Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the response to the note on Kirchoff’s Current Law, Examiner has removed the comment from the rejection to avoid further confusion. However, the prior inclusion of the comment was to indicate that at a node between 42-1, 33-1, & 33-4 the current entering the node would equal the current exiting the node. We know that the current is flowing to the external system from the node, the second battery,61-2, has a higher voltage than the first battery, 61-1, and the first battery, 61-1, is in a “d-passive” mode where only discharge current is allowed. Therefore, it is understood the current is flowing into the node from 33-1 and 33-4 (since current will not flow from a lower charge to a higher charge), and out of the node towards 42-1 at a combined amperage entering the node. Furthermore, with the absence of additional nodes between 33-1 and 33-2 when following the circuit clockwise through the first battery, the current flowing out of the first battery at the positive terminal would equal the current received back into the first battery at the negative terminal, which would be the same for the second battery as well in view of points 33-4 and 33-5. With this understanding of the circuit, it would further be understood that current is not flowing between the first and second batteries, or between the first and second paths.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are shown in the table below:
Claim Limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB Citation)
First communicator to connect a communication
2
Predetermined Software (¶0048)
Voltage value transmitter
3
Predetermined Software (¶0054)
System driver
1, 4, & 7
Hardware and Software to receive power from a battery (¶0064)
Second communicator to connect
4
Predetermined Software (¶0066)
Voltage state determiner
1, 4, & 7
Predetermined Software (¶0068)
Voltage value receiver
5
Predetermined Software (¶0070)
Voltage deviation calculator
5
Predetermined Software (¶0072)
Comparison unit
5 & 6
Predetermined Software (¶0074)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Eguchi (US Patent 5,982,145 – Published 1999), in view of Takizawa et al. (USPGPN 2016/0049813) and Chen (USPGPN 2007/0188140).
Regarding Claim 1, Eguchi (Figs. 2 & 3) teaches a system for controlling charging/discharging between two batteries constituting a dual battery, the system comprising:
first and second batteries (32-1 & 32-2);
an external system (31) using the first and second batteries as driving power (Col.6, Lines 15-24: personal computer and CPU receive power from the battery packs) and configured to control a charging/discharging operation between the first and second batteries according to a voltage difference between the first and second batteries (Col.7, Lines 59-67: CPU 41 commands each battery pack to control their switches to select the battery pack with a higher charge); and
a main charging/discharging path (paths between port 42-1 and batteries 34-1 & 61-2) configured for a charging/discharging current to flow between the first and second batteries and the external system and between the first and second batteries,
wherein the main charging/discharging path is configured to comprise:
first and second paths (paths connected to batteries 61-1 and 61-2) formed in the first and second batteries, respectively, and connected in parallel to each other; and a third path (path connecting port 42-1 to ports 33-1 & 33-4) having one end connected to the first and second paths connected in parallel and having the other end connected to the external system,
wherein each of the first and second batteries comprises a voltage detector (Col.6,Lines 34-36: CPU 66-1 detects voltage across the terminals and the battery, therefore indicating the presence of a voltage detector) and a FET controller (66-1), and components of the external system comprise a voltage state determiner (Col.7,Lines 48-54: CPU 41 instructs CPU 66-1 to measure the voltage of the battery and receives the measured voltage),
wherein in an initial state in response to a fastening operation of connecting the first and second batteries to the external system (Col.7,Lines 62-67: CPU 41 instructs battery pack 32-1 into “d-passive” mode and battery pack 32-2 into “Active” mode):
a current path is formed between the first and second batteries and the external system (Col.7,Lines 32-35: “d-passive” mode is 64D-1 switched on and 62C-1 switched off, indicating only a discharge current is allowed; Col.7,Lines 66-67: both switches are on in an Active mode), wherein a discharging FET of the first and second batteries is in an on state (64D-1 switched on and 64D-2 switched on), and a charging FET of the first battery is in an off state (62C-1 switched off), wherein there is only current movement from the first path to the third path and from the second path to the third path, wherein there is no current movement from the second path to the first path, and wherein no charging current flows into either of the first and second batteries (Fig.2: with 62C-1 being switched off, current can only discharge from battery 61-1, the battery with a lower state of charge, and current will not flow from a lower voltage to a higher voltage);
the first and second batteries are discharged to the external system (Col.7,Lines 42-45: battery 61-1 discharges to terminal 34-1 which is connected to 42-1; Col.8,Lines 12-16: battery 61-2 supplies power to the computer 31 through 42-1);
a system driver (41) of the external system is woken up to drive the components of the external system (Col.6, Lines 15-24: personal computer and CPU receive power from the battery packs); and
charging/discharging between the first and second batteries is not performed (Fig.2: with 64C-1 being switched off, current can only discharge from battery 61-1, the battery with a lower state of charge, and current will not flow from a lower voltage to a higher voltage),
wherein the voltage detector of a battery is configured to, following the fastening operation, perform a voltage measurement operation of measuring a voltage value of the corresponding battery at a predetermined interval (S6->S7->S3; Col.9,Lines 33-37: voltage of the battery pack can be measured instead of current),
wherein the voltage state determiner of the external system is configured to perform a voltage value reception operation of receiving measured voltage values from each of the first and second batteries (as disclosed above),
wherein the voltage state determiner of the external system is configured to perform a charging FET state switching determination operation of controlling charging/discharging between the first and second batteries (as disclosed above) based on a comparison of a predetermined reference range and the voltage difference (Col.9, Lines 5-6: an acceptable voltage difference may be allowed, indicating a voltage difference is compared with a predetermined reference range), wherein the voltage difference is calculated between the measured voltage values of the first and second batteries received in the voltage value reception operation (comparison is made between battery packs 32-1 & 32-2 as disclosed above), and
wherein the FET controller of each battery is configured to perform a charging FET control operation of switching the charging FET in the corresponding battery to an on state or maintaining the charging FET at an off state (S7 either returns to S5, where the charging FET is maintained off, or to S8, where the charging FET is switched on, based on the voltage difference being between a predetermined reference range as disclosed above).
Eguchi fails to explicitly teach that during the initial state, a charging FET of the second battery is in an off state;
the voltage detector of each battery performing a measurement operation, following the fastening operation;
wherein the voltage state determiner of the external system is configured to perform a voltage value reception operation, following the voltage measurement operation;
wherein the voltage state determiner of the external system is configured to perform a charging FET state switching determination operation, following the voltage value reception operation, and
wherein the FET controller of each battery is configured to perform a charging FET control operation, following the charging FET state switching determination operation, according to a determination result of the charging FET state switching determination operation from the external system.
However, Takizawa teaches a system where the voltage detector (Fig.5, MOCNT) of each battery (Fig.3, MO1 & MO2) performs a voltage measurement operation (¶0095: MOCNT acquires voltage), following a fastening operation, (Fig.19, S1: all modules are in a discharging state and then a difference in voltage is determined, indicating voltage measurements occur after the batteries a fastened).
a voltage state determiner of an external system (Fig.3, CNT) is configured to perform a voltage value reception operation, following the voltage measurement operation (¶0095: MOCNT acquired data is transmitted to the CNT),
the voltage state determiner of the external system is configured to perform a charging FET state switching determination operation, following the voltage value reception operation (¶0104: control methods are performed by CNT; Fig.19: CNT would need to receive the voltages of the batteries to determine if the difference in voltage is below 300mV), and
wherein a FET controller of each battery is configured to perform a charging FET control operation (Fig.5: MOCNT controls SWd and SWc), following the charging FET state switching determination operation, according to a determination result of the charging FET state switching determination operation from the external system (Fig.19: charging switches are maintained in an open state if voltage difference is above 300mV or closed in S2 if the voltage difference is below 300mV).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Eguchi with Takizawa to perform the control steps in the order of fastening, voltage measurement, voltage value reception, charging FET state switching determination, and charging FET control operation, and having the voltage state determiner of the external system perform the charging FET state switching determination operation. Doing so allows the batteries to be swapped while minimizing deterioration of the battery modules due to high charging currents, as evidenced by Takizawa.
Furthermore, Chen (Figs.4 & 7) teaches a parallel battery system in which during a state in which the batteries have differing voltages (¶0033: voltage of battery 790 is higher than the voltage of battery 590), the charging FETs are in an off state and the discharging FETs are in an on state (571 & 572 show that the switches are FETs in Fig.4; Fig.7 shows a functional diagram of a discharging process in which the batteries have different voltages: charge FETs 571 & 771 are off/open and therefore become ideal diodes only allowing discharge, while discharge FETs 572 and 772 are on/closed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Eguchi with Chen to modify the control stage of Eguchi when the battery voltages are different (Eguchi’s initial stage as disclosed above, where one battery is in “d-passive” mode and the other is in Active mode) to have both charging FETs of the first and second batteries turned off. Doing so ensures a prevention of current leakage from a high voltage battery pack to a low voltage battery pack, as evidenced by Chen (¶0034).
Regarding Claim 2, Eguchi (Figs.2 & 3), as modified, teaches wherein each of the first and second batteries comprises:
one or more battery cells (61-1 & 61-2);
the charging FET (62C-1 & 62C-2) provided on a corresponding one of the first and second paths to control charging of the corresponding battery among the first and second batteries;
the discharging FET (64D-1 & 64D-2) connected in series to the charging FET provided on the corresponding one of the first and second paths to control discharging of the corresponding battery;
a first communicator (Col.7, Lines 48-52: battery back CPUs receive commands from CPU 41 indicating presence of a communicator) configured to connect a communication with the external system; and
a first controller (66-1 & 66-2) configured to receive voltage information from the communication-connected external system (S1: battery pack CPUs detect equipment voltage), and configured to switch the charging FET to the on state or to maintain the charging FET at the off state according to a control signal from the external system (Col.10, Lines 6-15: battery pack CPUs receive commands to either activate both switches, only the charging switch, only the discharging switch, and turn off both switches; Col.10, Lines 37-39: battery pack 32-1 is maintained in d-Passive mode, charging FET is maintained off), and
wherein in response to the fastening operation, the discharging FET of each of the first and second batteries is in an on state, and the charging FET is in the off state (as modified by Chen in the rejection of claim 1 above, both discharging FETs are on and both charging FETs are off).
Regarding Claim 3, Eguchi, as modified, further teaches wherein the first controller comprises:
a voltage value transmitter configured to transmit the voltage value of the corresponding battery measured by the voltage detector to the external system through the first communicator (Col.7, 53-54: battery pack CPUs transmit voltage values to CPU 41 indicating presence of a voltage value transmitter);
a control signal receiver (Col.7, Lines 62-65: battery pack CPUs receive commands from CPU 41 indicating presence of a control signal receiver) configured to receive the control signal for controlling the charging FET from the external system through the first communicator; and
the FET controller configured to switch the charging FET to the on state or to maintain the charging FET at the off state (Fig.2, CPUs 66-1 & 66-2 have connections to FET gates for activating or deactivating FETs) according to the control signal from the external system received by the control signal receiver (as described in the rejection above, FET switches are controlled in response to control signals from CPU 41).
Regarding Claim 7, Eguchi (Figs. 2 & 3) teaches a method for controlling charging/discharging between two batteries constituting a dual battery, the method comprising:
a fastening operation of connecting the first and second batteries (321 & 32-2) to an external system (31), wherein a charging/discharging path is configured to comprise:
first and second paths (paths connected to batteries 61-1 and 61-2) formed in the first and second batteries, respectively, and connected in parallel to each other; and a third path (path connecting port 42-1 to ports 33-1 & 33-4) having one end connected to the first and second paths connected in parallel and having the other end connected to the external system, and
wherein in an initial state in response to a fastening operation:
a current path is formed between the first and second batteries and the external system (Col.7,Lines 32-35: “d-passive” mode is 64D-1 switched on and 64C-1 switched off, indicating only a discharge current is allowed; Col.7,Lines 66-67: both switches are on in an Active mode), wherein a discharging FET of the first and second batteries is in an on state (64D-1 switched on and 64D-2 switched on), and a charging FET of the first battery is in an off state (62C-1 switched off), wherein there is only current movement from the first path to the third path and from the second path to the third path, wherein there is no current movement from the second path to the first path, and wherein no charging current flows into either of the first and second batteries (Fig.2: with 62C-1 being switched off, current can only discharge from battery 61-1, the battery with a lower state of charge, and current will not flow from a lower voltage to a higher voltage);
the first and second batteries are discharged to the external system (Col.7,Lines 42-45: battery 61-1 discharges to terminal 34-1 which is connected to 42-1; Col.8,Lines 12-16: battery 61-2 supplies power to the computer 31 through 42-1);
a system driver (41) of the external system is woken up to drive the components of the external system (Col.6, Lines 15-24: personal computer and CPU receive power from the battery packs); and
charging/discharging between the first and second batteries is not performed (Fig.2: with 64C-1 being switched off, current can only discharge from battery 61-1, the battery with a lower state of charge, and current will not flow from a lower voltage to a higher voltage),
following the fastening operation, a voltage measurement operation of measuring a voltage value of a battery by a voltage detector (Col.6,Lines 34-36: CPU 66-1 detects voltage across the terminals and the battery, therefore indicating the presence of a voltage detector) of the corresponding battery at a predetermined period interval (S6->S7->S3; Col.9,Lines 33-37: voltage of the battery pack can be measured instead of current);
a communication connection operation of connecting a mutual communication between the first and second batteries and the external system (Col.7, 53-54: battery pack CPUs transmit voltage values to CPU 41);
a voltage value reception operation of receiving the measured voltage value by a voltage state determiner of the external system, from each of the first and second batteries through the mutual communication connection (as disclosed above);
a charging FET state switching determination operation of controlling charging/discharging between the first and second batteries by the voltage state determiner of the external system (as disclosed above), based on a comparison of a predetermined reference range and a voltage deviation (Col.9, Lines 5-6: an acceptable voltage difference may be allowed, indicating a voltage deviation is compared with a predetermined reference range), wherein the voltage deviation is calculated between the measured voltage values of the first and second batteries received in the voltage value reception operation (comparison is made between battery packs 32-1 & 32-2 as disclosed above), and
a charging FET control operation of switching a charging FET in a battery to an on state or maintaining the charging FET at an off state (S7 either returns to S5, where the charging FET is maintained off, or to S8, where the charging FET is switched on, based on the voltage difference being between a predetermined reference range as disclosed above),
wherein the components of the external system include the voltage state determiner (Col.7,Lines 48-54: CPU 41 instructs CPU 66-1 to measure the voltage of the battery and receives the measured voltage).
Eguchi fails to explicitly teach that during the initial state, a charging FET of the second battery is in an off state;
the voltage detector of each battery performing a measurement operation, following the fastening operation;
the voltage value reception operation following the voltage measurement operation;
the charging FET state switching determination operation following the voltage value reception operation, and
the charging FET control operation switching the charging FET in each of the first and second batteries, following the charging FET state switching determination operation, according to a determination result of the charging FET state switching determination operation from the external system.
However, Takizawa teaches a system where the voltage detector (Fig.5, MOCNT) of each battery (Fig.3, MO1 & MO2) performs a voltage measurement operation (¶0095: MOCNT acquires voltage), following a fastening operation, (Fig.19, S1: all modules are in a discharging state and then a difference in voltage is determined, indicating voltage measurements occur after the batteries a fastened).
a voltage state determiner of an external system (Fig.3, CNT) is configured to perform a voltage value reception operation, following the voltage measurement operation (¶0095: MOCNT acquired data is transmitted to the CNT),
the voltage state determiner of the external system is configured to perform a charging FET state switching determination operation, following the voltage value reception operation (¶0104: control methods are performed by CNT; Fig.19: CNT would need to receive the voltages of the batteries to determine if the difference in voltage is below 300mV), and
wherein a FET controller of each battery is configured to perform a charging FET control operation (Fig.5: MOCNT controls SWd and SWc), following the charging FET state switching determination operation, according to a determination result of the charging FET state switching determination operation from the external system (Fig.19: charging switches are maintained in an open state if voltage difference is above 300mV or closed in S2 if the voltage difference is below 300mV).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Eguchi with Takizawa to perform the control steps in the order of fastening, voltage measurement, voltage value reception, charging FET state switching determination, and charging FET control operation, having the voltage state determiner of the external system perform the charging FET state switching determination operation, having the charging switch open for each battery, and performing the charging FET control operation for each battery. Doing so allows the batteries to be swapped while minimizing deterioration of the battery modules due to high charging currents, as evidenced by Takizawa.
Furthermore, Chen (Figs.4 & 7) teaches a parallel battery system in which during a state in which the batteries have differing voltages (¶0033: voltage of battery 790 is higher than the voltage of battery 590), the charging FETs are in an off state and the discharging FETs are in an on state (571 & 572 show that the switches are FETs in Fig.4; Fig.7 shows a functional diagram of a discharging process in which the batteries have different voltages: charge FETs 571 & 771 are off/open and therefore become ideal diodes only allowing discharge, while discharge FETs 572 and 772 are on/closed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Eguchi with Chen to modify the control stage of Eguchi when the battery voltages are different (Eguchi’s initial stage as disclosed above, where one battery is in “d-passive” mode and the other is in Active mode) to have both charging FETs of the first and second batteries turned off. Doing so ensures a prevention of current leakage from a high voltage battery pack to a low voltage battery pack, as evidenced by Chen (¶0034).
Regarding Claim 8, Eguchi, as modified, further teaches wherein the charging FET state switching determination operation comprises:
a voltage deviation calculation operation of calculating the voltage deviation between the first and second batteries by using the measured voltage values of the first and second batteries received in the voltage value reception operation (Col.7, Lines 59-62: CPU 41 determines differences between the battery voltages received);
a voltage deviation comparison operation of comparing whether the voltage deviation values between the first and second batteries calculated in the voltage deviation calculation operation is within the predetermined reference range (Col.9, Lines 5-6: an acceptable voltage difference may be allowed); and
a control signal output operation of outputting a control signal to the first and second batteries, respectively, for switching the charging FETs of the first and second batteries to the on state or maintaining the charging FETs at the off state according to a comparison result in the voltage deviation comparison operation (Col.7, Lines 62-67: CPU 41 instructs battery packs to Active or d-Passive modes according to a comparison result).
Regarding Claim 9, Eguchi, as modified, further teaches wherein the control signal output operation comprises;
if the voltage deviation between the first and second batteries is within the predetermined reference range according to the comparison result of the comparison in the voltage deviation comparison operation, outputting an on control signal for switching the charging FETs of each of the first and second batteries, which are currently in the off state, to the on state (Takizawa-Fig.19: charging switches are closed in S2 if the voltage difference is below 300mV), and
if the voltage deviation between the first and second batteries is out of the predetermined reference range, outputting an off control signal for maintaining the charging FETs of the first and second batteries, which are currently in the off state, in the off state (Takizawa-Fig.19: charging switches are maintained in an open state if voltage difference is above 300mV).
Regarding Claim 10, Eguchi, as modified, further teaches wherein the charging FET control operation comprises:
if the on control signal from the external system is output, switching the charging FETs of each of the first and second batteries, which are currently in the off state, to the on state (Takizawa- ¶0134: charging switches are switched on in step S2), and
if the off control signal is output from the external system, maintaining the charging FET of each of the first and second batteries, which is currently in the off state, in the off state (Takizawa- ¶0134: charging switches are off in step S1).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi, in view of Takizawa and Chen, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (USPGPN 2021/0143650 – effectively filed Aug. 1, 2018).
Regarding Claim 4, Eguchi, as modified, further teaches wherein the external system comprises:
the system driver (Fig.2, 41) configured to be woken up by discharging currents from the first and second batteries connected to drive the external system (Col.6, Lines 15-24: personal computer and CPU receive power from the battery packs);
a second communicator (Col.7, Lines 59-62: CPU 41 receives information from the batteries indicating presence of a second communicator) configured to connect to the first communicator of each of the first and second batteries;
the voltage state determiner (Col.7, Lines 59-62: CPU 41 determines differences between the battery voltages received indicating presence of a voltage state determiner) configured to check a voltage state of each of the first and second batteries through the second communicator and to determine whether the voltage difference between the first and second batteries is within the predetermined reference range (Col.9, Lines 5-6: an acceptable voltage difference may be allowed);
a second FET controller configured to output the control signal for controlling the charging FET of each of the first and second batteries to the on or off state according to a determination result of the voltage state determiner (Col.7, Lines 62-65: battery pack CPUs receive commands from CPU 41 indicating presence of a second FET controller).
Eguchi, as modified, fails to explicitly teach a notification output configured to provide notification information to a user if the voltage difference between the first and second batteries is out of the predetermined reference range according to the determination result of the voltage state determiner.
However, Wang teaches a battery system including a notification output (¶0258: display module) which provides notification information to a user (¶0258: display status information for a user). The notification information may include abnormal statuses which may include unbalanced batteries (¶0263: display module includes abnormal status alarm region, and may indicate insufficient battery capacity or an unbalanced battery pack).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Eguchi, in view of Takizawa and Chen, with Wang to include a notification output for providing a notification to a user of a voltage difference between the batteries being out of a predetermined reference range. Doing so allows a user to determine the work that can be done by the system, as evidenced by Wang.
Regarding Claim 5, Eguchi, as modified, further teaches wherein the voltage state determiner comprises:
a voltage value receiver configured to receive the voltage values of the first and second batteries transmitted respectively from the first and second batteries through the second communicator (Col.7, 53-54: battery pack CPUs transmit voltage values to CPU 41 indicating presence of a voltage value receiver);
a voltage deviation calculator configured to calculate the voltage difference between the first and second batteries by using the respective voltage values of the first and second batteries received by the voltage value receiver (Col.7, Lines 59-62: CPU 41 determines differences between the battery voltages received indicating presence of a voltage deviation calculator); and
a comparison unit configured to compare whether the voltage difference between the first and second batteries calculated by the voltage deviation calculator is within the predetermined reference range (Col.9, Lines 5-6: an acceptable voltage difference may be allowed indicating presence of a comparator), and
wherein the comparison unit is configured to:
if the voltage difference between the first and second batteries is within the predetermined reference range, output a satisfaction signal (Col.8, Line 60-Col.9, Line 6: active mode is set when voltages are within the threshold voltage difference), and
if the voltage difference between the first and second batteries is out of the predetermined reference range, output a non-satisfaction signal (Col.8, Line 60-Col.9, Line 6: active mode is not set when voltages are outside of the threshold voltage difference).
Regarding Claim 6, Eguchi, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the second FET controller is configured to:
if the satisfaction signal is output from the comparison unit, output an on control signal to the first and second batteries, respectively, for switching the charging FETs of the first and second batteries, which are currently in the off state, to the on state, and
if the non-satisfaction signal is output from the comparison unit, output an off control signal to each of the first and second batteries for maintaining the charging FETs of the first and second batteries, which are currently in the off state, in the same off state.
However, Takizawa teaches a parallel battery system in which a non-satisfaction signal is used to determine control for charging FETs, currently in the off state, to stay in an off state (Fig.19, S1-Charging is prohibited while voltage difference is >300mV, which would be understood to be maintained either from step S3 or through continued monitoring of voltages), and a satisfaction signal is used to determine controlling charging FETs, currently in the off state, to change to an on state (Fig.19, S1->S2-Charging is permitted when the voltage difference becomes 300mV or lower).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Eguchi, in view of Takizawa, Chen, and Wang, with Takizawa to determine the control state of the charging switches to stay off when the voltage difference exceeds a threshold value and turn them when the voltage difference is below the threshold value. Doing so allows the batteries to be swapped while minimizing deterioration of the battery modules due to high charging currents, as evidenced by Takizawa.
Conclusion
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859