Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Restriction Requirement Response filed on 12/22/2025; and IDS filed on 06/07/2023.
Claims 1-21 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 9-21 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 18/010,219 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-application recites a core-shell microparticle comprising a biodegradable polymer with at least two or more surface cavities for use in the treatment of vascular disease, wherein the shell further comprises one or more drugs (see claim 1), wherein the shell comprises one or more anti-inflammatory drugs (see claim 4), wherein at least one anti-inflammatory drug is a steroid, preferably dexamethasone (see claim 5), wherein the biodegradable polymer is selected from an aliphatic polyester, aromatic copolyester, polyamide, poly(ester-amide), polyurethane, polyanhydride, polysaccharide, and blends or copolymers thereof (see claim 7), wherein the biodegradable polymer is poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (see claim 8).
The difference between instant application and the patented claims is that the patent claims include additional limitations. Thus, the invention of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”, and, therefore, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the patent and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MOHAMED et al (PLGA microcapsules with novel dimpled surfaces for pulmonary delivery of DNA. International Journal of Pharmaceutics 311 (2006) 97–107).
MOHAMED teaches poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid)(“PLGA”) microcapsules with dimpled surfaces (see title; abstract; and pg. 102, Fig. 5), which reads on two or more cavities. The microparticles were prepared using PLGA, poly(vinylalcohol)(“PVA”) and dichloromethane (DCM) to form water-in-oil-water (w/o/w) double emulsion-solvent evaporation technique (see pg. 98, 2nd col – pg. 99, 1st col), which appears to be the same ingredients and method used by Applicant (see Applicant’s specification at [0166]), and would have a hollow core and shell (see pg. 103, Fig. 6). Additional disclosures include: 3-5um and >8 um diameter (see pg. 98, 1st col), such as 10um (see pg. 101, Table 2).
Note, MOHMED’s composition would be capable of being used as an ultrasound contrast agent, because MOHMED’s composition has the same ingredients as claimed by Applicant. Especially, when PLGA are well-known to be ultrasound detectable.
Claim(s) 1-4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHIM et al (Fabrication of hollow porous PLGA microspheres using sucrose for controlled dual delivery of dexamethasone and BMP2. Journal of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry 37 (2016) 101–106).
SHIM teaches hollow porous PLGA microspheres for dual delivery of drugs (see title), which reads on hollow core and shell, wherein pores formed on the surface (see pg. 102, 2nd col), which reads on cavities. Additional disclosures include: the microspheres are produced by W/O/W double emulsion solvent evaporation method (see pg. 102, 2nd col), which appears to be the same method used by Applicant (see Applicant’s specification at [0166]); dexamethasone (DEX) is encapsulated in the PLGA shell (see pg. 103, Scheme 1), which reads on a hydrophobic chemical, such as dexamethasone (see Applicant’s specification at [0020]); bone morphogenetic protein-2 (BMP2) and type I collagen (Col1) drug are in the core (see pg. 103, Scheme 1), which reads on hydrophilic drug, such as proteins (see Applicant’s specification at [0021]).
Note, SHIM’s composition would be capable of being used as an ultrasound contrast agent, because SHIM’s composition has the same ingredients as claimed by Applicant. Especially, when PLGA are well-known to be ultrasound detectable.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WHEATLEY et al (US 2009/0028797).
WHEATLEY teaches hollow (see [0062]) microcapsules and nanocapsules (see [0006]) for ultrasound (see title) comprise of: poly(lactide)(“PLA”) or copolymer of poly(lactide) and poly(glycoside)(“PLGA”) (see [0099]) using PVA as a stabilizing agent (see [0105), wherein the microcapsules are indented (see [0148]), which reads on cavities. Additional disclosures include: peptide antibiotics can be encapsulated in the microcapsules (see [0065]), which reads on the core comprises a hydrophilic drug, such as peptides (see Applicant’s specification at [0020]).
Additional disclosures include: particle size can be controlled by the concentration of PVA (see [0164]) and raw droplet size formed during the emulsification stage (see [0165]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOHAMED et al (PLGA microcapsules with novel dimpled surfaces for pulmonary delivery of DNA. International Journal of Pharmaceutics 311 (2006) 97–107).
As discussed above, MOHAMED teaches poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid)(“PLGA”) microcapsules with dimpled surfaces (see title; abstract; and pg. 102, Fig. 5), which reads on two or more cavities. The microparticles were prepared using PLGA, poly(vinylalcohol)(“PVA”) and dichloromethane (DCM) to form water-in-oil-water (w/o/w) double emulsion-solvent evaporation technique (see pg. 98, 2nd col – pg. 99, 1st col), which appears to be the same ingredients and method used by Applicant (see Applicant’s specification at [0166]), and would have a hollow core and shell (see pg. 103, Fig. 6). Additional disclosures include: 3-5um and >8 um diameter (see pg. 98, 1st col), such as 10um (see pg. 101, Table 2). Note, MOHMED’s composition would be capable of being used as an ultrasound contrast agent, because MOHMED’s composition has the same ingredients as claimed by Applicant. Especially, when PLGA are well-known to be ultrasound detectable.
The reference does not specifically teach the average diameter range as claimed by Applicant. The average diameter of a composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve the desired results, such as optimal size to be delivered to the target area. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of ingredient amount would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WHEATLEY et al (US 2009/0028797).
As discussed above, WHEATLEY teaches hollow (see [0062]) microcapsules and nanocapsules (see [0006]) for ultrasound (see title) comprise of: poly(lactide)(“PLA”) or copolymer of poly(lactide) and poly(glycoside)(“PLGA”) (see [0099]) using PVA as a stabilizing agent (see [0105), wherein the microcapsules are indented (see [0148]), which reads on cavities. Additional disclosures include: peptide antibiotics can be encapsulated in the microcapsules (see [0065]), which reads on the core comprises a hydrophilic drug, such as peptides (see Applicant’s specification at [0020]). Additional disclosures include: particle size can be controlled by the concentration of PVA (see [0164]) and raw droplet size formed during the emulsification stage (see [0165]).
The reference does not specifically teach the average diameter range as claimed by Applicant. The average diameter of a composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve the desired results, such as optimal size to be delivered to the target area. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of ingredient amount would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618