Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 11, 13, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the connector is a discrete component”. Such a limitation lacks detailed support in the instant specification. Also, such limitation renders the claim indefinite since it is not clear what structural limitation applicant intends to cover since it is nowhere stated what is meant by “discrete”. Claims 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 11, 13, 15-18 depend from Claim 1 and are likewise indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 11, 13, & 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salamini (US 2017/0013907).
Regarding Claim 1, Salamini discloses a connector (10/14/18/17) for connecting inner and outer layers (2, 11 or 12, 13, Figures 8-9) of an apparatus (Figures 1 & 2), the inner and outer layers configured to slide relative to each other in response to an impact to the apparatus (Para. 124, 154-158), the connector being a discrete component configured to be arranged between the inner and outer layers of the apparatus (10/14/18/17, Figures 1, 2, 8 , 9 , 16, 17), a first side of the connector being configured to attach to the inner layer (Figures 1, 2, 8 , 9 , 16, 17) and an opposing second side of the connector being configured to attach to the outer layer (10/14/18/17, Figures 1, 2, 8 , 9 , 16, 17),the connector comprising: a first layer (10 or 14 or 17 or 10/18) formed from at least one of a textile, a cloth, a fabric and a felt (Para. 122, 125-126), configured to be connected to one of the inner and outer layers of the apparatus (Figures 1, 2, 8 , 9 , 16, 17); a second layer (10/18 or 14, Para. 124-128 “at least one inner layer 14” which means there can be more than one), formed from at least one of a textile, a cloth, a fabric and a felt (Para. 122, 125-126), configured to be connected to the other of the inner and outer layers of the apparatus (Figures 1, 2, 8 , 9 , 16, 17); wherein the first and second layers are arranged adjacent each other (Figures 1, 2, 8 , 9 , 16, 17), extending in respective parallel planes so as to form a sliding interface therebetween in a plane substantially parallel to each of the first and second layers, and the first and second layers are configured to slide against each other at the sliding interface so as to allow the first and second layers to move relative to each other (Para. 94-100, 122, 124 & 154-158) and thus allow the inner and outer layers of the apparatus to slide relative to each other in response to an oblique impact (Para. 20-22, “forces acting on the head”, Para. 124, 170-187); the first and second layers are connected to each other at a peripheral region of the connector (10 or 14 or 17 or 10/18) and the sliding interface is provided in a central region of the connector surrounded by the peripheral region (10/14/18/17, Figures 1, 2, 8 , 9 , 16, 17); and at least a portion of the first layer forms an outermost surface of the connector, configured to face the inner layer of the apparatus, when the connector is attached thereto (10/14/18/17, Figures 1, 2, 8 , 9 , 16, 17); and/or at least a portion of the second layer forms an outermost surface of the connector, configured to face the outer layer of the apparatus, when the connector is attached thereto (10/14/18/17, Figures 1, 2, 8 , 9 , 16, 17). In one embodiment, Salamini does not specifically teach two layers, however Salamini says more than one layer can be present. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the layers of Salamini having at least two layers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 2, Salamini discloses a first connecting means connected to the first layer (Figures 1 & 2) and configured to attach to one of the two layers of the apparatus (Para. 181), wherein the first connecting means is connected to the first layer at a location opposite the sliding interface (Figures 1 & 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Salamini discloses the first connecting means comprises a hook-and-loop material (Para. 202, 206, Figure 19).
Regarding Claim 5, Salamini discloses a second connecting means connected to the second layer (Figures 1 & 2)and configured to connect to the other of the two layers of the apparatus (Para. 181), wherein the second connecting means is connected to the second layer at a location opposite the sliding interface (Figures 1 & 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Salamini discloses the second connecting means comprises double-sided adhesive tape (Para. 202-203 & 206).
Regarding Claim 8, Salamini discloses the first and second layers are arranged such that a grain direction of the first layer and a grain direction of the second layer are non-parallel (Figures 1, 2 10 & 11).
Regarding Claim 9, Salamini discloses the grain direction of the first layer and the grain direction of the second layer are angled between 45 degrees and 90 degrees relative to each other (Figures 1, 2 10 & 11), wherein the grain direction of the first layer and the grain direction of the second layer are substantially perpendicular to each other (Figures 1, 2 10 & 11).
Regarding Claim 11, Salamini does not specifically disclose the first and second layers are each formed from a tricot fabric. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the material of the layers as claimed, since it is well within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Also, such a modification would be considered a mere choice of preferred material that is on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In other words, using tricot fabric would have been an "obvious to try" approach because the use of such a material that is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. Therefore, as modified, the tricot fabrics forming the first and second layers can comprise a shiny side and an dull side, the shiny sides of the tricot fabrics are arranged face-to-face the sliding interface, and the tricot fabrics are oriented such that the machine directions of manufacture of the tricot fabrics are arranged to be perpendicular to each other.
Regarding Claim 13, Salamini discloses the first and second layers are connected to each other at a region of the connector surrounding the sliding interface (Figures 1 & 2, Para. 94-100), wherein the first and second layers are connected to each other at a peripheral region of the connector and the sliding interface is provided in a central region of the connector (Figures 1 & 2, Para. 94-100).
Regarding Claim 15, Salamini discloses the first and second layers are connected by an adhesive layer (Para. 202-203 & 206).
Regarding Claim 16, Salamini discloses the adhesive layer is formed from a hot- melt adhesive (Para. 202-203 & 206).
Regarding Claim 17, Salamini discloses the connector is substantially circular in shape (Figures 1, 2, 10, 11 & 19).
Regarding Claim 18, Salamini does not specifically disclose the connector has a diameter of less than 50mm. It, however, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of diameter for the connector in order to achieve an optimal configuration for connecting, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the diameter involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732