DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges the amending claim 21, 31 – 33, 38 and 40 and canceling claims 22 and 23 by the amendment submitted by the applicant(s) filed on November 10, 2025. Claims 21 and 24 – 40 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112(b) paragraphs rejections of claims 38 – 40 are withdrawn due the current amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24 – 25, 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid (US 2005/0036528, applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on June 26, 2024) in view of Sommerer et al. (US. 2005/0074041, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025), further in view of Kim (US 2007/0116078).
Regarding claim 21, Schmid disclose a semiconductor membrane laser chip comprising:
a planar-shaped lasing medium (see Annotation Figure 4, and Figure 7, character 14, Abstract and paragraphs [0038 and 0047], the reference called “a radiation-emitting active layer sequence” or “active layer sequence”) having an upper surface (see Annotation Figure 4, character 14’) and a lower surface (see Annotation Figure 4, character 14”) opposite the upper surface (see Annotation Figure 4, character 14’), the lasing medium (see Annotation Figure 4 and Figure 7, character 14) configured to emit an electromagnetic radiation at a laser wavelength ʎ1 (see paragraphs [0017 and 0040]);
a first heat spreader (see Annotation Figure 4, character 12’, Abstract and paragraphs [0026 – 0030 and 0047] and the reference called “heat sink” or “heat spreader”);
a first dielectric layer (see Annotation Figure 4, character 12, Abstract and paragraphs 0026 – 0030 and 0047], claims 1 – 2 and the reference called “heat sink” or “heat spreader”, Claims 1 and 2, Schmid's disclose that the heat spreader (heat sink) is transparent to the emitting radiation and is made of easily thermally conductive materials that are transparent in the red and/or near infrared) arranged on the lower surface (see Annotation Figure 4, character 14”) of the lasing medium (see Annotation Figure 4 and Figure 7, character 14) wherein the planar-shaped laser medium (see Annotation Figure 4 and Figure 7, character 14) is configured to emit the electromagnetic radiation at the laser wavelength ʎ1 (see paragraphs [0017 and 0040]), when optically pumped by an electromagnetic radiation of a pump wavelength ʎ2 (see Abstract and paragraphs [0040 – 0041 and 0051]) and wherein the first dielectric layer (see Annotation Figure 4, character 12 is transmissive for the electromagnetic radiation of the pump wavelength ʎ2 (see Annotation Figure 4, paragraph [0040] and claims 1-2, In claims 1 and 2, Schmid's disclose that the heat spreader or heat sink (first dielectric layer) is transparent to the emitting radiation and is made of easily thermally conductive materials that are transparent in the red and/or near infrared. Therefore the heat spreader or heat sink (first layer) can be used as transmissive for the electromagnetic radiation).
Schmid discloses the claimed invention except for first heat spreader bonded to one of the upper surface and the lower surface of the lasing medium and when the first heat spreader is bonded to the lower surface of the lasing medium. Sommerer teaches a dielectric layer (see Figure 3b, character 312 and/or Figure 3d, characters 340 or 342, and the reference called “thin-film coating”) and use a low temperature bonding technique to bonding the cooling elements (see Figure 1, characters 100 and 108) and gain medium (see Figure 1, character 104). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the heat spreader bonded to one surface of the lasing medium as discloses by Sommerer in (see Figure 1, Abstract and paragraphs [0038, 0042, 0044, 0046 and 0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the heat spreader bonded to one surface of the lasing medium as suggested to the device of Schmid, the bonding techniques used to provide bonding between the heat spreader and the lasing medium. By using a low temperature contacting technique such as surface activated bonding, it is less likely that the gain material will fracture or bulge as a result of changes in temperature.
Schmid discloses the claimed invention except for the first layer is reflective for the laser wavelength ʎ1. Schmid heat sink don’t reflective ʎ1. Kim teaches a laser chip (see Figure 7, character 21, which include a DBR layer (see Figure 7, character 21a) and an active layer (see Figure 7, character 21b)), a first etalon filter (see Figure 7, character 23, the first etalon filter layer may be a heat spreader. The first etalon filter layer (heat spreader) may be formed of a material selected from the group consisting of diamond, Al2O3, or silicon carbide (SiC)), a second mirror (see Figure 7, character 34, reflective mirror) and pump beam (see Figure 7, character “pump beam”, Kim doesn't show the pump in the figure 7, but shown and disclose the pump beam). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the first layer is reflective for the laser wavelength ʎ1 as discloses by Kim in (see Figure 7 and paragraphs [0048 and 0050). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify first layer is reflective for the laser wavelength ʎ1 as suggested to the device of Schmid, the DBR layer corresponds and it both transmits pump light and reflects laser light and also could change the direction of the pumping beam when the beam is reflected and could be used to reflect electromagnetic radiation at a specific wavelength.
Regarding claim 24, Schmid, Sommerer and Kim, Sommerer disclose a second dielectric layer (see Figure 3b, character 312 and/or Figure 3d, characters 340 or 342, paragraphs [0042, 0044 and 0046] and the reference called “thin-film coating”) arranged on the surface of the lasing medium (see Figure 3b, character 314 and/or Figure 3d, character 348).
Schmid, Sommerer and Kim discloses the claimed invention except for the second dielectric layer having a transmissivity for the laser wavelength ʎ1 larger than a transmissivity of the first dielectric layer for the laser wavelength ʎ1. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the second dielectric layer having a transmissivity for the laser wavelength ʎ1 larger than a transmissivity of the first dielectric layer for the laser wavelength ʎ1 as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer and Kim, to provide a better transmissivity for the laser wavelength, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In addition, the selection of transmissivity of the laser wavelength, it’s obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process conditions by routine experimentation with a limited number of species of result effective variables. These claims are prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (claimed ranges or a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill or art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1995) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed [the second dielectric layer having a transmissivity for the laser wavelength ʎ1 larger than a transmissivity of the first dielectric layer for the laser wavelength ʎ1] or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen [the second dielectric layer having a transmissivity for the laser wavelength ʎ1 larger than a transmissivity of the first dielectric layer for the laser wavelength ʎ1] or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen [the second dielectric layer having a transmissivity for the laser wavelength ʎ1 larger than a transmissivity of the first dielectric layer for the laser wavelength ʎ1] are critical. In re Woodruf, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 25, Schmid discloses the claimed invention except for a second heat spreader bonded to the other one of the upper surface and the lower surface of the lasing medium. Kim teaches a laser chip (see Figure 7, character 21, which include a DBR layer (see Figure 7, character 21a) and an active layer (see Figure 7, character 21b)), a first etalon filter (see Figure 7, character 23, the first etalon filter layer may be a heat spreader. The first etalon filter layer (heat spreader) may be formed of a material selected from the group consisting of diamond, Al2O3, or silicon carbide (SiC)). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the heat spreader as discloses by Kim in (see Figure 7 and paragraphs [0013 – 0014 and 0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the heat spreader as suggested to the device of Schmid, able to exhaust heat generated in the laser chip.
Schmid discloses the claimed invention except for a second heat spreader bonded to the other one of the upper surface and the lower surface of the lasing medium. Sommerer teaches a low temperature bonding technique to bonding the cooling elements (see Figure 1, characters 100 and 108) and gain medium (see Figure 1, character 104). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the heat spreader bonded to one surface of the lasing medium as discloses by Sommerer in (see Figure 1, Abstract and paragraphs [0038, 0042, 0044, 0046 and 0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the heat spreader bonded to one surface of the lasing medium as suggested to the device of Schmid, the bonding techniques used to provide bonding between the heat spreader and the lasing medium. By using a low temperature contacting technique such as surface activated bonding, it is less likely that the gain material will fracture or bulge as a result of changes in temperature.
Regarding claim 31, Schmid, Sommerer and Kim, Schmid disclose the first heat spreader (see Annotation Figure 4, character 12’) is selected from the group of thermally conductive materials including at least one of silicon carbide or diamond (see paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 34, Schmid and Sommerer, Schmid disclose laser arrangement comprising:
a semiconductor membrane laser chip (see claim 21 rejection); and
a pump laser configured to emit an electromagnetic radiation at a pump wavelength ʎ2 (see Abstract and paragraphs [0001, 0031, 0040 – 0041 and 0051] and claim 21 rejection).
Schmid and Sommerer, discloses the claimed invention except for the pump laser is arranged and configured to emit the electromagnetic radiation through the first dielectric layer into the lasing medium. Kim teaches a laser chip (see Figure 7, character 21, which include a DBR layer (see Figure 7, character 21a) and active layer (see Figure 7, character 21b), first etalon filter (see Figure 7, character 23, first etalon filter layer may be a heat spreader which is able to exhaust heat generated in the laser chip) and pump beam (see Figure 7, character “pump beam”, Kim doesn't show the pump in the figure 7, but shown and disclose the pump beam). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the beam pump as discloses by Kim in (see Figure 7 and paragraphs [0014 – 0015 and 0048). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the pump beam as suggested to the device of Schmid and Sommerer to emit electromagnetic radiation at a specific wavelength and also to allow light to exit through the top or front surface of the device.
Claims 26 – 28 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid (US 2005/0036528, applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on June 26, 2024) in view of Sommerer et al. (US. 2005/0074041, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025), further in view of Kim (US 2007/0116078), further in view of Hayakawa (US 2001/0012307, applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on June 26, 2024).
Regarding claim 26, Schmid, Sommerer and Kim discloses the claimed invention except for a first contact layer adjacently arranged to one of the upper surface and the lower surface of the lasing medium or adjacently arranged to a surface of one of the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader, wherein the surface of the one of the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader faces away from the lasing medium. Hayakawa teaches a contact layer (see Figure 8, characters 121 and/or 119, the reference called “Ti/Al n-electrode” and “Ni/Au p-electrode”). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the contact layer as discloses by Hayakawa in (see Figure 8 and paragraphs [0077 – 0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the contact layer as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer and Kim, to facilitating the lasing process by providing a means for electrical excitation of the lasing medium.
Regarding claim 27, Schmid, Sommerer and Kim discloses the claimed invention except for a second contact layer adjacently arranged to the other one of the upper surface and the lower surface of the lasing medium or adjacently arranged to a surface of the other one of the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader, wherein the surface of the other of the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader faces away from the lasing medium. Hayakawa teaches a contact layer (see Figure 8, characters 121 and/or 119, the reference called “Ti/Al n-electrode” and “Ni/Au p-electrode”). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the contact layer as discloses by Hayakawa in (see Figure 8 and paragraphs [0077 – 0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the contact layer as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer and Kim, to facilitating the lasing process by providing a means for electrical excitation of the lasing medium.
Regarding claim 28, Schmid, Sommerer, Kim and Hayakawa, Hayakawa disclose at least one of the first contact layer (see Figure 8, characters 121 and/or 119) and the second contact layer (see Figure 8, characters 121 and/or 119) has an opening or aperture (see Figure 8) in which a corresponding one of the first dielectric layer (see Figure 8, characters 120 or 122) and the second dielectric layer (see Figure 8, characters 120 or 122) is arranged.
Regarding claim 33, Schmid, Sommerer and Kim discloses the claimed invention except for at least one of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer comprises a dielectric material including SiO2. Hayakawa teaches a dielectric layer made of SiO2. However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the dielectric layer made of SiO2 as discloses by Hayakawa in (see paragraph [0077]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the dielectric layer made of SiO2as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer and Kim, the SiO2 material is a good dielectric material, its hardness, high melting point, insolubility in water, can be transparent in crystalline forms and is non-conductive in is solid state.
Claims 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid (US 2005/0036528, applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on June 26, 2024) in view of Sommerer et al. (US. 2005/0074041, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025), further in view of Kim (US 2007/0116078), further in view of Hayakawa (US 2001/0012307, applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on June 26, 2024), further in view of Sugiyama et al. (US 2021/0391691, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025).
Regarding claim 29, Schmid, Sommerer, Kim and Hayakawa discloses the claimed invention except for at least one of the first contact layer and the second contact layer comprises a metal contact layer configured for soldering to a submount, wherein the submount comprises a metal body. Sugiyama teaches a solder layer (see Figure 10, character 22) and a submount (see Figure 10, character 21) and the submount comprise a body (see Figure 10). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the solder layer and the submount as discloses by Sugiyama in (see Figure 10 and paragraphs [0008 and 0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the solder layer and the submount as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer, Kim and Hayakawa, the solder layer could be used to join the laser device to the submount and the submount could be used to mount the device.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was to apply and/or modify the submount comprises a metal body as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer and Hayakawa, the metal body could be used to the thermal energy can be easily transferred or dissipated from the metal contact layer towards and into the metal body of the submount, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid (US 2005/0036528, applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on June 26, 2024) in view of Sommerer et al. (US. 2005/0074041, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025), further in view of Kim (US 2007/0116078), further in view of Sugiyama et al. (US 20210391691, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025).
Regarding claim 30, Schmid, Sommerer and Kim discloses the claimed invention except for a submount comprising a metal body having a recess sized to receive the lasing medium, the first heat spreader and the first dielectric layer therein. Sugiyama teaches a submount (see Figure 10, character 21) comprise a body having a recess (see Figure 10). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the submount having a recess as discloses by Sugiyama in (see Figure 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the submount having a recess as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer and Kim, the submount recess could be used to accommodate the device in the submount.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was to apply and/or modify the submount comprises a metal body as suggested to the device of Schmid and Sommerer, the metal body could be used to the thermal energy can be easily transferred or dissipated from the metal contact layer towards and into the metal body of the submount, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid (US 2005/003652, applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on June 26, 2024) in view of Sommerer et al. (US. 2005/0074041, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025), further in view of Kim (US 2007/0116078), further in view of Domen et al. (US 6555403, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025).
Regarding claim 32, Schmid, Sommerer and Kim discloses the claimed invention except for lasing medium comprises a semiconducting material including AlInGaN. Domen teaches a gain medium made of AlInGaN. However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the gain medium made of AlInGaN.as discloses by Domen in (see Column 5, lines 50 – 53). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the gain medium made of AlInGaN. as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer and Kim, is a good semiconductor material, also is a quaternary semiconductor alloy with tunable optoelectronic properties, making it suitable for various applications like LEDs, LASERs and transistors. Its properties, such as bandgap and optical characteristics, can be adjusted by varying the ratios of aluminum, indium, and gallium. AlInGaN is a versatile material with tunable properties, making it a valuable component in advanced electronic and optoelectronic devices, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 35 – 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid (US 2005/0036528, applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on June 26, 2024) in view of Sommerer et al. (US. 2005/0074041, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025), further in view of Kim (US 2007/0116078), further in view of Paschotta et al. (US 6,735234, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025).
Regarding claim 35, Schmid, Sommerer and Kim discloses the claimed invention except for the pump laser comprises at least one laser diode bars. Paschotta teaches a high-power diode laser bar. However, it is well known in the art to modify the laser diode bar as discloses by Paschotta in (see column 2, line 67 and column 3, line 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to modify the laser diode bar as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer and Kim could be used to generate high optical output powers.
Regarding claim 36, Schmid, Sommerer, Kim and Paschotta, Paschotta disclose an optical path between the pump laser (see Figure 9, character 70 and claim 34 rejection) and the semiconductor membrane laser chip (see Figure 9 and claims 21 and 34 rejection) is void of collimating or focusing optical elements (see Figure 9).
Claims 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid (US 2005/0036528, applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on June 26, 2024) in view of Sommerer et al. (US. 2005/0074041, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025), further in view of Kim (US 2007/0116078), further in view of Paschotta et al. (US 6,735234, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025), further in view of further in view of Sugiyama et al. (US 20210391691, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025).
Regarding claim 37, Schmid, Sommerer, Kim, and Paschotta discloses the claimed invention except for a submount comprising a metal body and wherein the semiconductor membrane laser chip comprises at least one contact layer thermally coupled to the submount by soldering. Sugiyama teaches a submount (see Figure 10, character 21), the submount comprise a body (see Figure 10), a solder layer (see Figure 10, character 22) and contact layer (see Figure 10, character 16). However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the submount, the submount comprise the body, the solder layer and the contact layer as discloses by Sugiyama in (see Figure 10 and paragraphs [0008 and 0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the submount, the submount comprise the body, the solder layer and the contact layer as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer, Kim and Paschotta, the solder layer could be used to join the laser device to the submount and the submount could be used to mount the device.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was to apply and/or modify the submount comprises a metal body as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer, Kim and Paschotta, the metal body could be used to the thermal energy can be easily transferred or dissipated from the metal contact layer towards and into the metal body of the submount, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 38 – 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid (US 2005/0036528, applicant submitted in the IDS, filed on June 26, 2024) in view of Sommerer et al. (US. 2005/0074041, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025), further in view of Kim (US 2007/0116078), further in view of Topper et al. (US 2015/0270677, examiner submitted in the PTO-892 form, filed on August 12, 2025).
Regarding claim 38, Schmid, Sommerer and Kim, Schmid disclose method of manufacturing a plurality of the semiconductor membrane laser chip, the method
comprising:
providing the lasing medium (see Annotation Figure 4 and Figure 7, character 14, Abstract and paragraphs [0038 and 0047], the reference called “a radiation-emitting active layer sequence” or “active layer sequence”) on a substrate (see Figure 7, character 40 and paragraphs [0031, 0041, 0043, 0044 and 0051]);
arranging or forming the first heat spreader (see Annotation Figure 4, character 12’ and/or Figure 7, character 60) on the upper surface of the lasing medium (see Annotation Figure 4 and Figure 7, character 14) facing away from the substrate (see Figure 7, character 40);
arranging or forming the first dielectric layer (see Annotation Figure 4, character 10 and/or Figure 7, character x40 (DBRs (x40) include at least 2 DBRs (42 and 44) and also see claim 21 rejection) on one of the lower surface of the lasing medium (see Figures 4 and 7, character 14) facing away the first heat spreader (see Annotation Figure 4, character 12’ and/or Figure 7, character 60).
Schmid, Sommerer and Kim discloses the claimed invention except for removing the substrate. Topper teaches a removing the substrate. However, it is well known in the art to apply and/or modify the removing the substrate as discloses by Topper in (see paragraph [0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the removing the substrate as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer and Kim, to improve the heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 39, Schmid, Sommerer, Kim and Topper, Schmid disclose arranging or forming a second heat spreader (see Figure 4, character 12) on the lower surface of the lasing medium (see Figure 4, character 14).
Schmid, Sommerer, Kim and Topper discloses the claimed invention except for the first dielectric layer is arranged or formed on the upper surface of the first heat spreader. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was to apply and/or modify the first dielectric layer is arranged or formed on the upper surface of the first heat spreader as suggested to the device of Schmid, Sommerer, Kim and Topper, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 40, Schmid, Sommerer, Kim and Topper, Schmid disclose the substrate comprises a wafer (see Figure 7, character 40) of a predetermined wafer size, wherein the lasing medium (see Figures 4 and 7, character 14), the first heat spreader (see Figure 7, character 60) and the first dielectric layer (see Figure 7, character x40 (DBRs (x40) include at least 2 DBRs (42 and 44)) extend across the wafer size (see Figure 7, character 40) and form a wafer layer stack (see Figure 7).
Schmid, Sommerer, Kim and Topper discloses the claimed invention except for the method of manufacturing a plurality of the semiconductor membrane laser chips further comprises dicing the wafer layer stack into individual ones of the plurality of semiconductor membrane laser chips after removing the substrate. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was to apply and/or modify the method of manufacturing a plurality of the semiconductor membrane laser chips further comprises dicing the wafer layer stack into individual ones of the plurality of semiconductor membrane laser chip to the device of Schmid, Sommerer, Kim and Topper to form a single devices. By producing multiple semiconductor lasers on a single substrate or wafer and slicing them after production, they are individualized and their production cost is lower.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 21 – 40 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/Delma R Forde/Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828