DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2019/168260 to Lee et al., see pages 6-12 of the Remarks filed 06/25/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Firstly, Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that the strip produced by the apparatus disclosed by Lee is not capable of being used for high frequency welding due to the beveled edges. Applicant further states “Thus, the skilled artisan would understand that the beveled edges of Lee are completely not suitable, even though it may be physically possible to use them, and square edges are ideal for high-frequency welding” (emphasis added). As Claim 1 is an apparatus claim, for the purpose of patentability, whether or not certain features of the prior art are ideal for performing the claimed function is immaterial so long as the disclosed features are physically capable of performing it. Furthermore, “the manufacture of roll formed and high frequency welded tubes with inner grooves” is the intended use of the metal strip preformed by the claimed apparatus, i.e. the intended use of the intended use of the claimed apparatus, so this compatibility with high-frequency welding does not receive any patentable weight. Likewise, Applicant’s amendment to add “for heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration applications” to the intended use of the end product for which the product manufactured by the claimed apparatus is used to make does not receive any patentable weight; the metal strip manufactured by the apparatus of Lee could theoretically be used in such an application, even if it wouldn’t be ideal, so the limitation of the claim is met.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on pages 8-11 that Lee does not disclose “the cylindrical surface of each of the side portions is level with the cylindrical surface of the central embossing portion between the grooves” as is recited in Claim 1, Examiner notes that the Applicant is looking at the upper roller of Lee, where the cylindrical surfaces of left/right ends 105/106 is level with the cylindrical surface of the relief embossing pattern unit 103 between the protrusions thereof, whereas pages 5-6 of the Office action mailed 03/26/2026 clearly state that the lower roller is interpreted as the claimed embossing roll. On the lower roll, the cylindrical surfaces of left/right ends 205/206 is level with the cylindrical surface of the intaglio embossing pattern unit 203 between the grooves thereof, as is most clearly seen in Figure 5, so this limitation of the claim is met.
Lastly, regarding Applicant’s argument on pages 11-12 that the disclosed roll of Lee, which is shown in the figures to produce a beveled edge on the metal strip, could not be used to produce a strip with a chamfered edge, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant states on page 12 “If the strip is narrower than intended, a chamfer may be formed instead of a bevel, but that is not the intention of Lee and is not disclosed therein. If the skilled artisan wanted to produce a narrower strip, the skilled artisan would also use narrower rollers that fit the size of the strip and end up with beveled edges.” While this may be true, as discussed above, for the purposes of patentability in an apparatus claim, the prior art needs only be capable of performing the claimed function, said claimed function does not necessarily need to be disclosed as the intention of the prior art apparatus. As Applicant admits that the apparatus of Lee could produce a chamfered edge on a strip under certain operating conditions (i.e. the strip being slightly narrower than the rolls), this limitation of the claim is met.
The rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) for being anticipated by Lee is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 11-12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al., hereinafter Lee (WO 2019/168260, provided by Applicant). For text citations of Lee, refer to the corresponding European patent application publication, EP 3760334.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses (Figures 1, 5, and 10) an apparatus (intaglio-relief embossing press roller 1) for pre-forming a metal strip for the manufacture of roll formed and high frequency welded tubes with inner grooves (paras. [0034]-[0035]), comprising an embossing tool and a strip edge chamfering tool wherein the embossing tool comprises an embossing roll (roller body 201) having a cylindrical surface with a central embossing portion (intaglio embossing pattern unit 203) and side portions (left/right ends 205/206), and the strip edge chamfering tool comprises an edge chamfering roll (upper roller 10) comprising a recessed central section (roller body 101) and side sections (left/right inclined surface formation portions 107/108) on each side of the recessed central section, and an anvil roll (lower roller 20), wherein the edge chamfering roll and the anvil roll are configured to receive and pass, in use, the metal strip in a clearance formed between the edge chamfering roll and the anvil roll (clearly seen in Figure 10), wherein the clearance has a reduced height in the side sections, which are located in a position where longitudinal side edges of the metal strip will pass (clearly seen in Figure 10), so that the longitudinal side edges on each side of the metal strip, and on an embossed side of the metal strip become chamfered when being passed between the edge chamfering roll and the anvil roll ([0048] lns 21-25), wherein the embossing tool and the strip edge chamfering tool have parallel axes of rotation (clearly seen in figures), wherein an embossing pattern on the central embossing portion comprises a plurality of grooves arranged in a cylindrical surface of the central embossing portion (Figure 5 clearly shows the pattern made by intaglio embossing pattern unit 203 includes grooves in the cylindrical surface of the roller body 201), and wherein the cylindrical surface of each of the side portions is level with the cylindrical surface of the central embossing portion between the grooves (clearly seen in Figure 5).
Examiner note: regarding the limitation “for heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration applications” in the preamble of the claim, this limitation is considered to be a recitation of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The welded tubes manufactured from the metal strips produced by the disclosed apparatus of Lee could theoretically be used in heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration applications (see discussion above in Response to Arguments section), so this limitation of the claim is met.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses (Figure 5) the embossing tool and the strip edge chamfering tool are integrated so as to comprise one combined embossing and edge chamfering roll (intaglio-relief embossing press roller 1 comprising upper roller 10, i.e. the edge chamfering roll, and lower roller 20, i.e. the combined anvil roll and embossing roll), whereby the central embossing portion (intaglio embossing pattern unit 203) is comprised in a central section (roller body 201) of the clearance ([0048] lns 8-17; clearly seen in Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee discloses (Figure 5) the edge chamfering roll (upper roller 10) comprises a recess comprising the recessed central section (roller body 101) and the side sections (left/right inclined surface formation portions 107/108) on each side of the recessed central section, wherein the side sections comprise outwardly inclined side edges ([0048] lns 14-20, clearly seen in figures) on each side of the recess, running along the circumference of a cylindrical surface of the edge chamfering roll.
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses (Figures 1, 5, and 10-11) a method of pre-forming a metal strip for the manufacture of roll formed and high frequency welded tubes with inner grooves (paras. [0034]-[0035]), the method comprising using the apparatus of Claim 1 (see discussion above) to perform the steps of: embossing a pattern on a central portion of the metal strip (section of strip corresponding to intaglio embossing pattern unit 203), in a longitudinal direction thereof, while side portions (sections of strip corresponding to left/right ends 205/206 and left/right inclined surface formation portions 107/108) on each side of the central portion of the metal strip are rolled without the pattern ([0065] lns 1-5: left/right ends 205/206 providing “planes” to opposite side surfaces of the strip is interpreted as the side sections of the strip being rolled without the embossing pattern), wherein the pattern comprises protrusions (clearly seen in Figure 11; the downward-facing protrusions correspond to the grooves of intaglio embossing pattern unit 203), and the side portions of the metal strip are rolled during the embossing step to a strip thickness which is level with a strip thickness between the protrusions of the pattern (clearly seen in Figure 11), and chamfering longitudinal side edges of the metal strip on the side of the metal strip which is provided with the pattern ([0048] lns 21-25, para. [0066]).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee discloses (Figure 10) during the chamfering, strip material at the longitudinal side edges of the metal strip (sections of strip corresponding to left/right inclined surface formation portions 107/108) is pressed down to 20-60% of the strip thickness (Figure 10 clearly shows at least some of the strip material at the longitudinal side edges of the strip being pressed down by left/right inclined surface formation portions 107/108 by an amount 20-60% of the total strip thickness), thereby forming an inclined edge surface along the longitudinal side edges of the metal strip ([0048] lns 21-25).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee discloses (Figure 10) the embossing and edge chamfering are performed simultaneously in an integrated embossing and edge chamfering tool (intaglio-relief embossing press roller 1; para. [0067]).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee discloses (Figure 10) during the chamfering, strip material at the longitudinal side edges of the metal strip (sections of strip corresponding to left/right inclined surface formation portions 107/108) is pressed down to 35-40% of the strip thickness (Figure 10 clearly shows at least some of the strip material at the longitudinal side edges of the strip being pressed down by left/right inclined surface formation portions 107/108 by an amount 35-40% of the total strip thickness), thereby forming an inclined edge surface along the longitudinal side edges of the metal strip ([0048] lns 21-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Takiura et al., hereinafter Takiura (JP 2001-259733, provided by Applicant). For text citations of Takiura, refer to the machine translation provided as Non-Patent Literature with the Office action mailed 10/30/2025.
Regarding Claim 5, Lee does not disclose the embossing roll is comprised of a central embossing pattern roll pack and side rolls the embossing roll disclosed by Lee is one unitary structure. In the same field of endeavor, Takiura teaches (Figures 1-2) an apparatus for pre-forming a metal strip (plate material T) for the manufacture of roll formed and high frequency welded tubes with inner grooves ([0001] lns 1-4), comprising an embossing tool comprising an embossing roll (fin rolling roll 4) having a cylindrical surface with a central embossing portion (center roll 4B) and side portions (side rolls 4A), wherein the embossing roll (fin rolling roll 4) is comprised of a central embossing pattern roll pack (center roll 4B) and side rolls (side rolls 4A), said side rolls being arranged on each side of the central embossing pattern roll pack ([0014] lns 1-3; clearly seen in Figure 2), and wherein the central embossing pattern roll pack has a cylindrical surface forming the central embossing portion and the side rolls have cylindrical surfaces forming the side portions (clearly seen in Figure 2). One skilled in the art would understand that this configuration of embossing roll is beneficial in that it allows the user to interchange different central embossing pattern roll packs, whether to use a different embossing pattern or to replace damaged or worn embossing pattern rolls, without needing to replace the entire embossing roll. As this is a known structure of embossing roll for use in an embossing tool which pre-forms a metal strip for the manufacture of roll formed and high frequency welded tubes with inner grooves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embossing roll of the embossing tool in the apparatus disclosed by Lee such that it is comprised of a central embossing pattern roll pack and side rolls, said side rolls being arranged on each side of the central embossing pattern roll pack, and wherein the central embossing pattern roll pack has a cylindrical surface forming the central embossing portion and the side rolls have cylindrical surfaces forming the side portions, as taught by Takiura, in order to perform the same function of imparting an embossed pattern to the metal strip while allowing for easy replaceability of the central embossing portion.
Claims 6-7, 9-10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 6, Lee discloses (Figure 5) the central embossing portion (relief embossing pattern unit 103) of the embossing roll (roller body 101) has a width, which is 85-99% of a total width of the cylindrical surface of the embossing roll (this width ratio is clearly seen in Figure 5), but is silent to the value of the total width itself. However, one skilled in the art would understand that the width of the embossing roll will directly correlate to the size of the desired tubes manufactured from the metal strip being pre-formed by the apparatus, so the selection of the width is entirely dependent on the dimensions of the end product and is therefore not an inventive feature. As the Applicant has not set forth any criticality to the selection of 15 mm or more for the total width of the embossing roll that results in an unexpected benefit, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the apparatus for pre-forming a metal strip disclosed by Lee such that the cylindrical surface of the embossing roll has a total width of 15 mm or more, because such selection or determination would be the result of routine optimization and does not in itself warrant patentability, as one would arrive at such optimization through routine engineering and design practices.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses (Figure 10) a central section of the clearance (section of clearance corresponding to roller body 101) between the edge chamfering roll (upper roller 10) and the anvil roll (lower roller 20) of the strip edge chamfering tool, has a width which is equal to or greater than the width of the central embossing portion (relief embossing pattern unit 103) of the embossing roll (relief embossing pattern unit 103 does not occupy the entire width of roller body 101, so this limitation is met).
Regarding Claims 9 and 15, Lee discloses (Figure 5) that the inclined side edges (left/right inclined surface formation portions 107/108) are inclined at an angle of 45-70˚ ([0072] lns 1-4: the angle θ1 between the inclined surfaces of left/right inclined surface formation portions 107/108 and left/right ends 105/106 is 110-135˚, so the surfaces of 107/108 are inclined at an angle of 45-70˚), which overlaps the claimed ranges of 30-60˚ and 43-47˚. Lee further discloses that the angle of the inclined side edges, which forms the chamfered side sections of the metal strip, correlates to a second angle θ2 of a V-shaped groove 109a at a weld seam portion 109 ([0072] lns 4-10; see Figure 15), at which point a weld is formed to manufacture the roll formed and welded tube ([0073] lns 6-11, see Figure 16). One skilled in the art would understand that the desired dimensions of the weld portion will dictate the required angle range of the inclined side edges, and could therefore easily optimize the inclination angle of the side edges such that it falls within the claimed ranges. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus for pre-forming a metal strip disclosed by Lee such that the inclined side edges of the edge chamfering roll are inclined at an angle of 30-60˚ and/or 43-47˚, for manufacturing roll formed and welded tubes having a weld seam with dimensions that would necessitate such inclination angles.
Regarding Claim 10, Lee is silent to the width of side sections of the clearance (sections of clearance corresponding to left/right inclined surface formation portions 107/108, see Figure 10) between the edge chamfering roll (upper roller 10) and the anvil roll (lower roller 20) relative to the total width of the embossing tool (roller body 101) and the width of the central embossing portion (relief embossing pattern unit 103) of the embossing tool. However, as discussed above, the dimensions of the side sections (left/right inclined surface formation portions 107/108) of the edge chamfering roll (upper roller 10) directly correlate to the dimensions of the weld seam portion of the manufactured roll tubes (see Figures 15-16), so the width of the side sections of the clearance could easily be optimized to achieve a desired shape and/or dimension of the weld seam portion. As the Applicant has not set forth any criticality to the selection of the claimed width of the side sections of the clearance that results in an unexpected benefit, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the apparatus for pre-forming a metal strip disclosed by Lee such that side sections of the clearance between the edge chamfering roll and the anvil roll each have a width which is equal to or greater than half of a difference between the total width of the embossing tool and the width of the central embossing portion of the embossing tool, because such selection or determination would be the result of routine optimization and does not in itself warrant patentability, as one would arrive at such optimization through routine engineering and design practices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2, prior art fails to teach, alone or in combination, an apparatus for pre-forming a metal strip for the manufacture of roll formed and high frequency welded tubes with inner grooves, comprising an embossing tool comprising an embossing roll and a strip edge chamfering tool comprising an edge chamfering roll and an anvil roll, wherein the embossing tool and the strip edge chamfering tool have parallel axes of rotation, and wherein the strip edge chamfering tool is arranged downstream of the embossing tool in a travel direction of the metal strip to be pre-formed, together with the other limitations of the claim. In JP 2001-259733 to Takiura et al., which is considered to be the most relevant prior art to Claim 2, the rotation axes of the embossing tool and the strip edge chamfering tool are perpendicular to each other, not parallel, and one skilled in the art would not be motivated to modify the disclosed configuration to arrive at the claimed invention due to the structure of the edge chamfering roll. Accordingly, Claim 2 is allowable.
Regarding Claim 13, prior art fails to teach, alone or in combination, a method of pre-forming a metal strip for the manufacture of roll formed and high frequency welded tubes with inner grooves using the apparatus of Claim 1, comprising embossing a pattern on a central portion of the metal strip, and chamfering longitudinal side edges of the metal strip, wherein the chamfering of the longitudinal side edges follows the embossing in a subsequent step, together with the other limitations of the claim. The apparatus of Claim 1, which is used for this method, requires the embossing tool and the strip edge chamfering tool have parallel axes of rotation. In JP 2001-259733 to Takiura et al., which is considered to be the most relevant prior art to Claim 13, the rotation axes of the embossing tool and the strip edge chamfering tool are perpendicular to each other, not parallel, and one skilled in the art would not be motivated to modify the disclosed configuration to arrive at the claimed invention due to the structure of the edge chamfering roll. Accordingly, Claim 13 is allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERESA A GUTHRIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725