DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are pending.
Claims 6 and 9 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/13/2025, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. In response to Applicant’s arguments it can be noted that the Oldani reference is applied to provide teachings of multiple controllers communicating among each other and sharing a common memory. The Linnell reference is applied to provide teachings of multiple machines sharing common tools. In other words, the common memory is taught by Oldani.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-8,954,180, Oldani (hereinafter Oldani) in view of US-2005/0174086, Iwashita (hereinafter Iwashita).
Regarding claims 1-5, the combination of Oldani and Iwashita teaches all the limitations of the base claim(s), as outlined below.
Regarding claim 1, Oldani teaches a controller (C6 L55-62 - - controller 158) configured to control a tool (Fig 2 and C6 L55-62 - - heads 120, 124, 126) having a memory (Fig 2 and C6 L55-62 - - heads 120, 124, 126 comprise memories associate with controllers 150, 154, 156) detachably attached to a machine (Fig 2 and C6 L55-62 - - detachably attached to horizontal gantry 114 and vertical ram 116. Wherein the horizontal gantry 114 and vertical ram 116 are considered as a machine), the controller comprising: a tool information reading section configured to read at least one of tool setting information and tool condition information written to the memory of the tool (C6-C8 - - controller 158 enables bi-directional communication), and a tool setting section configured to set the tool based on at least one of the read tool setting information and the read tool condition information (C6-C8 - - controller 158 enables bi-directional communication), wherein the tool is driven by a motor (C2 L30-39 and C4 L10-26 - - implicitly disclosed – performing a CNC machining process with the tool); wherein the controller comprises a tool exchange time determining section configured to determine an exchange time of the tool based on the tool condition information (C6-C8 - - exchanged by controller 158. Wherein controller 158 enables bi-directional communication. The controllers implement control logic and parameters such as federate and speed).
Oldani fails to clearly specify the memory attached to the encoder.
However, Iwashita teaches a memory attached to an encoder (Para 0019 and Para 0046- - an encoder provided in a controller/memory).
The applied prior art is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they relate to same field of endeavor. They relate to machine controllers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above interchangeable machine tool control system, as taught by Oldani and incorporating the concept of reconfigurable encoders, as taught by Iwashita.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to simplify the system by reducing components and enabling hardware resources to be used efficiently, as suggested by Iwashita (Para 0019).
Regarding dependent claims 2-5 the combination of Oldani and Iwashita teaches all the limitations of the base claims, as outlined above. Oldani further teaches:
Claim 2. The controller according to claim 1, further comprising a tool information updating section configured to update the tool condition information (C6-C8 - - updated by controller 158. Wherein controller 158 enables bi-directional communication).
Claim 3. The controller according to claim 1, further comprising a tool information writing section configured to write at least one of the tool setting information and the tool condition information to the memory of the tool (C6-C8 - - written by controller 158. Wherein controller 158 enables bi-directional communication).
Claim 4. The controller according to claim 3, wherein the tool information writing section writes the tool condition information when the tool is operated or stopped (C6-C8 - - written by controller 158. Wherein controller 158 enables bi-directional communication).
Claim 5. The controller according to claim1, wherein the tool information reading section reads the tool setting information when the tool is connected or used (C6-C8 - - read by controller 158. Wherein controller 158 enables bi-directional communication).
Claims 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-8,954,180, Oldani (hereinafter Oldani) in view of Linnell et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0336269 (hereinafter Linnell).
Regarding claim 7, Oldani teaches a control system comprising: a first controller (Fig 2 and C6 L55-62 - - controllers 150, 154, 156) configured to control a tool (Fig 2 and C6 L55-62 - - heads 120, 124, 126) having a memory (Fig 2 and C6 L55-62 - - heads 120, 124, 126 comprise memories associate with controllers 150, 154, 156) detachably attached to a first machine (Fig 2 and C6 L55-62 - - detachably attached to horizontal gantry 114 and vertical ram 116. Wherein the horizontal gantry 114 and vertical ram 116 are considered as a machine); and a second controller (C6 L55-62 - - controller 158) configured to control the tool (Fig 2 and C6 L55-62 - - heads 120, 124, 126) detachably attached to a machine (Fig 2 and C6 L55-62 - - detachably attached to horizontal gantry 114 and vertical ram 116. Wherein the horizontal gantry 114 and vertical ram 116 are considered as a machine), wherein the first controller writes at least one of tool setting information and tool condition information to the memory of the tool (Fig 2 and C6 L55-62 - - controllers 150, 154, 156 enable bidirectional communication), and the second controller reads from the memory at least one of the tool setting information and the tool condition information written to the memory (C6-C8 - - wherein controller 158 enables bi-directional communication. It can be noted there is bi-directional communication between the first and second controller and associated memory).
Oldani fails to clearly specify a second machine.
However, Linnell teaches a second machine sharing common tools (Fig 3B and Para 0068-0069).
The applied prior art is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they relate to same field of endeavor. They relate to machine controllers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above interchangeable machine tool control system, as taught by Oldani and incorporating a configuration wherein multiple machines share common tools, as taught by Linnell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce processing time by allowing parallel operations, as suggested by Linnell (Para 0004).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Oldani and Linnell teaches all the claimed limitations of the base claim, as outlined above. Oldani further teaches the control system according to claim 7, wherein the second controller sets the tool based on the read tool setting information, or updates the tool condition information, or writes at least one of the tool setting information and the tool condition information (C6-C8 - - wherein controller 158 enables bi-directional communication).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Glasgow et al., US Patent No. 7,116,071 – relate to power tool and motor controller.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLOS R ORTIZ RODRIGUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119