DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, 5-9 of copending Application No. 17/924186. The copending application lays claim to the scope of the instant claim in substantial and overlapping manner such the double patenting rejection is issued. Pertaining to dependent claim 2, this claim is indefinite and therefore is interpreted to be met by the positive recitation of the copending application. Pertaining to claim 3, although specific dimensions are not enumerated in the copending application, these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to produce the invention of the copending application for batteries over various sized casings and energy densities.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Instant claim lays weight to a size selection which makes the battery impervious to the effects of damage – this is not possible. There are imaginable conditions upon which the scope of the claim would no longer be met because what is being claimed is impossible. Batteries in an environment of 0Kelvin would not transport electrons and therefore the resistance of the electric storage device would be changed, and that relationship has nothing to do with the size of the weld area and the size of the weld area cannot change the batteries response to such environment.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Instant claim recites “the flange has a dimension…” – the claim is written as “comprising” language and therefore the full scope of the flange elements is not specifically defined. It is interpreted that a weld, attachment layer, etc. could be within the scope of applicant’s flange material whereby it is unclear what features exhibits the 0.9mm or more and 1.1mm or less. Additionally, what is the contact area of the flange – located on the outer surface of the case – and the swaged portion – located on the inside portion of the case to hold the shaft in contact electrically with the electrode assembly? The shaft portion exists between the flange and the swaged portion and therefore determining a contact area is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yokota et al (PGPUB 2017/0054131).
Claim 1: Yokota teaches a battery terminal made of a clad material which a first metal layer of Al0based alloy, a second layer of Cu-based alloy, and a third metal layer of Ni-based alloy are bonded to each other in a state where the first, second, and third metal layers are stacked; the assembly includes a flange portion and shaft portion [Abstract]. The electric storage device (1) includes an electrode assembly (4), a case (3), and external terminals (10, 20) which are connected to internal leads (5, 6) [Fig 1-3]. The external terminal includes a flange and shaft portion [0010]. The flange (12) is located on the outer surface of the case [Fig 3; 0064]. The shaft (11) extends from the flange to pass through the case and act as a connective connection to the electrode assembly such that the shaft is swaged [Fig 3; 0065]. The flange is made of a clad material having a plurality of metal layers such exemplified to be Al (101) welded (W2) to a layer of material (31) of cladding material of (31, 32, 33) [Fig 4; 0069-0071] whereby the interpretation of the claim is the shaft is the radial dimension of the element set by the dimension of the hole and the flange portion is the aspect extending therebeyond in a direction of the outer surface of the case.
Claim 2: Yokota teaches a flange and shaft to be connected to each other with the shaft being swagged [Fig 4; 0065, 0069-0071]. Yokota teaches the weld zone between one of the metal layers at one end and the shaft to have a size [Fig 4; 0107]. The prior art teaches all positively recited structural features of the instant claim and therefore is interpreted to have the same functional limitation pertaining to the resistance characteristics – See 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokota et al (PGPUB 2017/0054131).
Claim 3: Yokota teaches an external terminal made of a flange and shaft that is welded together to atomically bond the materials [0011] – the determination of where the flange starts and stops becomes open for interpretation since these features are blurring together via the weld. The prior art teaches at least one layer in the passing direction to have a dimension between 0.4mm and 0.6mm [Fig 15]. The prior art is silent to specifically define the contact area between the flange and swagged portion of the shaft and the flange dimension features to comprise a dimension of the claimed scope. The prior art teaches these features [Fig 13]. The relative size of these features is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize and select a usable dimension based upon the size of the case and the energy density of the battery.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN J YANCHUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752