DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s response to election/restriction filed 02/05/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 02/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/05/2026.
Claims 1-12 are pending. Claims 1-8 are being examined. Claims 9-12 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Considering claims 1-3, the claims are directed to a compound; however, it is unclear as to what the structure of the compound is because the limitations do not specify the entire structure of the compound. For example, “having a lone electron-pair and a π electron orbit” is a feature of an electron arrangement and doesn’t specify the structure of the compound; the energy gap ΔEST, a radiative decay rate constant, and an oscillator strength are properties of the compound which again do not specify the structure of the compound. For the purpose of examination, the structure of the compound for claims 1-3 will be considered to be that of Formula (1) in claim 4.
Considering claims 4-8, it is unclear as to what the structure of the substituents R1, R2, and R3 is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruisheng Technology (CN 106883240 A).
Considering claims 1-4, Ruisheng Technology teaches an organic compound that is a heptazine derivative represented by Formula (1) below:
having three arbitrary substituents R1, R2, and R3 which are independent of each other (Ruisheng Technology, claims 7-8, [0009]-[0017], [0043]-[0052], [0079]-[0089], examples 1-12).
The claims are directed to a heptazine derivative represented by the claimed Formula (1). Ruisheng Technology teaches a heptazine derivative represented by the claimed Formula (1); thus, it would be expected that the compound of Ruisheng Technology would also have a lone electron-pair and a π electron orbit, wherein an energy gap ΔEST obtained by subtracting an energy level ET1 of a lowest triplet excitation state T1 from an energy level ES1 of a lowest singlet excitation mode S1 is -0.20 eV ≤ ΔEST < 0.0090 eV. It would also be expected that the compound of Ruisheng Technology would also have a radiative decay rate constant kr of less than 1.0 x 106s-1 and an oscillator strength f of less than 0.0050.
Considering claim 5, Ruisheng Technology teaches substituents R1, R2, and R3 are constituted by two types of substituents (Ruisheng Technology, claims 7-8).
Considering claim 6, Ruisheng Technology teaches substituents R1, R2, and R3 are constituted by three different types of substituents (Ruisheng Technology, claims 7-8).
Considering claim 7, Ruisheng Technology teaches substituents R1, R2, and R3 are constituted by one type of substituent (Ruisheng Technology, claims 7-8).
Considering claim 8, Ruisheng Technology teaches an organic compound that is a heptazine derivative represented by Formula (1) below:
having three arbitrary substituents R1, R2, and R3 which are independent of each other (Ruisheng Technology, claims 7-8, [0009]-[0017], [0043]-[0052], [0079]-[0089], examples 1-12).
Ruisheng Technology teaches substituents R1, R2, and R3 are constituted by two or three types of substituents (Ruisheng Technology, claims 7-8).
Conclusion
/ANITA NASSIRI-MOTLAGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734