DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 11 March 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no burden on the Examiner to examine the non-elected inventions. This is not found persuasive because the restriction requirement was made under 37 CFR 1.475(a), Requirement for Unity of Invention, which does not have a burden requirement as a basis for restriction. It is noted however that claims 12-17, which require the boring bar of elected claim 1, will be considered for rejoinder should claim 1 be found to be allowable during examination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11 March 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rouch et al. (US 5,170,103) in view of Redmond et al. (US 5,913,955).
Regarding claim 1, Rouch et al. discloses a boring bar 12 (figure 12) for a non-rotating boring tool, the boring bar comprising: an elongated body 12 configured for attachment to a support structure 14 of a metal cutting machine 10, the elongated body having a rear end (left side in figure 12) and an opposite front end 17, the front end being arranged to carry a tool part 18 provided with a cutting element 20; and at least two electrically controlled vibration actuators 464/465 for active vibration damping of the boring bar, each of the at least two actuators including a moveably arranged damping mass 448 and being configured, by movement of the damping mass, to generate vibratory forces in parallel or at least substantially in parallel with a working axis 30 of the actuator that is perpendicular to a centre axis 13 of the damping mass, wherein each of the at least two actuators is a single-axis actuator having one single working axis 30, wherein the at least two actuators are arranged in a longitudinal series in the elongated body with the centre axis of the damping mass of each one of these actuators coinciding or substantially coinciding with a longitudinal axis of the elongated body (see figure 12 and column 11, line 50, to column 12, line 59).
Rouch et al. does not disclose wherein the at least two actuators are arranged with their working axes angularly offset from each other. Redmond et al. teaches that it is beneficial to use two vibration damping actuators C1/C2 with their working axes offset from each other in a boring bar for the purpose of reducing chatter during a cutting operation (see figure 13, also see column 13, line 35, to column 14, line 24, and column 15, lines 7-43). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the actuators of Rouch et al. to have offset working axes as taught by Redmond et al. in order to reduce chatter and improve the quality of the cutting operation.
Regarding claim 2, the modified invention of Rouch et al. discloses wherein said at least two actuators C1/C2 are n in number, wherein n≥2 (n=2 in this instance), and are so arranged in the elongated body that each of the n actuators has its working axis oriented at an angle of 180°/n to another one of these n actuators (actuators C1 and C2 are 90 degrees apart (180/2), see figure 13 of Redmond et al.) wherein the n actuators have their respective working axes evenly angularly distributed (being 90 degrees apart from each other), and wherein the working axis of each one of these n actuators has an individual angular orientation that is different from the angular orientations of the working axes of the other ones of the n actuators (as seen in figure 13 of Redmond et al.).
Regarding claim 3, the modified invention of Rouch et al. discloses wherein each couple of adjacent actuators C1/C2 are arranged such that their working axes are oriented at an angle of 180°/n to each other (being 90 degrees apart from each other, see figure 13 of Redmond et al.).
Regarding claim 4, the modified invention of Rouch et al. discloses wherein the elongated body 12 includes an elongated main part configured for attachment to a support structure 14 of a metal cutting machine 10, the main part having a rear end and an opposite front end, a front part having a rear end facing the front end of the main part and an opposite front end, the front end of the front part being arranged to carry said tool part, and at least one damping module arranged between the front end of the main part and the rear end of the front part and accommodating one or more of said at least two actuators 464/465 (modified with actuators C1 and C2), and wherein the front part of the elongated body is connected to the main part thereof via the at least one damping module, wherein the at least one damping module constitutes a length section of the elongated body (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 5, the modified invention of Rouch et al. discloses wherein the at least one damping module has the same cross-sectional outer peripheral shape as the main part and/or the front part (as seen in the annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 6, the modified invention of Rouch et al. discloses wherein the main part and/or the front part and/or the at least one damping module are cylindrical (member 12 is a cylinder).
Regarding claim 7, the modified invention of Rouch et al. discloses wherein an external periphery of the main part and an external periphery of the at least one damping module are flush or substantially flush with each other (as seen in the annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 10, the modified invention of Rouch et al. discloses wherein said at least two actuators are accommodated in the same damping module.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, and 10-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, and 8-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,521,796. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variations of each other.
Claim correlation:
Application claim number
Patent claim number(s)
1
1, 4-5
4
8
6
9
7
10
8
11
10
12
11
13
Claims 1 and 4-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, and 11-14 of copending Application No. 18/013210 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variations of each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim correlation:
Application claim number
Application claim number(s)
1
1, 8-9, 11-12
4
1
5
2
6
3
7
4
8
6
9
13-14
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 9 April 2026