CTFR 18/009,892 CTFR 87785 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments 07-38-01 AIA Applicant’s arguments, see page 7 , filed 01/23/2026 , with respect to claims 3 and 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 3 and 10 has been withdrawn. 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 01/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1 , applicant argues that “The cited art, individually or in combination, as referenced, does not disclose or teach all of the features of independent claim 1, particularly with respect to at least the following features: " Feature A: "determining a number N of resource units and corresponding N resource units, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1"; and " Feature B: "acquiring M data blocks to be transmitted, M is an integer greater than or equal to 1, wherein each data block of the M data blocks comprises information for indicating the number N of resource units and a position of at least one of the N resource units; and transmitting the M data blocks on the N resource units." For Feature I, the Office Action cites to Liu's abstract, as well as paragraphs 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, and 301. Specifically, the Office Action points to Liu's disclosure of determining a quantity of d data blocks in N data blocks. Applicant respectfully disagrees that Liu discloses this feature. Paragraph 7 of Liu describes "encoding N data blocks in a first encoding manner to generate M encoding blocks", "one of the M encoded blocks is an encoded block obtained by encoding the d data blocks among the N data blocks", and "transmitting a first encoded block group, the first encoded block group comprising the M encoded blocks." Liu discloses the N data blocks and the M encoding blocks which are generated by encoding the N data blocks, where one of the M encoded blocks is an encoded block obtained by encoding the d data blocks among the N data blocks, and the M encoding blocks are the final data that will be sent. In other words, Liu only discloses the determination of the data blocks-but is silent on a resource unit which is used for transmitting the data blocks. Applicant reviews the entire description of Liu and finds that paragraph 49 discloses that "the sending node and the receiving node can use the downlink control information (DCI) carried on the multicast PDCCH to send physical resource block PRB, time domain resources, modulation and demodulation strategy MCS, mapping mode, and physical resource block binding size." Liu merely discloses that the resource blocks of Liu are sent through DCI carried on PDCCH, but does not disclose the determination of the number of the DCI. In contrast, in combination with Feature II of claim 1, Feature I defines not only the determination of resource units used for transmitting the data blocks but also the determination of the number of resource units. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Liu fails to teach the Feature I. As for Feature II, the Office Action suggests that paragraphs 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, and 301 of Liu disclose Feature II. Specifically, the Office Action states that Liu discloses acquiring the M code blocks to be transmitted and transmitting the M code blocks on the N data blocks, where each code block of the M code blocks comprises information for indicating the quantity of d data blocks and a position of at least one of the N data blocks (a first parameter). The foregoing disclosure in Liu corresponds to Feature II. Applicant respectfully disagrees. Liu discloses on paragraphs 7 and 9 that "a first parameter in the first encoding method is used to determine d data blocks among the N data blocks, the first parameter is related to the number of transmissions of the N data blocks", "M code blocks are generated by encoding N data blocks by using the first coding mode, where different transmission times of the N data blocks or different time slot numbers corresponding to the transmission of N data blocks, the first parameter can be different." Liu merely discloses the determination and transmission of the M code blocks, the M code blocks are generated from the N data blocks, and the first parameter is used to encode the N data blocks. That is to say, the N data blocks are not resource units which are used for transmitting the M code blocks, and the first parameter is not used to indicate the location or the number of resource units for transmitting the M data blocks. Furthermore, Liu discloses on paragraph 51 that "In the system, resources (including uplink resources or downlink resources) are allocated or designated once through the PDCCH, and then the same physical resources can be periodically reused." In combination with the above argument, Applicant believes that Liu merely mentioned DCI but is silent on the code block including information for indicating the number of DCI and a position of DCI. In contrast, Feature II defines that each data block of the M data blocks comprises information for indicating the number N of resource units and a position of at least one of the N resource units, and transmitting the M data blocks on the N resource units. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Liu fails to teach or suggest Feature II of claim 1. In view of at least the foregoing, the cited art, individually or in combination, as referenced, does not disclose or teach all of the features of claim 1, which is believed to be in condition for allowance. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection are respectfully requested” in pages 8-10. In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the location or the number of resource units for transmitting the M data blocks ) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). The claim merely recites “transmitting the M data blocks on the N resource units”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns , 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Liu discloses determining a number N of resource units and corresponding N resource units, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 [see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, 301; determining a quantity of d data blocks in N data blocks (resource units), wherein N is an integer greater than 1, d is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and d is less than or equal to N]; acquiring M data blocks to be transmitted, M is an integer greater than or equal to 1, wherein each data block of the M data blocks comprises information for indicating the number N of resource units and a position of at least one of the N resource units [see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, 301; acquiring M code blocks to be transmitted, M is an integer greater than 1, wherein each code block of the M code blocks comprises information for indicating the quantity of d data blocks and a position of at least one of the N data blocks (a first parameter). Note that the first parameter is used to determine d data blocks in the N data blocks, the first parameter is related to a quantity of transmissions of the N data blocks (see para. 7); For different transmission times of the N data blocks or different slot numbers corresponding to the N data blocks are transmitted, the first parameter may be different (see para. 9); the first parameter may include an index value of d data blocks in the N data blocks, an offset value of the d data blocks, and a quantity size of the d data blocks, or may be a value corresponding to an index value of d data blocks in the N data blocks, an offset value of the d data blocks, and a quantity of d data blocks (that is, may be understood as one or more values of an output value of the d data blocks, an offset value of the d data blocks, and a quantity of d data blocks as an output of the input function). For different transmission times of the N data blocks or transmit different slot numbers corresponding to the N data blocks, an index value of the d data blocks, an offset value of the d data blocks, and a quantity of d data blocks may be different (see para. 28)]; and transmitting the M data blocks on the N resource units [see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, 301; transmitting the M code blocks on the N data blocks. Note that one transmission of a coding block corresponding to at least one data block in the N data blocks may be considered as one transmission of the N data blocks (see para. 10)]. The examiner is asserting that N data blocks are N resource units which the M code blocks are transmitting on, and the first parameter is information for indicating the number N of resource units and a position of at least one of the N resource units. In view of the above response, Liu discloses all the features of independent claims 1, 15, and 24 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5, 10-11, 13, 15-18 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (WO 2020/108259 A1, hereinafter “Liu”) . Regarding claims 1 and 24 , Liu discloses a transmitter [ see Fig. 6, para. 300-302; apparatus 600 ], comprising: at least one processor [ see Fig. 6, para. 300-302; processor 610 ]; and a storage apparatus, which is configured to store at least one program [ see Fig. 6, para. 300-302; memory 630, which is configured to store instructions ]; wherein when executed by the at least one processor, the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform [ see Fig. 6, para. 300-302; wherein when executed by the processor 610, the instructions causes the processor 610 to perform ]: determining a number N of resource units and corresponding N resource units, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 [ see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, 301; determining a quantity of d data blocks in N data blocks (resource units), wherein N is an integer greater than 1, d is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and d is less than or equal to N ]; acquiring M data blocks to be transmitted, M is an integer greater than or equal to 1, wherein each data block of the M data blocks comprises information for indicating the number N of resource units and a position of at least one of the N resource units [ see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, 301; acquiring M code blocks to be transmitted, M is an integer greater than 1, wherein each code block of the M code blocks comprises information for indicating the quantity of d data blocks and a position of at least one of the N data blocks (a first parameter). Note that the first parameter is used to determine d data blocks in the N data blocks, the first parameter is related to a quantity of transmissions of the N data blocks (see para. 7); For different transmission times of the N data blocks or different slot numbers corresponding to the N data blocks are transmitted, the first parameter may be different (see para. 9); the first parameter may include an index value of d data blocks in the N data blocks, an offset value of the d data blocks, and a quantity size of the d data blocks, or may be a value corresponding to an index value of d data blocks in the N data blocks, an offset value of the d data blocks, and a quantity of d data blocks (that is, may be understood as one or more values of an output value of the d data blocks, an offset value of the d data blocks, and a quantity of d data blocks as an output of the input function). For different transmission times of the N data blocks or transmit different slot numbers corresponding to the N data blocks, an index value of the d data blocks, an offset value of the d data blocks, and a quantity of d data blocks may be different (see para. 28) ]; and transmitting the M data blocks on the N resource units [ see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, 301; transmitting the M code blocks on the N data blocks. Note that one transmission of a coding block corresponding to at least one data block in the N data blocks may be considered as one transmission of the N data blocks (see para. 10) ]. Regarding claim 26 , Liu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the data transmission method according to claim 1 [ see Fig. 6, para. 300-302; memory 630 storing instructions which, when executed by processor 610, causes the processor 610 to perform the data transmission method according to claim 1 ]. Regarding claim 2 , Liu discloses wherein determining the number N of resource units and the corresponding N resource units, comprises: according to the information for indicating the number N of resource units and the position of at least one of the N resource units comprised in each data block of the M data blocks, determining the number N of resource units and the corresponding N resource units [ see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 13, 54, 151, 301; according to the information for indicating the quantity of d data blocks and the position of at least one of the N data blocks comprised in each code block of the M code blocks (the first parameter), determining the quantity of d data blocks in the N data blocks ]. Regarding claim 3 , Liu discloses wherein determining the number N of resource units and the corresponding N resource units, comprises one of: randomly determining the number N of resource units and randomly selecting the N resource units; or according to the number M of data blocks to be transmitted, determining the number N of resource units, and randomly selecting the N resource units [ see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, 171-184, 301; wherein determining the quantity of d data blocks in the N data blocks, comprises: according to the number M of code blocks to be transmitted, determining the quantity of d data blocks, and randomly selecting the N data blocks ]. Regarding claim 4 , Liu discloses wherein acquiring the M data blocks to be transmitted, comprises: acquiring M data groups, adding the information for indicating the number N of resource units and the position of at least one of the N resource units to each data group of the M data groups to generate the M data blocks to be transmitted [ see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 13, 36, 54, 151, 301; acquiring M code block groups, adding the information for indicating the quantity of d data blocks and the position of at least one of the N data blocks (first parameter) to each code block group of the M code block groups to generate the M code blocks to be transmitted ]. Regarding claim 5 , Liu discloses wherein each data block of the M data blocks comprises designated bits, and the designated bits are used for indicating the number N of resource units and the position of at least one of the N resource units [ see para. 12, 60, 140; the data block may be a to-be-sent bit set of the sending node; or the data block may also be a to-be-received bit set of the receiving node ]. Regarding claim 10 , Liu discloses wherein each data block of the M data blocks further comprises at least one of the following information: starting position information of available resource units; quantity information of available resource units; pilot information used on at least one of the N resource units; or sequence information used on at least one of the N resource units [ see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, 301; an index value of the d data blocks in the N data blocks; a number of time slots corresponding to the N data blocks ]. Regarding claim 11 , Liu discloses wherein the N resource units satisfy at least one of: the N resource units are located within a coherent bandwidth range; the N resource units are located within a coherent time range; or channels on the N resource units are coherent [ see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, 301; wherein the N data blocks satisfy at least one of: the N data blocks are located within a coherent bandwidth range; the N data blocks are located within a coherent time range; or channels on the N data blocks are coherent ]. Regarding claim 13 , Liu discloses wherein at least one of the M data blocks further comprises identification information or payload data [ see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, 301; at least one of the M code blocks further comprises identification information or payload data ]. Regarding claim 15 , Liu discloses a data transmission method, applied to a receiver [ see Fig. 6, para. 303-304; apparatus 600 ], comprising: determining a resource unit to be detected [ see abstract, para. 54-56, 151, 303; determining a data block (in N data blocks) to be detected ]; and performing detection on the resource unit to be detected to acquire a first detection result, wherein the first detection result comprises at least one of M data blocks and information for indicating a number N of resource units used for transmitting the M data blocks and a position of at least one of N resource units, M is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 [ see abstract, para. 54-58, 151, 303; performing detection on the data block to be detected to acquire a first detection result, wherein the first detection result comprises at least one of M code blocks and information for indicating a quantity of d data blocks used for transmitting the M code blocks and a position of at least one of N data blocks (second parameter), M and N are integers greater than 1 ]. Regarding claim 25 , Liu discloses a receiver [ see Fig. 6, para. 303-304; apparatus 600 ], comprising: at least one processor [ see Fig. 6, para. 303-304; processor 610 ]; and a storage apparatus, which is configured to store at least one program [ see Fig. 6, para. 303-304; memory 630, which is configured to store instructions ]; wherein when executed by the at least one processor, the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform the data transmission method according to claim 15 [ see Fig. 6, para. 303-304; wherein when executed by the processor 610, the instructions cause the processor 610 to perform the data transmission method according to claim 15 ]. Regarding claim 16 , Liu discloses wherein the first detection result further comprises at least one of the following information: starting position information of available resource units; quantity information of available resource units; pilot information on at least one of the N resource units; sequence information on at least one of the N resource units; identification information; or payload data [ see abstract, para. 7, 9, 10, 54, 151, 301; an index value of the d data blocks in the N data blocks; a number of time slots corresponding to the N data blocks ]. Regarding claim 17 , Liu discloses wherein performing detection on the resource unit to be detected to acquire the first detection result, comprises: acquiring a received symbol on the resource unit to be detected; and detecting the received symbol to acquire the first detection result [ see abstract, para. 54-56, 151, 303; acquiring a received slot on the data block to be detected; and detecting the slot to acquire the first detection result ]. Regarding claim 18 , Liu discloses determining a resource unit to be processed or updating the resource unit to be detected according to the information included in the first detection result for indicating the number N of resource units used for transmitting the M data blocks and the position of at least one of N resource units [ see abstract, para. 54-56, 151, 303; determining a data block to be processed or updating the data block to be detected according to the information included in the first detection result for indicating the quantity of d data blocks used for transmitting the M code blocks and the position of at least one of N data blocks ] . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 7-9 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN T LE whose telephone number is (571)270-5615. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9AM-6PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JAE LEE can be reached on 571-270-3936. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/009,892 Page 2 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/009,892 Page 3 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/009,892 Page 4 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/009,892 Page 5 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/009,892 Page 6 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/009,892 Page 7 Art Unit: 2479