DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al (English machine translation of JPS61280876A).
Regarding Claim 1: Nakamura et al. teaches a foam fire extinguishing agent comprising cationic polymer in 0.1-10 wt% and a phosphate or phosphate ester (phosphorous-containing compound) in 1-50 wt% ([0001]).
Nakamura et al. does not teach the claimed range of the phosphorous-containing compound with sufficient specificity. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 3: Nakamura et al. teaches the cationic polymer as polyethyleneimine ([0001]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (English machine translation of JPS61280876A) in view of Nakayama et al. (English machine translation of JPS5176900A).
Nakamura et al. renders obvious the composition of claim 1 as set forth above.
Nakamura et al. is silent as to the types of phosphates in the composition. However, Nakayama et al. teaches fire extinguishing compositions comprising trimethyl phosphate (Pg. 2). Nakamura et al. and Nakayama et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely aqueous fire extinguishing compositions. At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include the trimethyl phosphate of Nakayama et al. in the composition of Nakamura et al. and would have been motivated to do so because Nakayama et al. teaches that it a suitable fire extinguishing agent (Pg. 1).
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (English machine translation of JPS61280876A) in view of Yamanaka et al. (English machine translation of JP2004-18733A).
Nakamura et al. renders obvious the composition of claim 1 as set forth above.
Nakamura et al. is silent as to the types of phosphates in the composition. However, Yamanaka et al. teaches resorcinol bisdiphenyl phosphate as a flame retardant ([0129]). Nakamura et al. and Yamanaka et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely fire protection compositions. At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include the resorcinol bisdiphenyl phosphate of Yamanaka et al. in the composition of Nakamura et al. with a reasonable expectation of success and would have been motivated to do so because it is disclosed by Yamanaka et al. as being a suitable composition for extinguishing fires ([0133]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 10, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Nakamura et al. does not teach the specific claimed range amount of phosphorous-containing compound of 0.1-2% by mass. It is initially noted that while Nakamura et al. does teach 1-50% phosphates, the grounds and reasoning of the rejection over Nakamura et al. remains the same as the previous Office action which referred to such amount as “0.5-20 wt%.” As set forth above and in the previous Office action, even though Nakamura et al. does not teach the claimed range of the phosphorous-containing compound with sufficient specificity, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
With regards to Applicant’s arguments concerning the combination of Nakamura et al. and Nakayama et al., the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The weight percentages of the secondary reference are not necessarily required to be utilized in the invention of the primary reference where a explicit range is disclosed, and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that differing amounts of a fire extinguishing agent can be utilized in differing compositions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 February 25, 2026