DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on August 04, 2026 has been entered and considered; however, the application is not in condition for allowance because of the following.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application 2012/0216394 to Kitaura et al in view of U.S. Patent 9,634,258 to Matsushita.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Kitaura et al teach an all-solid-state battery manufacturing method (Abstract), the method comprising the steps of: (a) preparing an electrode assembly having a solid electrolyte layer (Fig, 2, 2) between a positive electrode (1 & Bottom 6) and a negative electrode (3 & Top 6); (b) inserting the electrode assembly into a battery case (Fig. 1, 7); (c) applying a first pressure to the battery case after inserting the electrode assembly in the battery case [while being pressed in/by the case (7; Para. 0030, lines 1-6; Para. 0083, lines 1-6)]; and d) applying a second pressure and heat to the battery case (7 & 8; Para. 0036, lines 1-4) except for the first pressure applying a same pressure to the battery case in all direction and the second pressure applied in two direction with a pressing jig system. Matsushita teaches the process of pressing an electrode assembly having a solid electrolyte layer (2) between a positive electrode (4) and a negative electrode (5) inserted in battery case (packaging material see Col. 12, line 35-45) and the pressing jig system apply a pressure in two direction (see Fig. 13) for producing a all-solid-state battery having higher energy density and no warping (see Col. 17, lines 42-49). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention Kitaura et al by utilizing the pressing jig system and isostatic pressing method as taught by Matsushita for obtaining the all-solid-state battery having higher energy density and no warping.
Regarding claim 2, Kitaura et al teach that a temperature range of the heat in
step (d) is around 150° C (Para. 0077, lines 6-7).
Regarding claim 5, Kitaura et al teach that a contact area at an interface
between the negative electrode (Fig. 2, 3) and the solid electrolyte layer (2) after step
(d) is greater than the contact area at the interface between the negative electrode (3)
and the solid electrolyte layer (2) before step (d), due to heat and compression (8) that
press the solid electrolyte layer (2) around the negative electrode (3).
Regarding claim 8, Kitaura et al teach the manufactured all-solid-state battery.
Regarding claim 9, Kitaura et al teach that the all-solid-state battery is a unit cell (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Kitaura et al disclose the negative electrode (Fig. 2, Bottom 6) comprises no negative electrode mixture, such as SUS foil (6; Para. 0065, line 10).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitaura et al in view of Matsushita as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application 2020/0014071 to Nakashima et al.
Kitaura et al teach an all-solid-state battery manufacturing method (Abstract) including the applied second pressure and heat at 150° C to the battery case (7 & 8; Para. 0036, lines 1-4; Para. 0077, lines 6-7), which reads on applicants' claimed invention and Matsushita discloses the second pressing jig (Fig. 13) except for the applied pressure and heat to the battery case for 12 hours to 30 hours and resetting the distance between to pressing plates.
Nakashima et al teach a technological method of producing all-solid-state battery
(Para.0119) with the heating at 315° C for 10 hours to dry the lamination of the battery
(Para. 0286, lines 7-9), in order to suppress a short circuit between the cathode and
anode layers. (Para. 0016). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the all-solid-state battery manufacturing method of Kitaura et al, by applying the technological method of producing all-solid-state battery, as taught by Nakashima et al, in order to dry the laminations at lower temperature such as 150° C and longer heating time of more than 12 hours to obtain a technological battery that suppresses a short circuit between the cathode and anode layers and it would be within the worker skill to adjust the distance between to pressing plates before the pressing start.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 8-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DN /DONGHAI D NGUYEN/September 19, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729