Claims 12-16 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-11 and 17-20 are withdrawn from examination.
The remarks filed on 02/11/2026 have been received and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos et al. (US 20150224055) and as evidenced by Kwon et al. (submitted by the applicant).
Santos teaches pharmaceutical formulations comprising an anti-angiogenic compound such as a monoclonal antibody or fragment thereof Selected from, for example, ranibizumab, which is a vascular endothelial growth factor binder which inhibits the action of VEGF, and a delivery agent selected from a pharmaceutically acceptable liposome. The formulations are useful in the treatment of a variety of angiogenic disorders and diseases in animals and people, and, preferably, in ophthalmic disorders selected from age-related macular degeneration, diabetic macular edema and corneal neovascularize. See the abstract. the treatment of other forms of macular edema is taught in Para [0046]. Santo teaches that ophthalmic steroids that may be utilized in the liposomal formulation alone or in combination with any other active ingredient include dexamethasone, fluocinolone, loteprednol difluprednate, fluorometholone, prednisolone, medrysone, triamcinolone acetonide, rimexolone and the various salt forms thereof. See Para [0048]. Santos in table 2, Para [0056] teaches the use of triamcinolone acetonide in combination with glycerol dimyristate. The topical administration is taught in claim 4 and 13. The use of triamcinolone acetonide and topical administration is also taught in claims 36 and 39. To treat macular edema due branch retinal vein occlusion would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, considering that Santo teaches the use of the claimed composition for the treatment diabetic macular edema and other types of macular edema. Furthermore, Kwon teaches the use of triamcinolone for the treatment of macular edema secondary to branch retinal vein occlusion.
Double Patenting
Claims 12-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-7 of U.S. Patent No. 10,548,841. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap.
The claims of the instant application are drawn to a method of treating a patient having macular edema secondary to branch retinal vein occlusion comprising topically administering a pharmaceutically effective amount of a triamcinolone acetonide- loaded liposomal formulation as primary therapy for said patient. The claims of the U.S. patent are drawn to a method of treating diabetic macular edema in a patient in need of treatment thereof comprising topically administering to the surface of the eye a pharmaceutically effective amount of a topical ophthalmic formulation comprising a thermodynamically stable self- forming liposome selected from the group consisting of PEG-12-GDM or PEG-12 GDO and triamcinolone acetonide wherein the liposome is a self-forming thermodynamically stable liposome present in a weight percentage of less than 20% wt./wt. based upon the total weight of the formulation. The claims of the instant application are within the scope of the claims of the U.S. Patent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks have been noted. Applicant in his remarks argues that “The Santos disclosure teaches liposomal formulations and topical treatment of certain diseases or conditions using the liposomal formulation disclosed therein. Treatment of macular edema is disclosed. There is no teaching of treating macular edema secondary to branch vein retinal occlusion. The combination of references does not lead one of ordinary skill in the art to the treatment of any conditions which are secondary to occlusion of any sort, let alone branch vein retinal occlusion. The Santos disclosure focuses on primary diabetic macular edema, corneal neovascularization and AMD, without, again, suggesting or recognizing any efficacy in macular thickening, macular cysts or macular edema secondary to branch vein retinal occlusion (BRVO). In addition, there is clear evidence of unexpected results with respect to the data shown in, for example, Figure 4 of the present application for the treatment of subjects having macular edema secondary to branch vein retinal occlusion in CFT, BCVA and IOP during follow up of TA-LF therapy versus the treatment with placebo and versus the data shown in the Santos prior art (Santos, Figure 4) in subjects that were not subjects with macular edema secondary to branch vein retinal occlusion”. Applicant in his remarks further argues that “The results in the current application show a substantially greater reduction in central foveal thickness and superior visual recovery using equivalent dosing. This magnitude of improvement was clinically unexpected and indicates a distinct therapeutic mechanism or responsiveness in the BRVO-related group. The present application demonstrates surprising and unexpected results that would overcome any indicia of prima facie obviousness which, Applicant suggests, has not even been met”. It is the examiner’s position that comparing the use of the claimed composition in a patient having macular edema secondary to branch retinal vein occlusion with placebo shows that the claimed composition works on macular edema secondary to branch retinal vein occlusion. Santos clearly teaches the use of the triamcinolone for the treatment of macular edema due to many conditions. There is no evidence of record to show that such compound cannot be used for treating macular edema secondary to branch retinal vein occlusion. Furthermore, Kwon teaches the use of triamcinolone for the treatment of macular edema secondary to branch retinal vein occlusion by intravitreal injection. The topical liposomal administration triamcinolone acetonide is taught by santos et al. Furthermore, there is no side-by-side comparison commensurate with the claimed language to show the advantages of using topical triamcinolone acetonide in treating macular edema secondary to branch retinal vein occlusion and macular edema caused by other reasons. Additionally, since Santos uses the same composition as the claimed invention, the advantages applicant is claiming is the inherent property of Santos composition in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617