Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 6, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 7 pertaining to “This disclosure of Katou says nothing about determining whether there is an available capacity in a processing capacity of the inverter or performing the calculating of damage to the power semiconductor device from the temperature history based on the available capacity. In particular, Katou does not disclose a relationship between the storage of "power cycle curve data" and the damage operation when the inverter has enough processing power. Thus, the assertion in the Office Action that the disclosures of Katou correspond to the foregoing feature of claim 1 of the present application is erroneous. Therefore, amended claim 1 is patentable over the cited references for the foregoing reasons.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
It is not clear what the Applicant means by “available capacity in a processing capacity of the inverter”. Katou discloses “available capacity in a processing capacity of the inverter” (Fig. 1, ¶ 13 temperature change amplitude computed). If there was no available processing capacity, then Katou would not be able to process the temperature data. Furthermore, if the damage calculator (Fig. 1, temperature change estimation part 11) disclosed by Katou was not able to immediately process the temperature data, Katou discloses a data storage (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 stored in a power cycle curve data storage part 14) that stores the data until processing capability is available.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 7 – 8 pertaining to “With further regard to claim 6, Ayano and Katou do not teach or suggest "individually calculates the temperature history of the power semiconductor device when powering and when regenerating by the estimated loss and the thermal characteristics of the power semiconductor device." … This disclosure says nothing about individually calculating the temperature history of the power semiconductor device when powering and when regenerating by the estimated loss and the thermal characteristics of the power semiconductor device. The rest of Ayano also fails to teach or suggest these specific limitations of the claim. Katou fails to make up for the deficiencies of Ayano.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
It is not clear what the Applicant means by individually. As opposed to collectively? None the less, Ayano discloses “individually calculating the temperature history of the power semiconductor device” (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 IGBT loss and a diode loss can also be determined). The calculation is performed for
In response to Applicant's argument on page 8 pertaining to “With further regard to claim 7, Applicant submits that Ayano and Katou do not teach or suggest "an accumulated damage calculator accumulating a damage result of the power semiconductor device calculated by the damage calculator; an accumulated damage storage device storing the accumulated damage result; and a life estimator estimating life of the power semiconductor device from the accumulated damage result read from the accumulated damage storage device." The Office Action relies on Katou as disclosing these limitations, but Katou does not make the alleged disclosures. Katou does not disclose anything about accumulating a damage result of a power semiconductor device. In contrast to the foregoing limitations of claim 7, Katou merely discloses a life estimation part that estimates the life expectancy of a semiconductor device. Katou does not disclose an accumulated damage calculator accumulating a damage result of the power semiconductor device calculated by the damage calculator and an accumulated damage storage device storing the accumulated damage result. Also, Katou does not disclose estimating the life of the power semiconductor device from the accumulated damage result.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The “accumulated damage” limitation as recited by claim 7 means storing historical destruction data pertaining to the power semiconductor device. “estimating the life of the power semiconductor device from the accumulated damage result” limitation as recited by claim 7 means, approximating the end of life of the power semiconductor using the historical destruction data. Katou discloses, accumulating a damage result of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 a power cycle life of the semiconductor device and is stored in a power cycle curve data storage part 14). The power cycle life is the number of times the power semiconductor is turned on and off. This power cycle life is stored in the data storage part. Katou further discloses that the stored power cycle is used estimate the remaining useful life of the power semiconductor (Fig. 1, ¶ 49 semiconductor device results in the life rapidly due to thermal stress).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6 – 8, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayano et al. (US 2013/0119912 A1) (herein after Ayano) in view of Katou (US 2005/0071090 A1) (herein after Katou).
Regarding Claim 1, Ayano teaches, 1. (Currently Amended) a power conversion device (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 power conversion device) comprising: an inverter or a regenerative converter (Fig. 1, an inverter main circuit 1), including a power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 37 switching element in the inverter main circuit 1); a temperature history calculator (Fig. 1, heat generation amount calculation unit 12) estimating a loss of the power semiconductor device and calculating a temperature history (Fig. 1, ¶ 43 calculated switching element loss is used to calculate the temperature of the element); a temperature history storage device (Fig. 1, storage unit 13) storing a calculation result of the temperature history; — wherein the temperature history calculator performs the estimating (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 IGBT loss and a diode loss) during operation of the inverter or the regenerative converter (Fig. 10, ¶ 78 As the number of continuous operations is rised, the temperature is saturated); —.
Ayano fails to teach, — and a damage calculator calculating damage to the power semiconductor device from the temperature history read from the temperature history storage device; — and wherein the damage calculator performs the calculating when there is available capacity in a processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter.
In analogous art, Katou teaches, — and a damage calculator (Fig. 1, temperature change estimation part 11) calculating damage to the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, fault) from the temperature history read from the temperature history storage device (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 estimates changes in temperatures of the semiconductor and computes temperature change amplitude); — and wherein the damage calculator performs the calculating (Fig. 1, ¶ 13 temperature change amplitude computed) when there is available capacity (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 stored in a power cycle curve data storage part 14) in a processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano with a power conversion device comprising, a damage calculator calculating damage to the power semiconductor device from the temperature history read from the temperature history storage device and wherein the damage calculator performs the calculating when there is available capacity in a processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter; taught by Katou for the benefit of performing power conversion with high accuracy [Katou: ¶ 11].
Regarding Claim 2, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ayano further teaches, the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the temperature history calculator estimates the loss of the power semiconductor device based on a carrier frequency, an on-duty, a direct-current voltage, the current (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 carrier frequency, the ON loss and OFF loss, current command value, voltage command value), and electrical characteristics of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 69 the collector-emitter saturation voltage Vce (sat) and emitter-collector saturation voltage Vee (sat)), and calculates the temperature history of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 80 temperature is calculated) based on the estimated loss and thermal characteristics of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 78 junction temperature).
Regarding Claim 4, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Ayano further teaches, the power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein the power semiconductor device is an IGBT and a diode (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 IGBT and a diode), the temperature history calculator individually calculates a temperature history of the IGBT and the diode (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 IGBT loss and a diode loss), —
Ayano fails to teach, — and the damage calculator individually calculates damage to the IGBT and the diode.
Katou further teaches,— and the damage calculator individually calculates damage to the IGBT and the diode (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 power transistors 6 and the diodes 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a power conversion device wherein, the damage calculator individually calculates damage to the IGBT and the diode; taught by Katou for the benefit of performing power conversion with high accuracy [Katou: ¶ 11].
Regarding Claim 6, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Ayano further teaches, the power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein the temperature history calculator estimates powering information and regenerating information of the inverter from monitoring of a power factor (Fig. 1, ¶ 38 phases (u, v and w phases)), individually estimates the loss of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 IGBT loss and a diode loss can also be determined) when powering and when regenerating by the powering information (Fig. 2, ¶ 46 OFF loss (Esw_off)) and the regenerating information (Fig. 2, ¶ 46 ON loss (Esw_on)), and individually calculates the temperature history of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 43 calculated switching element loss is used to calculate the temperature of the element) when powering (Fig. 2, ¶ 46 OFF loss (Esw_off)) and when regenerating (Fig. 2, ¶ 46 ON loss (Esw_on)) by the estimated loss and the thermal characteristics of the power semiconductor device.
Regarding Claim 7, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ayano fails to teach, the power conversion device according to claim 1, further comprising: an accumulated damage calculator accumulating a damage result of the power semiconductor device calculated by the damage calculator; an accumulated damage storage device storing the accumulated damage result; and a life estimator estimating life of the power semiconductor device from the accumulated damage result read from the accumulated damage storage device.
Katou further teaches, the power conversion device according to claim 1, further comprising: an accumulated damage calculator (Fig. 1, power cycle curve data storage part 14) accumulating a damage result of the power semiconductor device calculated by the damage calculator (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 a power cycle life of the semiconductor device and is stored in a power cycle curve data storage part 14); an accumulated damage storage device (Fig. 1, expected life setting part 18) storing the accumulated damage result (Fig. 1, ¶ 47 expected life of the semiconductor device set by the expected life setting part 18); and a life estimator (Fig. 1, thermal stress computation part 13) estimating life of the power semiconductor device from the accumulated damage result read from the accumulated damage storage device (Fig. 1, ¶ 49 semiconductor device results in the life rapidly due to thermal stress).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a power conversion device comprising, an accumulated damage calculator accumulating a damage result of the power semiconductor device calculated by the damage calculator; an accumulated damage storage device storing the accumulated damage result; and a life estimator estimating life of the power semiconductor device from the accumulated damage result read from the accumulated damage storage device; taught by Katou for the benefit of performing power conversion with high accuracy [Katou: ¶ 11].
Regarding Claim 8, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 7, which this claim depends on.
Ayano fails to teach, the power conversion device according to claim 7, further comprising an alarming determination device comparing a life estimation result from the life estimator with a reference value, when the life estimation result is the reference value or more, displaying the life estimation result on a display device as a non-alarming period, and when the life estimation result is less than the reference value, displaying that it is less than the reference value and different from a normal state on the display device as an alarming period.
Katou further teaches, the power conversion device according to claim 7, further comprising an alarming determination device (Fig. 1, estimation part 15a) comparing a life estimation result (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 life time tL) from the life estimator with a reference value (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 te), when the life estimation result is the reference value or more, displaying the life estimation result on a display device (Fig. 1, display part 16) as a non-alarming period (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 tL< te; Examiner interpretation: tL > te results in no alarm), and when the life estimation result is less than the reference value (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 tL< te), displaying that it is less than the reference value and different from a normal state on the display device as an alarming period (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 and in the case of tL< te, an alarm is outputted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a power conversion device comprising, an alarming determination device comparing a life estimation result from the life estimator with a reference value, when the life estimation result is the reference value or more, displaying the life estimation result on a display device as a non-alarming period, and when the life estimation result is less than the reference value, displaying that it is less than the reference value and different from a normal state on the display device as an alarming period.; taught by Katou for the benefit of performing power conversion with high accuracy [Katou: ¶ 11].
Regarding Claim 11, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ayano fails to teach, 11. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein processing of the damage operator is performed while waiting for the inverter or regenerative converter.
Katou further teaches, 11. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein processing of the damage operator is performed while waiting (Fig. 1, ¶ 13 temperature change amplitude computed) for the inverter or regenerative converter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a power conversion device comprising, a damage calculator, wherein processing of the damage operator is performed while waiting for the inverter or regenerative converter; taught by Kimura for the benefit of accurately determining the temperature of a power conversion device [Kimura: ¶ 9].
Regarding Claim 13, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Ayano further teaches, 13. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 12, wherein extraction processing of the reversal point (Fig. 10, ¶ 78 As the number of continuous operations is rised, the temperature is saturated) by the temperature history storage device or the temperature history calculator.
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayano et al. (US 2013/0119912 A1) (herein after Ayano) in view of Katou (US 2005/0071090 A1) (herein after Katou), and further in view of KIMURA et al. (US 2021/0021227 A1) (herein after Kimura).
Regarding Claim 9, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 8, which this claim depends on.
Ayano in view of Katou fail to teach, a remote monitoring system comprising the power conversion device according to claim 8, wherein the power conversion device includes a communication device and is connected to a monitoring device monitoring the power conversion device through a communication network, and the power conversion device transmits a temperature history calculation result of the temperature history calculator and an alarming determination result of the alarming determination device to the communication device, and the communication device transmits the temperature history calculation result and the alarming determination result to the monitoring device through the communication network.
In analogous art, Kimura teaches, a remote monitoring system (Fig. 11, diagnosis system 200) comprising the power conversion device according to claim 8, wherein the power conversion device includes a communication device (Fig. 11, antenna 25) and is connected to a monitoring device (Fig. 11, central monitoring device 22) monitoring the power conversion device through a communication network (Fig. 11, ¶ 50 transmit information via the Internet 23), and the power conversion device transmits a temperature history calculation result of the temperature history calculator and an alarming determination result of the alarming determination device to the communication device (Fig. 11, ¶ 45 power conversion device 1 monitors the temperature sensor; ¶ 50 transmit information with the antenna 25), and the communication device transmits the temperature history calculation result and the alarming determination result to the monitoring device through the communication network (Fig. 11, ¶ 50 transmit information to the central monitoring device 22 via the Internet 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a remote monitoring system comprising the power conversion device, wherein the power conversion device includes a communication device and is connected to a monitoring device monitoring the power conversion device through a communication network, and the power conversion device transmits a temperature history calculation result of the temperature history calculator and an alarming determination result of the alarming determination device to the communication device, and the communication device transmits the temperature history calculation result and the alarming determination result to the monitoring device through the communication network; taught by Kimura for the benefit of accurately determining the temperature of a power conversion device [Kimura: ¶ 9].
Regarding Claim 10, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ayano and Katou fail to teach, 10. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the processing of the damage operator includes a rainflow method to count the number of times a predetermined amplitude has occurred from an array of reversal points, and is carried out when the processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter is sufficient.
In analogous art, Kimura teaches, 10. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the processing of the damage operator includes a rainflow method (Fig. 8b, ¶ 39 rainflow algorithm) to count the number of times a predetermined amplitude (Fig. 8b, ¶ 38 a maximum value 103 and a minimum value 104) has occurred from an array of reversal points (Fig. 8b, ¶ 38 temperature from time t1 to time t2), and is carried out when the processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter is sufficient (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 power conversion device 1, performs life extension processing of).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a power conversion device, wherein the processing of the damage operator includes a rainflow method to count the number of times a predetermined amplitude has occurred from an array of reversal points, and is carried out when the processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter is sufficient; taught by Kimura for the benefit of accurately determining the temperature of a power conversion device [Kimura: ¶ 9].
Regarding Claim 12, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ayano and Katou fail to teach, 12. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the damage operator performs a single damage operation while performing multiple temperature calculation processing as the processing of the temperature history calculation.
In analogous art, Kimura teaches, 12. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the damage operator performs a single damage operation (Fig. 8b, ¶ 41 total damage degree) while performing multiple temperature calculation (Fig. 8b, ¶ 41 each of the temperatures Ti) processing as the processing of the temperature history calculation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a power conversion device, wherein the damage operator performs a single damage operation while performing multiple temperature calculation processing as the processing of the temperature history calculation; taught by Kimura for the benefit of accurately determining the temperature of a power conversion device [Kimura: ¶ 9].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MARUYAMA (US 2020/0182706 A1) teaches, a power conversion device (Fig. 1, power conversion apparatus A) that controls a flow or an interruption of a current with an inverter (Fig. 1, first inverter device (a power converter) 10); a temperature history calculator estimating a loss of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 first temperature difference calculation unit 51a receives inputs of a first inverter temperature tin1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 3/3/2026