DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendment filed on April 09, 2026 and wherein Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10, 15 and 18-21 being currently amended, claim 5 being currently cancelled and new claim 22 being currently added.
In virtue of this communication, claims 1, 3-4 and 6-22 are currently pending in this Office Action.
The Office appreciates the explanation of the amendment and analyses of the prior arts, and however, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and MPEP 2145.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 15, 18, 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20220116799 A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Akhtar et al. (US 20220295309 A1, hereinafter Akhtar).
Claim 1: Wang teaches A method performed by a network function (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig.3, Fig. 4, Fig.5, [0022-0026]), the method comprising:
receiving an initial inter-cell interference management policy corresponding to a device from a radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC) (Fig. 1, [0042], “101-1 indicates a Non-Real Time RAN Intelligent Controller (Non-RT RIC), which has functions of micro-service and policy management, radio network analysis and training of artificial intelligence (AI) model, etc. The trained AI model is sent to a Near-Real Time RAN Intelligent Controller (Near-RT RIC) through an A1 interface for online predicting and execution”, [0043], “102 indicates an O-RAN network function”, Fig. 3, [0119], “Whether the O1 interface or the E2 interface is used to receive the policy information depends on which method is specifically adopted in step 304. The network function 102 may receive the policy information through either the O1 interface or the E2 interface in cases in which the Non-RT RIC 101-1 makes the decision. The network function 102 may receive the policy information through the E2 interface in cases in which the Near-RT RIC 102-1 makes the decision, or the Non-RT RIC 101-1 and the Near-RT RIC 102-1 jointly make decision”), wherein the initial inter-cell interference management policy comprises a network entity identifier ([0282], “the structure at least includes transmission method and sub-slice instance identification. This structure is used both in measurement reporting and decision message sending. The interfaces involved are E2 and A1”, Fig. 3, element 302, [0090], “The S-NSSAI is a 32-bit identifier, including 8-bit slice/service type (SST) and 24-bit slice differentiator (SD)”);
receiving modeling information from the RIC, wherein the modeling information corresponds to the device, and comprises one or more of UE traffic parameters, UE radio parameters, or UE mobility parameters ([0117], “The Non-RT RIC 101-1 training results added on the A1 interface may be the preferred transmission method information of each user, movement speed level information of each user, or movement model information of each user and so on”), and wherein the modeling information further comprises at least one trained machine learning model ([0042], “The trained AI model is sent to a Near-Real Time RAN Intelligent Controller (Near-RT RIC) through an A1 interface”, [0054], “An A1 interface is used to connect the non-real-time RAN Intelligent Controller 101-1 embedded in the network management function (e.g., the SMO 101), and the near-RT RIC 102-1 … expands new data information such as sending operation policies to base station and sending AI machine learning models, etc”),
obtaining, from a network entity identified by the network entity identifier, a monitoring event report related to the device (Fig. 3 element 303, Fig. 5 element 503, Fig. 7 element 702 , Fig. 8 element 802, Fig. 9, element 902, [0124], “network function module 102 may further report some measurement data to help the RIC evaluate effects of the preferred transmission method policy, so as to help the RIC optimize an algorithm or terminate the preferred transmission method-based sub-slice function”):
determining, in response to receiving the monitoring event report, a predictive inter- cell interference management policy for the device based on the modeling information and the initial inter-cell interference management policy (Fig. 3 element 304, Fig. 4 element 404, Fig. 5 element 504, Fig. 7 element 704, 705 , Fig. 8 element 804, 805, Fig. 9, element 904, 905, [0060], “the SMO 101 further collects traffic related data according to further congestion evaluation requirements of the Non-RT RIC 101-1. … The traffic related data may be from measurement reporting by an O1 interface or from the external system 105”, [0061], “based on the collected relevant data, the Non-RT RIC 101-1 completes slice QoS (Quality of Service) policy adjustment based on AI/ML training and configures the same to O-RAN network function entities 102”, [0263], “the functional modules in the RAN node use the prediction information to assist in decision-making, using the prediction information to make a decision on a user RRC configuration”, Fig.11, element step 6, 7 ); and
providing the predictive inter-cell interference management policy to the device (Fig. 3 element 305, Fig. 4 element 405, Fig. 5 element 504, [0120], “After the network function 102 completes the reception of the policy, it will complete RRC configuration or media access control (MAC) scheduling of the user according to the sub-slice policy”, Fig. 11, element step 8).
However, Wang does not explicitly indicate a management policy is a predictive inter-cell interference management policy.
Akhtar, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches a management policy
is a predictive inter-cell interference management policy ([0013-0014], wherein an xAPP of the NearRT-RIC reads the interference measurements and uses this to predict future interference levels and make handover decision to mitigate future interference congestion).
Wang and Akhtar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the management policy of Wang with supporting an inter-cell interference management policy as taught by Akhtar, for the benefit of allowing network to predict future interference levels and make handover decision to mitigate future interference congestion ([0014]).
Claim 21 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Wang further teaches at least one memory (Fig. 14, elements 1430); and at least one processor (Fig. 14, elements 1410) coupled with the at least one memory ([0332], “The memory 1430 may store the control information or the data included in a signal obtained by the NF entity 1400. The memory 1430 may be connected to the controller/processor 1410 and store at least one instruction or a protocol or a parameter for the proposed function, process, and/or method”).
Claim 15 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Wang further teaches translating at least one monitoring report into at least one event that is perceivable by an interference management device (Fig. 8, element 802, [0060], “the SMO 101 further collects traffic related data according to further congestion evaluation requirements of the Non-RT RIC 101-1. … The traffic related data may be from measurement reporting by an O1 interface or from the external system 105.”); transmitting the at least one event to the interference management device (Fig. 8, element 805, [0061], “based on the collected relevant data, the Non-RT RIC 101-1 completes slice QoS (Quality of Service) policy
adjustment based on AI/ML training and configures the same to O-RAN network function entities 102”), wherein the predictive interference management policy is determined based on modeling information (Fig. 8, element 803, [0059], “ the SMO 101 assists the Non-RT RIC 101-1 to collect common internal and external data, and the Non-RT RIC 101-1 completes slice congestion evaluation. In the slice congestion evaluation, it is necessary to use an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) module in the Non-RT RIC 101-1 based on the external data”, [0226], “The AI model training may be triggered periodically or by events, for example, when internal performance measurement data of the RAN is lower than a certain indicator, or when a number of users in a cell increases or decreases”).
Claim 18 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Wang further teaches transmitting an initial inter-cell interference management policy corresponding to a device from a radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC) from a service entity, or a management entity, or both to an application (Fig. 1, element 101, [0041], “101 indicates service management and orchestration (SMO), which is an entity that provides various management services and network management functions”);
receiving a request for modeling information in response to transmitting the initial inter-cell interference management policy and transmitting the modeling information in response to receiving the request ([0226], “The AI model training may be triggered periodically or by events, for example, when internal performance measurement data of the RAN is lower than a certain indicator, or when a number of users in a cell increases or decreases”, Fig. 2, element 201, [0058], “the physical resource division is triggered by an external system 105”, Fig. 3, element 301, [0086], “the slice resource optimization method …may be triggered based on a configuration … a slice resource optimization function is enabled according to the requirements of slice service providers or slice customers”).
Claim 3: Wang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the initial inter-cell interference management policy is transmitted from a service entity, or a management entity, or both (Fig. 1, element 101, [0041], “101 indicates service management and orchestration (SMO), which is an entity that provides various management services and network management functions”).
Claim 22 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 21 and claim 3.
Claim 4: Wang teach wherein the initial inter-cell interference management policy comprises a cell identifier(alternative), a network slice identifier ([0090], “The S-NSSAI is a 32-bit identifier, including 8-bit slice/service type (SST) and 24-bit slice differentiator (SD).”, [0282], “The structure at least includes transmission method and sub-slice instance identification”), a service type (alternative), an application type(alternative), a profile(alternative), a policy identifier list(alternative), per policy metrics(alternative), per policy thresholds(alternative), an interference management preference(alternative), an enforcement flag(alternative), a middleware flag(alternative), a time validity indicator(alternative), a geographic area ([0010], “ the mobility information comprising global positioning system (GPS) information”), vertical specific parameters(alternative), or cross-vertical parameters(alternative).
Claim 19 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 18 and claim 4.
Claim 6: The combination of Wang and Akhtar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the predictive inter-cell interference management policy (Akhtar, Fig. 8, element 816, Fig. 9, element 912, [0151], “the NonRT-RIC network node transmits the A1 interface message to a NearRT-RIC. In some embodiments, the NearRT-RIC may comprise one or more xAPPs for consuming the enrichment information EI elements in the A1 message”, [0013-0014], wherein an xAPP of the NearRT-RIC reads the interference measurements and uses this to predict future interference levels and make handover decision to mitigate future interference congestion) is determined in response to obtaining the monitoring event report (Wang, Fig. 7, element 704, 705, Fig.8, element 804, 805, Fig. 9, element 904, 905).
The motivation for combining Wang and Akhtar regarding to the claim 1 is also applied to claim 6.
claim 7: The combination of Wang and Akhar teaches the method of claim 1, Wang additional teaches wherein the monitoring event report comprises one or more of a cell identifier ID(alternative), a UE ID(alternative), a network slice ID ([0282], “The structure at least includes transmission method and sub-slice instance identification. This structure is used both in measurement reporting and decision message sending. The interfaces involved are E2 and A1 ”), a resource ID (alternative), a resource pool ID(alternative), a UE quality of experience downgrade indication(alternative), a UE quality of service downgrade indication(alternative), a high resource load indication(alternative), a high radio access network delay indication(alternative), a low backhaul resource availability indication(alternative), a quality of service fluctuation indication(alternative), a radio link failure indication(alternative), a bandwidth adaptation requirement(alternative), a radio resource adaptation requirement, or a traffic steering requirement(alternative).
Claim 16 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 15 and claim 7.
Claim 8: Wang teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising subscribing to a RAN node, or a subscription function, or both for receiving the monitoring event report (Fig. 1, [0279], “An O1 interface, in the uplink direction. Reporting of related measurement data, such as total system throughput, average throughput of a user, MIMO transmission method of a user, average layer number, etc., needs to be supported on this interface”, [0273], “ the network function module 102 may further report some measurement data to help the RIC evaluate effects of the preferred transmission method policy, thus helping the RIC optimize an algorithm or terminate the function”, [0075], “combining the rich data with internal monitoring information reported by RAN nodes, using the AI module (AI/ML function) in the Non-RT RIC 101-1 or the Near-RT RIC 102-1 for a prediction or decision process, and then transmitting results of the prediction or decision process to relevant functional modules in the RAN nodes” ).
Claim 9: Wang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the device comprises at least one network unit, or at least one UE, or both (Fig. 1, elements 101, 105, 102, 103, Fig. 11).
Claim 10: Wang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the modeling information further comprises one or more of a first expectation of RAN resource conditions for a predefined period of time (alternative), a second expectation of wireless backhaul resource conditions for the predefined period of time (alternative), a third expectation of UE mobility parameters ([0295], “The AI/ML module in the Non-RT RIC 101-1 obtains a mobile model and a traffic model based on the above information”), or an expectation of UE positioning information (alternative), or both for UEs in a geographic area ([0295], “The SMO 101 obtains the GPS (Global Positioning System) information and the traffic information from an external application software or an application server (e.g., an external system 105), and obtains the user capability information, slice-related measurement information and user performance measurement information from the E2 Nodes”, [0010], “the second information includes at least one of mobility information or traffic information, the mobility information comprising global positioning system (GPS) information”), or a fourth expectation of performance metrics for the UEs in the geographic area (alternative), and wherein the modeling information further comprises one or more of: an expected distribution of one or more of the first expectation, the second expectation, the third expectation, or the fourth expectation over the predefined period of time ([0087], “the slice resource optimization method of the present disclosure can be performed periodically … slice resource division is triggered by congestion events in the existing methods, and the scale of the congestion event may be several days, months, or hours”); a confidence level metric for one or more of the first expectation, the second expectation, the third expectation, or the fourth expectation over the predefined period of time (alternative); an expected probability density function over RAN resources, or backhaul resources, or both ([0076], “ the RIC makes a prediction and assists modules in the RAN nodes to do optimization processing. Based on the difference in data sources and data classification, scenarios may be divided into mobility scenarios, traffic scenarios, and mixed mobility and traffic scenarios”, [0099], “ The SMO module 101 collects user mobility related information (such as spatial coordinates, GPS information, orientation information relative to the base station, surrounding environment distribution information, maps, etc.) …. above information is used to estimate and predict mobility of each user in each cell in the slice”); or an expectation of a sequence of inter-cell handovers for the UEs in the geographic area (alternative).
Claim 20 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 18 and claim 10.
Claim 11: The combination of Wang and Akhtar teaches the method of claim 1, Wang additionally teaches wherein the predictive inter-cell interference management policy comprises one or more of a cell identifier (ID) (alternative), an application ID(alternative), a group of UE IDs(alternative), a network slice ID ([0282], “The structure at least includes transmission method and sub-slice instance identification. This structure is used both in measurement reporting and decision message sending. The interfaces involved are E2 and A1 ”), a central unit CU ID(alternative), a distributed unit DU ID(alternative), a current policy ID(alternative), a new policy ID(alternative), a current traffic steering policy ID(alternative), a new traffic steering policy ID(alternative), a confidence level parameter(alternative), an enforcement flag(alternative), a time validity ID(alternative), an area ID(alternative), an overload indication(alternative), a high interference indication(alternative), a relative narrowband transmit power(alternative), almost blank subframe pattern information(alternative), a coordinated multipoint coordination area(alternative), a coordinated multipoint scheme(alternative), or a resource restriction (alternative).
Claim 17 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 15 and claim 11.
Claim 12: The combination of Wang and Akhtar teaches the method of claim 1, Akhtar additionally teaches further comprising requesting a validation of the predictive inter-cell interference management policy from a conflict mitigation function and receiving a validation response from the conflict mitigation function ([0013-0014], wherein an xAPP of the NearRT-RIC reads the interference measurements and uses this to predict future interference levels, and publishes the predicted interference levels as refined data, consume the predicted interference levels (refined data) and based on this xAPP “b” makes handover decisions to mitigate future interference congestion).
Wang and Akhtar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Wang and the features of validation of the predictive inter-cell interference management policy as taught by Akhtar, for the benefit for using user friendly interface to make handover decisions to mitigate future interference congestion (see paragraph [0014]).
Claim 13: The combination of Wang and Akhtar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein communications are transmitted and received using an open application program interface (API) (Wang, [0276], “An A1 interface… it is necessary to provide the following data on this interface … user traffic software application layer information, such as traffic type, video size and duration”. [0295], “The SMO 101 obtains the GPS (Global Positioning System) information and the traffic information from an external application software or an application server”. Akhtar, Fig.2, [0012], “the NearRT-RIC is further divided in a framework part and a multitude of xAPPs. The framework part is responsible for the terminating the interfaces E2 and A1. The NearRT-RIC further exposes an API (e.g., R1 interface) towards the xAPPs”).
Claim 14: The combination of Wang and Akhtar teaches the method of claim 1, Akhtar additionally teaches wherein the predictive inter-cell interference management policy is provided to the device via an application exposure function ([0013], “The xAPPs realize the NearRT-RIC RRM by consuming the RAN data and use the E2 interface, via the NearRT-RIC framework, to control handovers and radio bearers”, [0014], “The xAPP “a” then publishes the predicted interference levels as refined data. An xAPP “b” is designed to consume the predicted interference levels (refined data) and based on this xAPP “b” makes handover decisions to mitigate future interference congestion”).
The motivation for combining Wang and Akhtar regarding to the claim 12 is also applied to claim 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472