DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, 16 and 18-24 in the reply filed on November 24, 2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 16 and 18-24 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, the limitation “wherein at least one of the top plate element, the at least one sidewall element and/or the bottom plate element comprises at least one channel” recited in lines 18-19 should read --- wherein at least one of the top plate element, the at least one sidewall element and
In claim(s) 2-4, 6-10, 19 and 22, “The system” recited in line 1 should read --- The assembly system --- for consistency. In claim(s) 20-21 and 23-24, “The system” recited in line 1 should read --- The modular smart tank system --- for consistency. In claim 10, “the sealable opening” in line 9 should read --- the at least one sealable opening --- for consistency. Applicant is advised that should claim 3 be found allowable, claim 16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). In claim 18, “the assembly-connecting means” in line 6 should read --- the at least one assembly-connecting means --- for consistency. In claim 18, “the corresponding assembly-connecting means” in lines 6-7 should read --- the at least one corresponding assembly-connecting means --- for consistency. In claim 18, the limitation “wherein at least one of the top plate element, the at least one sidewall element and/or the bottom plate element” recited in lines 10-11 should read --- wherein at least one of the top plate element, the at least one sidewall element and the bottom plate element l ---. In claim 18, “the channel-connecting means” in lines 13 and 15 should read --- the at least one channel-connecting means --- for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 16 and 18-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an assembly system" in line 11. However, the claimed invention is drawn to an assembly system and thus unclear how the assembly system recited in line 11 is related to the previously recited assembly system recited in line 1. Claim(s) 2-4 and 6-10 are included in this rejection by virtue of their dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least one smart tank" in line 6. However, it is unclear if the at least one smart tank is referring to the smart tank recited earlier in the claim or is an additional smart tank.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the smart tank" in line 6. However, it is unclear if the smart tank is referring to one of the at least one smart tank recited earlier in the claim or is an additional smart tank.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the system" in line 12. However, it is unclear if the system is referring to the assembly system recited earlier in the claim or is an additional system.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a biopharma process under clean room conditions" in lines 11-12. However, it is unclear if the biopharma process under clean room conditions is referring to the biopharma process under clean room conditions recited earlier in the claim or is an additional biopharma process under clean room condition.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the at least one manipulator" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the claim to recite – the manipulator --- or define at least one manipulator earlier in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the assembly bag" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 9-10, the phrase "preferably" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the sealable opening" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the claim to recite – the at least one sealable opening --- or define a sealable opening earlier in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the clean room bag" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "one or more sidewall elements" in line 8. It is unclear if the one or more sidewall elements recited in the claim include the at least one sidewall element recited earlier in the claim or is an additional sidewall element. Claim(s) 19-24 are included in this rejection by virtue of their dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the respective first channel portion" in line 12. However, the claim only require at least one first channel and thus unclear what other first channel portion the limitation "the respective first channel portion" is referring to.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "wherein a tank-interconnecting port serves for coupling a channel of the first smart tank" in lines 18-19. It is unclear if the channel recited in the claim include the at least one first channel recited earlier in the claim or is an additional channel.
The term “substantially” in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claims 19-24, There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “second smart tank” in the claims. Claims 19-24 are treated as being dependent from claim 18.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gabusi (WO 2020/225838-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gabusi discloses an assembly system for assembling a modular smart tank for a biopharma process under clean room conditions, the system comprising: at least one mobile storage means (see FIG. 1 of Gabusi, annotated and reproduced below: transport container (20); page 10, ll. 8-11) for storing components of at least one smart tank (interpreted as a simple container),
an assembly room (see annotated FIG. 1: processing chamber (12); p. 9, line 30 to p. 10, line 3), wherein the assembly room is adapted to provide clean room conditions and wherein the assembly room is configured to allow assembly of at least one smart tank within the assembly room from the components stored in the mobile storage means (FIG. 1: processing chamber (12) of Gabusi is structurally the same as the instant assembly room and thus considered to be fully capable of meeting the claimed functions; p. 9, line 30 to p. 10, line 3), and a manipulator, being adapted to automatically assemble the smart tank within the assembly room (FIG. 1: robotic arm (13) structurally the same as the instant manipulator and thus considered to be fully capable of meeting the claimed functions; see also p. 12, ll. 23-29), OR an assembly system for assembling a modular smart tank for a bio-pharma process under clean
room conditions, wherein the system includes components of at least one modular smart tank, the components include a top plate element, at least one sidewall element. and a bottom plate element, wherein the top plate element, the at least one sidewall element and the bottom plate element can be
assembled to form a reservoir of the smart tank for receiving at least one biochemical medium,
wherein at least one of the top plate element, the at least one sidewall element and/or the bottom plate element comprises at least one channel, for guiding the at least one biochemical medium and/or an operating medium. Furthermore, it is noted that the phrase “can be” renders the limitations that follow the phrase optional.
Furthermore, it is noted that the recitations of functional language "for assembling a modular smart tank for a biopharma process under clean room conditions; for storing components of at least one smart tank; to provide clean room conditions; and, to automatically assemble the smart tank within the assembly room " are drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). The prior art discloses all of the structural features of the claimed assembly system and thus since the structure is the same, the claimed functions are apparent.
Regarding claim 2, Gabusi further discloses wherein the mobile storage means includes a sealable opening that is configured for allowing removal of components of the at least one smart tank from the mobile storage means, and wherein the assembly room comprises at least one corresponding sealable opening that is configured for receiving components from a mobile storage means (FIG. 1: transport container 20 comprises closing means (20’) that is coupled to closing means (19’); p. 10, ll. 17-24), whereinthe sealable opening of the mobile storage means and the corresponding seal able opening of the assembly room are configured to open jointly, when the assembly room is sealingly coupled to the mobile storage means (FIG. 1: transport container 20 comprises closing means (20’) to be coupled with a mating closing means (19’); p. 10, line 17 to p. 11, line 5). Furthermore, it is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, regarding the limitation “wherein the mobile storage means is provided as a single use device. wherein optionally the mobile storage means is a plastic-based device that can be discarded after use,” it is noted that the mobile storage means of the system of Gabusi is structurally the same as the instant mobile storage means and thus considered to meet the limitation “provided as a single use device.”
Regarding claim 4, Gabusi further discloses wherein the at least one manipulator is
adapted to remove components from the mobile storage means and to assemble a smart tank within the assembly room from the removed components to form an assembled smart tank (p. 7, ll. 7-12; col. 17, line 3 to p. 18. Line 13). Furthermore, it is noted that the recitations of functional language "to remove components from the mobile storage means and to assemble a smart tank within the assembly room from the removed components to form an assembled smart tank" are drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 9, Gabusi further discloses wherein the mobile storage means is adapted to allow sterilization of smart tank components being stored within the mobile storage means (the mobile storage means of the system of Gabusi is structurally the same as the instant mobile storage means and thus considered to meet the limitation “allow sterilization of smart tank components being stored within the mobile storage means.”
Regarding claim 10, regarding the limitation “wherein the manipulator is adapted to
disassemble smart tanks and optionally to remove assembled smart tanks from the clean room bag, and wherein the system optionally, further comprises at least one recycling means, adapted for receiving disassembled components of a smart tank and preferably for shredding said components, wherein the recycling means maybe adapted to sealingly couple to the assembly room, the recycling means optionally comprises
at least one sealable opening that is configured for receiving disassembled components from the assembly room, wherein
the sealable opening of the recycling means and the corresponding sealable opening of the assembly room are configured to open jointly, when the assembly room is sealingly coupled to the recycling means, and wherein the
sealable opening of the recycling means is further optionally covered by at least one cover element,
whereinthe at least one cover element of the recycling means and the at least one corresponding cover element of the assembly room are configured to couple with each other to open jointly,” it is noted that the manipulator of the system of Gabusi is structurally the same as the instant manipulator and thus considered to meet the limitation “disassemble smart tanks.” Furthermore, the limitation “to disassemble smart tanks” is drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114).
Therefore, Gabusi meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claim(s) 1-4, 9-10 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabusi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okabe (US 8,171,964).
Regarding claim 6, Gabusi discloses the assembly system according to claim 1. Gabusi discloses wherein the assembly system includes delivery means for delivering the at least one mobile storage means to the assembly room (see FIG. 1 of Gabusi). Gabusi does not explicitly disclose at least one mobile delivery means, such as an automated guided vehicle, the mobile delivery means being adapted to transport the at least one mobile storage means to the assembly room, and wherein optionally the at least one mobile delivery means is adapted to transport mobile storage means to the assembly room in a predefined order. Okabe discloses a mobile storage means (FIG. 1: pod main body 2) coupled to a mobile delivery means (pod table 22) adapted to transport the at least one mobile storage means (see col. 7, ll. 11-20). In view of Okabe, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the mobile delivery means of Okabe with the assembly system of Gabusi for the purpose of automating the process of delivering the at least one mobile storage means to the assembly room. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the substitution of one known delivery means for another for the predictable result of moving components within a system.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabusi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mossig (WO 2019/053186-A1; US 2020/0261901 is used as English translation).
Regarding claim 7, Gabusi discloses the assembly system according to claim 1. Gabusi does not explicitly disclose wherein the wherein the assembly room is an assembly bag, comprising flexible wall elements, the assembly bag being optionally a sterile bag, that is further optionally a single-use bag. Mossig discloses that assembly rooms can be formed of flexible or rigid materials ([0002]). In view of Mossig, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the assembly room of Gabusi with flexible material, because Mossig discloses that it is well known in the art to construct the assembly rooms with flexible or rigid materials ([0002]). Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 8, Gabusi does not explicitly disclose wherein the manipulator is provided outside the assembly room, and wherein optionally the manipulator is at least partially covered by a manipulator bag, further optionally the manipulator bag being integrally formed with the assembly bag. Mossig discloses a system comprising an assembly room (shell 3; [0055]) and a manipulator that is provided outside the assembly room (external actuating device (25); [0057]). In view of Mossig, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly system of Gabusi with the system of Mossig to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art (see also MPEP § 2144.04 VI. C.). One would have been motivated to rearrange the manipulator outside the assembly room for the purpose of maximizing working space within the assembly room.
Claim(s) 18-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niazi (US 2011/0217690) in view of Bisconte (US 4,696,902).
Regarding claims 18 and 23, Niazi discloses a modular smart tank system for use in a bio-pharmaceutical process, the system comprising a first smart tank (see FIGS. 3-4 which disclose a system comprising a plurality of tanks; [0034]-[0036]). Niazi does not explicitly disclose wherein tank comprises a top plate element, at least one sidewall element, and/or a bottom plate element, wherein the top plate element, the at least one sidewall element and/or the bottom plate element comprises at least one assembly-connecting means and at least one corresponding assembly-connecting means, the assembly-connecting means and the corresponding assembly-connecting means being configured to engage with each other so as to secure an assembly of at least two adjacent elements selected from the group of top plate element, one or more sidewall elements, and bottom plate element. Bisconte discloses a system comprising a storage container having a top plate element, at least one sidewall element, and/or a bottom plate element, wherein the top plate element, the at least one sidewall element and/or the bottom plate element comprises at least one assembly-connecting means and at least one corresponding assembly-connecting means (see FIG. 3: assembly-connecting means (27,28); col. 8, ll. 29-37). In view of Bisconte, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tank of Niazi with the tank Bisconte to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have resulted in tank having the added advantage of ease of assembly as suggested by Bisconte (see FIG. 3: assembly-connecting means (27,28); col. 8, ll. 29-37). Modified Niazi further discloses wherein at least one of the top plate element, the at least one sidewall element and/or the bottom plate element comprises at least one first channel portion and at least one channel-connecting means associated with the respective first channel portion the channel-connecting means and the corresponding channel-connecting means being configured to engage with each other so as to form a fluidically sealed channel connection between the first channel portion and a second channel portion, so as to form at least one channel (see Niazi FIGS. 3-4 which discloses at least two tanks fluidically connected via a channel connected to the tanks by connecting means), at least one bypass channel is provided, for guiding a biochemical medium and/or an operating medium (channel connecting end tanks), and wherein the system comprises a second smart tank, wherein a tank-interconnecting port serves for coupling a channel of the first smart tank fluidically to a corresponding channel of a second smart tank (see Niazi FIGS. 3-4 which discloses at least two tanks fluidically connected via a channel connected to the tanks by connecting means).
Regarding claims 19-20, modified Niazi further discloses wherein a height compensation means is provided, and wherein the height compensation means is adapted so that the top plate element of the first smart tank can be installed at substantially the same height as a top plate element of the second smart tank (as shown in FIGS. 3-4, the height compensation means is adapted to move the tanks up and down as desired elevation). Furthermore, it is noted that the phrase “can be” renders the limitations that follow the phrase optional.
Regarding claim 21, modified Niazi does not explicitly disclose wherein coupling of the height compensation means to the first smart tank is carried out automatically, using a manipulator. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have automated the coupling of the height compensation means to the first smart tank for the purpose of increasing the throughput of the system.
Regarding claim 22, modified Niazi further discloses wherein multiple smart tanks are assembled and directly interconnected with each other, such that at least one channel of the first smart tank is fluidically connected to a corresponding channel of the second smart tank (see Niazi FIGS. 3-4 which discloses at least two tanks fluidically connected via a channel connected to the tanks by connecting means).
Regarding claim 24, modified Niazi further discloses wherein the height compensation means is provided and is being adapted to be coupled to the first smart tank (see Niazi at FIGS. 3-4).
Conclusion
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799