DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
This office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 12/12/2022. Per the amendment claims 1-9 are as previously presented and claim 10 is as currently amended. As such, claims 1-10 are pending in the instant application. Further, the amendment to the abstract is accepted and considered in the instant application.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4: “a seat frame connected to the lower end of the backrest frame to support the buttocks” should read “a seat frame connected to a lower end of the backrest frame to support a buttocks” to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 1, line 12: “while expanding by the air supplied from the outside” should read “while expanding by air supplied from outside” to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 2, line 2: “on the upper surface” should read “on an upper surface” to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 3, line 2: “for fixing the end of the perineal region heater to the end of the perineal region airbag” should read “fixing an end of the perineal region heater to an end of the perineal region airbag” to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 4, line 2: “mounted at the rear” should read “mounted at a rear” to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 4, line 4: “mounted on the upper surface” should read “mounted on an upper surface” to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 5, line 2: “on both sides of the front portion” should read “on both sides of a front portion” to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 6, line 2: “the lower surfaces of the perineal region airbag and the thigh airbag” should read “lower surfaces of the perineal region airbag and a thigh airbag” to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 8, lines 2-3: “and the other end of the elastic band is fixed to the other side of the seat frame” should read “and an other end of the elastic band is fixed to an other side of the seat frame” to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 10, lines 8-9: “of the lower end” should read “of a lower end” to establish antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitations of "a massage unit" (line 3), “a backrest frame” (lines 3-4), “a seat frame” (line 4), “a perineal region airbag” (line 5), and “an opening of the seat frame” (line 8). All of the above limitations were previously disclosed in claim 1; hence, it is unclear whether applicant is attempting to disclose new limitations, or recite the limitations as previously disclosed in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, the above limitation will be interpreted as follows:
a massage unit will be interpreted as – a massage unit different and separate from the massage unit disclosed in claim 1;
a backrest frame will be interpreted as – the backrest frame disclosed in claim 1;
a sear frame will be interpreted as – the seat frame disclosed in claim 1;
a perineal region airbag will be interpreted as – the perineal region airbag disclosed in claim 1; and
an opening of the seat frame will be interpreted as – the opening of the seat frame disclosed in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon & Kim (KR 20160061028 A), in view of Hyun et al. (KR 20170068237 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon & Kim discloses a massager (chair-type massage device 1; Fig. 1) having a perineal region massage function ([0017], line 1; [0044], lines 4-7, see provided translation), the massager (chair-type massage device 1; Fig. 1) comprising:
a backrest frame (30; Fig.1) supporting a user's back ([0038], line 1, see provided translation) and having an opening (central space portion 30a; Fig. 1) formed to be open ([0039], lines 1-2, see provided translation);
a seat frame (20; Fig. 1) connected to the lower end of the backrest frame (Fig. 1; [0038], lines 1-2, see provided translation) to support the buttocks and thighs of the user ([0017], lines 1-3, see provided translation) and having an opening (central space portion 20a; Fig 1) communicating with the opening of the backrest frame ([0039], lines 2-3, see provided translation);
a massage unit (70; Fig. 1) for massaging the user's body part while moving along both sides of the openings of the backrest frame and the seat frame ([0039], lines 1-4, see provided translation);
an elastic band made of an elastic material (elastic fiber; [0039], line 7, see provided translation), mounted to traverse the opening of the seat frame ([0039], lines 6-7, where the central portion of the seat surface corresponding to the central space portions 20a and 30a is made of an elastic fiber, see provided translation), and transferring pressure applied from the massage unit to the buttocks or thighs of the user through the opening of the seat frame ([0039], lines 6-9, where the central space portion 20a and the surface of the seat correspond to the buttocks and thighs of a user when sitting on seat frame 20, see provided translation).
Yoon & Kim further discloses a plurality of air pockets disposed on the seat surface (surface of seat frame 20 to be in contact with user’s buttocks and/or thighs; Fig. 1; [0039], lines 9-10, see provided translation), where the air pockets are connected to an air supply and exhaust device to expand or contract the air pockets ([0039], lines 10-12, see provided translation). Yoon & Kim fails to explicitly disclose:
a perineal region airbag mounted on the elastic band to pressurize the user's perineal region upward while expanding by the air supplied from the outside; and
an air supply unit for injecting air into the perineal region airbag and deflating the perineal region airbag.
However, Hyun et al. teaches a buttocks airbag (219; Fig. 4) located on a seat (Figs. 3 and 4; [0062], see provided translation) and presses the buttocks, or perineum, of a user upward while being inflated by air supplied from the outside ([0024], lines 2-3; [0025], lines 2-3, where the inflow of massage air is from the fixing air injected into the airbag; [0059], [0061], see provided translation), and the inflow and outflow of the injected air can be controlled and repeated ([0063], see provided translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the seat surface and air pockets ([0039], lines 9-10, see provided translation) of Yoon & Kim with Hyun et al. to include a perineal region airbag (Hyun et al.: 219; Fig. 4), such that a perineal region airbag (Hyun et al.: 219; Fig. 4) is mounted on the elastic band (elastic fiber; [0039], line 7, see provided translation) to pressurize the user's perineal region upward while expanding by the air supplied from the outside ([0024], lines 2-3; [0025], lines 2-3, where the inflow of massage air is from the fixing air injected into the airbag; [0059], [0061], see provided translation); and
an air supply unit (air supply and exhaust device; [0039], lines 10-11, see provided translation) for injecting air into the perineal region airbag and deflating the perineal region airbag (inflate and deflate buttocks airbag 219 of Hyun et al. with air supply and exhaust device of Yoon & Kim; Hyun et al.: [0025], lines 203, where the inflow of massage air is from the fixing air injected into the airbag; [0061]; [0063], see provided translation of Hyun et al.; Yoon & Kim: [0039], lines 10-12, see provided translation of Yoon & Kim) to apply pressure to the buttocks of a user and allow the user to naturally induce a Kegel exercise stretch and exercise the muscles of the perineum area (Hyun et al.: [0063], see provided translation).
Regarding claim 5, Yoon & Kim as modified discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, but does teach leg massage units with air pockets to massage a lower hip portion by expanding the air pockets with air suppled from the outside ([0040], lines 11-15), but does not explicitly teach a thigh airbag mounted on both sides of the front portion of the perineal region airbag, expanding by air supplied from the outside, and pressing the user's thighs upward.
However, Hyun et al. teaches thigh airbags (229; Fig. 4) mounted on both sides of the front portion of the seat part (200; Fig. 4), where the inflow and outflow of air to the thigh airbag massages the user’s thighs upward ([0026], lines 2-3; [0067], see provided translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Yoon & Kim with Hyun et al. such that, a thigh airbag (Hyun et al.: 229; Fig. 4) mounted on both sides of the front portion of the perineal region airbag (mounted on both sides of the front portion of Hyun et al.’s 219), expanding by air supplied from the outside, and pressing the user's thighs upward ([0026], lines 2-3; [0067], see provided translation) to more effectively massage and exercise the muscles and soft tissues of the perineal region, and surrounding area, of a user (Hyun et al.: [0032], lines 2-3, see provided translation).
Regarding claim 6, Yoon & Kim as modified discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein support pads (flat seat cushion; [0037], lines 1-3) are stacked on the lower surfaces of the perineal region airbag (Hyun et al. buttocks airbag 219 is located on the top surface of the flat seat cushion and seat portion 20) and the thigh airbag (Hyun et al. thigh airbag 229 is located on the top surface of the flat seat cushion and seat portion 20).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon & Kim (KR 20160061028 A) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 20170068237 A) as applied above, and further in view of McNair (US 3942520 A).
Regarding claim 2, Yoon & Kim as modified discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, but is silent to a perineal region heater mounted on the upper surface of the perineal region airbag to generate heat by power applied from the outside.
However, McNair teaches a heating element in a thin fabric sheet (33; Col. 2, lines 47-48; Figs. 1 and 2), where a pair of metal clips (36; Figs. 1 and 2) to mount the thin fabric sheet (33; Figs. 1 and 2) to a top panel (11; Figs. 1 and 2; claim 6), where the top panel (11; Figs. 1 and 2) provides a foot receiving area for the feet to receive a massage (Col. 1, lines 57-59). Power is provided to the heating sheet (33; Figs. 1 and 2) from the outside via an electric cord (38; Fig. 3) and plug (39; Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 3-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Yoon & Kim with McNair, such that a perineal region heater (McNair: heating sheet 33; Figs. 1 and 2) mounted (McNair: heating sheet 33 mounted via clips 36, Figs. 1 and 2) on the upper surface of the perineal region airbag (Hyun et al.: upper surface of 219; Fig. 4) to generate heat by power applied from the outside (McNair: electric cord 38, plug 39; Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 3-9) to increase blood circulation and relax the muscles and soft tissues in the area receiving the massage (McNair; Col. 1, lines 17-21, where it is well known in recognized in the art that applying heat along with massage increases blood circulation and relaxes the muscles and soft tissues).
Regarding claim 3, Yoon & Kim as modified discloses the invention as set forth in claim 2, further comprising: a heater fixing clip (McNair: clips 36; Figs. 1 and 2) for fixing the end of the perineal region heater (McNair: end of heating sheet 33; Figs. 1 and 2) to the end of the perineal region airbag (Hyun et al.: end of 219; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Yoon & Kim as modified discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach an anus region airbag mounted at the rear of the perineal region airbag to pressurize the user's anus region while expanding by air supplied from the outside; and an anus region heater mounted on the upper surface of the anus region airbag to generate heat by power applied from the outside.
However, Hyun et al. does teach the buttocks airbag (219; Fig. 4) can be adjusted by moving back and forth (219a; Fig. 4; [0019], see provided translation), and that the adjustment of the buttocks airbag (219; Fig. 4) does not impact the inflation and deflation, or further function, of the buttocks airbag ([0025], see provided translation). Further, Hyun et al. teaches a plurality of airbags to massage different areas of the user (pelvis airbag 209 and thigh airbag 229; Fig. 4) which are inflated and deflated by the same air supply as the buttocks airbag (inflated and deflated with the fixing air; [0059], lines 1-2, see provided translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, further modify Yoon & Kim with Hyun et al. by duplicating the buttocks airbag (Hyun et al.: 219; Fig. 4) such that an anus region airbag (Hyun et al.: duplicate 219) mounted at the rear of the perineal region airbag (Hyun et al.: 219; Fig. 4) to pressurize the user's anus region while expanding by air supplied from the outside (Hyun et al.: [0024], lines 2-3; [0025], lines 2-3, where the inflow of massage air is from the fixing air injected into the airbag; [0059], [0061], see provided translation), and the inflow and outflow of the injected air can be controlled and repeated ([0063], see provided translation) since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2144.04 St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to duplicate the heating sheet (33; Figs. 1 and 2) of McNair such that an anus region heater (McNair: duplicate 33) mounted on the upper surface of the anus region airbag (Hyun et al.: duplicate 219; see claim 2 above) to generate heat by power applied from the outside (McNair: electric cord 38, plug 39; Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 3-9) since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2144.04 St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon & Kim (KR 20160061028 A) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 20170068237 A) as applied above, and further in view of Shienfeld (US 4762121 A).
Regarding claim 7, Yoon & Kim as modified discloses the invention as set forth in claim 6, but does not explicitly teach a plurality of pockets are provided in the exterior cover in a pouch shape of which one side is opened so that both ends of the thigh airbag are inserted and supported.
However, Shienfeld teaches a massage apparatus with a flexible outer covering, where the flexible outer covering has a plurality of individual compartments in a pouch shape (Col. 2, lines 3-15) to receive inflatable bags (Col. 2, lines 18-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Yoon & Kim with Shienfeld, such that a plurality of pockets (Shienfeld: plurality of individual compartments; Col. 2, lines 3-15) are provided in the exterior cover (Shienfeld’s plurality of individual compartments provided in exterior cover of Yoon & Kim) in a pouch shape of which one side is opened (Shienfeld: Col. 2, lines 3-15) so that both ends of the thigh airbag (Hyun et al.: 229; Fig. 4) are inserted and supported (Shienfeld’s plurality of individual compartments are arranged in the exterior cover of Yoon & Kim to receive and support Hyun et al.’s thigh airbags 229) to easily apply, remove, use, and store the exterior cover and reduce maintenance problems (Shienfeld: Col. 2, lines 55-62).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon & Kim (KR 20160061028 A) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 20170068237 A) as applied above, and further in view of Shurtleff (US 20140157511 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yoon & Kim as modified discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, but is silent to how the elastic fiber ([0039], line 7, see provided translation) is attached to the seat frame (20; Fig. 1).
However, Shurtleff teaches an “D” ring (620; Figs. 24 and 25) as a connection point for an elastic band (630; Fig. 25; [0110], lines 3-6), where the “D” ring (620; Figs. 24 and 25) is made up of a ring (624; Fig. 24) and a bracket (626; Fig. 24), where one side of the elastic band (630; Fig. 25) is fixed to the ring (624; Fig. 24), and the bracket (626; Fig. 24) is connected with the ring (624; Fig. 24) and coupled to a wall via a screw (Fig. 24; [0109], lines 2-7). Shurtleff further teaches that it is well known within the art to utilize a screw to install, or fix, two separate structures together ([0109], lines 5-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Yoon & Kim with Shurtleff, such that wherein one end of the elastic band (a first end of the elastic fiber; [0039], line 7, see provided translation) is fixed to one side of the seat frame (a first side of the seat frame 20) by a screw (well known within the art to utilize a screw to install, or fix, two separate structures together; Shurtleff: [0109], lines 5-7), and the other end of the elastic band (a second end of the elastic fiber; [0039], line 7, see provided translation) is fixed to the other side of the seat frame (a second side of the seat frame 20) by a band coupling member (Shurtleff: “D” ring 620; Figs. 24 and 25), which includes a band connection ring (Shurtleff: ring 624; Fig. 24) around which the other end of the elastic band is wound and fixed (elastic fiber of Yoon & Kim is fixed to Shurtleff ring 624; Shurtleff: [0110], lines 3-6; see Fig. 25) and a connection bracket (Shurtleff: bracket 626; Fig. 24) connected with the band connection ring (Shurtleff: bracket 626 is connected with ring 624; Fig. 24) and coupled to the other side of the seat frame by a screw (Shurtleff bracket 626 is connected to the second side of the seat frame 20 of Yoon & Kim via a screw; Shurtleff: [0109], lines 2-7) to provide a stable and secure mounting point for the elastic band on the seat frame (Shurtleff: [0028], lines 2-3).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon & Kim (KR 20160061028 A) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 20170068237 A) as applied above, and further in view of Ha (KR 100903912 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Yoon & Kim as modified discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a vibrating protrusion protruding upward from an upper surface of the perineal region airbag; and a vibration motor mounted inside the vibrating protrusion to generate vibration by a power applied from the outside.
However, Ha teaches a vibrating unit (200; Fig. 10) protruding from an upper surface of a vibration absorbing plate (220; Figs. 9 and 10), where a vibration motor (204) is housed within the vibrating unit (200; [0052], lines 4-5, see provided translation) to generate vibration by a power applied from the outside ([0058], lines 2-3, see provided translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Yoon & Kim with Ha, such that a vibrating protrusion (Ha: 200; Fig. 10) protruding upward from an upper surface of the perineal region airbag (Ha’s vibrating unit 200 protrudes upward from the upper surface of Hyun et al.’s buttocks airbag 219); and a vibration motor (Ha: 204) mounted inside the vibrating protrusion (Ha: [0052], lines 4-5, see provided translation) to generate vibration by a power applied from the outside (Ha: [0058], lines 2-3, see provided translation) to stimulate a user’s perineal blood to improve the user’s blood circulation and overall health (Ha: [0043], see provided translation).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon & Kim (KR 20160061028 A) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 20170068237 A) as applied above, and further in view of Taniguchi et al. (WO 2013190760 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yoon & Kim as modified discloses massaging a user's body part (part of user’s body corresponding to the surface of the back frame 30 and the surface of the seat frame 20, see claim 1 above) while a massage unit moves along rails of a backrest frame and a seat frame (guide rails 64R and 64L; Fig. 2; [0048], lines 1-3; [0047], line 7; [0058], see provided translation), but is silent to a control method of the massager according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), the control method comprising the steps of:
massaging a user's body part (part of user’s body corresponding to the surface of the back frame 30 and the surface of the seat frame 20, see claim 1 above) while a massage unit moves along rails of a backrest frame and a seat frame (guide rails 64R and 64L; Fig. 2; [0048], lines 1-3; [0047], line 7; [0058], see provided translation); and
when performing the massaging, expanding a perineal region airbag (Hyun et al.: 219; Fig. 4) by supplying air to the perineal region airbag (inflate and deflate buttocks airbag 219 of Hyun et al. with air supply and exhaust device of Yoon & Kim; Hyun et al.: [0025], lines 203, where the inflow of massage air is from the fixing air injected into the airbag) while the massage unit is located at the backrest frame, deflating and contracting the perineal region airbag (inflate and deflate buttocks airbag 219 of Hyun et al. with air supply and exhaust device of Yoon & Kim; Hyun et al.: [0025], lines 203, where the inflow of massage air is from the fixing air injected into the airbag) when the massage unit lowers from the backrest frame, enters an opening of the seat frame (central space portion 20a; Fig 1) and passes a predetermined point of the lower end of the backrest frame.
However, Taniguchi et al. teaches a chair type massage device (1) with a control unit (10), where the control unit (10) controls the inflation and deflation of seat part airbags (41; [0038], lines 3-6, see provided translation) and the movement and positioning of a massage unit with kneading balls (61; [0038], lines 1-3, see provided translation) along a slide rail ([0026], lines 5-7, lines 3-5, where the control unit 10 also controls the translation drive units and rotation drive unit to change the operation state of the kneading balls 61, see provided translation) at the same time ([0038], lines 3-6, see provided translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Yoon & Kim with Taniguchi et al., such that Yoon & Kim includes a control method (Taniguchi et al.: [0006]) of the massager (chair-type massage device 1; Fig. 1) according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), the control method comprising the steps of:
massaging a user's body part (part of user’s body corresponding to the surface of the back frame 30 and the surface of the seat frame 20, see claim 1 above) while a massage unit (70; Fig. 1) moves along rails of a backrest frame and a seat frame (guide rails 64R and 64L; Fig. 2; [0048], lines 1-3; [0047], line 7; [0058], see provided translation); and
when performing the massaging, expanding a perineal region airbag (Hyun et al.: 219; Fig. 4) by supplying air to the perineal region airbag (inflate and deflate buttocks airbag 219 of Hyun et al. with air supply and exhaust device of Yoon & Kim; Hyun et al.: [0025], lines 203, where the inflow of massage air is from the fixing air injected into the airbag; Taniguchi et al.: control unit 10; [0038], lines 3-6, see provided translation) while the massage unit (70; Fig. 1) is located at the backrest frame (massage unit 70 can be located in the backrest frame 30), deflating and contracting the perineal region airbag (inflate and deflate buttocks airbag 219 of Hyun et al. with air supply and exhaust device of Yoon & Kim; Hyun et al.: [0025], lines 203, where the inflow of massage air is from the fixing air injected into the airbag; Taniguchi et al.: control unit 10; [0038], lines 3-6, see provided translation) when the massage unit (70; Fig. 1) lowers from the backrest frame (massage unit 70 moves along guide rails 64R and 64L; [0048], lines 1-3; [0047], line 7; [0058], see provided translation; Taniguchi et al.: [0038], lines 1-3; [0026], lines 5-7, see provided translation), enters an opening of the seat frame (central space portion 20a; Fig 1) and passes a predetermined point of the lower end of the backrest frame ([0048], lines 1-4, where massage unit 70 moves along guiderails 64R and 64L, and the guiderails 64R and 64L have a predetermined length, hence the massage unit 70 will pass a predetermined point on the guiderails 64R and 64L located at the lower end of the backrest frame 30; Fig. 1) to change and personalize the massage therapy operations and settings (Taniguchi et al.: [0041], see provided translation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Oh (US 20150141881 A1): Regarding a massage apparatus with a seat frame, a backrest frame, a perineal region airbag, and a perineal region heater.
Inoue et al. (US 20100207438 A1): Regarding a massage apparatus with a mechanical massage unit in the back rest, a perineal region airbag located in the seat portion, and a control method for the mechanical massage unit and perineal region airbag.
/ABIGAYLE DALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785