DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haq et al. (US 2016/0284449) in view of Kergosien et al. (US 2011/0117174).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 12, Haq discloses standalone part, i.e. adhesive based joint, (20, fig. 1, 0048) comprising a first substrate, i.e. first adherend, (22, fig 1, 0057), second substrate, i.e. second adherend, (24, fig 1, 0057) and an adhesive layer located between the adherends (10, fig 1, 0048, 0054), wherein the first and second adherends are made of composite material (0058), wherein plural strip parts such as metal 14B is embedded into the adhesive layer and spaced apart from each other the first and second adherends (14B, fig 1, 0048, 0052). Haq does not disclose the strips are a low adhesive material that has an adhesion with the adhesive layer lower than an adhesion between the first or second adherend and the adhesive layer.
Kergosien discloses adhesive article comprising adhesive (title) wherein the adhesive comprises equivalent and interchangeability of metal and PTFE particles to obtain relief effect properties (0164-0167).
Given that Kergosien discloses the equivalence and interchangeability of using PTFE particles as presently claimed with using metal particles as disclosed by Haq, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use PTFE particles in the adhesive of Haq to obtain relief effect properties. Further, given that Haq in view of Kergosien discloses the same plural strip material and composite material as disclosed and claimed in the present specification and claims, it is clear that the PTFE strips of Haq in view of Kergosien would inherently have an adhesion with the adhesive layer lower than an adhesion between the first or second adherend and the adhesive layer.
Regarding claim 2, Haq in view of Kergosien discloses the adhesive based joint of claim 1 wherein the plural parts are located in a middle plane of the adhesive layer, wherein the middle plane extends parallel to the first and second adherends (fig. 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Haq in view of Kergosien discloses the adhesive based joint of claim 1 wherein Haq discloses that mechanical properties are depended on shape and size of particles (0048). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to keep the gap between strips and the size of the strips in the adhesive of Haq in view of Kergosien including that present claimed to obtain desired mechanical properties.
Regarding claim 5, Haq in view of Kergosien discloses the adhesive based joint of claim 4 wherein distance between two adherends is up to 100 microns (0060) and therefore it is clear that the thickness of the adhesive is up to 100 microns (fig. 1).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 11, Haq in view of Kergosien discloses the adhesive based joint of claim 1, wherein given that Haq in view of Kergosien discloses the same structure as claimed in present claims, including the same first and second adherend materials and the same PTFE strip materials, it is clear that the joint of Haq in view of Kergosien would intrinsically possess the same properties as claimed in in present claims.
Regarding claim 10, Haq in view of Kergosien discloses the adhesive based joint of claim 1, wherein the plural strip parts are distributed above and below a mid-plane of the adhesive layer (fig. 1). Given that present claim is not restricting the strips to be in other part of the adhesive, Haq in view of Kergosien meets the claimed limitation of alternatively distributed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to present claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787