Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election of Group I, Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 12/04/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claim s 9-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed o n 12/04/2025. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 2- 7 , “elements of interest” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if antecedence is claimed to the elements of interest recited in claim 1 or a separate set of elements of interest. Claim 8 is indefinite by virtue of dependency on claim 6. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claim s 1- 3, 5-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter? Yes. Claim 1 is drawn to a process. Step 2A, Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? Yes. Claim 1 recites the following abstract ideas: “associating a classification label with the element of interest, in which the classification label is determined by one or more workers in a course of the one or more workers performing their normal duties in the work setting” - This is an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, i.e. a concept performed in the human mind. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), III. Step 2A, Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No. Claim 1 recites the following additional elements: “capturing, using one or more sensors configured in a work setting, sensor data comprising one or more values of the element of interest” – This amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g). The limitation merely recites the gathering of data for classification without meaningfully limiting the claim beyond generic data gathering from sensors. “forming a labelled dataset using the captured sensor data and associated labels from the one or more workers’ classifications for the plurality of elements of interest” – This amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g). The limitation merely recites the gathering of data for classification without meaningfully limiting the claim beyond generic data aggregation. Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No . Claim 1 recites the following additional elements: “capturing, using one or more sensors configured in a work setting, sensor data comprising one or more values of the element of interest” – This amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g). The limitation merely recites the gathering of data for classification without meaningfully limiting the claim beyond generic data gathering from sensors. “forming a labelled dataset using the captured sensor data and associated labels from the one or more workers’ classifications for the plurality of elements of interest” – This amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g). The limitation merely recites the gathering of data for classification without meaningfully limiting the claim beyond generic data aggregation. Claim 2 Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter? Yes. Claim 2 is drawn to a process Step 2A, Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? Yes. Claim 2 recites the following abstract ideas: The abstract ideas of claim 1. Step 2A, Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No. Claim 2 recites the following additional elements: “using at least some of the labelled dataset to train a machine learning model to perform classification on elements of interest” - merely reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount ot significantly more than the judicial exception? No. Claim 2 recites the following additional elements: “using at least some of the labelled dataset to train a machine learning model to perform classification on elements of interest” - merely reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Claim 3 Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter? Yes. Claim 3 is drawn to a process Step 2A, Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? Yes. Claim 3 recites the following abstract ideas: The abstract ideas of claim 1. Step 2A, Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No. Claim 3 recites the following additional elements: “deploying the trained machine learning model in a same or similar work setting to automate classification of elements of interest” - merely reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount ot significantly more than the judicial exception? No. Claim 3 recites the following additional elements: “deploying the trained machine learning model in a same or similar work setting to automate classification of elements of interest” - merely reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Claim 5 Claim 5 recites a repetition of claim 1 and therefore the same issues in claim 1 are present in claim 5, rendering claim 5 ineligible. Claim 6 The analysis with respect to claim 2, mutatis mutandis , applies to claim 6, rendering claim 6 ineligible. Claim 8 Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter? Yes. Claim 8 is drawn to a process. Step 2A, Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? Yes. Claim 8 recites the following abstract ideas: The abstract ideas of claim 1. Step 2A, Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No. Claim 8 recites the following additional elements: “combining labelled data from at least two work settings” – This amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g). The limitation merely recites the gathering of data for classification without meaningfully limiting the claim beyond generic data aggregation. Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No. Claim 8 recites the following additional elements: “combining labelled data from at least two work settings” – This amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g). The limitation merely recites the gathering of data for classification without meaningfully limiting the claim beyond generic data aggregation. Claims 4 and 7 Claims 4 and 7 are deemed patent eligible under 35 USC 101 because they recite specific, concrete training steps regarding how training is carried out with respect to the accuracy. While broad, the claims practically apply the abstract ideas of claim 1 to the training of a machine learning model which benefits from expert classification, see ¶48 of the as-filed Specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1- 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Consul (US20090319456A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Consul teaches a method comprising: for each element of a plurality of elements of interest: capturing, using one or more sensors configured in a work setting, sensor data comprising one or more values of the element of interest (Figure 2: 116, new data is an “element of interest” and the messages of the new data, ¶33, are “captured” by the computer and are recognized by the system and can be considered “sensed” by sensors) ; and associating a classification label with the element of interest, in which the classification label is determined by one or more workers in a course of the one or more workers performing their normal duties in the work setting (¶33, workers tag messages as they come in) ; and forming a labelled dataset using the captured sensor data and associated labels from the one or more workers' classifications for the plurality of elements of interest (Figure 2: 106) . Regarding claim 2 , Consul teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, further comprising: using at least some of the labelled dataset to train a machine learning model to perform classification on elements of interest (¶33, ¶43) . Regarding claim 3 , Consul teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, further comprising: deploying the trained machine learning model in a same or similar work setting to automate classification of elements of interest (¶33, ¶43). Regarding claim 4 , Consul teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, further comprising: responsive to the machine learning model not achieving an accuracy above a threshold value given an existing labelled dataset: repeating the steps of Claim 1 to obtain additional labelled data to validate the machine learning model (¶70, if accuracy is insufficient, further training is conducted, which includes additional data per Figure 2) ; and performing additional training on the machine learning model using at least some of the additional labelled data (¶70 and Figure 2) ; and responsive to the machine learning model achieving accuracy above the threshold value, deploying the trained machine learning model in a same or similar work setting to automate classification of elements of interest (¶33, ¶43) . Regarding claim 5 , Consul teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, further comprising: repeating the steps of Claim 1 at a plurality of work settings, in which workers operate on elements of interest that are of a same type and perform a same classification operation, to obtain a plurality of labelled datasets using the captured sensor data and associated labels from the one or more worker's classifications (¶25 and ¶70, retraining, i.e. repeating Claim 1, can be performed, and organization-wide user tags can be utilized instead of a single worker’s tags) . Regarding claim 6 , Consul teaches all of the limitations of claim 5, further comprising: for each work setting of a set of work settings selected from the plurality of work settings, using at least some of the labelled dataset associated with the work setting to train a machine learning model to perform classification on elements of interest (¶25 and ¶70, retraining, i.e. repeating Claim 1, can be performed, and organization-wide user tags can be utilized instead of a single worker’s tags) . Regarding claim 8 , Consul teaches all of the limitations of claim 6, further comprising: combining labelled data from at least two work settings (¶25 and ¶70, retraining, i.e. repeating Claim 1, can be performed, and organization-wide user tags can be utilized instead of a single worker’s tags) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Consul (US20090319456A1) in view of Fan (US20050131873A1). Regarding claim 7 , Consul teaches all of the limitations of claim 6, but does not teach the method further comprising: obtaining a plurality of machine learning models formed using different labelled datasets; forming a set of combined models comprising a combination of two or more of the machine learning models; using evaluation data to obtain accuracy measures for each combined model; selecting a combined model with an acceptable accuracy measure; and deploying the combined model at least one of the work settings. Fan teaches obtaining a plurality of machine learning models formed using different labelled datasets; forming a set of combined models comprising a combination of two or more of the machine learning models; using evaluation data to obtain accuracy measures for each combined model; selecting a combined model with an acceptable accuracy measure; and deploying the combined model at least one of the work settings (¶19-20 – sub-ensembles are created and confidence scores for each are generated and the sub-ensemble with the highest confidence score is deployed) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Consul to include obtaining a plurality of machine learning models formed using different labelled datasets, forming a set of combined models comprising a combination of two or more of the machine learning models, using evaluation data to obtain accuracy measures for each combined model; selecting a combined model with an acceptable accuracy measure, and deploying the combined model at least one of the work setting in order to provide an accurate classification model. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Herde , Marek, et al. "Active sorting–an efficient training of a sorting robot with active learning techniques." 2018 international joint conference on neural networks (IJCNN) . IEEE, 2018. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT SCHYLER S SANKS whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6125 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 06:30 - 15:30 Central Time, M-F . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael Huntley can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (303) 297-4307 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SCHYLER S SANKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129