Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 6 – 7 pertaining to “The Office Action states "wherein the damage calculator performs the calculating (Fig. 1, 113 temperature change amplitude computed) when there is available capacity (Fig. 1, 132 stored in a power cycle curve data storage part 14)." But "power cycle curve data" which is stored in storage part 14 differs from the "temperature history" which is stored in a temperature history storage device. The object of the damage calculation itself is "temperature history", whereas "power cycle curve data" is merely a parameter used for damage calculation of "temperature history." These are disclosed clearly in Katou in paragraph [0020] ("FIG. 5 is a graph showing one example of characteristics of a power cycle curve stored in a power cycle curve data storage part 14 in the electric motor control apparatus according to the first embodiment") and paragraph [0032] ("The thermal stress computation part 13 computes a power cycle life corresponding to a temperature change amplitude signal 109 as a power cycle number signal 110 by power cycle curve data which shows a relation between the temperature change amplitude and a power cycle life of the semiconductor device and is stored in a power cycle curve data storage part 14"). Thus, the disclosures of Katou do not correspond to the limitations of claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 1 recites “and a damage calculator calculating damage to the power semiconductor device from the temperature history read from the temperature history storage device; — and wherein the damage calculator performs the calculating when there is available capacity in a processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter.” The damage calculator reads temperature data and uses the temperature data to perform calculations when processing capacity is available. Katou teaches, calculating (Fig. 1, 113 temperature change amplitude computed) when there is available capacity (Fig. 1, 132 stored in a power cycle curve data storage part 14). The temperature amplitude and power cycle curve data are both temperature data. When temperature data is stored in “power cycle curve data storage part 14” until processing power is available. Thus the disclosures of Katou corresponds to the limitations of claim 1.
Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4, 6 – 8, 11, 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayano et al. (US 2013/0119912 A1) in view of Katou (US 2005/0071090 A1); and the rejection of claims 9, 10, and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayano et al. (US 2013/0119912 A1) in view of Katou (US 2005/0071090 A1), and further in view of KIMURA et al. (US 2021/0021227 A1) (herein after Kimura) is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6 – 8, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayano et al. (US 2013/0119912 A1) (herein after Ayano) in view of Katou (US 2005/0071090 A1) (herein after Katou).
Regarding Claim 1, Ayano teaches, 1. (Currently Amended) a power conversion device (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 power conversion device) comprising: an inverter or a regenerative converter (Fig. 1, an inverter main circuit 1), including a power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 37 switching element in the inverter main circuit 1); a temperature history calculator (Fig. 1, heat generation amount calculation unit 12) estimating a loss of the power semiconductor device and calculating a temperature history (Fig. 1, ¶ 43 calculated switching element loss is used to calculate the temperature of the element); a temperature history storage device (Fig. 1, storage unit 13) storing a calculation result of the temperature history; — wherein the temperature history calculator performs the estimating (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 IGBT loss and a diode loss) during operation of the inverter or the regenerative converter (Fig. 10, ¶ 78 As the number of continuous operations is rised, the temperature is saturated); —.
Ayano fails to teach, — and a damage calculator calculating damage to the power semiconductor device from the temperature history read from the temperature history storage device; — and wherein the damage calculator performs the calculating when there is available capacity in a processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter.
In analogous art, Katou teaches, — and a damage calculator (Fig. 1, temperature change estimation part 11) calculating damage to the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, fault) from the temperature history read from the temperature history storage device (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 estimates changes in temperatures of the semiconductor and computes temperature change amplitude); — and wherein the damage calculator performs the calculating (Fig. 1, ¶ 13 temperature change amplitude computed) when there is available capacity (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 stored in a power cycle curve data storage part 14) in a processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano with a power conversion device comprising, a damage calculator calculating damage to the power semiconductor device from the temperature history read from the temperature history storage device and wherein the damage calculator performs the calculating when there is available capacity in a processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter; taught by Katou for the benefit of performing power conversion with high accuracy [Katou: ¶ 11].
Regarding Claim 2, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ayano further teaches, the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the temperature history calculator estimates the loss of the power semiconductor device based on a carrier frequency, an on-duty, a direct-current voltage, the current (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 carrier frequency, the ON loss and OFF loss, current command value, voltage command value), and electrical characteristics of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 69 the collector-emitter saturation voltage Vce (sat) and emitter-collector saturation voltage Vee (sat)), and calculates the temperature history of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 80 temperature is calculated) based on the estimated loss and thermal characteristics of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 78 junction temperature).
Regarding Claim 4, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Ayano further teaches, the power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein the power semiconductor device is an IGBT and a diode (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 IGBT and a diode), the temperature history calculator individually calculates a temperature history of the IGBT and the diode (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 IGBT loss and a diode loss), —
Ayano fails to teach, — and the damage calculator individually calculates damage to the IGBT and the diode.
Katou further teaches,— and the damage calculator individually calculates damage to the IGBT and the diode (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 power transistors 6 and the diodes 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a power conversion device wherein, the damage calculator individually calculates damage to the IGBT and the diode; taught by Katou for the benefit of performing power conversion with high accuracy [Katou: ¶ 11].
Regarding Claim 6, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Ayano further teaches, the power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein the temperature history calculator estimates powering information and regenerating information of the inverter from monitoring of a power factor (Fig. 1, ¶ 38 phases (u, v and w phases)), individually estimates the loss of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 IGBT loss and a diode loss can also be determined) when powering and when regenerating by the powering information (Fig. 2, ¶ 46 OFF loss (Esw_off)) and the regenerating information (Fig. 2, ¶ 46 ON loss (Esw_on)), and individually calculates the temperature history of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 43 calculated switching element loss is used to calculate the temperature of the element) when powering (Fig. 2, ¶ 46 OFF loss (Esw_off)) and when regenerating (Fig. 2, ¶ 46 ON loss (Esw_on)) by the estimated loss and the thermal characteristics of the power semiconductor device.
Regarding Claim 7, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ayano fails to teach, the power conversion device according to claim 1, further comprising: an accumulated damage calculator accumulating a damage result of the power semiconductor device calculated by the damage calculator; an accumulated damage storage device storing the accumulated damage result; and a life estimator estimating life of the power semiconductor device from the accumulated damage result read from the accumulated damage storage device.
Katou further teaches, the power conversion device according to claim 1, further comprising: an accumulated damage calculator (Fig. 1, power cycle curve data storage part 14) accumulating a damage result of the power semiconductor device calculated by the damage calculator (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 a power cycle life of the semiconductor device and is stored in a power cycle curve data storage part 14); an accumulated damage storage device (Fig. 1, expected life setting part 18) storing the accumulated damage result (Fig. 1, ¶ 47 expected life of the semiconductor device set by the expected life setting part 18); and a life estimator (Fig. 1, thermal stress computation part 13) estimating life of the power semiconductor device from the accumulated damage result read from the accumulated damage storage device (Fig. 1, ¶ 49 semiconductor device results in the life rapidly due to thermal stress).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a power conversion device comprising, an accumulated damage calculator accumulating a damage result of the power semiconductor device calculated by the damage calculator; an accumulated damage storage device storing the accumulated damage result; and a life estimator estimating life of the power semiconductor device from the accumulated damage result read from the accumulated damage storage device; taught by Katou for the benefit of performing power conversion with high accuracy [Katou: ¶ 11].
Regarding Claim 8, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 7, which this claim depends on.
Ayano fails to teach, the power conversion device according to claim 7, further comprising an alarming determination device comparing a life estimation result from the life estimator with a reference value, when the life estimation result is the reference value or more, displaying the life estimation result on a display device as a non-alarming period, and when the life estimation result is less than the reference value, displaying that it is less than the reference value and different from a normal state on the display device as an alarming period.
Katou further teaches, the power conversion device according to claim 7, further comprising an alarming determination device (Fig. 1, estimation part 15a) comparing a life estimation result (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 life time tL) from the life estimator with a reference value (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 te), when the life estimation result is the reference value or more, displaying the life estimation result on a display device (Fig. 1, display part 16) as a non-alarming period (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 tL< te; Examiner interpretation: tL > te results in no alarm), and when the life estimation result is less than the reference value (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 tL< te), displaying that it is less than the reference value and different from a normal state on the display device as an alarming period (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 and in the case of tL< te, an alarm is outputted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a power conversion device comprising, an alarming determination device comparing a life estimation result from the life estimator with a reference value, when the life estimation result is the reference value or more, displaying the life estimation result on a display device as a non-alarming period, and when the life estimation result is less than the reference value, displaying that it is less than the reference value and different from a normal state on the display device as an alarming period.; taught by Katou for the benefit of performing power conversion with high accuracy [Katou: ¶ 11].
Regarding Claim 11, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ayano fails to teach, 11. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein processing of the damage operator is performed while waiting for the inverter or regenerative converter.
Katou further teaches, 11. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein processing of the damage operator is performed while waiting (Fig. 1, ¶ 13 temperature change amplitude computed) for the inverter or regenerative converter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a power conversion device comprising, a damage calculator, wherein processing of the damage operator is performed while waiting for the inverter or regenerative converter; taught by Kimura for the benefit of accurately determining the temperature of a power conversion device [Kimura: ¶ 9].
Regarding Claim 13, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Ayano further teaches, 13. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein extraction processing of the reversal points is performed (Fig. 10, ¶ 78 As the number of continuous operations is rised, the temperature is saturated) by the temperature history storage device or the temperature history calculator.
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayano et al. (US 2013/0119912 A1) (herein after Ayano) in view of Katou (US 2005/0071090 A1) (herein after Katou), and further in view of KIMURA et al. (US 2021/0021227 A1) (herein after Kimura).
Regarding Claim 9, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 8, which this claim depends on.
Ayano in view of Katou fail to teach, a remote monitoring system comprising the power conversion device according to claim 8, wherein the power conversion device includes a communication device and is connected to a monitoring device monitoring the power conversion device through a communication network, and the power conversion device transmits a temperature history calculation result of the temperature history calculator and an alarming determination result of the alarming determination device to the communication device, and the communication device transmits the temperature history calculation result and the alarming determination result to the monitoring device through the communication network.
In analogous art, Kimura teaches, a remote monitoring system (Fig. 11, diagnosis system 200) comprising the power conversion device according to claim 8, wherein the power conversion device includes a communication device (Fig. 11, antenna 25) and is connected to a monitoring device (Fig. 11, central monitoring device 22) monitoring the power conversion device through a communication network (Fig. 11, ¶ 50 transmit information via the Internet 23), and the power conversion device transmits a temperature history calculation result of the temperature history calculator and an alarming determination result of the alarming determination device to the communication device (Fig. 11, ¶ 45 power conversion device 1 monitors the temperature sensor; ¶ 50 transmit information with the antenna 25), and the communication device transmits the temperature history calculation result and the alarming determination result to the monitoring device through the communication network (Fig. 11, ¶ 50 transmit information to the central monitoring device 22 via the Internet 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a remote monitoring system comprising the power conversion device, wherein the power conversion device includes a communication device and is connected to a monitoring device monitoring the power conversion device through a communication network, and the power conversion device transmits a temperature history calculation result of the temperature history calculator and an alarming determination result of the alarming determination device to the communication device, and the communication device transmits the temperature history calculation result and the alarming determination result to the monitoring device through the communication network; taught by Kimura for the benefit of accurately determining the temperature of a power conversion device [Kimura: ¶ 9].
Regarding Claim 10, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ayano and Katou fail to teach, 10. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the calculating of the damage calculator includes a rainflow method to count the number of times a predetermined amplitude has occurred from an array of reversal points, and is carried out when the processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter is sufficient.
In analogous art, Kimura teaches, 10. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the calculating of the damage calculator includes a rainflow method (Fig. 8b, ¶ 39 rainflow algorithm) to count the number of times a predetermined amplitude (Fig. 8b, ¶ 38 a maximum value 103 and a minimum value 104) has occurred from an array of reversal points (Fig. 8b, ¶ 38 temperature from time t1 to time t2), and is carried out when the processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter is sufficient (Fig. 1, ¶ 35 power conversion device 1, performs life extension processing of).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a power conversion device, wherein the calculating of the damage calculator includes a rainflow method to count the number of times a predetermined amplitude has occurred from an array of reversal points, and is carried out when the processing capacity of the inverter or the regenerative converter is sufficient; taught by Kimura for the benefit of accurately determining the temperature of a power conversion device [Kimura: ¶ 9].
Regarding Claim 12, Ayano in view of Katou teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Ayano and Katou fail to teach, 12. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the damage calculator performs a single damage operation while performing multiple temperature calculation processing as the processing of the temperature history calculation.
In analogous art, Kimura teaches, 12. (New) the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the damage calculator performs a single damage operation (Fig. 8b, ¶ 41 total damage degree) while performing multiple temperature calculation (Fig. 8b, ¶ 41 each of the temperatures Ti) processing as the processing of the temperature history calculation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ayano in view of Katou by combining the power conversion device taught by Ayano in view of Katou with a power conversion device, wherein the damage calculator performs a single damage operation while performing multiple temperature calculation processing as the processing of the temperature history calculation; taught by Kimura for the benefit of accurately determining the temperature of a power conversion device [Kimura: ¶ 9].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MARUYAMA (US 2020/0182706 A1) teaches, a power conversion device (Fig. 1, power conversion apparatus A) that controls a flow or an interruption of a current with an inverter (Fig. 1, first inverter device (a power converter) 10); a temperature history calculator estimating a loss of the power semiconductor device (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 first temperature difference calculation unit 51a receives inputs of a first inverter temperature tin1)
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858