Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 04/28/2026, claims 1-4 and 6-8 are pending. Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are amended. No claims are new. Claims 5 and 9-13 are presently cancelled.
Response to Arguments
In the Advisory Action (05/11/2026), the prior objections to the Drawings, Specification, and Claims were withdrawn due to the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1-4 and 6-8 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7-8 reintroduce “a first HV potential” and “a second HV potential”, each of which is introduced prior in claim 1. Thus, claims 7 & 8’s language should either be revised to remove the redundant language or revised to recite “[[a]] the first HV potential” and “[[a]] the second HV potential”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boehme et al. (US 2023/0018999 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Boehme discloses a method (disclosed manners of operating the titular “protection device for an electric DC grid”) for discharging a vehicle HV electrical system (“electric DC grid 1”, which is a high-voltage on-board electrical system 3 of a vehicle 2 per ¶ [39]; Figs. 1-13), which is galvanically isolated (isolation by Y-capacitors “CyL+”, “CyL-”, “CyF+”, and “CyF-”) from a ground potential (“reference potential M”), in the presence of a residual current (current through “insulation fault IF” in Fig. 1) resulting from a touching of a HV potential (“high-voltage potentials HV+, HV-” and “high-voltage potential lines HV+L, HV-L”; may occur on either positive or negative HV potential per ¶ [48]) by a human (¶ [48]: “In the event of such an insulation fault IF and contact between the human body MK and one of the high-voltage potentials HV+, HV- and a reference potential M, discharge takes place through the human body MK.”).
Boehme further discloses the method comprising determining (¶ [56]: “an insulation monitor … cyclically checks the insulation resistances”) the presence of the residual current (current through “IF”; may be from either “HV+” or “HV-” per ¶ [48]) resulting from the touching of the HV potential (HV+, HV+L, HV-, HV-L) by the human (“human body MK”).
Boehme further discloses the residual current i) flowing between a first HV potential (combo of “HV+” & “HV+L”) of the vehicle HV electrical system (1) and the ground potential (M) or ii) flowing between a second HV potential (combo of “HV-” & “HV-L”) of the vehicle HV electrical system (1) and the ground potential (M).
Boehme further discloses the residual current (current through “IF”; may be from either “HV+” or “HV-” per ¶ [48]) resulting from the touching of the HV potential (HV+, HV+L, HV-, HV-L) by the human (MK) flows between the ground potential (M) and the HV potential (HV+, HV+L, HV-, HV-L) that is touched by the human (MK).
Boehme further discloses discharging (“SS1” closes “if the specified voltage limit value has been undershot” per ¶ [7, 20, 51, 86]; thus, the closing of discharge switch “SS1” occurs when the impedance, RK in this example, is less than a maximum resistance associated with the voltage drop from nominal to the “specified voltage limit value”) only a first Cy capacitance (“CyF+”; Fig. 1), which exists between the ground potential (M) and the first HV potential (combo of “HV+” & “HV+L”) from which or to which the residual current (current through “IF”) resulting from the touching of the HV potential (combo of “HV+” & “HV+L”) by the human (MK) flows.
Boehme further discloses the discharging (“SS1” closes “if the specified voltage limit value has been undershot” per ¶ [7, 20, 51]) is triggered by the determining of the presence of the residual current (current through “IF”) resulting from the touching of the HV potential (combo of “HV+” & “HV+L”) by the human (“MK”; example value of RK = 1200 ohms was chosen to model the human body, per ¶ [48]).
Boehme further discloses the residual current (current through “IF”) flowing between the first HV potential (combo of “HV+” & “HV+L”) of the vehicle HV electrical system (1) and the ground potential (M).
Regarding Claim 2, Boehme discloses the method as claimed in claim 1.
Boehme further discloses the method further comprising preventing a discharging (per ¶ [7, 20, 51, 86], can close only “SS1” while leaving “SS2” open) of a second Cy capacitance (“CyF-”; Fig. 1) which exists between the ground potential (M) and the second HV potential (combo of “HV-” & “HV-L”) from which or to which no residual current flows (no “IF” current from the “HV-” / “HV-L”).
NOTE 2-1: Claim 2 presently does not specify a sequence of when claim 2’s action of “preventing a discharging of a second Cy capacitance … from which or to which no residual current flows” is performed relative to the method actions set forth prior in claim 1. Thus, it is interpreted that claim 2’s action may be performed at a separate time or simultaneously with the claim 1 action of “discharging only a first Cy capacitance”. In the case of Boehme, the method can discharge only the first Cy capacitance while simultaneously preventing the second Cy capacitance from discharging.
Regarding Claim 3, Boehme discloses the method as claimed in claim 2.
Boehme further discloses the method further comprising discharging the second Cy capacitance (“CyF-”, discharged by connecting “SS2”) after discharging (per ¶ [58], the first step is to suddenly reduce the voltage of “HV+” by discharging “CyF+” in response to detecting the residual current; then, per ¶ [59], the second Cy capacitance “CyF-” is also discharged “in a final step”; per ¶ [69], the first Cy capacitance “CyF+” is first discharged in response to the “detection of the reduction of the voltage between … HV+ … and the reference potential M”; then, “active discharging of both Y capacitors … is initiated”) the first Cy capacitance (CyF+).
Regarding Claim 4, Boehme discloses the method as claimed in claim 1.
Boehme further discloses the method further comprising disconnecting (via opening any of the “charging protections LS+, LS-” and/or the “main protections HS+, HS-”) a HV source (“electric battery energy source 7”, as part of “high-voltage battery 6”; Fig. 1; ¶ [47]) of the vehicle HV electrical system (1) after discharging (per ¶ [67], the actuation of “SS1” and/or “SS2” occurs first in response to detection of undervoltage associated with residual current; then, information is sent “to slower control devices”, such as to open “the main protections HS+, HS- of the high-voltage battery 6”) the first Cy capacitance (“CyF+”, discharged via closing “SS1”).
Regarding Claim 6, Boehme discloses the method as claimed in claim 1.
Boehme further discloses the method further comprising discharging a first Cx capacitance (“X capacitor Cx”, discharged via closing both “SS1” & “SS2”; Fig. 1) after discharging (per ¶ [58], the first step is to suddenly reduce the voltage of “HV+” by discharging “CyF+” in response to detecting the residual current; then, per ¶ [59], “Cx” is also discharged “in a final step”; per ¶ [69], the first Cy capacitance “CyF+” is first discharged in response to the “detection of the reduction of the voltage between … HV+ … and the reference potential M”; then, “active discharging of … Cx … is initiated”) the first Cy capacitance (“CyF+”, discharged via closing “SS1”).
Boehme further discloses the first Cx capacitance (Cx) existing between the first HV potential (combo of “HV+” & “HV+L”) and the second HV potential (combo of “HV-” & “HV-L”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehme et al. (US 2023/0018999 A1) in view of Morimoto (US 2007/0176604 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Boehme discloses the method as claimed in claim 1.
Boehme further discloses the determining of the presence of the residual current (current through “IF”) resulting from the touching of the HV potential (HV+, HV+L, HV-, HV-L) by the human (MK), the residual current flowing between a first HV potential (combo of “HV+” & “HV+L”) of the vehicle HV electrical system (1) and the ground potential (M) or ii) flowing between a second HV potential (combo of “HV-” & “HV-L”) of the vehicle HV electrical system (1) and the ground potential (M).
Boehme does not disclose “measuring an impedance across which the residual current flows”.
Though Boehme discloses discharging of only the first Cy capacitance is carried out, Boehme further does not disclose this discharging upon detection of the associated residual current occurs “only if the measured impedance lies in an impedance range which characterizes the impedance of a human body”.
Morimoto teaches measuring an impedance (“ground-fault resistance value Rx”, including the resistor “108” and the resistance “111” generated by the ground fault; Figs. 6-7; ¶ [10]: “ground fault resistance” measured by supplying “constant direct current I” by “constant-current source 109” and measuring the resulting voltage across the resistance with “voltmeter 110”) across which the residual current flows (current “I2” through “111”; Fig. 6; ¶ [11])
Morimoto further teaches the residual current (“I2”) is detected only if the measured impedance (“Rx”, i.e. the parallel combo of “108” and “111”) lies in an impedance range (¶ [16]: “when the ground-fault resistance value Rx is below 200 kΩ”) which characterizes the impedance of a human body (¶ [16]: “in order to detect a ground fault which allows a human-body sensible current of 3 mA to flow”; ¶ [20]: “electric current … through the ground-fault resistance value Rx and the vehicle body 107, to the human body touching the vehicle body 107”).
Morimoto further teaches the residual current is detected if the measured impedance is in a range characteristic of a human body to improve the precision of detecting a residual current that may give a human an electric shock (¶ [20-21]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Boehme to detect the residual current if the measured impedance is in a range characteristic of a human body, as taught by Morimoto, to improve the precision of detecting a residual current that may give a human an electric shock. Thus, when combined with the discharging features of Boehme’s method, the impedance range condition of Morimoto enables the method to more accurately respond to a residual current through a human, thus reducing risk of damage to the human and improving safety.
Thus, the combo of Boehme & Morimoto teaches measuring an impedance across which the residual current flows, the discharging of only the first Cy capacitance (taught by Boehme to occur only if a residual current is detected from “HV+”) is carried out only if the measured impedance lies in an impedance range which characterizes the impedance of a human body (incorporated from Morimoto as a method to detect a residual current).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehme et al. (US 2023/0018999 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0180452 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the combo of Haindl & Boehme teaches the method as claimed in claim 1.
Boehme further discloses the determining of the presence of the residual current (current through “IF”) resulting from the touching of the HV potential (HV+, HV+L, HV-, HV-L) by the human (MK), the residual current flowing between a first HV potential (combo of “HV+” & “HV+L”) of the vehicle HV electrical system (1) and the ground potential (M) or ii) flowing between a second HV potential (combo of “HV-” & “HV-L”) of the vehicle HV electrical system (1) and the ground potential (M).
Boehme does not disclose “measuring a rate of change of a voltage between the ground potential and the first HV potential or the second HV potential”.
Though Boehme discloses the presence of the residual current resulting from the touching of the HV potential by the human is determined, Boehme further does not disclose the presense of the residual current “is determined if the absolute value of the rate of change lies above a limit which characterizes the maximum rate of change which occurs during an active insulation measurement”.
Lee teaches measuring a rate of change of a voltage (voltage across “CDC_Y1” measured by “DC voltage measuring device 210” in Fig. 1; rate of change is calculated by “differential operator 224” in Fig. 2; ¶ [55]: “time derivative value of the voltage across the capacitor”) between the ground potential (“GND”; Fig. 1) and the first HV potential (positive side of “HV battery 300” connected to “CDC_Y1” through “DC relay 150”; Fig. 1).
Lee further teaches wherein the presence of the residual current is determined (Fig. 5, step S110: “leakage current estimate > protection level [A]”) if the absolute value of the rate of change (¶ [55-56]: “time derivative value of the voltage across the capacitor” which relates to a “leakage current estimate” by a “Y-capacitor coefficient”) lies above a limit (a maximum differential voltage associated with “protection level [A]” by a “Y-capacitor coefficient”; Figs. 4-5; because only a multiplicative coefficient changes the “time derivative value of the voltage” to a ”leakage current estimate”, the “protection level” in Amps also means there is a “protection level” which is a differential voltage value) which characterizes the maximum rate of change (¶ [59]: “protection level … may be a standardized value for a commercialized power supply for the electrically charged vehicle”) which occurs during an active insulation measurement (any values under the “protection level” are interpreted to be acceptable during the active insulation measurements performed by “controller 200”; Fig. 1; ¶ [59-60]).
Lee further teaches this method of detecting a residual current based on a measured rate of change of an HV potential referenced to ground for the advantage of reducing the cost of manufacturing the system by eschewing the need for a current sensor (¶ [34]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Boehme to determine whether the residual current exists if the absolute value of the rate of change lies above a limit which characterizes the maximum rate of change which occurs during an active insulation measurement, as taught by Lee, to reduce the cost of the system used to perform the method by eschewing the need for a current sensor.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haindl et al. (EP 3640076 A1) in view of Boehme et al. (US 2023/0018999 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Haindl discloses a method (Fig. 4 flowchart; title: “apparatus and method for discharging a Y-capacitor”) for discharging a vehicle high-voltage (HV) electrical system (“system 100” including “battery module 101” and “vehicle module 102”; Fig. 1; ¶ [37]: example “system voltage: Usys = 450V”), which is galvanically isolated (Figs. 2-3 show “HV+” and “HV-” isolated from “chassis”) from a ground potential (“chassis”; Fig. 2), in the presence of a residual current (based on presence of “energy content” of either “Cy+_ext” or “Cy-_ext” per ¶ [52]; a differential voltage across a Y-capacitor is thus also present per ¶ [36-37]; residual current is thus present in “Riso+_ext” or “Riso-_ext” with the presence of a differential voltage across from either “HV+” or “HV-” to “chassis” per note 1, included infra), the method comprising the following.
Haindl further discloses determining (Fig. 4, step 502) the presence of the residual current (residual current through “Riso+_ext” coincides with “energy content” detected in “Cy+_ext”; alternatively, residual current through “Riso-_ext” coincides with “energy content” in “Cy-_ext”; Fig. 2; see note 1-1, included infra), the residual current i) flowing between a first HV potential (“HV+”) of the vehicle HV electrical system (100) and the ground potential (“chassis”) or ii) flowing between a second HV potential (“HV-”) of the vehicle HV electrical system (100) and the ground potential (“chassis”).
Haindl further discloses discharging (Fig. 4, step 503; per ¶ [52], can discharge only one of set of Cy capacitances) only a first Cy capacitance (combo of “Cy+_int” and “Cy+_ext” discharged through “R0” and “Iso-switch+”; Fig. 2), which exists between the ground potential (“chassis”) and the first HV potential (“HV+”) from which or to which the residual current flows (“energy content” in “Cy+_ext” coincides with “residual current” through “Riso+_ext”; see note 1-1).
Haindl further discloses the discharging (Fig. 4, step 503) is triggered by the determining of the presence of the residual current (Fig. 4, step 502; “residual current” is inherent with “energy content in a Y-capacitor” in Haindl’s circuit, per note 1-1 included infra).
Haindl further discloses the residual current (“energy content” in “Cy+_ext” coincides with “residual current” through “Riso+_ext”; see note 1-1) flowing between the first HV potential (“HV+”) of the vehicle HV electrical system (100) and the ground potential (“chassis”).
NOTE 1-1:
Haindl explicitly teaches detecting the presence of “energy content” (¶ [51], Fig. 4 step 503) in one of the Y-capacitors (“Cy+_ext” or “Cy-_ext”; Fig. 2). Haindl further teaches that a differential voltage across a capacitor is inherently present with stored energy content in the capacitor (¶ [36-37]). Haindl further teaches that the applicable “main relay” (“Main+” or “Main-”) is kept in a closed state (¶ [40]), such that the corresponding HV potential (“HV+” or “HV-”) is also present on the corresponding insulation resistance (“Riso+_ext” or “Riso-_ext”).
It is widely known in the art that a current is inherently present between two nodes when there is a differential voltage present across the two nodes connected by a current-conducting path. The current conducting path may be in the form of a resistance, even a parasitic resistance path in the case of an insulation/isolation fault.
Thus, by inherency, the “energy content” in one of the external Y-capacitors (“Cy+_ext” or “Cy-_ext”) coincides with “residual current” through the corresponding insulation resistance (“Riso+_ext” or “Riso-_ext”) in the system taught by Haindl.
As addressed supra, Haindl discloses a method for discharging a vehicle HV electrical system, which is galvanically isolated from a ground potential. However, Haindl does not disclose the residual current is “resulting from a touching of a HV potential by a human”.
Though, as addressed supra, Haindl discloses determining the presence of the residual current, Haindl further does not disclose the residual current is “resulting from the touching of the HV potential by the human”.
Haindl further does not disclose “the residual current resulting from the touching of the HV potential by the human flows between the ground potential and the HV potential that is touched by the human”.
As addressed supra, Haindl discloses discharging only a first Cy capacitance, which exists between the ground potential and the first HV potential or the second HV potential from which or to which the residual current flows. However, Haindl further does not disclose this residual current “resulting from the touching of the HV potential by the human”.
Though Haindl discloses the discharging is triggered by the determining of the presence of the residual current, Haindl further does not disclose the residual current “resulting from the touching of the HV potential by the human”.
Boehme teaches discharging a vehicle HV electrical system (“electric DC grid 1”, which is a high-voltage on-board electrical system 3 of a vehicle 2 per ¶ [39]; Figs. 1-13), which is galvanically isolated (isolation by Y-capacitors “CyL+”, “CyL-”, “CyF+”, and “CyF-”) from a ground potential (“reference potential M”), in the presence of a residual current (current through “insulation fault IF” in Fig. 1) resulting from a touching of a HV potential (“high-voltage potentials HV+, HV-” and “high-voltage potential lines HV+L, HV-L”; may occur on either positive or negative HV potential per ¶ [48]) by a human (¶ [48]: “In the event of such an insulation fault IF and contact between the human body MK and one of the high-voltage potentials HV+, HV- and a reference potential M, discharge takes place through the human body MK.”).
Boehme further teaches determining (¶ [56]: “an insulation monitor … cyclically checks the insulation resistances”) the presence of the residual current (current through “IF”; may be from either “HV+” or “HV-” per ¶ [48]) resulting from the touching of the HV potential (HV+, HV+L, HV-, HV-L) by the human (“human body MK”), the residual current i) flowing between a first HV potential (combo of “HV+” & “HV+L”) of the vehicle HV electrical system (1) and the ground potential (M) or ii) flowing between a second HV potential (combo of “HV-” & “HV-L”) of the vehicle HV electrical system (1) and the ground potential (M).
Boehme further teaches the residual current (current through “IF”; may be from either “HV+” or “HV-” per ¶ [48]) resulting from the touching of the HV potential (HV+, HV+L, HV-, HV-L) by the human (MK) flows between the ground potential (M) and the HV potential (HV+, HV+L, HV-, HV-L) that is touched by the human (MK).
Boehme further teaches discharging (“SS1” closes “if the specified voltage limit value has been undershot” per ¶ [7, 20, 51]; thus, the closing of discharge switch “SS1” occurs when the impedance, RK in this example, is less than a maximum resistance associated with the voltage drop from nominal to the “specified voltage limit value”) only a first Cy capacitance (“CyF+”; Fig. 1), which exists between the ground potential (M) and the first HV potential (combo of “HV+” & “HV+L”) from which or to which the residual current (current through “IF”) resulting from the touching of the HV potential (combo of “HV+” & “HV+L”) by the human (MK) flows.
Boehme further teaches the discharging (“SS1” closes “if the specified voltage limit value has been undershot” per ¶ [7, 20, 51]) is triggered by the determining of the presence of the residual current (current through “IF”) resulting from the touching of the HV potential (combo of “HV+” & “HV+L”) by the human (“MK”; example value of RK = 1200 ohms was chosen to model the human body, per ¶ [48]).
Boehme further teaches detecting a residual current resulting from human touch and then discharging the HV system in response for the advantage of reducing the electric shock caused to the human body (¶ [15]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for discharging the vehicle HV electrical system disclosed by Haindl for the detected residual current to be a result of human touch, as taught by Boehme, to reduce the electric shock caused to the human body.
Regarding Claim 2, the combo of Haindl & Boehme teaches the method as claimed in claim 1.
Haindl further discloses the method (Fig. 4 flowchart; title: “apparatus and method for discharging a Y-capacitor”) further comprising preventing a discharging (Fig. 4, step 503 only involves discharging one of the HV potentials with associated Cy capacitance; thus, the other Cy capacitance with energy content less than the threshold on the other HV potential is not discharged during this step) of a second Cy capacitance (combo of “Cy-_int” and “Cy-_ext”; Fig. 2) which exists between the ground potential (“chassis”) and the second HV potential (“HV-”) from which or to which no residual current flows (“energy content” below a “predetermined threshold”; ¶ [51]).
NOTE 2-2: Claim 2 presently does not specify a sequence of when claim 2’s action of “preventing a discharging of a second Cy capacitance … from which or to which no residual current flows” is performed relative to the method actions set forth prior in claim 1. Thus, it is interpreted that claim 2’s action may be performed at a separate time or simultaneously with the claim 1 action of “discharging only a first Cy capacitance”. In the case of Haindl, the method can discharge only the first Cy capacitance while simultaneously preventing the second Cy capacitance from discharging.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859