spectrum of the synthetic single crystal diamond and a Raman shift X cm-1 of a peak in a first-order Raman scattering spectrum of a synthetic type Ila single crystal diamond containing nitrogen atoms at a concentration of 1 ppm or less based on atom numbers show a relationship of the following formula 1,X'-X> 0.26 Formula 1 (lines 180-215). Sumiya et al. teaches aggregation type diamonds, vacancy and substitutional atoms (lines 130-190). Sumiya et al. does not specify aggregates each composed of one vacancy and three substitutional nitrogen atoms present adjacent to the vacancy. It is clear the single crystal diamond taught by Sumiya et al. would necessarily produce aggregates each composed of one vacancy and three substitutional nitrogen atoms present adjacent to the vacancy because the diamond satisfies the claimed equation for Raman shift.
Regarding claim 2, Sumiya et al. does not teach in a fluorescent spectrum of the synthetic single crystal diamond, a luminescence peak is present in one or both of the fluorescence wavelength range of 415±2 nm and the fluorescence wavelength range of 420 nm or more and 470 nm or less. It is clear the single crystal diamond taught by Sumiya et al. would necessarily produce in a fluorescent spectrum of the synthetic single crystal diamond, a luminescence peak is present in one or both of the fluorescence wavelength range of 415±2 nm and the fluorescence wavelength range of 420 nm or more and 470 nm or less because the diamond satisfies the claimed equation for Raman shift.
Regarding claim 3, Sumiya et al. does not teach wherein, in an infrared absorption spectrum of the synthetic single crystal diamond, an absorption peak is present in the wave number range of 1370 cm-1 or more and 1385 cm-1 or less. It is clear the single crystal diamond taught by Sumiya et al. would necessarily produce an infrared absorption spectrum of the synthetic single crystal diamond, an absorption peak is present in the wave number range of 1370 cm-1 or more and 1385 cm-1 or less.
because the diamond satisfies the claimed equation for Raman shift.
Regarding claim 4, Sumiya et al teaches wherein the synthetic single crystal diamond has a Knoop hardness of 100 GPa or more in a <100> direction in a {001} plane (lines 235-250).
Regarding claim 5, Sumiya et al teaches wherein the synthetic single crystal diamond has a cracking load of 15 N or more in a breaking strength test in which a spherical diamond indenter having a tip radius of 50 m is pressed against a surface of the synthetic single crystal diamond at a loading speed of 100 N/min (lines 210-235).
Conclusion
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 04/18/2026